GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

StarCraft Battle Chest

Enter the universe of Starcraft and experience the future of strategic combat. This exclusive set includes the full version of Blizzard's blockbuster hit Starcraft, and the critically acclaimed Starcraft Expansion set: Brood War.
Average Customer Rating:
9.917
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for StarCraft Battle Chest
Review 1 for StarCraft Battle Chest
BEST GAME FOR ITS TIME!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/10
Neoshock1
StarCraft: Brood War is the expansion pack for the award winning military science fiction, real-time strategy video game StarCraft. Released in 1998 for Windows and Mac OS, it was co-developed by Saffire and Blizzard Entertainment. The expansion pack introduced new campaigns, map tilesets, music, extra units for each race, and upgrade advancements. The campaigns continue the story from where the original StarCraft ended,[1] with the sequel StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty continuing from the conclusion of Brood War. The expansion was released in the United States on 30 November 1998.[2] Brood War was critically well-received, with reviewers praising it for being developed with the care of a full game rather than as an uninspired extra.[3][4][5] As of 31 May 2007, StarCraft and Brood War have sold almost ten million copies combined.[6] The game is especially popular in South Korea, where professional players and teams participate in matches, earn sponsorships, and compete in televised matches.[7] AND IT IS AWESOME First of all, I'm extremely new to Starcraft. I really only started to play about two weeks ago, but what I've seen so far has blown me away. While sure, the graphics are not up to par with today's market, for a '96 game, they're great. The game also features a good multiplayer system, long and challenging campaigns for each race, and a campaign creator. The AI is another upside. It is probably the best AI I've seen in an RTS game so far. If anyone remembers Age of Empires (I play that a lot too), you may remember how even on the Hard setting, the AI hardly ever attacks you directly. Not in Starcraft, The AI virtually "thinks" and acts and re-acts extremely well to your attacks building appropriate units to attempt to fend off your attack, as well as launching periodic invasions of your base.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Just awesome, buy it no matter what.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
Shadowolf
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got SCII for my bday, and a few GameStop gift cards, so I went over to the mall, and while enjoying some free gelato from my friend, I bought this game. Thank God I did. This is just an awesome game with a very steep learning curve. Luckily, my friend is Korean, so he gave me a few tips (lucky me). Besides that, this game has a great story with challenging missions and an epic multiplayer feature. Seriously, you need to buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for StarCraft Battle Chest
10 Years, Hasn't Failed Me Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/08
Luja
Being one of the original players 10 years ago, I know a lot about this game. StarCraft is just one of those games that doesn't get old, such as many other RTS' such as Warcraft I, II, III and Age of Empires. When playing online, it gets very competitive and this game requires A LOT of skill to really prosper. The graphics are OK, if you can call them graphics. Basically, they are just moving pictures, but even so, this fact does NOT in any way affect the enjoyment of the game. Sure, it may be distracting as your SCV is glitching on top of a Supply Depot, but what the heck, it is a good game. The challenge of StarCraft is extremely high. The campaign will make or break you. By buying the BattleChest, you are immediately given a list of cheats for the game and it takes a lot of courage and determination during the campaign to not use them. Basically, once you get the hang of it, you'll be fine, but I have to say, out of all of the RTS' I played, this is one of the most difficult. The AI in this game are pretty good, although they are pretty dumb sometimes, as are most AI today. One of the best features of this game is the Campaign Editor. The Campaign Editor allows players to create their own maps or custom games by using an editor close to the editor that the game was actually created on. This adds a LOT of playtime on to the game and by combining this with Battle.net, the possibilities are endless. Overall, by buying this game, you are committing that you are ready to step up in gaming, ready to play like no one has ever played before you. That is, until you get utterly destroyed when someone rushes you online and decide to throw your computer out the second story window. (I don't recommend doing that; there are other solutions.) I definitely rate this game a 10, for a great story, lots of fun, and a huge challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for StarCraft Battle Chest
BEST GAME EVER!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/08
Anoymous
I got this game a couple of days ago and i love it. The AI is great and there is always a challenge. Usually by now I would have beaten the game, but this one is so long that I'm still on level 5. And instead of levels being only like 5 mins. to complete there more like 30 mins. The graphics could be better, but since the game is 10 years old you can't really complain cause the gameplay makes up for it fully. The sound is pretty nice, but could be a bit sharper. Also the voice acting is excellent. The game a has a great storyline and the interface is easy to get used to. Plus this game comes with the expansion pack. Two strategy guides. A W.o.W trial. And some other not as important stuff. Anyway any one looking for a challenging game with great and intense Multilayer i recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Get it.... You won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
TheRandomGuy2011
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a 10/10 game (Starcraft 2 11/10) I grew up with this game, I've been playing it as long as i can remember...... and i STILL can Beat anyone on B.net. So ya it's hard, but don't let that get you down the graphic and gameplay are the best for the time I've seen. (Yes, better then Age of Empires).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Wonderful oldy but goody
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/09
sxratch
I have owned Starcraft for a short time now, and I love it! Pros: 1 Wonderful animation and graphics for its time. 2 the music is great, and so are the sound effects 3 At this low of a price for it and its eqaully as great expansion..and a new one coming out... It is completely worth it to have a complete collection 4 A great and intresting storyline, with 3 campaigns for each Starcraft and Brood War 5 A very enjoyable game, especially for those who enjoy the thrill of Real-time strategy. It is a great intro to real time strategy, as well 6 challenging, but not tooo challenging story line Cons: 1 Starcraft needs a disk to play, so you cant give it to a friend, install it on the ir computer, then get it back. 2 Um.. is there anythng else bad? no. my answer is no N-O
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/12
HardcorePCGamer1234512345
GREAT GAME. My favorite that i have ever played. everyone should play it. a good game for everyone. Multiplayer rocks
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for StarCraft Battle Chest
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/08
brownie
This game is awesome, especially when it comes with all this stuff, its cheap and one of my favorite games of all time. I highly recommend this game to anyone. The graphics are not so great but that doesn't really matter much because the game itself is awesome. Its easily one of the coolest games I've ever bought, its up there with diablo and half-life 2. Its super fun and actually has a story line that goes with it, I highly recommend it to anyone with a computer of any speed, it doesn't take much to run and is fun for all ages, like me and my sons(13 and 16). They both like it and we play together a lot and it is fun because they team up and try to beat me but I still win, but sometimes I "let" them win because I feel bad because I win a lot woot!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Best Real-Time Strategy EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
Apollo64
I was looking for a new RTS game to play (AoE3 was getting a little old) and I saw the new StarCraft. Although I couldn't cough up the 50-60 bucks for it, I could get the original StarCraft much cheaper. Thank goodness I did. This is one of, if not the best, RTS game I've ever played. Although there are only three different races to play as, they are VERY different and this adds so much more to the game. It is better to have three different races than ten races that re almost exactly the same. The campaign is great way to learn the basic strategies for each race. The three races are the Terran, Protoss, and the Zerg. They are very balance in their own manner, but differ very greatly from one another. The graphics for this game are not the greatest, but they were very advanced for their time. The graphics are comparable to the second Age of Empires game. The music, as in most RTS games, isn't the greatest, but is much better to other RTS games. This is a game with tons of replayibility, as you play the campaigns over and over, or play against the computer, or against other people. Be warned though, this game can have some major issues if you runs Windows 7. (I think Vista also has issues, but I'm not sure) If you run XP, the game runs perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for StarCraft Battle Chest
THE BEST R.T.S. EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
GloomyHD
Location: WV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even though its about ten years old its still better than any other R.T.S. I've ever played!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Being older makes it a piece of art
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
XBOX360Gamer333
Location: Kansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This stuff is rad and it always will be. The Starcraft series has excellent game-play, an epic Story -line, and music that keeps it interesting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for StarCraft Battle Chest
Incredible Diversity
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/10
Solaris
First of all, I'm extremely new to Starcraft. I really only started to play about two weeks ago, but what I've seen so far has blown me away. While sure, the graphics are not up to par with today's market, for a '96 game, they're great. The game also features a good multiplayer system, long and challenging campaigns for each race, and a campaign creator. The AI is another upside. It is probably the best AI I've seen in an RTS game so far. If anyone remembers Age of Empires (I play that a lot too), you may remember how even on the Hard setting, the AI hardly ever attacks you directly. Not in Starcraft, The AI virtually "thinks" and acts and re-acts extremely well to your attacks building appropriate units to attempt to fend off your attack, as well as launching periodic invasions of your base. The gameplay is what really sells this game. The best thing about it is the diversity. You may think... "oh only 3 races, thats weak", but the thing is that each race is so incredibly different, it's like an entirely new game each time you play as one of them. The terrans are incredibly flexible, able to move their major structures (slowly) around the map, and are what you would think of as a basic RTS team. One "Villager" if you will, can build all the structures, and gather resources, and they have a large range of units, from strong expensive ones, to weak cheap ones, built at various structures. The Zerg are aptly named a "Swarm". They are controlled by one Overmind (Hive Mind, like bees or ants) and can evolve rapidly to form different units. All of their units are evolved from pupae which are spawned periodically from the central building, a nest. Therefore, they can spawn all types of units incredibly quickly and cheaply too. Their idea is to overwhelm the enemy with cheap and fast units. They also have a sort of living "mat" which surrounds thier base, and spreads with a special building called a creep colony. Most of their buildings need this mat in order to be constructed (or mutated into from a "villager" in their case). The Protoss are the most technologically advanced race. Their warfare tactic is expensive and powerful units only. One of the basic units (a Zealot) of the Protoss costs much more than a Marine (Terran basic unit), and yet could probably kill 2 or more marines alone. The Protoss need "Pylons" to power their structures, which function similarly to the Zerg creep colonies. As you can see, you get a lot more out of this one game than just one game. Each race has vastly different ways to create units, power and create their structures, create defensive grids, and simply get around. They are balanced extremely well so no one race can dominate a game. The storyline runs incredibly well, and I would suggest playing the first game before the second one, as their storyline fit together, and you would be very confused without the first storyline. Thanks for listening to my ramblings. This is a great game, and I'm pumped for the second to come out!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10