GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple

Nintendo 3DS system features real 3D graphics, no glasses needed! The Nintendo 3DS is a breakthrough in portable entertainment, a truly cutting-edge piece of hardware. The Nintendo 3DS opens up a whole new world of gaming possibilities with its stereoscopic 3D display. Imagine seeing Mario in the 3rd dimension or rescuing Zelda with mind blowing 3D graphics. It has to be seen to be believed. What if you don't want 3D graphics? The Nintendo 3DS allows you to adjust the intensity of the 3D effects and turn them off completely with the 3D depth slider should you need to give your eyes a break, or if you have children ages 6 and under whom play for extended sessions. The Nintendo 3DS gives you total control over your games from the built in Gyro sensor to the Circle Pad to the always trusted D pad and stylus. The gyro sensor allows you to use the device as the controller. Tilt the 3DS and watch the compatible game react. For the active gamer the 3DS offers the Activity log which rewards you for carrying the 3DS with you as you walk with in-game coins! Additionally StreetPass allows you to communicate and share your Mii and game information with random people you meet throughout the day. Pictures can be taken in 3D using the 3DS and its three built-in cameras. Your pictures will come to life in crystal clear 3D.
Average Customer Rating:
9.52
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (49 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2592%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
VERY SHINY
Posted on:5/1/12
buster123
Location: EARTH
It is shiny and it is very purple and shiny. This one is way more purple than the other 3ds colors. It is also shiny.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
:(
Posted on:5/7/12
thatOTHERguy888
Location: Detroit, MI
I love my Flame Red 3DS and my favorite color is red but my favorite Pokèmon is Gengar and Gengar is purple (an almost identical purple as this 3DS). I would so get this if i had the money and hadnt already bought the Flame Red one.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Snorzor
 
Please wait while more information about Snorzor is loaded.
Additional information about Snorzor could not be loaded.
SO COOL
Posted 6/1/12
I wonder what elese theyll come out in the future maybe a nintendo 4DS. Hope they make a gold 3DS that will be awsome!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
This 3ds is cool,but i got defective systems twice
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
That3dsNoob
Location: Columbus,Oh
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
( My Review of the purple 3ds) its a great system and works well and the graphics are awesome i recommend this product to anyone interested in getting a 3ds but i rated it low because read below V ( My experience with the purple 3ds ! ) I just got this today and i thought there was a problem at first because the touch screen felt loose(when i moved my thumb back and forth Lightly)(also my black 3ds didn't do this so i though something was wrong) so i took it back to exchange it. i got my new one and the screen did the same thing so i thought maybe their made like that then i played Mario kart 7 with my cousin and brother for an hour then went to a movie and then started playing after and then i noticed when the screen was black that there were 3 stray pixels(i didn't press hard or anything) and so im planing on taking it back tomorrow or the day after(sorry for the life story but this is just me sharing my 1st day with this 3ds) im not even sure anyone reads these xD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
So Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
monkeybuttjr
Location: new jersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When the 3ds came out i really wanted one.....I waited awhile though and just stuck with my pink ds lite....I had my ds lite for 4 years and i decided it was time for an upgrade :D I noticed the promotion going on saying that they will up the trade in value to $50 if you use it toward a 3ds...I couldnt resist that offer since they said a couple months back my ds was only going to be worth $25 for trade in value....I was also happy because they recently released this awesome purple 3ds! I just had to get it as purple is my favorite color.... To my surprise today when i went to get my 3ds they also had another deal that when you buy the 3ds you either get pilot wings or steel diver... I got pilot wings because it looked cooler lol! I ended up only having to pay $103 with all the promotions and my $25 giftcard i had :D I got it home and got it all charged up before i started playing.... Let me tell you the game play is amazing!!! I love it sooo much! The screen is way bigger than my ds lite was and the color on the screen was great! Pilot wings is a great game despite all its negative reviews!!! I cant wait to get nintendogs+cats soon! Overall this ds is amazing and you should definitely buy one....The only flaw qhich i didnt find out till i turned it on is that it doesn't have pictochat :( I love pictochat and was looking forward to finally being able to use the rainbow pen....but ohh well its still a great system!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Great System!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/12
Sicuro
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this system for a couple months now, and absolutely love it! The Midnight Purple color is absolute eye candy, and the games are even better. The 3D effects are very good at times, but if you have the 3D on for too long, it can strain your eyes. With this, try to not look at the screen from an angle; it'll be very blurry. Also, you will notice that the black part around the top screen can tend to become littered with finger prints very easily. Other than those two things, I have nothing negative to say. I HIGHLY recommend this if you're a Nintendo fan and like the color!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Beautiful!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
SavvyLover256
Location: Washington
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this 3ds for my birthday and its so pretty! I love this one as my favorite colors are Purple and Pink and couldnt decide between Pink or Purple and I am so glad I bought this one! Its beautiful. I upgraded from my red ds lite to this I almost bought a dsi but decided to wait until the next ds came out. All of the games look WAY better one this system I felt like I was actually playing a wii game with as good of graphics this has! So If your looking to upgrade from a ds lite or dsi This is definitely a great buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Love it !
Posted on:5/1/12
KitkatLove
Location: florida
Finally a purple 3DS comes out !! I have been waiting FOREVER for nintendo to make another color. I am very happy that they did not stay with the regular colors. I actually did not think they would come out with this because they always stick to the colors such as black, red, blue, and pink, which was getting very boring. When i first heard of this, i honestly did not believe it. I thought it was just a joke but when i looked it up on gamestop, my jaw literally dropped !!!! I was not even considering to buy a 3DS but now that they have made a purple 3DS, which is my favorite color, i look forward to getting myself a 3DS ! I hope Nintendo creates more colors !!! Cant wait !!!!! :D
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Great System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Roxaslyoko15
Location: Turnersville,NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was looking for a 3ds after my black ds light stoped holding a charged. I saw this color and i loved it. The website said that there were none in 100 miles from were i was. i went to a store and they had one so i had to get it. The system works great and everything. the color is darker than it shows in the picture which is good with being a male. This system rocks and cant wait for Kingdom HEarts 3d to come out in july to get on the system. The system gives the Kingdom Hearts 385/2 days a great new detailed looked than on the ds. The system is better than the Ds light or dsi
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nintendogamer3
 
Please wait while more information about nintendogamer3 is loaded.
Additional information about nintendogamer3 could not be loaded.
3DS
Posted 12/30/12
The 3ds is so awesome!!!! it is my favorite gaming system that i have ever played on. the only thing that i dont like about it is that the volume button is a slider. other than that it is really fun and you can adjust the 3d part of it to high down to off. people say that it cuts off the ends of the screen when you play a ds game on it, it does, but the 3ds screen is 90% bigger then the dsi /ds lite, so it is pretty much normal.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Epic win!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/12
FlyHarder
Location: Durham, NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had a 3ds once before, but my stupid brother sold it. I now have the purple 3ds, and let me tell you it's the funnest portable system I;ve ever had (along with the gameboy). Having a brighter color (any color other than black) can make everything much more lively! I diffidently request getting one for yourself or others! Makes a great gift!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
PURPLE 3DS is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/2/12
BrokenArrow
Location: York, PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I traded my black 3DS in on this purple one and just changing to a brighter color makes it more fun to play. If you're thinking about getting a 3DS, YOU HAVE TO GET ONE!!!! You'll be glad you did.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
umadbro721
Lewisville,Texas
 
Please wait while more information about umadbro721 is loaded.
Additional information about umadbro721 could not be loaded.
WOW!
Posted 6/22/12
this color is awesome. im getting one in July 21. This is the color im getting.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
t4t3rtots
Location: steubenville
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have been waiting a while to get this and the wait was well worth it this is the best handheld gaming device in my opinion and it looks so nice in midnight purple.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/14
Nmedina
Location: SanJose, Cal.
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This 3ds is just amazing. Even though going onto the interweb sucks. And I just love the 3D fetures.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
what?
Posted on:5/8/12
naminelove
how dare they come out with a purple one after i get a black one!! purple is my favorite color!! if i had known this then i would've kept my ds light for a few more months and saved up for the purple one
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Great Color; Awesome Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
MrsBtoBe
Location: Randleman, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just bought this going from a Blue DSLite to the New 3DS I'm going to have to get used to the new technology in general but the only reason I bought it is because of the color!!! I can't use the 3D part but everything else seems really amazing and once I took it out of the box ahhh so pretty!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Awesome Purchase :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/12/12
CaptainAugust
Location: Tulare, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought my 3DS less than a week ago, and I'm already in love. I've had a great time playing Ocarina of Time 3D on it (another great buy btw) and the 3D effects work great. The console itself looks dead sexy in purple, but it's a fingerprint magnet, so beware. My only gripe about it is the extremely precise viewing angle. You have to keep the screen deadlocked on your eyes, or else the 3D effect gets blurry. But all in all, great graphics, great games, great system. BUY IT NOW.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Excited/Sad
Posted on:4/30/12
Doubledose
Location: Florida
Oh come on. I bought my fire red 3DS like three weeks ago. And then boom. The one I wanted when they revealed the color in Japan all that time ago. I am sad yet excited to see this color come out. I'll just have to "buy" my god daughter a Fire Red 3DS for her birthday.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
grich
baltimore
 
Please wait while more information about grich is loaded.
Additional information about grich could not be loaded.
looks like ill be owning 2!
Posted 5/2/12
I already have flame red but umm I NEED NEED NEEEED PURPLE!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
perfect
Posted on:5/3/12
Vyncent
Location: San Antonio
Its amazing timing seeing as i just decided to buy a new ds system in 2 years, i already preordered mine and my girl friends! Purple is a unique color brought to the ds family. This new color is a must.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
poppy21
texas
 
Please wait while more information about poppy21 is loaded.
Additional information about poppy21 could not be loaded.
midnight purple
Posted 5/12/12
iluv it and iam goning to get one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Simply Stunning
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/12
Blizzardblue
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had wanted a 3ds for quite some time now and when I caught wind of a purple one coming out I automatically knew I had to get it. I preordered it a day before GameStop started selling it and picked it up early the next morning. Taking it out of the box was so cool because the color on this thing is GORGEOUS. Like most 3ds's it has three different shades of the color, the darkest being on top. The 3d graphics are overall great (especially on Legend of Zelda), although I found myself only turning the 3d on during cut scenes. All in all, a GREAT buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
I want green BAD!! {:(
Posted on:5/8/12
AwsomeLuigiMan
Man! I wish that Nintendo would hurry with making a lime green 3DS! And when (or even if) they do, i'll ask gamestop if there's ANY way to transfer ALL my data on my blue to the new (if there will be(I'll go insane if they don't)) awsome green one. Though i'd have to be honest: except for blue, all the colors stink. It would also be cool to have a white one! OOH!! Or a cool Delux, VIP, Gold, 3DS!!! OOH!! So many colers for them to do! XD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Readingtheinstructions
 
Please wait while more information about Readingtheinstructions is loaded.
Additional information about Readingtheinstructions could not be loaded.
Transfer tip
Posted 6/9/12
My friend, you don't need to get Gamestop to do the transfer. If you had a DSi, you should know that when you download the 3DS Transfer Tool your DSi's data could've been trasnfered. The same goes to the 3DS, it can transfer the data from one 3DS to another. For the exception that the 3DS has the Transfer Tool intergrated in it. So just get the new Midnight Purple and transfer everything yourself.
Customer Avatar
sunwish81
 
Please wait while more information about sunwish81 is loaded.
Additional information about sunwish81 could not be loaded.
I would love green or more colors to chosse from.
Posted 6/7/12
I love green and that would be cool if they made more colors or even two tone.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS - Midnight Purple
Finally!!!!!!
Posted on:5/16/12
AzureDragon130
Location: MI
Finally they released a purple system the problem is I already have one. But I have been waited for years for them to do that.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>