GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band - Game Only

Developed by Harmonix, creators of the blockbuster Guitar Hero franchise, Rock Band is an all-new platform for gamers to experience music, giving players the chance to rock in the shoes of the biggest guitarists, bassists, drummers and singers of all time - as a solo superstar or as part of a hard rocking band. Rock Band delivers four music games in one - challenging rockers to master lead guitar, bass guitar, drums and vocals. Built on unprecedented deals with top record labels and music publishers, the music featured in Rock Band spans all genres of rock and includes many master recordings from legendary artists.
Average Customer Rating:
8.75
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 475%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band - Game Only
Review 1 for Rock Band - Game Only
Rockband Rocks!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/08
DForce500
Well I have had RB for playstation 2 for about a year now and my family just got a playstation 3 so we bought rock band again for the playstation 3, and let me say that it is the best game that I own to this date. The graphic were so good, and the characher creation is really cool. The fender guitar should not be used for the eletic guitar in the game because you will beak the guitar, I would buy a Guitar Hero guitar for this game because the Guitar hero guitar is a little bit better then the rock band one and it won't break. The fender guitar is great for bass. The mic is great, works fine. The drums seem to have played better on the playstation 2 for some reason. Sometimes when I go to hit a note on the drums it would say i missed the note, but other then that everything was fine. So when you come down to it Rockband is a great game, DON'T LISTIN to people that say this game is bad because they are guitar hero fans. In my mind this is the game that everyone wanted guitar hero to do, but guitar hero never delivered. So buy this game it is awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rock Band - Game Only
Buy one, Buy all
Posted on:6/13/07
Zorba
This game is like buying a new game console. Sure it looks amazing and will revolutionize gaming and rock music forever and will make Guitar Hero do a double take but will definatley drain your pocket to buy all the controllers (Drum set, 2 guitars, microphone and game.). if i add it up right, you could be spending close to $300 on this game for the whole deal. Lets brake this down again.....$300. How much did the PS2 cost when it first came out??? around $200 right? and how much did the PS3 cost??? from $400 or $600 right (depending on gig version you bought)? So what the gaming companies want us to do is buy a game that is like buying a console that's between the price of a PS2 and a PS3. Im sorry but where i come from i have to work for my money, and i work for video game consoles, not games. if i have to work as much as i did for a PS3 as i will this game, im going to have to be very impressed by what this game has to offer. Lets wait and see.......
Review 3 for Rock Band - Game Only
Fun For Everyone
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/3/08
LockeX007
This game makes performing in your own band a little closer to reality. This is the ultimate party game that I would recommend to anyone. You can either be a drummer, a bassist, a singer, or a lead guitarist. But you already knew that. The learning curve on this game is excellent and the controls are quick and responsive. A couple of gripes that I have is that the drums could be wireless but I understand the need to have a cable attached to the system and the song choice could be a little better although with new online songs coming out every week that is slowly being taken care of. The online adaptivity makes this game ever growing and challenging and just getting better. This is my idea of online playing. I love the way the crowd responds to your performance. If you mess up really bad you risk being booed off stage however if you soar and your performance is spot on the crowd goes crazy. The Band World Tour mode is really good and intuitive as you tour to various venues each with their own different scene and the game screen plays out like a music video. You can either team up with your buddies and rock the house or go online to compete against other people. Overall this game is really good and I highly recommend this to anyone who wishes to live out their fantasy of performing in a band.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rock Band - Game Only
NO, NO, NO!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/08
Agent Lemon
Rock Band's singing ain't half bad, but drums and guitar just suck! I play expert on singing and easy on drums just because of the stupid footpad, guitar is a little more complicated. On guitar hero I can play on expert but rock band has such crappy responsiveness I have to play on medium. Also the bottom of the guitar is such a stupid idea. If any thing they should have made it part of the original game. Both sound and video are so off (by two or three-seconds) that getting a one hundred is nearly impossible. Also the frets on the screen are terribly hard to see, sometimes I miss notes just because I can't see any notes. Guitar hero is so precise and pinpoints all of the notes while, well, what does rock band do? It just doesn't respond properly. All in all I'd definitely recommend guitar hero over rock band. Oh, and did I mention the price?...Yeah that's what I thought.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Rock Band - Game Only
packages people packages
Posted on:7/10/07
jtuarus
ok now all the hubabulu about the huge cost is right out the window u can buy the game in different pacakges like a drummer set or singer set or guitar/bassost set u dont have to buy them all. but thats what im gonna do i mean if you want all of it do like i am and go put down money every check on it so when it hits in nov ull have it paid for . other than that this will so rock i mean the fact that they will let u jam with others online is great so if u get one of the single sets ur cool. me i want it for party nights .and the fact that if u can play drums on expert u can more or less play the drums is awsome i cant wait and remember they are( by they i mean Gamestop) are qouting the price at 199$ for the full set tats 2 guitars drums mic and game so gonna rock out. i already put my first down payment. on the UROE Ultimate Rock Out Edition of rockband
Review 6 for Rock Band - Game Only
a COMPLETE guitar hero
Posted on:4/9/07
some guy wastin your time
sounds to me like a complete guitar hero, which actually sounds pretty good. I was hoping for a drum hero or something along those lines but this game pretty much takes the cake. Hopefully the developers won't mess it up and half-ass it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rock Band - Game Only
Guitar Hero XXI
Posted on:4/24/07
You Network!(The Network)
Yes!!!! Guitar Hero that is completed!!! Your own band!!! Just think how far you can go with this "Rock Band" Game!! Guiater, Drums, Singer. Don't Let us down EA!!!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band - Game Only
awesome
Posted on:11/8/07
dude
this game is awesome, but one thing that I think is bad about it is that when i played it one of the drum pads was broken so i dont know how long the drum set will last . one other thing that i dont like about this game is that the notes are squares instead of circles on guitar hero which just takes a little getting used to. this game has many great features like the fact that you can do a two player career and you can create ur own player. the other thing that i thought was really cool is that u can go online and download more songs right on your xbox or playstation. overall this game is great if u were a guitar hero fan and mabye even if u werent i think its a must buy!!!!!!!!
Review 9 for Rock Band - Game Only
i think its a pretty easy decision
Posted on:6/15/07
Gardner
yeah its expensive... we got that by looking at the price you dont really have to repeat it for us in the preview. yeah if you buy everything up front its gunna empty the wallet. but if youve read the new interview you'll know that guitar hero controllers will work (not all the new features but its a start until you make the money)... or since we all like eb games.. trade in the guitar hero controller and buy just one guitar or the drum set when you buy the game... then wait till you have the money to buy more and until then play online with all of the other people who wanted the game enough to buy it.... like me
Review 10 for Rock Band - Game Only
Souns like a good idea. Hope it is executed right
Posted on:4/4/07
Spring Heeled Jack
This game players will be able to connect over the internet and form a virtual "band." One player will play on the guitar, one on the drums, etc. to play a real song. A factor that is frightening me though is the price because it looks like people can't buy the game and guitar or drums together for discount, they need to buy them separate, and that will add up. If RockBand is as addicting as Guitar Hero is then probably people will find this game to be really fun. Im definately trying it out somewhere though before i spend all that money on it.
Review 11 for Rock Band - Game Only
Originally the best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/13
videogamedude123
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is the best guitar/drums/michrophone game of all time! Totally beats guitar hero (well they are actually the same thing.) I would definetely reccomend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Rock Band - Game Only
Played Rock Band on the tour truck
Posted on:10/12/07
vp1
The singing portion and the guitar portion is fine like the other Harmonix games. I do not like the way the drum controller was designed. It should have had 5 pads instead of 4 + bass pedal. The notes I are not free flowing like Konami's Drummania like doing snares, tomtoms rolling all the way across the drums to the cymbals. There should be a mode to be able to speed up the slow scrolling of the notes 1x-8x or something like that.
Review 13 for Rock Band - Game Only
hmmmm
Posted on:4/23/07
203
sounds like a good idea....i hope they dont have all thoses stupid puck rock bands they should put some hardcore/metal....for example HATEBREED.....i would buy it in a sec....and im so happy beacuse im a drummer and they finaly have a video game that has a drum set thingy(me no like guitar's) i hope i can hoke up my DW7002PT double bass pedal to it or if it comes with something like that that would be sweet.....203!!
Review 14 for Rock Band - Game Only
CRAZYNESS!!
Posted on:6/2/07
Logan White
this is crazy!!! i mean the people who will buy this game will love it, but they also must be rich b/c its so much money! people would have to buy a microphone, drum set, and two guitars. it will be a very fun game, but i can name TWO bad things about it, it's a game to play if you can find enough people to play it and it cost WAY TO MUCH MONEY for a game.
Review 15 for Rock Band - Game Only
change
Posted on:7/8/07
Logan White
alright..i see how this works out now..i change what i said before, it isnt crazyness, and I'm in a band now..and this would actually help me the best since im the lead singer..so it wont be that much money, well just depending on what instrument your gonna get, but this game will be a good game for practice
Review 16 for Rock Band - Game Only
Bout Time
Posted on:4/11/07
D-Lux
I already going to start saving for this game. I have gotten to where I can play the Guitar Hero games in my sleep. Being able to play all aspects will allow for much more replay value. I just hope they make it multiplayer offline, so that you can have the whole band right there in your own home.
Review 17 for Rock Band - Game Only
CRAZYNESS!!
Posted on:6/2/07
Logan White
This is crazy, i mean the game will be sweet ,but having to buy a microphone, drum set, two guitars, i mean good god that's messed up..and u have to buy the game without those to!!!..it will be a lot of fun, but will cost A LOT of money
Review 18 for Rock Band - Game Only
ROCK BAND FOR PS2!!!
Posted on:8/29/07
matt
it has just been confirmed, rock band is coming out for ps2, probably the same time for the other systems...i am definitley getting the drums...if you can use a gh 3 controller for this, i am
Review 19 for Rock Band - Game Only
Looks and sounds great
Posted on:8/9/07
Travis
This game looks and sounds great. I think it would be better if it came out for ps2 so the kids who might not have a lot of money could get it and rock with the rest of us!
Review 20 for Rock Band - Game Only
the next great game
Posted on:4/3/07
northwood
this will be the next great game because it takes guitar hero and combines it with the drums and lead singer to give people the best of every world. can't wait to buy it.
1 2 next>>