GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

Battle it out with your favorite PlayStation characters in a free-for-all brawler! From Kratos to Sly Cooper, Sweet Tooth to PaRappa the Rapper, PlayStation characters from all over the gaming spectrum are brought together in a fighting adventure that's both easy to play, and hard to master. Take the battle online for competitive multiplayer action, or go head to head with a group of friends on the couch and prove once and for all who's really the best!
Average Customer Rating:
8.436
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (152 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
20
8 stars
15
7 stars
3
6 stars
5
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
52 out of 6284%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Review 1 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
SACKBOY!!!!!!!!
Posted on:8/14/12
seanb2012
Location: Youtube
Yes! There was only 3 characters i wanted 1. Cole MacGrath (Check!) 2. Emmett Graves (Starhawk) 3. Sackboy (Finally Announced!!!) Also, Ratchet & Clack, Spike, and Dante were announced too!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
finally, a game with style
Posted on:7/26/12
SnikelFritz100
Location: Anaheim,CA
its about time that sony created a game thats pretty decent. im going to get this game for sure. add me if your up for a little challenge.
luis-VEE187
watch the video below to see some of the characters.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Sony has RETURNED!
Posted on:5/9/12
seanb2012
Location: Columbus, OH
This looks so awesome! I've been a fan of Super Smash Bros. for too long. SSB is okay, but it gets boring after a while. I've wanted a Sony version. Come on, who wouldn't want to see Kratos battle Sackboy? It would be so epic that Xbox would get jealous and make one called "Xtreme Xbox Battles". Then Nintendo would give up and join Sony to make a game called "Super All-Star Battle Brothers". Who wouldn't want to see Sackboy fight Mario? Then Xbox would want to join and they would the most epic 3D (Ya I mean no more 2D fighting) fighting game in the history of fighting games called "Xtreme All-Star Battle Brothers" Who wouldn't want to see Master Chief, Mario, and Sackboy battle it out in 3D? Hurry up Playstation All-Stars Battle Royale, come out and unite the gaming universe.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Why Emmett Graves from Starhawk would be EPIC!
Posted on:6/6/12
seanb2012
Location: Columbus, OH
Anyone who has Starhawk would want Emmett Graves. He would be epic. He's got a minigun, a rocket launcher, shotgun, tetrinite grenades, and for supers: 1. He could use his knife to stab the nearest player (kinda like the final smashes in SSB that required to be close.) 2. he can drive a sidewinder (hover bike) through the level. 3. He gets into a mech and starts shooting rockets and his machine gun for some time (like Sweet Tooth's level 3.) SuperBot PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE put Emmett in this game. I'm begging you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Character Suggestions?
Posted on:5/11/12
seanb2012
Location: Columbus, OH
This game looks awesome! Some characters I would like to see are Sackboy, Cole McGrath, Emmett Graves (Starhawk), and for the classics, Break out the Playstation, cus here comes Tiny Tank! (I bet none of you know Tiny Tank.) Who do you want? (Seriously, I want ideas in the comments.) Now Post!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
hahahhahaa
North Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about hahahhahaa is loaded.
Additional information about hahahhahaa could not be loaded.
characters i want
Posted 11/20/12
I would love to see Wander/ICO, Ezio/Connor, crash, spyro, sora, lightning/Cloud, Nathan Hale, and Snake
Customer Avatar
supershadow
 
Please wait while more information about supershadow is loaded.
Additional information about supershadow could not be loaded.
Posted 11/17/12
i want to see ventus, roxas . or sora or all three
Customer Avatar
seanb2012
Columbus, OH
 
Please wait while more information about seanb2012 is loaded.
Additional information about seanb2012 could not be loaded.
Hey SnikelFreiz100
Posted 6/6/12
You're right Sweet Tooth will be boss. If you saw E3, they announced Nathan Drake and Big Daddy (Bioshock). these All-Stars will be BOSS.
Customer Avatar
PrinceColin
Chit-Town, Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about PrinceColin is loaded.
Additional information about PrinceColin could not be loaded.
Game looks awesome!
Posted 5/24/12
Can't wait for this game as well as LBP Kart Racing which will have a Move steering wheel I believe! Hone the driving skills! Great character ideas! I totally agree about Emmett Graves. One of the coolest characters ever. I would also love to see Knuckes the Echinda and Sonic from the Sonic the Hedgehog series and feature one of Knuckles' levels from Sonic Adventure 2 (his levels had the most awesome music!). Also, this is a long shot but I thought this would be funny....how about Joe Mauer from MLB the Show? lol. The reason why I say Joe Mauer is because he has been on back to back covers in MLB the Show and no other ballplayer has done that (but I am a Chicago White Sox fan and Joe is a Minnesota Twin so that kinda sucks because the Twins are the Sox biggest rival). They have to and I repeat HAVE TO have Crash Bandicoot in this game. He is arguably the ultimate Playstation icon. If they don't put Crash in the game then that will be a huge and I mean HUGE miss. Spyro the Dragon is also another great choice. Tag from Mod Nation Racers possibly but I don't know if he was popular enough. I think you defenintly have to have the dude from Journey. The dude with the robe and no arms lol (The main character basically). That would also be huge considering that Journey is one of the best selling games in PSN history. SO hope you enjoy the choices! EXCITED FOR THIS GAME! :)
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 6 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Awesome Game
Posted on:8/21/12
seanb2012
Location: Classified!
This game is so awesome! the beta is great, and new characters were announced. 1. Dante 2. Spike 3. Ratchet & Clank 4. Sackboy. The website was completely updated too. Plus, They announced if you buy a PS3 copy, you can get a downloaded Vita copy for free!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
seanb2012
Classified!
 
Please wait while more information about seanb2012 is loaded.
Additional information about seanb2012 could not be loaded.
More New Characters!
Posted 8/31/12
4 More: 1. Sir Daniel Fortesque 2. Nariko 3. Raiden 4. Evil Cole MacGrath
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Looks Good, But Won't Beat Brawl.
Posted on:4/27/12
KoolDude8690
Location: Glendora,CA
I love Playstation. I think this will be a great game. I may even buy it when it comes out. Just not as good as Brawl. Brawl was a game that can never be topped in it's genre. Brawl is a unique game that can't be replaced. Yeah, the games look identical, doesn't mean they will be the same though. See, the way I look at it is Brawl has Nintendo's most memorable characters fighting it out in multiple stages, great music, great colors, and fun interaction. This games maps look good, the music however sounds dull, along with the colors. Interaction is a question to be asked later. Will this game beat Brawl? No. But it looks like a good competitor and good idea of a game from Sony and Playstation!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
seanb2012
Columbus, OH
 
Please wait while more information about seanb2012 is loaded.
Additional information about seanb2012 could not be loaded.
Oh Sure....
Posted 5/6/12
Ya it looks like that when you compare Bridge of Eldin to the darkest stage. I've been a fan of SSB since the original one. I've also been waiting too long for Playstation or Xbox to top it (Not saying that I have a Xbox). Now Super Smash Bros. is getting topped, and it's time for its fans to accept it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Loaded and Reloaded?
Posted on:5/6/12
3rdPerson
Location: Parkersburg, WV
That'd be too awesome to have Fwank and Bounca or even Butch from the Loaded series in this game. If you haven't heard of Loaded, you missed out. Hint Hint... REMAKE IT! :D along with Mutant League... Test Drive eve of Destruction... Deathrow(xbox)....
.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Fun and Addicting!
Posted on:11/4/12
YungDaVinci
Location: A place
I've been playing the beta lately, and I have to say, this game is ADDICTING! I really enjoyed it, with it's different characters and stage mash-ups. Although some characters were overused, the game was still fun. It is hard to win sometimes, but when you lose, your too busy thinking about how beast your last super was. Anyway, the beta was fun, and I can't wait to play the whole character. I NEED SACKBOY!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 10 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Gonna be great.... i think?
Posted on:7/18/12
retrofanboi
Location: Indiana IN
I really hope this live's up to its full potential. (P.S. i'm a fan of Nintendo and Sony. However, Slyguy's "Buzz" about this game is unexceptable. and is obviously trolling).
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
scydragon25
 
Please wait while more information about scydragon25 is loaded.
Additional information about scydragon25 could not be loaded.
Super Excited!
Posted 8/15/12
I'm super excited for this. A playstation version of Super Smash Bros. = brilliance! I only hope that they put in Sora and Riku from Kingdom Hearts.
Customer Avatar
Warrzz96
Fort Worth TX
 
Please wait while more information about Warrzz96 is loaded.
Additional information about Warrzz96 could not be loaded.
ATTENTION EVERONE BIG NEWS
Posted 8/15/12
If you buy the PS3 Version of this game you will get the playstation Vita game also!. its sonys new cross-buy! $39.99 Free of charge!, just a heads up :D
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Better than expected
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Scooley05
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I wasn't too sure about this game when I heard that the players don't have life bars, so the only way to win is by building your special bar to perform special moves that kill your opponent. The most kills wins. But after playing it for a little while I decided it wasn't so bad and the gameplay was rather fun.
I have a Vita as well so the biggest sell point was that you get the Vita version free. To explain this, you have to enter your disc into the PS3 and there is a bonus content section on the XBM that lets you redeem the vita version only once onto only your playstation network account. The process too a little while, more than an code would have took, but once redeemed I could download it on my vita.
I played on the Vita for awhile, before testing out the PS3 version and my progress was updated on both systems.
One dislike about the game, is there doesn't seem to be a way to save your progress in story mode, I fought through 5 matches and quit for awhile. When I went back in I had to start over... Other than that its a pretty sweet game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Smash Bros. on "FIRE"
Posted on:7/16/12
slyguy43
Location: severance,co
now tell me playstation fans, what is this world coming to? it was no surprize that this was going to happen sooner or later but logiclly, it really shouldnt come to this!!! Ya Ya Ya, the gamplay was amazing at E3, and everything was placed at the right moment....so be it!!! with this coming in october, Super Smash Bros. will short and sweetly catch on fire and and fall into a digital blackhole!! im not saying that S.S.B.B was a bad game, im saying that Playstation/SONY is doing the right thing by taking over the charts with there " EXTREAMLY BETTER" games they have to offer than lame Nintendo Wii games!!! my favorite part of the demo was that you could play as nathan drake and sly cooper....both frachises are eqally amazing!!! another great detail to this game is that if u pre order, you get a bonus charecter costume bundle for all the charecters they origanlly anouncced at E3!!! ive already pre ordered it and i hope u do to, it will do u a favor for your 2012 video game wishlist!!
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Bring Back Crashbandicoot!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
boi5
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game would be absolutely perfect if Crash was brought into this game!! The character selection is great, the stages are fantastic just like smash bros. just one thing missing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Guys listen.
Posted on:7/7/12
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
There's something i need to address that's been bugging me when this first got announced, don't worry I'm not trolling and judging on whether the game is good or bad.
First off the Nintendo fanboys, look just stop hating on the game, sure its clearly Smash Bros with Sony characters but it doesn't mean it will automatically fail, i mean sure Ive seen gameplay and i don't know what the heck were they thinking with their decisions of the game but its still in development.
Second the Sony fanboys. Stop talking down to Super Smash Bros. You have no idea how ridiculous seeing these fanboys praising Sony all Stars and talking down to a 10 yearold corssover franchise saying that it never delivered anything these past years. Nintendo is a legendary company and it does not deserve to be talked down to. Saying and comparing that Sony All Stars will be better than Smash Bros Brawl makes you look like a complete idiot. Brawl came out in 08, how in the world do you compare a 4 year old game to a game coming in October? Besides the game hasn't came out or finished with the final project yet, so stop saying which is better.
The people with wish lists. Listen they are very limited on what characters to put in, Obcourse you'll see Sony characters like Jak, Ratchet, Cole. But these 3rd party characters are out of control and it will be a giant hype train that will soon crash and burn. Just let them do what they do. Don't pressure them to get all these 3rd party characters, it will end up into a giant mess and people won't even think its a crossover with Sony characters but 3rd party characters that won't mix. I mean you do realize that there are kids characters in this game, why not think about them instead of pure rated M characters.
23 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Far from Smash
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
Sy777
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Got this day one. Not bad, but I had my doubts after playing the beta. The 'super' kill system is decent, giving it some space between SSB. Having PS controls, the game flows pretty smoothly. Graphics are nice, stages are enjoyable. Cons include an extremely limited roster. No unlockable characters, only minion/titles/icons which no one cares for. It does not add gameplay hours, only things to waste your time with. Ranked matches are a bit serious, people tend to spam their moves. Not a surprise. Easy to counter if you have the right character. DLC is a must. Roster must be expanded. Story mode is garbage. Picture stills with voices. Waste of time. Overall, this game is only really fun with friends (people you know not randoms). Would seriously suggest one person buying for group play. Not worth everyone buying their own copy. Vita version is almost identical, very well developed game. When compared to SSB, I believe it is a complete fail. But being on playstation, this game is far from mediocre and has its vices.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 16 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
YESS!!
Posted on:4/28/12
SkullyScream
Location: Nj
All right first off, yes, its very similar to super smash bros. but hey, people who own ps3's wanted something like this for a long time. And we finally got it :D!! its gonna be a great game since its gonna have a lot of characters from playstation's past and present, so if your a sony fan, i definitely recommend pre-ordering this, I'm gonna pre-order it as soon as they announce the date :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnimefanX
?
 
Please wait while more information about AnimefanX is loaded.
Additional information about AnimefanX could not be loaded.
???????????????
Posted 5/26/12
Ok lets get started i like playstation, i have a PS2 and a PS3 but i think this game is going to come nowhere close to the Super Smash Bros. series because sony dosn't have all too many games that follow a base character or story that follows a character. Like i can name only 4 that i either had, have, or heard of. they are Final Fantasy, Sly Cooper, Kingdom Hearts, and God of War thats it. then nintendo has hundreds to thousands of choose able games and characters. SSB was great and still is prety good, Melee was better more characters ect., and then Brawl Destroyed Melee, i can only think that the next game is even better. But back to All Stars the core fighting looks great, the stages are cool, and supers look AWESOME, but the character roster i would probaly play with only All Sly Cooper Characters some Kingdom Hearts and few Final Fantasy But thats My opinion. Over all the game looks fun. P.S. I'm 16
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
WHO'S WITH ME???
Posted on:7/15/12
DudeManBro
Location: Greensboro, NC
SORA AND RIKU. THEY NEED TO BE IN THIS GAME! They are definitely a big part of Sony and they need to be included.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
stuffedbearman
 
Please wait while more information about stuffedbearman is loaded.
Additional information about stuffedbearman could not be loaded.
SCEA
Posted 7/20/12
listen man, i want to agree with you cause im a huge kh fan but kh was never made by the SCEA (sony computer entertainment america) so they can't be in the game...............................
Customer Avatar
AphexWolf
Culver City, CA
 
Please wait while more information about AphexWolf is loaded.
Additional information about AphexWolf could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Sadly...
Posted 7/17/12
Im Sorry to burst your bubble @DudeManBro but Sora and Riku are no longer PSN exclusive since nintendo bought the copy write back in 2008. This is why the 3DS has had 2 kingdom hearts games already
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Someone's Missing
Posted on:10/1/12
Bannen
Location: Detroit, MI
How can you call a game Playstation All-Stars and not include Crash Bandicoot? He was the PS1's biggest mascot! Not finding some way to include him is a terrible mistake. By and large, I like the roster of characters. Having Sir Dan from MediEvil is awesome - but not including Crash is a huge disappointment, and a glaring omission. Not even Spyro, or anyone from Resistance. And yet, we get Cole McGrath twice. Bizarre.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ziggyboo
Geneva,Il
 
Please wait while more information about ziggyboo is loaded.
Additional information about ziggyboo could not be loaded.
Want to know why?
Posted 6/15/13
Sony decided to focus on it's current mascots, so that more people who only had a PS2 and PS3, or even just a PS3, would recognize the characters. Also, it is an attempt to move games that have stopped selling in mass numbers off shelves. Fat Princess? There's one. TWO Cole MacGraths, there is another. I would guess that, in the future, you could expect a "PS1 Classics" DLC, or something of that sort, with Spyro, Crash, and any of the other "old" characters you would like to see. This would occur due to high consumer demand. I wouldn't fret, nonetheless. I agree with you, but I also think that Sony made a logical and good buisiness decision only including "new" or current characters, even if that just means a collection like Jak and Daxter.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Hinted Characters
Posted on:6/22/12
SlavaSlave
Location: Indiana
If you're going off of the preview PS commercial with all the characters cheering for Michael that they said at E3 is what helps lead into it, you get a good diversity of characters. Here's a good possibility that's shown. Cole McGrath (Infamous), Solid Snake (Metal Gear Solid), Sackboy (Little Big Planet), Ratchet (Ratchet and Clank), Agent 47 (Hitman), Ezio (Assassin's Creed), Lightning (FF XIII), Paul Pheonix (Tekken),Chimera (Resistance), Isaac Clarke (Dead Space), and Chell (Portal). Others are in there but I believe they hint other games like CoD, MLB: The Show, Starhawk, etc.
All the confirmed characters are hinted in some form or fashion either by actual actors or photos at the check-in/pay area. I would love to see Jak, Sora (Kingdom Hearts), Spyro, and Crash. I know the last three most likely won't happen but Jak is in the air since Naughty Dog has been focusing on Uncharted instead of Jak and Daxter.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Sabby
 
Please wait while more information about Sabby is loaded.
Additional information about Sabby could not be loaded.
Posted 11/9/12
But jak is in the game
Customer Avatar
Berad2626
 
Please wait while more information about Berad2626 is loaded.
Additional information about Berad2626 could not be loaded.
SlavaSlave
Posted 10/23/12
Sora would be awesome but to be honest if he was in their i would want EVERYONE else in their, and that cant happen, lol
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale
Awesome but characters...
Posted on:6/4/12
offtheskin
Location: cool
This game looks awesome! Im glad sony is deciding to make there own battle game like "Super Smash Bros Brawl", but THIS GAME NEEDS MORE CHARACTERS! Ibeleive they need Snake(MGS), Cole, zeke, kessler(inFamous), Nate, Sully (uncharted) Emmett Graves(Starhawk), Sora, roxas, riku(kingdom hearts), spyro, crash, ratchet and clank, jak, and daxter, sackman(LBP), rayman, ezio(AC), and the list could keep going forever EVERYONE WHO READS AND DISAGREES OR HAS MORE OPINIONS WRITE A PREVIEW BUZZ SO WE CAN ALL SEE!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sthsmbloz1
ca
 
Please wait while more information about sthsmbloz1 is loaded.
Additional information about sthsmbloz1 could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
Because
Posted 6/9/12
No snake because of SSBB, No KH characters because It's not a just play station game, no Ezio because was alson on a nintendo system, Rayman for the same reason. Thank you.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>