GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop

Bringing the breathtaking performance of a desktopn gaming PC to a compact notebook has been a challenge, but this is exactly what the ROG G75VW notebook achieves. Featuring the 3rd generation Intel® Core processor, the all-new Stealth Aircraft-Inspired ASUS ROG G75VW is the ultimate fighting machine.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (5 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
1 out of 1100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
Review 1 for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
excelent gamer computer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
loremaster12
Location: lincoln ne
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
cons its a laptop ,pros its a laptop wich, is hard to break ,there you go have a nice dayyyyyyyyyyyyyy ty.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
Not worth the price
Posted on:5/22/12
Breadnpasta
Location: Chicago, IL
If you're going to buy a laptop you might as well just get an alienware for the price you are paying here. Yeah you're getting a 3rd gen i7 but it's only 2.3ghz and not 3.3 like most i7 laptops. Also you're getting the geforce 660 gtx which benchmarks pretty low for just being released. it's a sub par laptop. Do yourself a favor and get the m17 from alienware 3.3 i7 12gbs ram amd 7970 radeon card (highest laptop card on market and it's next gen in cards) will out perform this laptop 2x over for roughly $200 more.
20 of 81 found this review helpful.
Comments (10)
Comments (10)
Customer Avatar
Trax
 
Please wait while more information about Trax is loaded.
Additional information about Trax could not be loaded.
G75SW
Posted 12/14/12
I have had many computers in my time. I started with the Apple, then the II, II+, so on and so forth. I have had many a computer that has claimed to be the 'be all and the end all', the latest and the greatest. Funny, how I keep having to 'Upgrade' with the times because my 'be all, end all' just simply wasn't. Especially when it comes to gaming and how intense and complex the games have become. I have owned the G73 and now own the G75, and I will tell you without a shadow of a doubt, that this computer does everything I will ever need a computer to do. First of all, it is NOT the 'Sandy Bridge', it is the 'Ivy Bridge' which is a 'Tick' or die shrink on the Sandy Bridge microarchitecture, (Tock). Second, as far as mobile graphics are concerned, the 660m GTX is fairly high-end considering its a LAPTOP. The actual 660 GTX graphics card for home computers has 960 cuda cores as opposed to the 384 Cuda cores in the mobile version. Checkout the NVidia 680 mx. It will not only outshine anything that ATI has to offer in mobility, but it also will outshine alot of regular sized home computing graphics cards also. I have ran every game from crysis to skyrim to battlefield on nuked out graphical settings, and I have not seen this computer falter yet. I do have 2 512SSD drives which also makes this computer lightning fast. My gaming is instantaneous, and the boot and shut down times, 'fa-git-a-bout-it'. I can't say enough about the stability of this machine also. I have never had a BSOD on this machine, and ASUS are known for their quality and stability along with their continued support of their products as far as updating firmware and drivers are concerned. If you have truely done your research, then you would know that most computers around the world have ASUS motherboards or other products in them. I love everything about this laptop. It does all that I need a computer to do, and then some. Finally, I have found a computer that I will not be needing to upgrade 6 months to a year from now just so I can keep up with the times and play the latest and greatest, as I know this computer will be relavant for a few years to come.
Customer Avatar
DragonRydrz
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about DragonRydrz is loaded.
Additional information about DragonRydrz could not be loaded.
Posted 12/12/12
This processor is 2.3 BUT has turbo boost up to 3.3, same as all the others you talking about. I have the model before this with the 660M and its an absolute beast. Drop a SSD in as your boot drive and load times completely vanish. Well worth the cost.
Customer Avatar
stuffedbearman
NOTW
 
Please wait while more information about stuffedbearman is loaded.
Additional information about stuffedbearman could not be loaded.
Yeah
Posted 9/21/12
man that's what im doing this look awesome but im getting a alienware m11x from another site cause it's only like $950-1000 and the guy that said they went down hill so what as long as they work!!!! and the M11x can also be used for scool i dont think this could be as good for those reasons it seems to be over focused on gaming (and i know this is gamestop.com but im making a point here)
Customer Avatar
unitx
 
Please wait while more information about unitx is loaded.
Additional information about unitx could not be loaded.
Posted 9/13/12
i totally agree with you guys this looks awesome. I really want it and i might get it in a year or so. I have an hp pavilion dv6tqe which is not nearly as good as this one. Although i do agree that an alienware m17x is a great laptop since my friend has one but it is really expensive. so yeah looks like a great laptop.
Customer Avatar
Notanickname
Ponyville
 
Please wait while more information about Notanickname is loaded.
Additional information about Notanickname could not be loaded.
I disagree
Posted 6/30/12
I disagree. I think this is worth the price, yeah, $1500 is a lot, but this should be worth it considering all the memory it has, it's portable, AND it has an illuminated keyboard... Soooo.... Yeah...
Customer Avatar
Huderka
Atlanta, Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about Huderka is loaded.
Additional information about Huderka could not be loaded.
i7 2.3ghz "ivy bridge"
Posted 6/24/12
also the 3rd generation ivy bridge for laptops isnt made for putting more power to the laptop if you did research you would know intel are using more power smart options yes its not much of an improvement power wise from 2nd generation but its using much less power from the computer then its older generation also alienware laptops with simuliar pricing is ALOT worse then RoG G75 and even the G55 laptops. I suggest going for the G55 its a little less but your getting a good deal and its a 15.6inch screen.
Customer Avatar
Tobenutte
Fort Wayne, IN
 
Please wait while more information about Tobenutte is loaded.
Additional information about Tobenutte could not be loaded.
Posted 6/13/12
Alienware went to down hill after Dell bought them. Also before Asus started to put out gaming computers on their own they were the ones who supplied the parts for Alienware.
I do agree that the geforce card is not that best option. I have an older Asus G73 with the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5870 and blows the geforce cards out of the water.
Customer Avatar
Musou
 
Please wait while more information about Musou is loaded.
Additional information about Musou could not be loaded.
Posted 6/13/12
The best alienware laptop is the is M18x "Starting at weight: 5.41 kg (11.93 lbs)8". That is not half...This Asus is a beastly computer no doubt. But if you want something portable. This is not it.
Customer Avatar
LadyLuck
 
Please wait while more information about LadyLuck is loaded.
Additional information about LadyLuck could not be loaded.
Posted 5/30/12
Alienware Laptops are the exact same as the Dell XPS ever since dell bought them out. This computer is way better than the best Alienware, Cheaper, and half the weight.
Customer Avatar
Dragpk7
 
Please wait while more information about Dragpk7 is loaded.
Additional information about Dragpk7 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/26/12
You must not know much about computers if you somehow think those specs are weaker than the Alienware. It says 2.3Ghz, but can easily be upgraded for higher clocking speeds. Even so, if you leave it at 2.3, you will not feel a significant or even much of a slight difference since there are hardly any programs to utilize the hyperthreading of the i7 so 2.3 is perfect for many things. It is using the 670 GTX, which is literally just as powerful as the 7970
Comments (10)
Comments (10)
Review 3 for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
since i'm 13 i could get a gaming laptop.
Posted on:5/7/12
Stanlee08
Location: Yonkers,NY
For years i used my parents computer for a very long time. At last month which is April i got in trouble by my mom for the things i watch which she doesn't like. Now i had to do research on my mom's computer at least a few research. Now i was thinking that i should get my own computer. It was from Samsung galaxy tab 10.1 through Asus eee transformer pad. I pick the best computer is the all new asus g75vw gaming laptop. This laptop is coming out tomorrow it was just new right now just after i found it. Now i'm planning to get it until when i get it. And i know that the rest of you will get it. After i get it i still will share it with brothers even my family.
 
My Product Recommendations
ASUS Transformer Prime 32GB Grey Tablet
7.3 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
ASUS Transformer Prime 32GB Grey Tablet Bundle
6.5 out of 10(8)
 
 
 
ASUS Transformer Prime 32GB Tablet Combo Bundle
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 80 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
Just in time for college
Posted on:5/4/12
Rollx2015
Location: Indiana
This thing looks like it will last all 4 years of school. Even cooler I can use some game credit to knock the price down a bit. I've already got the Playstation 3D Display and Logitech Mediaboard, so I think that can be used as a monitor/keyboard for this making into a desktop.
However I'm going to wait a couple months to buy....they might throw in a free Windows 8 upgrade or something, or knock a few hundred off the price by then. That's what they did with my 3D display and I was a bit upset to see it tank $200 cheaper with added freebies just a little bit after I bought it
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GODOFWAR23
 
Please wait while more information about GODOFWAR23 is loaded.
Additional information about GODOFWAR23 could not be loaded.
Posted 5/10/12
I was gonna buy this till i read that it didn't have Blu-Ray... And i was so happy at first.. bummber..
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Asus Republic of Gamers G75VW 17.3 inch laptop
looks good...
Posted on:5/28/12
lol12345
Location: New York, NY
this looks pretty good, i really just want a laptop for minecraft, and i heard it was better for that specific game. it also is very portable, light, and has a lot of memory. i dont have it YET....
 
My Product Recommendations
Minecraft: Xbox 360 Edition - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
9.3 out of 10(408)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
nax2466
EARTH(NO JOKE)
 
Please wait while more information about nax2466 is loaded.
Additional information about nax2466 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
totally agree with overkill
Posted 1/6/13
you can get a computer 1,000 bucks less that plays minecraft. I know I had one once and it worked. It does not take much to play minecraft.
Customer Avatar
lol12345
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about lol12345 is loaded.
Additional information about lol12345 could not be loaded.
Posted 6/12/12
yeah, i guess...its just mainly for minecraft, but ill use it for many other things too
Customer Avatar
Ged1s
Paradise
 
Please wait while more information about Ged1s is loaded.
Additional information about Ged1s could not be loaded.
funny
Posted 6/12/12
Same as my G73 except better video card and a bit faster proccessor....price is funny though....wish you would be able to upgrade video cards on them, otherwise they are "one time" use.
Customer Avatar
solat
 
Please wait while more information about solat is loaded.
Additional information about solat could not be loaded.
Posted 6/11/12
a bit overkill to just play minecraft.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)