GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Or Alive 5

In DEAD OR ALIVE 5, players will once again take on the roles ofthe cast of DEAD OR ALIVE fighters in an intense, actionpackedbrawler set in visually striking locations from around the world.The famed DOA handtohand combat returns, supported bycompletely new 3D stages that update the series' characteristicstyle with a fresh look and feel.
Average Customer Rating:
9.286
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Or Alive 5
Review 1 for Dead Or Alive 5
A Great Introduction to a New Era of Fighting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/13
Ionia48
Location: Colliers, WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have always been a huge fan of the series ever since it was released back in the late 1990's. And this just tops it all off! First off, I am very pleased with the beautiful graphics that this game possesses. I was a bit skeptical at first, but the graphic enhancements are far more superior than I could have imagined! I love selecting my fighters and knowing that they actually look like real people! Second, I love the fighting mechanics. The moves are so much more edgy with the addition of the crisp sound effects, and I love the addition of Power Blows! It was about time the DOA series introduced interactive stages as well. Third, the game has so many amazing story plots to it. I love the addition of the new characters and how they tie in with our DOA veterans. I received this game as a birthday present, and I can honestly say that it has been well put to use! I hope that future DOA titles will only continue to get better and I also hope that Tecmo Koei can surpass my expectations yet again for all future titles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Or Alive 5
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/12
FoxSeiko
Location: Madison, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was kind of worried about this game with a few of the changes that I saw at first but after playing it, it is awesome! You can change the camera style if you dont like the action style, lots of characters to choose from. So far I love this game more than DOA4. And ive been a long term fan since DOA1 for Sega Saturn/PS1.
Many difficulty settings to choose from too so you can adjust to your level.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Or Alive 5
DOA is back and better than ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
TheT88
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I cannot get over how blown away I was by this game. Lately I have been disappointed by video game sequels(Undisputed 3, Soul Calibur 5 and others I dont care to mention) and had my doubts about DOA 5 but they proved me wrong. This review may contain minor spoilers but its nothing major. The game has completely improved when it comes to graphics, storyline, ease of play for beginners and still being challenging enough for veteran players, and the environments are amazing. Many people who think of Dead or Alive only think about the sexy half naked women and their high kicks, never caring about the storyline of the series. They do deliver on the sexy women as usual (Thank the Lord lol) but they actually make the story line unique with a timeline that you play as each character through each certain event in time making the story line for once more accessible. They threw in a few new guys but also a surprise by throwing in some Virtua Fighter characters Like Akira and Sarah to the roster which is great because I always liked the characters but hated the VF games. As far as graphics, its the best its ever been in DOA. They look more like people and less like 3D anime models. The environments are still wild and interactive as usual. There is a stage called hot zone which is basically a war zone with tanks and choppers that you can destroy which I liked a lot. There seems to be a lot of stuff to unlock making this game a keeper and with a high replay value. The only thing I know some people will wanna know and I have to be the guy to say it is NO you can't set your age to 99 to make the female characters more "bouncy" like in the previous games but surely we can all live without it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Or Alive 5
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
AceGamerBoy101
Location: Severn, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is E.P.I.C. you have to choose this fighting game. Lots of characters to play and I love how they are from other video game characters. The story is cool. I like the combos a 10/10. The special stages are amazing basically mind blowing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Or Alive 5
Even better than before
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
Slayer1745
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Really good game. Its even better since they now have more of a storyline in the game and new characters. I really like the controls and environment. Overall a very great game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Or Alive 5
Dead or Alive 5 Game Play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
SoapDish
Location: Los angeles, ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In my own words I believe this game is a solid ten. The graphics are a little cutty, by that I mean you will see display images with streaks through them like fruit ninja; but nothing to really complain about. The interactive fight arenas are a top ten, and so is tag battle. Online battle is amazing as well, but I recommend you use the stragedy guide first or at least have beaten the game on hard. Sound sometimes choppy, but overall good. Gameplay is a 9, because visual to controller lag, you see something happen, but by the time you counter it, your already lost the match. Regular controllers suck for this game. Where is the Partial Nudity? Never saw any Nudity.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Or Alive 5
People are confused
Posted on:8/18/12
bigpsix
Location: Natchitoches,Louisiana
I hear alot of people complaining about the "changes" in DOA5 like the interactive environments.....look this is coming from a long time DOA fan. the environment has always played a very valuable part in the gameplay mechanics & DOA5 will only improve on that...There has never been a bad DOA & this one will be no different......Day 1 pick-up for me and it should be for you to.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Or Alive 5
AWESOME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/12
ganta
Location: yonkers NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i personally like this game because it brings back DOA i bought it today after i pre ordered in August the game is one of the best games i've ever played since tekken 5 and DOA 4 its a remake of the series but it perfected it in a way
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Or Alive 5
It's Been A While
Posted on:7/3/12
Thursday43
Location: Syracuse,NY
Even though I may be one of the worst DoA players compaired to most people but I still favor Dead for Alive over most other fighters. The characters aren't bad and the graphics are really good. Even though I stink at this game, I can't wait for it to come out and I might just get it. For me with fighting games like Street Fighter or Tekken, it's not really about winning so even though I barely play fighting games, and my copy of Super Street Fighter IV (which is a great game) is collecting dust, I would get this game and I highly recommend the DoA series to any fighting game fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Or Alive 5
This one is better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Godzillafan920
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead or alive 5 is better than dead or alive dimensions. its has a long story mode to which i find very nice. The online is great except that everybody i play against spams their throws and holds. This overall is defintley the best DOA yet. Buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Or Alive 5
AWESOME
Posted on:5/7/12
Philwoodsjr
Location: PA
Dead or Alive 5 is going to be a REALLY TOTAL AWESOME game to play. I can wait to play this game on the XBOX 360 & SONY PS3
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Or Alive 5
Please have an EASY mode!!!
Posted on:7/24/12
SoonerStein
I know this is pathetic to a lot of hardcore fighting gamers but DOA 4 was impossibly hard for your average gamer. Give me an easy mode to play against, I have enjoyed these games since the Dreamcast and enjoyed fighting the CPU in story mode but in DOA 4 after the third or fourth level it was just annoying, I wanted to unlock the different outfits and characters but why play a game when it ceases to be fun?
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
onpointsg3
 
Please wait while more information about onpointsg3 is loaded.
Additional information about onpointsg3 could not be loaded.
No
Posted 9/24/12
NO!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Dead Or Alive 5
Finally! The Time Has Come!!
Posted on:6/2/12
gdcc1989
Location: Alhambra/Los Angeles, CA
Despite the revamp of character designs, I'm super-stoked for this game! I've been waiting for years and finally on it's way! I look forward many new and old modes and features that it with have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PHIBRIZZO
DENVER,CO
 
Please wait while more information about PHIBRIZZO is loaded.
Additional information about PHIBRIZZO could not be loaded.
Thatz what i'm talking about!
Posted 7/23/12
Along tyme wait, SCHOOL is now open! COME GET SOME!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Or Alive 5
I don't get it?
Posted on:9/7/12
BlitzballHero
Huge DOA fan but I will not buy games with day 1 dlc. DOA Ultimate you paid 50 bucks and got the whole game. Now the dev's show you screen shots of costumes and either make you pay for the 80 dollar collector editon or nickle and dime you over dlc. All I got to say is bad form! Nice way to treat your long time fans.
11 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NotYourCommonSense
 
Please wait while more information about NotYourCommonSense is loaded.
Additional information about NotYourCommonSense could not be loaded.
Posted 9/12/12
Dude get over it! No one said there were no in game costumes these are EXTRA costumes. Oh and the most important thing... THEY DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING AND YOU DON'T HAVE TO GET THEM! Complaint about not having costumes when your only gonna stick to one or two anyway is like complaing that you have four pair of shoes instead of six... Your one person with two feet and it's one character with one body... Get over yourself they aren't doing anything bad to you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Dead Or Alive 5
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/12
crusnik61
Location: wilkes-barre
the game play and graphics are really good and it really brings some new life to the series. it is a great game for casual and harcore gamers
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Or Alive 5
always fun
Posted on:4/10/12
madcuzilost
Location: North Carolina
the dead or alive series is really fun to play and it is rad that they will come out with another game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Or Alive 5
4 was better
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/12
tacobell
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I picked this game up first day thinking it would be the best one yet I get home and what do I find out it is horrible I'll tell you why. Online: online in 4 was amazing join a lobby and start playing or haave a good chat not in this one half the time when I try to join a lobby it throws me into a random lobby that I didn't click on. also no one ever talks in this game so put your headset aside if you wanna chat it up. Graphics: the graphics sad to say are the only good thing about this game there beautiful and never let my jaw stay up for to long good job in this department. Gameplay: more broken then 4 people still spam the same move 1000 times and grab you 1000 times on the ground with tina. the campaign however was actually good it wasn't just random fighting it actually had a point but as usual with every game now aday it was far to short whatever happened to games that took more then 3 hours to beat? Final Verdict: Skip it it's not worth the money everything is to broken and the online (which is where this game should shine) fails to do so by over-spamming and random lobby placements maybe if they fix some of these problems it would be worth it but if not wait till it's in the 10 dollar bin and pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Or Alive 5
Gonna Be sweet.
Posted on:3/22/12
CortexDagger
Location: Fort Collins, Co
From the videos and the looks of how doa 4 turned out this game is gonna be the fighter of the year. Dead or alive has in someways a more realistic look to it. I loved playing doa 4 which came our roughly when the xbox 360 first came out due to some of the things it says in game. I'm psyched and been waiting for this release since i ended up buying doa 4. Its been a long time now so wanting something new. Interactive stages are gonna keep people on there toes. If you want to find a video on the gameplay just look it up on google and the website will appear.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Or Alive 5
I will warn you you will not wasedt your money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
ssj23vegeta
Location: chicago il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love this game it sis so cool I love every thing about this the story mode is good and it is just amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Or Alive 5
It is a fighting video game
Posted on:3/20/12
Intense
Location: Homestead, FL
I love fighting games a lot. And one day when I do get this intensive fighting game I would've sure to complete story mode and try to make some friends online somehow.
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>