GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Or Alive 5

In DEAD OR ALIVE 5, players will once again take on the roles ofthe cast of DEAD OR ALIVE fighters in an intense, actionpackedbrawler set in visually striking locations from around the world.The famed DOA handtohand combat returns, supported bycompletely new 3D stages that update the series' characteristicstyle with a fresh look and feel.
Average Customer Rating:
9.6
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 out of 15100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Or Alive 5
Review 1 for Dead Or Alive 5
great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/13
Mongrillah
Location: atlanta,georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game for people who enjoy fighting games been playing it since doa, plus you wont have to do that token stuff tekken does for online
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Or Alive 5
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/13
Burkemperecw1
Location: Moscow mills mo
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is a great game it has everything from kickboxing to Wrestleing all rolled into one best game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Or Alive 5
Kasumi!! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
kikwiLink
Location: Chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is perfect all around. the gameplay and story mode are good, the stages are awesome and some of the best characters to choose from (Kasumi <3) and the graphics are breath taking. they did a major update on the graphics compared to dead or alive 4 and in my opinion the changes were for the better
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Or Alive 5
A Very Longawaited Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
Kasumi
I have been playing this series since DOA3, and I remember when DOA4 came out. It was said to be the very end of DOA itself as a series. So this possibility was rather... disappointing, and when the Original Creator Tomonobu Itagaki left the possibility of there being another DOA seemed to be unlikely. But then, DOA made it's come back with DOAP, DOAD, and now DOA5 itself. It came out almost 7 years after the DOA4 release.
With this DOA game, they went in a different direction in terms of Graphics, voices, gameplay engine, and everything. Even the story. Which I will admit, I miss the individual storymodes and Leon but the chapter system was new, and I think they did a good job with this. this is something (I don't think) hasn't be done before in a fighting game, and when you think of it most of the characters did indeed have their own story, it was just presented in a different format.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Or Alive 5
its not my favorite in the doa series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
cjkl17
Location: swampscott,ma
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it an alright game but it just isnt the same as the other 4 games in the series that i like. the story mode is ten times different because its filled with more cutscenes and diologue than actual fights which takes away the fun for me but other than that the gameplay is awesome and easy to learn.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Or Alive 5
Dead Or Afive
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
Electronaut72
Location: Acworth, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Dead Or Alive series is still alive and kicking, as proven by this fifth iteration. So what's new since DOA 4? Aside from polished-up character models and backrounds, there are a couple of things. The "Cliffhanger" mechanic allows you to knock an opponent off the side of the stage and leave them hanging...you can then attack while rushing forward and attempt to do further damage (but be wary, it can be countered). There's also the "Power Blow", which allows you to charge up a certain attack and send your opponent flying into an environmental hazard of your choice. As always, the combat revolves heavily around reversals...so practiced players will easily be able to shut down overly aggressive novices.
There are 2 new fighters for DOA 5: Mila, a boxer who focuses mainly on punches, and Rig...a Taekwondo-esque kick master. Also worth noting are the guest fighters included from Sega's Virtua Fighter series: Akira, Sarah, and Pai. They have to be unlocked by facing them in Story mode first, but they are a blast to play as and integrate quite well into the DOA formula. The Story mode in DOA 5 is a long tutorial of sorts with some in-engine cinematics between matches--there are no individual endings for characters at all--not even in Arcade mode. Of course, there's also the usual array of offline and online stuff: Training, Versus, Time Attack and Survival, ect. The Tag Team feature returns and is available in several modes, which is nice. The Spectator feature allows you to watch replays / CPU matches and take photos--a very cool extra.
Unfortunately, DOA 5 still lags behind other high-profile fighting games in some areas. The gameplay does feel a little "button-mashy", and a lot of the characters seem generic...though I suppose that's a matter of preference. Still, you can't go wrong with DOA 5 for some solid fighting action.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VidGFan69
Pennsylvania
 
Please wait while more information about VidGFan69 is loaded.
Additional information about VidGFan69 could not be loaded.
Extra Characters
Posted 1/8/13
I don't know if you're aware that you can get Pai Chan by completing 100 missions and Alpha-152 by completing 300 missions. So a total of 5 characters can be unlocked in the game. I like your review. :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Dead Or Alive 5
One of the BEST !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/12
Kur0Kur0
Location: Jersey City, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Created an account just to write a review for this. This game is A-MAY-ZING !! From graphics to gameplay, it's a huge step up from DOA 4. This game is perfect for casual and hardcore gamers alike. Pick this up you WILL NOT be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Or Alive 5
By Far The Best Dead or Alive To Date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/12
CassSophFan
Location: Old Forge, Pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been a huge fan of the Dead or Alive series and this was a much needed evolution and return to form for the series after the disappointments of Dead or Alive 4 and Dead or Alive: Dimensions. If you're looking for a well made and fluid fighter or are a long time fan of the Dead or Alive series, this is a worthy addition to the series. Highly recommended!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Or Alive 5
now thats a game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
xsnuggly
Location: memphis, tn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've played them all and still no game plays as smooth as dead or alive. The GOOD any and every one can do the moves in dead or alive. Whats the purpose of having moves in a game that can't be done during game play. Not in doa, all moves can be done. The graphics are top notch and the addition of dirt, getting on the cloths and sweat on the characters just simply keeps doa on the top. The characters have so much emotion in their life like features its breath taking. The hit response is assume amazing with every hit having a response, no other game not just in the fighting class but all classes from rpg,fps,sports, action i many any class comes close to the hit response in dead or alive. The story is great. The story makes the player fell like you have part in a movie. Its about 5 hours long. I no, a lot of people says thats to short, but every game is about 5 to 10 hours long even rpgs. Yes rpgs. just take out the amount of time you have to set their and hack at the same enemy in the same place to level up to get past the boss and go to the next stage. Out of 40 hours in an rpg, 30 of those hours you'll spend leveling up. So all in all 5 to 10 hours is the average time you'll ackually spend playing a movie style game to the end other than sports like basketball and etc which really has no ending or cg movies at all (not evening a half time show). But than again i stoped playing some sports games 4 years ago so they may have changed. I only played a couple of quaters of madden 12. The BAD they made the reversals a little on the hard side. Reversal used to be easier to do which made doa smoother and faster. Making the reversals harder also makes the game slower than i'm use to as well. And they also took away the ability to jump in favor it seems like, to be able to circle around in the 3d surroundings better. Which actually makes the game play better. The COMPANY Tecmo keeps a well polished game with dead or alive they did stumble a little with ninja gaiden. They didn't stumble much though, they just got carried away with their selves by making one of them to hard. They got some ouchs like everybody else ryger is rusting in the dessert and tecmo bowl simply can't compete. All in all dead or alive 5 is a must get for all fighter, action, and people who like good movies. Also , Tecmo has done a great job with the guest stares from sega especially akira for those who played vf no what i mean. Maybe theres hope for Tecmo getting their hands on the Streets of Rage series. Other than that this is the game everyone should check out. Heak i bought a 3ds just so i could play doa.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Or Alive 5
Are you a fighter?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
brysin
Location: waipahu Honolulu
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is to awesome. Hands down awesome. Because the fighting style is legend to me and that very moment that akira step in it got real. I mean he look's just to sick with his fighting style. If anyone like's hardcore fighting then this game is for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Or Alive 5
One of the most fun fighting games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/12
SeriousGamer93
Location: VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The last DOA game I played was DOA3 over a decade ago and I loved it. I'm not really familiar with the plot or characters of the series, but I know one thing for sure: this game is FUN. I feel like most fighting games focus too much on the hardcore high-level players and completely disregard the casual players who just want to play for fun. This game has the "easy to learn, hard to master" feel to it. It may seem like a very simple game; however I played many high-level players online who countered, blocked, and performed combos effectively. This game caters to every skill level and has very fun gameplay. I'll state the pros and cons of this game so you can better understand. PROS: accessible to any type of player, beautiful graphics, 4-5 hr. story mode with great plot twist and post-credits scene, fast and fun gameplay, 24 distinct fighters, lots of unlockables. CONS: Online is very laggy at times, no "extra" kinds of modes (basic modes: survival, practice, time attack, arcade, etc.), no customization. Overall: I don't know if it's just me but I bought the game for $30 (trade-in credit from Gamestop) and I definitely thought it was worth it. However, I don't think this game is worth $60 due to the basic modes and online issues. I recommend buying this game for $40 or less by trade-in credit or waiting for a price drop.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Or Alive 5
THIS IS THE BEST DOA I'VE PLAYED!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/12
MilaPunch
Location: California, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since all the Dead or Alive games that I've played I've never seen a DOA like this one. Some people say it doesn't even look like DOA anymore!? Oh yeah...so if your new to DOA5. So get your wallet out and join the tournament because, "WE ARE FIGHTERS!"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Or Alive 5
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
FRKZILA
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will say that I NEVER understood why any one said that DOA was great next to Tekken! Tekken (even newest) was never better then DOA Hardcore let alone in the same league. And now with DOA5 it really doesn't compare. Now don't get me wrong , I was a Tekken fan way before DOA. But that all changed with DOA Hardcore on the PS2. Tekken was just walking back and forth and just punching and kicking! DOA brought us 360o movement,grabs,blocks,and depending on where you were standing or what your opponant threw at you the counters were different which was a blast to see what new moves you could find. And being able to use the envirionment to inflict damage was a great plus and it's nice to see it still is. And I love that DOA5 in the story mode is also a training mode at the same time. It's awesome to see you get better and better. I've had Tekken before DOA and I've had them all(Tekkens) after DOA Hardcore. But the only one that still in my library is DOA Hardcore. I am soooo happy to say that DOA is back!!! DOA5 will stay in my library right next to Hardcore. Can't go wrong with DOA5.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Or Alive 5
nice game for casual and hardcore fans
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/12
tapout
Location: euless, tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First time the ive played dead or alive since the original xbox console...gameplay is nice along with great graphics. Story mode is also pretty good as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Or Alive 5
Great BUY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
REVY09
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For those who love fighting games or not this is a great game. Movements are smooth. graphics clean. just a good fighter over all. if u want to play add me on psn: REVY09
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Or Alive 5
Its been so long...!
Posted on:9/24/12
Sonakuru
Location: Western Kentucky
I've waited seven long years for this game! To finally see this series come back on consoles is like a dream come true. I have the Alpha demo and that alone was better than most fighters i play today. I can't WAIT to finally get my hands on this game! Pre-Orders can't come fast enough!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Or Alive 5
Time to teach those Ryu spammers a thing or two.
Posted on:8/29/12
jbl8199
Location: Johnstown, PA
I've started counting the days waiting for this game. I played DOA Dimensions on the 3ds and it was the best fighting game I've played since Mortal Kombat. Only problem with it was the constant flow Ryu's I fought online. Well, let's just say, I've been practicing since then. Mwehehehehehe.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Or Alive 5
One of the Greatest fighting games (behind Tekken)
Posted on:8/28/12
lilboricua777
Location: TN
I remember DOA back on the Dreamcast (I know, old, right?)..lol. This will hopefully give the new generation what it was like to play this great game. BTW, add me on PSN::: Castroredfire212
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FRKZILA
 
Please wait while more information about FRKZILA is loaded.
Additional information about FRKZILA could not be loaded.
Tekken WHO?
Posted 9/25/12
I thought Tekken was great. Untill DOA Hardcore showed up! Sorry all you Tekken lovers but when all you get to do is move back and forth while DOA Hardcore gave us a real feal for a fight with it's 360 degree motion/blocks/counter blocks/grabs coupled with doing this at different angles and depending what your oppenent threw at you reacted differently to your counter then I don't see any comparassion! MMMMM - could be why to this day I still have DOA Harcore and after playing all the Tekkens and trading them in for new Tekkens that I now have NO Tekkens on my shelf. Greatest fighting game behind Tekken??? Sorry but Tekken is not even in the same leaque as DOA (Hardcore). I just hope they improved on Hardcore and didn't ruin a great fighting game/engine. Guess I'll find out today.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Dead Or Alive 5
one of the most amazing game series
Posted on:8/12/12
cookiemonstr155
Location: Burnsville, MN
Like I stated above, i love the dead or alive games and am looking forward to the new release! The characters have their own fighting style and amazing costumes. It's just an all around awesome fighting game!
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Dead Or Alive 5
DOA returns to playstation...with a vengence!!!!!
Posted on:8/8/12
buddbull
Location: rancho cucamonga ,CA
Dude...I`m sooooooooooo blessed that the dead or alive series is making it`s huge comeback to the world of playstation with the all-new, way more extreme and better-then-ever DOA 5 and all of the way cool exotic locations all over the globe,the very extreme fighting styles and even the very hot(and I mean double hott)DOA babes...THEY ARE ALL GONNA BLOW YOUR MIND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>