GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products

Product Reviews

Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition

A full 250 years after the original Guild Wars, massive upheavals, cataclysms, and globe-spanning events have changed the world of Tyria. Human civilization is in decline. Other races are rising up, taking control over large portions of the world; the balance of power has shifted. The dragons have awoken.
Average Customer Rating:
0
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Review 1 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Is It Worth $150?
Posted on:5/2/12
Amorihs
Yes, yes it is. And this is coming from a WoW player. After getting a taste of the game during their first beta weekend event I can say that I do NOT regret pre-purchasing the CE. The game looked incredible, the questing was exciting and non-linear, and the world events were super fun. ArenaNet have obviously been working extremely hard on this game, and for those of you hearing/reading bad reviews/first impressions during the press event/first public beta weekend event, just remember that believe it or not, some gaming companies actually use their betas to test their game, and not just for marketing purposes :P. Honestly, the reason why I do not regret my purchase at all is because I actually wanted to support ArenaNet, and since the game will have no subscription model I thought this was the best way to do it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Extremely worth the money
Posted on:6/26/12
BigSarge04
Location: knoxville, Tn
I've played every GW2 beta since November, with each release, the graphics are increased, and there's more to do, I made it to level 30 this past beta weekend, and did the first story dungeon. the game flows nicely(even though its beta) and the fact that basically anyone can use any weapon, and it changes their attacks is nice. My play style is a melee guy, so I was primarily playing the Guardian and Warrior, each were unique, and very fun, the ONLY downfall, is at the lower levels, a lot of the armor looks the same, but the same could be said about a LOT of MMOs. The fact that this is free instantly makes it worth the $150 price.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Great Beta, Game Takes some getting used to
Posted on:5/1/12
Vorch
Location: Central Florida
The first thing I learned about this beta is that I needed to essentially take everything I knew about MMO combat and throw it out the window.
The combat has been redone from the ground up. If you do not move, you will die. If you do not dodge, you will die. The beta was VERY unforgiving in that regard. However, with alot of players in the area, it was also very possible to steam roll through some events. In others, even THAT was impossible as enemies would simply put a well placed AoE spell in the middle of our mass and we would all be dead.
Environment is gorgeous, imo, and this is with the game being CPU bound for beta. I can't wait to see what it can do with by graphics cards.
All in all, it was a great experience. There's still A LOT of work needed before release (Better Tutorial, Better chat, Bug fixes, etc.), but this game has ENORMOUS potential ahead of it. It's now in the hands of the devs to make potential something tangible and memorable.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
All your answers on how Prepurchase works
Posted on:5/29/12
RCR293
Location: Lubbock,Tx
Prepurchase ANY version gets you the 3 day early access. You can do any the Normal or CE at the local Gamestop PAID IN FULL!!! and you will get a print out for 3 day access and what your purchase includes. The code you use on the website will give you access to the forums in which you download the game inorder to do Beta Weekends,stress tests,etc. if your prepurchased only. Key word ONLY.
Can also do the digital or normal on GW2 website. And you can pay in full on Gamestop website but I prefer the store and you make sure you get your code(Local will be only for Normal or CE)(Digital is only online)
Pre Order does not give you the 3 day access or ability to do the BWEs and such.
Now if you do prepurchase and get on the forums to download the full game, only thing you need to do for the 3 day access is when it starts, simply download the patch on the client to have access. When the game launches the box will have a code you go onto the website so your play isnt interrupted after a week or so
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
budyrow
 
Please wait while more information about budyrow is loaded.
Additional information about budyrow could not be loaded.
monthly fee?
Posted 6/17/12
Anyone know if there will be a monthly fee to play or if its like the old guild wars when you buy the game u play for free?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
BEYOND worth the wait.
Posted on:4/7/12
OllieXTrick
Location: Fort Smith, AR
I was lucky enough to play this at PAX, and I was floored by every aspect of the game. Graphics, art, gameplay, the classes, skills, races, events, etc. I'm a fan of the original since release of Prophecies and still play it to make up for the time between the two games, and I have to say this game looks pretty well enough to floor all the other MMO's out there. Especially WoW. As WoW had taken over Everquest, GW2 will pwn WoW. I'm putting my money down on the morning of April 10th for it. :)
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
no codes
Posted on:4/22/12
boomshika
so does i pre ordered the game and no codes and the only email i got was for the confirmation number and with the beta weekend event coming soon im kinda worried
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
UndeadCrash
NL
 
Please wait while more information about UndeadCrash is loaded.
Additional information about UndeadCrash could not be loaded.
No in-game content anymore?
Posted 4/28/12
Did they remove the in game content from the collectors edition?
Customer Avatar
Korima
 
Please wait while more information about Korima is loaded.
Additional information about Korima could not be loaded.
Unfortunately....
Posted 4/27/12
This is a pre-order. Not a Prepurchase (What's the difference? No idea XD)
Therefore we don't get beta keys unless we pester and bug Gamestop, but it's not guarenteed.
Customer Avatar
Raonjena
Canada
 
Please wait while more information about Raonjena is loaded.
Additional information about Raonjena could not be loaded.
GIMMIE THE BETA ACCES
Posted 4/26/12
I just pre ordered collecter's version as well because other digital versions are all SOLD out. and appreantly there's no download or access key whatsoever so far im worried as well since beta event is tommorow :/
Customer Avatar
cantwaitalready
 
Please wait while more information about cantwaitalready is loaded.
Additional information about cantwaitalready could not be loaded.
pre purchase
Posted 4/24/12
the website said:" Pre-Purchase the only way to get into Guild Wars 2 Beta Weekend Events?
Pre-Purchase is the only guaranteed way to get into all Beta Weekend Events. We will also be running promotions for access to individual Beta Weekend Events".
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 7 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
BETA weekend
Posted on:5/9/12
LordFenixNC
Location: Pikeville, NC
I have had my eye on this after i got my hands on the guild wars collection 4 + years ago.... (i still need last exp and to beat the darn thing... a necro is hard to keep alive IMO cant find ppl to play with lol)
I have been keeping up with videos screen shots everything... the sec i found out about GW2 CE i had it paid in full in under a month...
When I got into the Beta I was soo blown away... the visuals were great for a MMO style game... the models were very nice and the textures... the battle system was awesome and i cant vouch for all groups but as a necro every weapon class u pick up gave u totally dif stat/skills was a very nice set up on how you can change ur play style in a matter of swapping weapon lay outs... the only negative thing but i come to expect with free to play online games... the random item boxes.... the only way to open them is with a paid Key... but they got to make money some how to pay for everything... so its no biggie at least you get a choice and so far its not a game breaker like other online games with paid items.
For those of you who are a big fan of WOW.... this is better on soo many levels (IMO)... for those of you who hate MMOs because of WOW... you need to try it out....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
drakokid92
 
Please wait while more information about drakokid92 is loaded.
Additional information about drakokid92 could not be loaded.
Just clearing a few things up
Posted 5/17/12
I'm afraid that ppl will see your review and get turned off of the game but the keys do drop same as the chests and yes the game has micro transactions but you can trade gold for the gems which are used for the transactions so no actual cash is involved unless you choose to pay for the gems. Also every class has different skills based on what weapon you are using.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Oh How Long its Been
Posted on:4/10/12
Itirys
Location: Auburn, AL
Back in August of 07, after Eye of the North released, ArenaNet said they would like to make a sequel for GW and that made everyone excited. Now 5 years down the road it is finally pre-orderable.
The $150 is a bit steep for a CE, but for me there is no other alternative since I have the Charr plush, the two books, and have played GW since it released back in April of 05.
I have very high hopes for this game and surely if I've waited 5 years I can certainly wait a couple more months =)
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Unsure
Posted on:4/10/12
Bagley
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Gamestop is the only retailer in the US that you can pre-purchase the Collector's Edition. Unfortunately it seems Gamestop forgot to inform their employees about this.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lilithe
 
Please wait while more information about Lilithe is loaded.
Additional information about Lilithe could not be loaded.
Posted 4/12/12
They do have it working now - When you go in to pre-order, pay the full thing off and make sure to ask them to scan on the code for the pre-purchase, because it is not automatic. The code will then print on your receipt at the bottom.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Beta shows promise, release date not June.
Posted on:6/16/12
Reyen
Location: Dallas, TX
After playing both of the Open Beta weekend events, I am psyched to play the third Beta Weekend. This is a great game to play with your friends, as I know since hype about it and my friends spread like wildfire. From Dynamic Events to the massively epic battlefields in World Vs. World, I have not had a moment of boredom after logging in. This game caters to everybody, Roleplayers, Hardcore PvP and PvE, as well as lots to do for even casual gamers. Wield your server pride as you lay siege to keeps in WvW, relax in any of the capitol cities with a few friends, show off your new armor set, or go berserk in structured PvP. What you do, how you do it, and how good you look while doing it is up to you. No subscription fees? Check. Beautiful visuals? Check. Release data? So far, it WILL NOT be the end of June, like it says on the site. It is coming soon, but as Arena Net states "It will be ready when it is ready." One more Beta Weekend is on the horizon, so I would urge anyone looking for a new PC title to bring a lot of content and enjoyment to the table, Guild Wars 2 does not charge monthly, and costs only as much as a single new PS3 or XBOX 360 game, depending on the version you purchase. I hope to see you in the Eternal Battlegrounds!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
To say I'm excited about GW2 is an understatement
Posted on:4/4/12
Vorch
Location: Central Florida
Full Disclosure: Played GW1 from mid 2006- early 2011.
Waiting for this has made it nearly impossible to play other games. Up until a few months ago, I thought GW2 was going to just be a popular niche game. Then the overwhelmingly positive beta previews came out.
I've pre-ordered the Collector's Edition. If you don't want to put 150 big ones down, just get the regular version. Either way, don't miss out.
With no subscription fees, this may quite possibly be the last best hope for the MMO genre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
About time
Posted on:4/4/12
RCR293
Location: Lubbock,Tx
Its about time they added it to the website so I can prove to the guy working there that they WILL have the CE for prepurchase. I know what I'm talking about....
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Cant Wait!
Posted on:4/10/12
Lukoi
Location: Alberta, Canada
Had to order it from the states because canada sold out within 5 minutes! had to pay extra shipping but totally worth it!
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Pre-order and Beta Access
Posted on:4/10/12
FalseHope
Location: NC
Just pre-ordered the CE eddition... my only hope is that EB does a better job than they have been doing with pre-order keys. While i got the confirmation order in my e-mail. Didnt recieve the usual 2'nd one with the 'early-access/beta-access' key at the same time. Not sure if this is due to EB, or ArenaNet not giving them keys to give out yet. The CE Eddition is well worth it though if your a fan of the GW series. If the 10 inch Rytlock isnt enough (Aion's CE figure is only 5-6in.), you also get all the nice artwork that can be used to spice up your man/woman-cave.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RCR293
Lubbock,Tx
 
Please wait while more information about RCR293 is loaded.
Additional information about RCR293 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/12/12
Preordering doesnt get you the beta access, prepurchase does. Only thing preorder gets you is the 1 day early access. If you WERE a fan of GW you would know that.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Arenanet announced the release date!
Posted on:6/28/12
FusRoDOH
And it is neither 6/26/2012, nor is it 12/31/2012 like Gamestop seems to say! The release date for this game, as announced today by Arenanet, is August 28th 2012! Check out GW2's website if you don't believe me!
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Getting standard edition with collector's guide
Posted on:8/22/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
I will most definitely be getting guild wars two the day it comes out. I just will not be getting this. It really doesn't appeal to me because of what little it comes with. The art book would be cool but I have no use for the extras like the metal box and figure. I will however be getting the hardcover strategy guide because it looks awesome. I'm not saying that this is a bad deal because i'm sure there are a ton of people who will awe over this, it is just not worth the extra 90$ in my own opinion.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Guild Wars 2 Limited Edition Hardcover Official Strategy Guide
6 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Laserjik
Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about Laserjik is loaded.
Additional information about Laserjik could not be loaded.
Everything but game is useless
Posted 9/3/12
Strategy guides usually end up in my closet collecting dust. As well as collectors edition stuff. 150$?? I can buy like 4 games for that amount of money... Also all the information you will need to know will be on the guild wars 2 wiki. Save your money and put it to better use. Sorry Guild Wars. I'm pretty sure you'll do fine. Kids in Africa won't.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Cannot wait!
Posted on:4/8/12
Goreface
I have been waiting for this game since the first guild wars came out, and so far what ive seen has totally exceeded my expectations for this game. Going to be sweet, so excited.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
The Must Have MMO
Posted on:4/10/12
D3M0NYK
Location: Tempe, AZ
I have been playing Guild Wars since beta and have been anticipating Guild Wars 2 since they announced development back in 2007. As they say, if you love MMO's then Guild wars 2 is the game for you and if you hate MMO's then Guild Wars 2 will be the game that changes what you think. I advise everyone who has wondered about what playing an MMO is like to give Guild wars 2 a try and see if you don't instantly become converted like the millions before you.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ALRR
 
Please wait while more information about ALRR is loaded.
Additional information about ALRR could not be loaded.
Beta key email after pre-order?
Posted 4/12/12
I preordered yesterday, the 11th, and didn't receive the code yet. Usually comes right away, hopefully there are no problems. Everyone else get them okay?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
Radical!
Posted on:4/4/12
Jinxxx
Location: The Pitt, PA
I've been waiting for this for 2 years. So excited for it! I haven't heard much of it other than it's bound to be AWESOME!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Guild Wars 2 Collector's Edition
First Beta Weekend Event
Posted on:4/18/12
Matejisz
Location: Chicago , IL
Good news
First Beta Weekend Event will be on April 27-29!
People who already pre-purshased game will be informed via e-mail about availability of client to download!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>