GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pokemon Conquest

In Pokémon Conquest, you take on the role of a young Warlord who is linked with a Pokémon. Together with your Pokémon, you must set out to recruit Warrior allies to strengthen your growing kingdom. Along your journey, you will encounter a variety of Pokémon, as well as figures from Japanese history which fans of the famous Nobunaga's Ambition series of games will recognize. The game contains nearly 200 Pokémon, including many from the recent Pokémon Black Version and Pokémon White Version games, which have sold more than 4 million copies combined. As the battlefield unfolds in Pokémon Conquest, you must choose the correct Pokémon type to inflict maximum damage on your opponent. The turn-based skirmishes, allow you to choose different tactics for intense 6-on-6 battles, and battle conditions can change on every turn, keeping you on your toes in anticipation of what will happen next.
Average Customer Rating:
8.564
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (121 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
17
8 stars
5
7 stars
5
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
54 out of 6287%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pokemon Conquest
Review 1 for Pokemon Conquest
Don't read this unless you want a spoiler or two.
Posted on:4/21/12
GamingFan123456
Location: Florida
As I'm sure plenty of you know, you start off withg the pokemon Evee. And I'm sure if you look up small things about the game, you will see the other bushou/leaders get legends, where as you do not. though, that's not all true. They don't start with legends. When you get these leaders to join you, you have rare chances to meet legendary pokemon. Only a special bushou/leader can befriend a legend that he matches. Back to the Evee thing. Your character.. the hero. he has Arceus. the "god" of pokemon. With him you defeat Nobunaga's shadow rayquaza. that's the end of the main game. If you like REALLY LONG RPG's that go into the story as every single main character, you'll like this, seeing as how there are multiple episodes/campaigns for each character, after beating the main game. Also, for those who are a fan of Reshiram, he wont be available at first. they will have a wifi event where you can unlock him, and find him in the game. this may seem like alot of spoilers, but it is really less than you think. this game is amazing. I've played it, and beat it. [I own the japanese version.] I will be getting this when it hits the states for sure. Any pokemon fan would honestly love this. It's way better than it may look at some points. By the way, be sure to look forward to Black and white 2. :3 the sequels to the first B/W. They aren't like platinum, or emerald. these are DIRECT sequels.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pokemon Conquest
Pretty Good Game System, and Better Gaming Style.
Posted on:4/10/12
ZekromWhite
Location: Oakland Township, MI
Well to start, I am sort of a Pokemon fan. I'm starting to get too old for that kind of stuff, but I've looked at this game, and maybe I'll get it. The game is supposed to be about you as a Warlord going around to cities battling Pokemon and that kind of stuff. If you've heard of the Lego Battles system where you touch an enemy and start attacking it, you probably will see that kind of battle. I don't think it will beat Pokemon Black and White in graphics, but it still might be a great game to play. By the way, if you are not really interested in games like this, but like the Pokemon games where you are a trainer and catch pokemon to battle you, this autumn, Pokemon Black and White Version 2 are coming out and it's supossed to have new forms of Kyurem.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
ZekromWhite
Oakland Township, MI
 
Please wait while more information about ZekromWhite is loaded.
Additional information about ZekromWhite could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Thank You!
Posted 5/11/12
To those who commented on my preview, thanks for info!
Customer Avatar
1224343434343
massachites
 
Please wait while more information about 1224343434343 is loaded.
Additional information about 1224343434343 could not be loaded.
the battle begins!!!
Posted 4/14/12
i saw the japenese gameplay on youtube the game looks pretty cool you start with eevee then you can catch other pepoles pokemon and evole em and even if you dont preorder the game it comes with a level x or ex shiny raquazza this games gonna rock
Customer Avatar
tranceking21
bronx ny
 
Please wait while more information about tranceking21 is loaded.
Additional information about tranceking21 could not be loaded.
good expectations
Posted 4/13/12
i hope this new pokemon game will be better then the others and taking over kingdoms will be a new adventure to do.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 3 for Pokemon Conquest
AMAZING!!!! DONT JUDGE BY LOOKS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
99lucario99
Location: Wii Universe
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is probably the best turn based Nintendo game ever. It has great graphics, a lot of gameplay, great music, and it isnt as easy as I thought! Its really like Final Fantasy Tactics but in a Pokemon way!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pokemon Conquest
Awesome game but a disappointing ending!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
falcon381324
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome and requires a lot of skill. I didn't like the fact that you have to restart everything you did for hours and hours! That's the only thing wrong with this game so it is really cool, if you're the strategy type gamer!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pokemon Conquest
Pokemon + Nobunaga's Ambition
Posted on:4/14/12
erith81
Location: Boone, NC
This game is known in Japan as Pokemon + Nobunaga's Ambition. It plays as a turn based tactical combat game (think Final Fantasy Tactis or Disgaea).
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Gameplay Video for Pokemon Conquest
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pokemon Conquest
Best Pokemon Spin Off in History!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
GMMTKS
Pokemon Conquest joins 2 ideas that should not work together, however the 2 concepts DO WORK and the result is an amazing game. The hand-drawn anime art style of the characters and locations look amazing. Gameplay is very deep and there is much to wrap your head around. It's impressive that the game does not shove boring and long tutorials at your face. Pokemon Conquest is a tactical RPG, think Fire Emblem but with Pikachu. Striving to conquer a kingdom adds a challenge such as poison bogs and falling rocks adds a layer to the gameplay which is all about forward thinking! There are 200 Warriors and Pokemon to recruit or "catch". This game has about 100 hours or more of gameplay which includes the 20 hour story and 30 or so scenes afterwards. Hopefully this games starts a new franchise, but in any case Pokemon Conquest sets itself apart as the most fully realized spin-off in Pokemon History! Pokemon Conquest should keep fans busy untill Pokemon Black and White 2!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pokemon Conquest
Amazingly Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/21/12
lhk3
This game was everything I thought it would be and more! Its really fun and after playing for only a few minutes, I became addicted. The controls of the game are easy to understand and anyone can easily follow the in game tutorials. I'm not really sure how to describe the music since I usually listen to other music while playing but from what I did hear it was ok and the graphics were good too but I'm not too sure on those either since I play on my 3DS but I would say both were fairly great. My only complaint would be that I was a bit confused at how to get new pokemon in the game since you have to make a link with them but after playing around with it for a few minutes I understood it. This game is definitely a must buy for any fan of Pokemon or anyone who just wants to try something different. **Side-note: I pre-ordered this game and got the extra pokemon as well, and to enter the passwords you have to conquer at least 5 kingdoms first but it isn't hard to do so if you aren't the patient type you don't have to worry.**
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pokemon Conquest
Pokemon finally evolved into something badass.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
Taylorbee
Location: Augusta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's so refreshing to see some innovation in the franchise. I've loved all the Pokemon titles since Yellow, but the same old stationary sprites in the traditional games gets old after a decade or so of the same repetitive formula. Conquest is a brilliant twist on the familiar world of Pokemon that incorporates a dynamic strategy-style battle system that's reminiscent of the timeless Final Fantasy Tactics Advance. The collection aspect in conquest is extremely addictive - I'm constantly driven not only to tame more Pokemon, but to recruit awesome warriors as well. I've always thought of Pokemon as a part of my childhood that I've just never grown out of, but the premise of this game - defeating feudal Japanese warlords in order to conquer kingdoms on a map in a world-takeover campaign - allows adults to enjoy Conquest without feeling like they're indulging in a childish guilty pleasure. Overall an awesome game, and I hope the industry continues to produce innovations like this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pokemon Conquest
Koei made a brilliant move, hands down.
Posted on:6/17/12
ZeroEXE
Location: South Beloit, IL
I've been following this game ever since I heard of its appearance in Japan months ago. Taking it's Nobunaga's Ambition franchise, adopting the personas of the historical figures via Samurai Warriors 3, and fusing it with Pokemon make an unlike, albeit extremely successful combination. I'll be saddened that 80-95% of people who touch this game will have absolutely no idea who the characters are, and heck, even be baffled by it, but Koei's...ambition to broaden its circle with Nintendo in such a good way will always make me a fan rootin' for Hideyoshi.
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pokemon Conquest
A Great Spin-Off! Just as Good as the Main Games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/12
Itachi
Location: Los Angeles, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pokemon Conquest was a lot better than I expected. A LOT BETTER. The Gameplay story and everything was setup so beautifully. When i first saw it, it looked boring to me because it was the japanese version but then it got localized so I was like, "Why not?" I got the game and played it straight until I beat the story. (took me 11 hours). The fun doesnt stop there though. There's like 20-30 episodes which could last like 50 hours so you can be playing this game for a long time. The game's battle system looks repetitive but it's not. The only cons were that the graphics could've better but it still looked great. Story seemed a little too fast paced though. They need more pokemon in that game. they left out some good ones like darkrai or giratina. Overall, amazing game and awesome experience for me. I'm extremely glad that it got localized and hopefully they make a 2nd one!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pokemon Conquest
FFTactics+Pokemon. Im throwing money at the screen
Posted on:6/13/12
Libug
Location: RI
This looks to be shaping up as a Final Fantasy Tactics meets Pokemon, sold. Though I am usually dubious of Pokemon spin-offs, this one looks awesome.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pokemon Conquest
A Twist on the Usual
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
4Clover
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Has to be one of the best games that puts a great strategic twist on your usual Pokemon game. It does however dictate lots of the choices you make and limits your abilities to stray from the game's usual storyline now and again. It limits each warlord with only specific Partners that have best links. If the game offered longer in depth possibilities than just a straight forward path and also giving the oppurtunity to have more than 1 move and maybe even have the warlords fight too, the franchise would have a definate takeover in not only RPG, but strategy/tactics as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pokemon Conquest
Great Pokemon Spin-Off
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Dan14
Location: Franklin, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not like usual Pokemon games. Instead of having a team of six Pokemon running through grass, training, and collecting badges, you play as a Warlord who's goal is to conquer the entire nation to prevent Nobunaga from turning other Warlords to the dark side. The Main story takes about 15-20 hours to complete, but you then unlock seperate stories which increase the gameplay time tenfold. I recommend this game to all who enjoy Pokemon.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pokemon Conquest
Tried before release; really good.
Posted on:5/13/12
GamerToTheMaximum
Location: Baltimore
I was in Japan for a while and I got to try it. Really good. Graphics are good, gameplay is good, everything was great. Buy it when it comes out!!
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pokemon Conquest
Pretty good, except for two things...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
TheDeliciousDoughnut
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game, but when I beat the main story the fun factor went down. I lost all of my hard work, then I'm not even able to use my own character anymore (so far). Plus this game seriously needs a sandbox mode. Other than that, this game (in my opinion) is the very best of all the pokemon spinoffs.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chrisi
Fl
 
Please wait while more information about chrisi is loaded.
Additional information about chrisi could not be loaded.
this game sucks
Posted 7/7/12
what ever happened to the classic pokemon games i mean a great story line in all and they were heading in the right direction but this game is the worst pokemon game they've ever made and ever will make this game sucks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Pokemon Conquest
Pokemon from a new view
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
kguiles101
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Played every pokemon to date and this game was a very fun game to my surprise. Originally I was never a fan of tactic style games but Pokemon has been in my life for so many years I gave the game a chance. I was very surprised about how much fun I was having once I got going. It was much more tactical than I expected because Pokemon is overall a kid franchise. I needed to have the perfect force in every castle and the game challenges you. If you dont have enough forces in a castle, they are gunna attack you, so you need to think about who your attacking with and when to do it and if your strong enough. The fact that you can get codes to get other pokemon at a later time was a very cool idea and kept me wondering which pokemon would become available. Gridding out levels can be alittle tiresome but thats what pokemon is, you gotta grid out some levels some times to get stronger, so I had little problem with this. Overall the game has alot of replay value and pushing towards the finish of the game was very enjoyable. Only think that I could say could be added, add more pokemon!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Pokemon Conquest
Not supposed to be in stores till Tuesday.
Posted on:6/17/12
baileyjoy3
I just called the store at two different locations. The game isn't supposed to arrive until Tuesday the 19th when the release date on the Gamestop site and the Pokemon site say Monday the 18th. Kinda disappointed about that. I can only hope they don't do that when Black 2 and White 2 come out.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fangarius09
 
Please wait while more information about Fangarius09 is loaded.
Additional information about Fangarius09 could not be loaded.
Shipping date vs. release date
Posted 6/19/12
Actually what you're seeing is the shipping date, when the game ships out to the stores. Stores usually won't receive the game until about one day later. So when something says ships on say 6/18, stores won't officially get it in until 6/19. I know, strange, but that's how it works.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Pokemon Conquest
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Scythe
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People need to learn this game isn't Pokemon, it's a different series; Pokemon is a novelty here. The game you see isn't a game made for Pokemon fans, the Japanese series Nobunaga's Ambition decided to have a game with Pokemon as the soldiers; despite what others who have judged this as a Pokemon game say, the people who are least likely to enjoy this are hardcore Pokemon fans who demand the basic system. This is a game for people who like strategy and Pokemon, and I mean far more strategy than normally found in Pokemon; the only reason I decided to even type this here is because people have been criticizing this game as a Pokemon game, rather than as the strategy game it actually is. Does Pokemon being ridiculously famous mean people have to assume a game that features Pokemon has to be judged as a Pokemon game? If so, people must have one unusual relationship when playing a Smash Bros. game, constantly shouting that Pikachu has more than 4 moves and can swing its face at things. Also: People need to understand that the story takes place in the Pokemon world(which we have long since assumed to be made primarily of Japan) during what would be feudal times; the character designs are those of actual people from those times; of course they've been given a more animated look and cleaned up in regards to what real life would look like.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ZalexRough
DSi
 
Please wait while more information about ZalexRough is loaded.
Additional information about ZalexRough could not be loaded.
Incorect
Posted 6/21/12
I believe that this game should be judged as a pokemon game and not a Nobunaga spinoff. With that said this game is easily worth a 9.5 with .5 missing due to undeveloped tactics graphics. if Disgaea for the ps2 has better graphics then pokemon conquest should as well.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Pokemon Conquest
BEST MIX OF STRATEGY AND POKEMON
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
Getsum
Location: San Francisco,SF
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
wow!!!This is amazing!!!!!One of my favorite things about this is that its pretty challenging to get legendarys!! It makes getting legendarys realistic!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pokemon Conquest
Why I'm buying it.
Posted on:6/9/12
earthling7
Location: Earth
Dude, I do not even have time to play another video game right now. But GameStop is currently the only store offering any bonuses for reserving the game before release. I am literally going to purchase the game, download all the exclusive content I can as reward for reserving (also becoming a member of GameStop's purchase reward programs) and put the game aside until I'm ready to satisfy my ambition. I'll be picking up a brand new copy, identical to any I could purchase by the time I'm free to play this game, but I'll also be adding to my arsenal: Eevee, Emolga, Lapras, Scyther, Riolu, Pikachu, Darmanitan, Sneasel, Larvitar, Axew and Beldum. HOW COULD ANY POKEMON GEEK NOT WANT THAT?!?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>