GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition

Heroic Edition Includes:
Average Customer Rating:
8.121
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
21
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
3
25 out of 3376%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Review 1 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
ehhhh, its ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
Dohovakiln
Location: Orlando,Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
when i got this game, it took me a good 8 hours to install the 25GB it needs to run, when i started it up and played, i was sucked into the great graphics, interactive gameplay and full voice acting but after 3 months of hard work i had maxed out my first character. when i made a new elementalist, i was like woah! this game isn't as much fun as it used to be! it is hard getting used to the old events, old bosses and such but the shatterer ( dragon below) and zhaitan (also below) were fun the shatterer was firing mortars at a screaming dragon that spawn smaller dragons. zhaitan is a huge monster that it made up of many smaller dragons, after many hours of fighting zombies with my friends i finally got to fight the thing, but all you had to do was shoot a fireball launcher at it till it died, it didnt attack you or anything, just watched you kill it very disappointing. guys just wait for ELDER SCROLLS ONLINE, it will be worth it it releases MAY 3RD.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Its a great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/12
macamay
Location: Maryland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a great game, great grpahics. Iike how there are events going on everywhere. My favorite is the world vs world.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
GUILD WARS 2 IS BREATH TAKING-LY AMAZING!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/12
secr3tsmiileszx3
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I HAVE BEEN PLAYING GUILDWARS EVER SINCE MY 3 DAY ACCESS CODE..AND I HAVE TO SAY FOR ONE..THIS GAME IS AMAZING..FOR TWO THE CLASSES/RACES ARE AWESOME..AND FOR 3 THE LANDSCAPES, TOWNS AND CHARACTER DIALOGUE IS EXTRAORDINARY!! THIS GAME IS FAR BEST BETTER THAN WORLD OF WARCRAFT, MAPLESTORY AND PERFECT WORLD INTERNATIONAL PUT TOGETHER.....WAIT A MINUTE..LET ME CORRECT THAT..BY FAR MOSTTTT THE BESTTT OUT OF ALL MMORPGS!!!....PICTURE HAVING PEOPLE TO BACK YOU UP IN ANY SITUATION AND YOU ARE NEVER ALONE UNLESS YOU CHOOSE TO BE...THE QUESTS KEEP COMING THE EVENTS IS ENTERTAINING AND MOST OF ALL THE ITEMS, MANFACTURING AND WEAPONS IS FAR MOST ONE OF THE BEST THINGS IN THIS GAME. I LOVE THIS GAME!! AND EVEN THOUGH I'M A LVL 12 NORN MESMER...I ONLY FINISHED 1% OF THE GAME LOL...THIS SHOULD TELL EVERYONE THAT NOT ONLY IS GUILD WARS 2 GOOD FOR ALL AUDIENCE..BUT IT IS SURE TO KEEP YOU BUSY AND HOOKED FOR MINUTES..TO HOURS..TO DAYS ..TO WEEKS TO MONTHS....ONLY CON I HAVE ABOUT THIS GAME IS THAT ITS ADDICTING!!!!! BUY THIS GAME NOW!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
World of Warcraft Battlechest
8.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Unbiased from an MMO addict.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
pwnisherthe
Location: Wilson NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, so gw2...it seems people either love it, or hate it! First a quick glance at what kind of gamer I am. I have played WoW since vanilla. I generally play all the expansion for a month or 2 after launch, and return towards the end to see the story wrap up. I unfortunately dont have time to be a hardcore raider like I would like so this just suits me better. I have also played a handful of other MMOs. (Rift, Lotro,WAR,Swortor,gw1,DnDO, many many others). Now...lets get into GW2. This game is simply amazing on MANY levels. There is so much variety its always easy to find something to do. I personally have owned this game since launch and I have no reached max on my main yet (he is a lvl 50 thief). I have taken my time leveling, as well as the fact that I am an altoholic. One of the greatest features of this game is you can level YOUR way. If you are a lvl 50 human, and want to go back and complete the level 1-15 starter zone for another race...you CAN! You are scaled down so that you get XP for those lower level zones as well. There are also plenty of events in every zone as well...such as world bosses and group events. Of course there are dungeons and they are actually quite hard. You can not go in with a typical MMO mindset and complete these. Arenanet does a great job of listening to the players...even subtle things such as all of your crafting items and now gold are pooled into all of your characters. No need to mail yourself items...just put it in the bank! There is new content every two weeks! Giving end game players something new to do all the time! Now as far as pvp goes I have not played it as much abut I can touch on it. ANY character you make you can do organized pvp with. When you zone in to pvp you character is max level with a full set of pvp gear! There is also the AMAZING World vs World pvp...MASSIVE scale pvp. All in all this is a great MMO. I can quit for a few months and come back without having to worry about a subscription fee. If you are an MMO fan of any kind...maybe you are looking for a new main MMO...or maybe you want another MMO to play casually along with your main MMO...this MMO is for you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Waste
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/13
XJTrecoX
Location: Upstate, New York
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I played Guild Wars 1 for 8 years, and that WAS a fun game, one of the best PC games I ever played in my life, and there are only 2-3 "best PC Games I've ever played".
We who played GW regularly expected GW2 to be basically GW1, with different skills, professions, better graphics, fixed bugs and glitches, the addition of a Z axis (Swimming/Jumping), new items, new storyline, new maps, etc.
Instead, since some of Arenanet was fired from Blizzard (the makers of WoW) they decided to copy WoW pretty much Verbatim in mechanics, storyline, character creation, loot, and everything else.
I built my desktop computer just so it could run GW2, cost me just under $2000 (Like I bought the xbox 360 just to be able to play Halo 3 when it came out), and it was a complete disappointment.
But then again, members of Anet are brain damaged, we know this from some of the patches to Gw1 that helped destroy the player base and the game itself.
Here's to you Izzy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Blankstate
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Blankstate is loaded.
Additional information about Blankstate could not be loaded.
Posted 1/10/14
How dare they make an MMO. In all seriousness though it does have the same MMO trappings as any other MMO ever made, the draw of this game is leveling a character, getting gear, running dungeons, and playing with friends. I think GW2 does what it said it was going to do, but to each their own. never go into a game expecting the same thing as in the last one, that is just flawed thinking on your part. To draw in new players they needed to make something new and more inviting. GW1 was not user friendly for people new to MMOs.....nither is GW2 but at least it is an MMO and you can talk to people out in the open world, and not just in cities/instance areas.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Will be king of MMORPGs
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/12
Z12016
Location: Indiana, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
My experience with closed beta and first weekend beta event. First off GW2 is by far the prettiest game to date. The visuals are worth the price of admission alone. GW2 aims to be different, and it is. It successfully tosses the tank/healer/dps structure away (not saying some classes can do better in certain areas then others). Each class has atleast one sufficent self heal, the ability to dodge attacks, and you can equip many abilities that migitate damge, evade, or crowd control. Your action bars allows for 5 weapon based attacks, 1 self heal, 3 class abilities, 1 hero ability. Weapon abilites are determined by weapon and class, so a Thief wielding a dagger is different then a Ranger with a dagger. You can have 2 active weapon sets to swap. This bring a total of 10 weapon abilities you have access to at once. Each ability is unique, and requires much skill to master. As far as heals and class abilities go you can set your bar up for many different abilities you purchase with skill points. You can create and manage your class any way you like, creating different roles for yourself, or just changing up the playstyle of the class. Each race has a storyline quest, and in every zone you are giving X number of people to help, POI to find, waypoints to unlock, and skill points to gather. Exp points earn scale with your level so just because the zone is level 1-17 doesnt mean if your level 30 you can not benefit for the rewards. Leveling never feels like grinding, quests never feel boring. Cutscene are fully voiced, and interesting. GW2 has a lot of focus on random grouping. If you see a fellow traveler working on the same progess you are, you do not have to invite him/her just simply help kill, and complete. World events happen often, gathering a lot of players around to complete. These can range in difficulty and are normally extremely rewarding. The trade market is amazing. You have a standard AH setup with a few tweaks. Players can place buy orders and other can sell directly to the players for instant rewards, or you can up the price and wait on bids. PvP is unique in that every class in PvP is level 80, you set up your weapons and your skills and go to town in the battlefield. Once you are 80 you can equip and further manage your player. The battlefields are designed very well, and can yield the most satisfying pvp in any mmo. The is also World pvp in which another world (server) will invade. This can occur with 3 worlds all in one battlefield with an insanely large amount of players. My advice to anyone think about this game is to preorder right now. Get the early access and access to the beta weekend events. If you ever played an MMO, or you are a RPG fan you will love this game. I have been in the MMO scene for many many years now. I am 100% this game will dethrone WoW, change the MMO and the RPG genre for many years to come. Guild Wars 2 has set the stardard extremely high, and it will be hard to not find an enjoyable time here.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
26 of 32 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Why are Guld in wars?
Posted 6/4/13
My friends used to be a casual Guild Wars player but they got sick of it after a little bit. This game does look interesting. Are the controls good how is the strage
Customer Avatar
Dwarfhammer
Texas
 
Please wait while more information about Dwarfhammer is loaded.
Additional information about Dwarfhammer could not be loaded.
Game will wear out in two months
Posted 10/7/12
Lots of excited FPS players overrating this very mediocre game. Despite what many of these posters say, this is NOT a game for hardcore gamers; everything in this game is easy-mode zerg-fest and handed to you. How is there exploration when an icon-laden map points everything out to you? How can you get a feel for the world when there are so many trivial landmarks and villages scattered about that you do not remember them or even care or know where your character is standing at any moment? This game is mediocre and dull.
Customer Avatar
Minibiskit
Corpus Christi, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Minibiskit is loaded.
Additional information about Minibiskit could not be loaded.
Changed my expectations for MMOs in general
Posted 7/24/12
This game is SO different from any MMO on the market and I was really skeptical until I tried the beta. I am now convinced that ArenaNet has a solid product that offers a very unique experience with the perfect blend of exploration elements and the classic leveling you'd expect from an mmo. My favorite part of the game is how your level scales down for lower-level content, ensuring that no content ever becomes trivial and truly revives the social experience of MMOs. In previous MMOs, I would ask my friends to join the game, level up alone for 3 months, and finally join me at endgame for a boring gear grind. Guild Wars 2 lets me join them immediately for a fun and challenging experience with rewards that are still relevant to me. Thank you ArenaNet for putting the multiplayer back into the MMO.
Customer Avatar
FFXIVLover
Lansing, MI
 
Please wait while more information about FFXIVLover is loaded.
Additional information about FFXIVLover could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Posted 5/15/12
I will agree that everyone is entitled to their opinion. But I just have to say that you should at least play the game before passing judgement. Do NOT judge the game based on Guild Wars 1. Words can't even describe how great the game is. The world is much more alive than your typical 'go kill 10 bumbling bees.' All I am saying...is to please please try it. If you don't like it, its ok! but I promise you that there are good times ahead with this game!
Customer Avatar
donteatsoap7
Las Vegas, NV
 
Please wait while more information about donteatsoap7 is loaded.
Additional information about donteatsoap7 could not be loaded.
Thanks for the review!
Posted 5/3/12
I am very excited for this game and you just made me just that much more. I cannot wait for this game. This will be the game that merges me from a console player to PCs.
Customer Avatar
CoalRymer
Omaha, NE
 
Please wait while more information about CoalRymer is loaded.
Additional information about CoalRymer could not be loaded.
Completely disagree.
Posted 5/1/12
Will not be king. Any game that refuses any part of the foundation of mmo's will never be. It sounds like its pretty sure, and there will be story, and adventure. However removing class roles, is NEVER a good idea. Even if they are trying to be different. If everyone can partially do everything, it would ruin the fun for more than a small amount of people. I played GW and was pleased, but it never gave me the memories I had playing EQ or Vanguard. The sense of "OH !@#$", was never in the game with GW. The pvp was fun, but there is better out there. Everyone has their own opinion though, hope you have fun.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 7 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Definitely THE MMO to have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/15/12
FFXIVLover
Location: Lansing, MI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been a pretty big fan of SWTOR since release date and I will admit that I have enjoyed every minute of the game for the most part. That is until I played the Guild Wars 2 closed beta. I will admit that the first beta weekend had me slightly worried because the game lagged a ton for me even on the lowest settings possible (and I have a pretty high performance computer too). However, I kept in mind this this is only the beta so it has to get better. On Monday, the 14th, I played the Closed Beta Stress test. In terms of lag, it improved a ton! Servers were completely filled and I experienced minimal lag on the highest settings possible! Now onto elements of the game. The world is downright beautiful. I can honestly say that I have NEVER seen a game, let alone an MMO, let alone a FREE TO PLAY MMO, that is so alive and so huge! I spent so much time yesterday just walking around Divinity's Reach simply looking around at the city. It was breath taking to say the least and words can't even describe how amazing it is. You need to see it for yourself. This game is actually a role-players paradise because of all the different places you can visit just in this one city alone! Every section of the city is different. Every tavern within the city is different. Every single house and building is different! This goes for other cities as well. They do not follow the tradition of reusing areas (like in SWTOR). I might have said this but the world is just so ALIVE. NPCs are running everywhere, players are running everywhere, wagons are going by, animals are walking around. The music is perfect. The right music is always playing at the right time and there is never a moment of pure silence (which happens quite often in SWTOR unfortunately). I also found the system for learning abilities was unique and done very good! The first five slots are for abilities the are not only for your class but for your combination of weapons as well! For example, I played as a Thief. I had a dagger in my main hand and a pistol in my off hand (yes, a PISTOL). My first five slots were Thief abilities specifically made for a MH dagger and OH pistol! This is just one of the several combos of weapons you can have! The 6th ability slot is for your healing skill. the 7th, 8th and 9th slot is for your Utility skills (e.g, I had a skill to add poison to my dagger). Finally, the 0 slot at the end is used for Elite skills in which you do not obtain your first skill until level 30. This brings me to my next point. Unlike the lvl20 cap Guild Wars had, Guild Wars 2 has a lvl80 cap! Like I said, I have been a huge fan of SWTOR since it released. But after playing a beta version of Guild Wars 2 for only a few days, it makes me wonder why in the heck am I paying $15 a month for it or any MMO for that matter?? I would easily pay $15 a month for Guild Wars 2 in the state that it is in at this moment. That's how good I think it is. Thankfully, Guild Wars 2 is FREE TO PLAY! If your even remotely interested in this game, I will HIGHLY recommend it to you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Different MMO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
FoxSeiko
Location: Madison, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dont be fooled by the people whining that there is no Triad in this game (aka Tank, Healer, Mage) Any class can fit any role and you mainly can focus on yourself or a group of people. Too many people try to make a class just a healer or just a tank. This game allows you to do whatever you like with that class. If you want a mage that focuses on Critical Damage while being a little tanky, feel free. Or make a warrior a full support instead of being a hard hitting armored brick. So much variability in this game. Id honestly try it! and, NO SUBSCRIPTION FEE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Dead MMO
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/13
Cozzics
Location: California
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Yes it might be fun for leveling, but when you hit 80. Absolutely nothing to do afterwards. I literally see hundreds of people at the main city just sitting there. If you want an mmo that has beautiful graphics and sound, this one is for you. But I promise that you will not play this after you hit 80.Sure there maybe dungeons to do and pvp to do, but it gets too repetitive. I just don't see how people can do those dungeons everyday/week. PVP...no dueling??? It looks like guild wars 2 messed up on that one. The first thing I wanted to do is duel my friend, but I guess you cant do that!! Also if your a pvp fan and like to pvp with a friend, well guess what the chances that you will be with your friend in a game of PVP are slim. The only good thing about this game is probably WvW. After play WvW for about 2 hours that to gets really tiring. Overall yes the game was good 1-80.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 10 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
The game is epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
mustang690
Location: Ky
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
so with a huge dissapointment with d3 i tho i might try this game out since i didnt too much care for wow but Guild wars is so fun i mean pvp is fun w v w is fun im new to mmos but its easy to learn how to play this but it is a must have for mmo players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
World Vs World! No Subscription required!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
Fasttimes
Location: Somewhere in KY
This game is amazing! I will admit that at first glance, I thought "It's probably just hype." I was proven wrong, way wrong. Like most gamers, I've waited for a game that actually helps me forget about my job at the end of a long work day, or even week. My MMO experience is not unique, I've played most of the MMO's that are available. Most were a disappointment, but some had a little bit of what I desire in an MMO (DAOC, WOW, EQ the now older crowd of games). I would say that most MMO gamers have had their experience shaped by one or more games, and long for one thing or the other. The main draw for me was World Vs. World pvp. Dark Age of Camelot, while not my first MMO (EQ) is what I base all my opinions on what an MMO should have. Like many, I spent countless hours level grinding just to get to a level where I could enter Realm vs. Realm combat. Today, the game is dated and populations are not even close to what they were, but back in those days when it was quite popular, it was rockin. Meaningful PVP is back, and way better. Some of the folks that developed Dark Age of Camelot had a hand in GW2 development. Now not to say that running instanced PVP is not meaningful, I play WoW just for PvP (though those days are probably numbered because Gw2 has that too!). There is nothing like working with your entire server to defeat other servers. Siege Combat, open field battles, caravan interception...there are way to many features of W vs W alone and it's only a fraction of this games awesome sauce. Don't let the "Everyone is boosted to lvl 80" feature fool you. It puts you on the same level to participate, but you still have to develop your character, and you can do that in W v. W, as well as PvE. An actual lvl 80 character will have a significant skill advantage and better equipment because of the time they have put in. Regular instanced PvP you will have access to all the gear and skills, though in the testing phase I found that I wanted to learn each weapon skill as I earned it (personal preference). If there is one feature I had a to put a finger on and say, "This is what will set the game apart from the rest," the Targeting System! You can target individuals, or you can just swing/cast your way through hordes of enemies without targeting. The first MMO in my opinion that has made combat and specifically PVP combat fluid. You will be blown away with this game, and scratching your head as to why to pay for a subscription, if you can get a truly high quality game for a one time purchase.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Masterpiece in Mediocrity
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
Dwarfhammer
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If I had to choose one word to describe this game: MEDICORE. This game is as far from the concept of a classical virtual world as it can get. The world is overlarge, peppered with forgettable villages and ruins, and has a minimap laid out like a jet fighter plane's heads-up-display; basically all mystery is removed with artificial icons marking everyplace you need to know. Combat is zerg-fest button mashing. Dungeons are boring, yes a boring dungeon (imagine that! How is that possible?). While world graphics are passable, character graphics look ten years old. This game is overhyped and has no staying power. Every design element about it is an insult and step backwards from MMORPG glory. There is nothing any new MMORPG designers should take from this game, other than what not to do.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
6 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Nothing special
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/13
pestcide
Location: cali
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I don't really see all the hype about this game. If your into pvp then this game is for u, classes are unbalanced. The game only really does pvp and not really pve very well. In pve if your the one doing all the damage then your the one that's going to get targeted, once targeted there is really no way to taunt off the unlucky guy that is targeted. No really dedicated healer or tank, self heals just are not enough to keep u alive. if a player dies any one can revive a fallen player so there is a lot of that going on in dungeons. the game don't have any 10 15 or 20 man raids it only 5 mans that's it. the bosses have no mechanics really u just dps them down and hope it don't target u. the pve is really boring in this game there is no end game content for pve. the game is really all about pvp. And there is no lore u really don't care about the main characters in the game if they live or die. To me the game seems to be all pvp and eye candy. there is really no need for a guild in this game kinda of ironic the game is called guild wars. If they would really put a great effort into pve this game would be all that it would have the best of both worlds.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 14 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
all around great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
weberk95
Location: Royal Oak, MI
I had collectors edition of this game pre-purchased since the first day they announced it, i played all the BWE's and most of the stress tests, and i love it. the details are amazing, the sound is amazing (most of it is composed my Jeremy Soule, who also did the music for skyrim), the combat isnt one of those "here is your skill bar, spam this, maintain this, blah blah blah", its focuses on watching your enemies' movements to dodge/use your skills. people complaining about bans apparently dont realize this is a community game, and it wont kill them to have a name that isnt offensive; or exploiting a glitch and buying weapons for 1/1000 of their value and selling them. the GW2 team, as well as ArenaNet, have been very busy patching and fixing bugs. overall, 10/10 game, i love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Pre-Purchase Access gameplay Early Release.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/26/12
Helplessj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I pre-purchased the game a few days before August 25th when you are able to play 3 days earlier than release. When August 25th came around, Iwas pretty excited to start playing. I soon learned it released 3 hrs earlier than it was, but i didn't find that out til about 2 and a half hours later. Anyways I created my account and made a Charr hunter. It was a rather good and nice character customization. When I started up the game they kind of just threw me into the action right off the bat. Being a new player I found this a little overwhelming, but soon realized that I liked it because a lot of mmorpg games start off slow. The learning curve is rather quick. Took me about a half an hour or so to figure out a little bit of what I was supposed to do. Anyways, the game is fun and a good game to roam around with because it is rather a large map. There was one flaw I noticed...not with the gameplay, but the grammar and spelling. It may be a minor thing, but in general they should've caught those errors before releasing. All in all it is a great game...a few optimizations should be updated to the game because people graphics cards are getting rather hot from gameplay and the spelling. Anyways I recommend this game to people who want to enjoy an easy going, fun game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/12
cybrgrl782
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game that surprised me a ton. I was iffy about it because I've never played a free sub. game that held my attention for more than a week, but this one is an exception to my rule. It has all the options, game play, graphics and general appeal that any game like EQ2, WoW, EQ, Rifts, Vanguard and a lot of the others that started pay to play have without that annoying monthly sub fee. So far, I'm told there's not a lot of end game content but it seems that is coming. (Or so I am told.) Any casual gamer will love this and probably several of the more hardcore as well. For being out 2-3 weeks only, this game has the feel of one that's been out for years.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
I would not buy this game again.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/25/12
Abaddon1979
Location: Flint, MI
Don't be fooled by this game. This game is really nothing but a zergfest and when it isn't it is even more boring. PVE is absolutely horrid, the dungeon rewards are not balanced, the trash mobs in dungeons have better drops than the bosses, most of the bosses have very few mechanics and can just be dpsed down, there is no aggro table for mobs because there is no tank so you just hope and pray you are not the one targeted, the trash mobs in the dungeons have a ton of hp. What it comes down to is that in order to create a sense of difficulty the developers just added giant packs of trash mobs that have a ton of HP and do a ton of damage that take forever to kill making one instance last 2-3 hours for absolutely no reward. The end result of this massive grind is armor skins. The real armor is obtained through a currency called karma which is a completely different grind. What you do is run from even to event in the level 80 zone with 100 other people and kill some mobs which you will be lucky on some of them if you can even hit them before they die. You get about 300 karma for each even and you need 42k to buy a new piece of gear. Once you get all of this gear your damage on your primary attack will go up by 20 from the gear you got of of trash mobs. Crafting is horrible as the "rare" mats are difficult to farm for. Some of these mats shouldn't even be called rare as hard as they are to get. The classes are not balanced in the least. Where support classes are totally out of luck when it comes to things like farming, the elementalist in particular is a tooth and nail fight if you pull over two mobs which happens often. Since you are automatically leveled down when you enter a lower level zone you run the chance of dying if you're not careful. So at max level, yes you can die in a level 10 zone. People complain on the forums and they just dont care they lock the threads and they leave up the "omg I love this game" threads. In retrospect i regret buying this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
19 of 62 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
AWSOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
chasy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
fun amazing game play great for mmo players the starting areas are even fun! unlike wow were like every thing is boring this game is just awsome get this game its worth the money trust me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
One of the Best MMO's I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
Rhoke
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game changed the way MMO's are going to be for years to come. Not only does it make it what an MMO is supossed to be, a world free to do what ever you please (for the most part), it left the triad system that alot of the MMO's of today use like WOW, SWTOR, STO, etc. everyone has the ability to do the same thing minus the profession based skills. Dont get me wrong, i love the triad system, i have a toon for each part in all my games. So when i player this game i didnt know what to expect, knowing that the system i know was gone. One thing i do know, i like it better. i dont have to worry about my team mates healing me, or hope they can best the enemy while i tank, i can do it all at once. The downside to the game i believe is the graphics, just my opinion, im not a fan of the cartoon style way of the game. this was done in the game to give players a feel of something there familiar with. but i would much rather see something new. more realistic. my PC, yea a PC, i said it. can handle way more than this, thats why i have it. hope they can change it. So if you are hoping to get a better idea on if you should buy it from the reviews, DO IT! i would buy this game over and over again. and no monthly fees? for a massive world to play in with the best gameplay around? whats not to like?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Guild Wars 2 Heroic Edition
Tough to get a handle on at first......
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
CyberShawn
Location: KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
After playing WOW for years it was a difficult transition to GW2. One major tip here-Stay in zones within your level.....even go to lower zones than your level as the game auto-lowers your level to your surrounding levels. The views, sounds and gameplay are great. I love the user interface compared to what WOW had. You don't even need to download mods like we did in WOW. The game is near perfect as it stands. To view the maps by level zone go to map and zoom out to help you stay within or below your level.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>