GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo DSi - Black

Nintendo is transforming the way people access, experience, create and share content with the new Nintendo DSi system, the third iteration of the world's best-selling portable video game system.
Average Customer Rating:
8.576
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (259 reviews)
10 stars
79
9 stars
24
8 stars
9
7 stars
9
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
4
121 out of 14484%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo DSi - Black
Review 1 for Nintendo DSi - Black
A bit of a downer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/13
BadgerHoney
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I own a light blue, colored, nintendo dsi and lemme tell you, when i first got it, i was quite impressed. The camera feature, the audio studio, as well as the "app" store on the dsi really made it seem like a cool device. Don't get me wrong, it's a nice little handheld device, but it is NOTHING compared to what the original nintendo ds, the ds lite, as well as the 3ds were. The nintendo dsi has cool features, but they get boring and useless quite quickly, especially since the dsi camera is literally like 2 or 3 megapixels. Anyways, aside from the features, the most disappointing part of the nintendo dsi is the games developed for the dsi are pretty bad. Since the dsi does not have a slot for gameboy games like the original ds did, you're stuck with the "ds only" games Nintendo develops. Unfortunately, literally the only good dsi games i've came across were: "Animal Crossing: Wild World" and the new mario brothers game. Other than that, there are really no awesome games left for the dsi. At least the good thing about the 3DS is that it features many old and remade games, so that you can satifsy that feeling of nostalgia and play those awesome, old games like : Ocarina of Time. The DSI has absolutely none of those good, ol' games. So all in all, the dsi is a very physically appealing handheld console, however it lacks the most important element in a console, THE GAMES. Bottom line, not worth that $100. Instead, go out and buy a 3DS or maybe even a Gameboy, and just sit down and enjoy Pokemon: Ruby version! :D
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo DSi - Black
The DSi
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
thebj13
Location: Forsyth County, NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had owned a DSlite, after it broke I started shopping for a new one. Then the DSi came out. I got it during christmas 2009, and kept until august 2011. I had quit playing it, so i traded it in for a PS2, which I like better. There's nothing wrong with the DSi, I loved it, but the games on DS are designed for younger kids, so over time I became bored playing them. The Camera on this thing never failed me, and worked great. The MP3 player worked great too. Most everyone I know didn't think it was worth it just being a DS with a camera, though the DSi has some exclusive download only videogames and apps, including flipnote studio, and web browser. If I were 10 again, I would buy this because it has everything you'll need to have fun. If your 14 and want cheap games, and good graphics, don't get the DSi, get a used PS2 and play stuff on a budget, because the games are cheaper, you'll save money. Overall buying a game console comes down to what you want it to do, and what games you want to play. Just sit down and compare the feature's, then compare the game library, I can't tell you, and nether can any other reviewer, what you need. So if you decide that a DSi is what you need, it's what you need. If you do decide to go with a DSi, know that Super Mario 64, is the best game on the console.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Great System
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
Joewoelf
Location: Richmond, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love DS systems I grew up with them and when I bought this system (in black of course my favorite color) and I was reluctant at first but as the game library grew I grew to love it! The shoulder buttons curse ( I think a good percentage of DS owners know what I'm talking about) got me but I just kept blowing on the shoulder buttons and it got me by for a year. Then it was time to get a new one when when the shoulder buttons broke completely. I had a warranty so i got the the same color. That lasted me till the 3DS came out. I had just gotten alot of dsi ware and the 4 swords zelda game for free too! But luckily at my Gamestop the employee let me take out my black 3ds and transfer all my stuff too it! I loved my DSI it had a nice run and era but now its all about the 3DS
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo DSi - Black
All about how great DSI is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
Richard123454321
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The *new* (not really) Dsi's rule! It's like a whole extended version of the ds!(Sadly, there isn't a gba game slot but I don't have any game boy games so it doesn't matter.Plus, it get's dirty so I'm ok with that.) It's like you do all this extra stuff that you coudn't do on the ds like taking pictures, you can see the whole menu, and with extended things on the camera there's even thos ajustment where you can zoom in so it can also be used to spy on people.(Not to stalk people) One more thing: IT'S AWESOME! I think i already said that.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Awsome!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Motherflipper
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this and this is awsome!! I love it! I love playing this with other people. Ds download play accually works with sd lite and dsi. I do not know if it works with the other ds systems. I accually got this a long time ago. I recommend this to nintendo lovers! My dsi is white.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Better than what I expected!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Roxas358
Location: Clemmons, NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have tested out the DS from a friend of mine. It was great, and it made me want to buy one. I'm glad the price came down on the consoles, otherwise I would not be writting this right now ^_^. The DSi allows you to play DS games (sadly no GBA port, but I have no GBA games, and I don't think GS sells them anymore), take pictures and manipulate them, surf the net, and chat with others. The games for it are varied (unlike the Wii where the games are repettive, and NOT fun sometimes), the graphics are AMAZING (probably better than the PS2 in my opinion), and I like the touch-screen. Overall, PURCHASE THIS NOW IF YOU WANT COOL GAMES TO PLAY!!! *and to those who say "DS is bad, get a PSP, did you all at least try this first? Also, I might buy a PSP in the future.*
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Great for starters
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/12
SOEKGamer79
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The DSi is a good starting point on the portable gaming experience. I bought this like three years ago and to this day, it still performs great and it is in great condition. It only needed a Game Boy slot just to make it the perfect experience for hardcore and casual gamers. It is also good to enjoy with the family.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo DSi - Black
its an okay product
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
tdog1012
Location: tx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The dsi in my opinion is an okay product. The screen is bigger but the graphics are nothing to get excited over.the controls and gameplay are pactically the same from the previous system. For the dsi nintendo tried to imphasize its internet capabilities which I have to say they did alright on. Being able to download games was the biggest plus of this system. Now the web browser is a another story. its easy to use but only thing is it doesn't support flash, so that means no youtube. Another thing is that i'll always get an error message saying out of memory which is pain when trying to browse. Another major feature is the front and rear facing camera that can be used in certain games and regular picture taking. so all in all the dsi is great for yonger kids that don't have high expectations for a product.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Not the best system out there
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
assanation007
Location: New York
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The dsi is not the best buy out there.What I really don't like is how you can't play gameboy games.There are a lot of good gameboy games as well as ds.So why not have both.Another thing is the battery life. IT cannot go far without charging.The ds lite couuld go 19 hours without charging and it could play gameboy games.And it's cheaper.It's abetter buy to get the ds lite.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Not The Best
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
BoyScout1187
Location: Rapid City, SD
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is not the system you want to spend $150 on. You should just save $20 and by a PSP 3000 or PSP 1000. The PSP plays movies, games, goes on the internet, you can download as many TV shows as you want over Platstation Network, take pictures, and all the DSI can do is play games, go on the internet, take pictures, and that's it. I like watching TV and movies, so for me it's the PSP, a game system, and a TV all in one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nintendo DSi - Black
A DSi is all the World Needs!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
THEGAMER423
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Nintendo DSi Black is a great product. It has good gripping features and many more things. Like I said the DSi has very good gripping feature so you don't drop it as easily. Also I love how you can purchase games straight from your DSi system! It has a great store and shares the same cards as Wii point cards (you can not split a gift card on your Wii and DSi you have to have 1 card per system) I like how there is no Game Boy slots in this so there is no way of losing your cover. But lastly, I love the games for this system (or at least the good ones) I have no cons to demote my pros and recommend you get this system!
 
My Product Recommendations
Sony PSP System (3000)
9.3 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Good for kids
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
PSPNintendoUser
Location: ...
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This device is good for younger gamers. The camera is more of a gimmick and not very good for serious picture taking. The souind editor was by far my favorite feature. Overall, this device is aimed at younger kids. If you are looking for a more serious handheld gaming platform, get a PSP.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Best game systom ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/12
2kking
Location: Muskego WI
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I opened it I was like "Oh my Gosh! I love this thing!" I love black and for Christmas I asked Santa for a DS lite, but he got me my DSi and i'm happy he got it for me!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo DSi - Black
THe Game Features are great!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/11
ZACOZAD
Location: Bellbrook, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love it! Has everything you'd want! You can buy 'mini-games' from the menu! Always has something to do on it! The camera also includes instant post of pictures to Facebook and Twitter! The only downside is that it's not custom-directed to special games (ex. Dsi games, not Ds games), though there are a few. Very slim! I can't see who wouldn't like this new generation console! Great for kids of all ages!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo DSi - Black
good if have internet
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/11
bestintheworld2
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
its just like a dslite exxept you can record urself and take pics and if u dont have wireless internet u cant donload games or go on the internet on it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oneway1991
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about oneway1991 is loaded.
Additional information about oneway1991 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/26/12
You mention the download service like it's terrible that you have to connect to the internet to use it, but that's the way all download services work. That's what a download is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nintendo DSi - Black
awesome! SHOUT OUT TO STORE 2602 MCALLEN TEXAS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Zage3
Location: Pharr, TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
This is a great product, very light weight, works great, wireless works awesome, my only complaint was i couldnt youtube on it, haha, not a big deal really, but its very nice, also the sales associate luis from store 2602 was an awesome help, did a great job...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo DSi - Black
it is ok depending on what you find fun
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/11
supercoolrater
Location: webster wi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it is a great piece of Nintendo history because it can take photos and play games a great way to make car rides fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Beyond Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/11
Bullwinkle
Location: Flagstaff AZ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have had this game system for about a half a year now and i am still loving it i do not have this color one however i have the Limited Edition Green one so that is not on the Game Stop website and this is a great system the functions are great i love the dsi ware its great that you can buy a game anywhere that has WiFi and the browser is the Best it dose not play Videos however but it really does not matter to me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Great system, but wait for price drop on the 3ds.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
blacklabel
Location: Visalia, CA.
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system is great. Great huge line up of games, new games coming out, graphics are good if u aren't really a hadcore gamer. what's not to like? There is no good reason not to like this system. But honestly, just wait for the price drop on the 3ds. They ae bringing it down from $250.00 to $169.99. Why buy a system that is practically outdated when you could buy a new modern system for almost the same price. And for those who complain about the eye strain; that is why they put the 3d depth slider on there!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo DSi - Black
Good handheld
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
Willl
Location: NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this system for over 2 years now and it has been awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>