GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LEGEND OF DRAGOON

"Purchase this PS one® Classic and play it on both your PS3 and PSP® (PlayStation®Portable) systems! Unveil a fantasy of magnificence, deception, magical combat, and retribution. Transform into Dragoons and unleash extraordinary powers in this unforgettable RPG. Release the forces of the Dragons and discover your destiny. Download LEGEND OF DRAGOON today! Download this PS one® Classic today! Transferring to a PSP® system from your PS3 system: You must be signed into the PlayStation®Network account that originally purchased the game. You must have at least 1.2 GB free on your Memory Stick Duo. Connect your PSP® system to your PS3 system with a USB cable and switch your PSP® system to USB Mode. Highlight the game on the PS3 XMB, press the Δ button and select Copy. PC Store Customers: Log into your PlayStation®Network account that you originally used to purchased the game. Then, download the game from your """"Download List"""" in the PlayStation®Store onto your PS3 system. This title has been converted from the original PlayStation® disc to the PSP® and the PS3 systems. Consequently, there may be times where the title plays differently from the PlayStation® disc version, or where some features may not function properly. This version does not support PlayStation® peripherals (controller, memory card, multitap, etc.), therefore functionalities such as multiplayer, versus, and co-op modes are not available. "
Average Customer Rating:
9.923
9.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
12
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 1392%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Review 1 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
This game is a nice take on a classic RPG engine.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
TallFry
Location: Packwood
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Legend of Dragoon is, in my opinion, a really good classic PS1 RPG game. In a similar style to Final Fantasy VII, it's in 3D, of course. The camera angles change with each area you go into, but it doesn't waste your time trying to introduce the characters to you through a cutscene. After just a little while of meeting the character, you go into gameplay. This happens with the vast majority of them. The game stars a young swordsman named Dart, with his trademark two-handed sword and some armor covering his left arm, he has been on the search for something called the Black Monster, an evil creature that destroyed his original hometown. He now lives in the nation of Serdio, which is in the middle of quite the civil war. Having stopped in his search for a while, he happens to be headed back to his home when he hears the town has been attacked! Rushing back, Dart encounters soldiers of the oppressive nation, but this encounter is short-lived as what looks like a giant praying mantis chases him through the forest. Having no chance against the creature, he makes a break for it, and is saved by a mysterious woman wearing dark blue, who reveals to our hero that this creature is, in fact, not a giant bug at all, but rather a dragon! Why they would need a dragon to attack such a small town seems to be on the woman's mind, as Dart panics and rushes home, only to encounter yet more soldiers! This time, there's no dragon to interrupt him, so he proceeds to engage!
This is where you're loosely introduced to the combat system of the game, known as the Addition system. Instead of just rushing forward, slicing once, and then retreating, when you decide to attack, the camera will zoom in on your currently-selected fighter, and they'll rush forward, starting their attack. If you hit the X button with proper timing, the attack not only hits, but continues! Your character will start into a combo attack, finishing off with the name of the move, in some strange and ever-changing voices. Different additions have different lengths in chains, and if you can master them, you must be doing something right, cause I could only get as far as Burning Rush.
The game also introduces another really cool feature later on. Throughout the story, each of your main heroes comes into posession of a "Dragoon Spirit", giving the user the power of a dragon, complete with an augmented weapon, elemental affiliation, wings, and magic. This ability is key to winning as your magic and Dragoon Additions, while really cool, are also much more powerful than anything else you could possibly use.
The graphics quality is just in between the quality of Final Fantasy VII and Final Fantasy VIII, so for the time they were really good. Gets kind of blocky but the characters are easy to recognize and easy to get attatched to.
When it comes to sound, Legend of Dragoon has something most RPGs at the time lacked entirely. While not the greatest, the game had voice acting. This was shown mostly in battle when you completed additions, but it also revealed itself in much better, and consistent, quality in the CGI cutscenes, which were pretty good if you ask me.
I can't spoil the ending, though, as that would be rude and probably inaccurate. I never actually beat the game. I know a lot about it, and thanks to friends I HAVE seen the ending, I just don't know the exact events leading up to it. Either way, it's a great game whether you're into RPG or not. If you want a "score", I'd say about an 8/10 suits this game just fine. I say buy it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Phenomenal game, Its simply a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/14
Malcien
Location: Wilkesboro, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The Legend of Dragoon is by far my favorite game of all time. This was the first game that i ever played through as a kid and for a 3 year-old its excessively hard and a HUGE challenge and it took me half a year, But i learned ever little detail in the game. The story is a beautiful work of art by itself if it were a book i would read it. The graphics were state of the art when it was made and the voice acting may be a bit off at times but the story and gameplay make up for that 5 times over. it is a must have and its very cheap so there's no excuse it not getting this game and missing out on all the fun and the amazing story.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
Nubrian
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i was younger this was the greatest game ever. I saw this was on PSN and bought it immediately. yeah the graphics arent amazing because this game is over 10 years old. but in its time they were state of the art. i wold recommend this game to anyone! Story is great, content is real fun. only knock is the voice acting cuz it sounds kind of weird. but that just brings me back to how old the game actually is. Bottom line is i would buy this 100 times over
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ViperSniper
California
 
Please wait while more information about ViperSniper is loaded.
Additional information about ViperSniper could not be loaded.
The Legend!!!
Posted 7/14/12
I still have an original copy of this game for my PS1... This game is one of the most exstensive, well planned out games I've ever played. Graphics still look great for this old of a game. This and the first 2 King's Field games still have top notch storylines in them considering how old they are. I've been waiting for a new PS3 game that can match the intelligence of the classics. COD is for noobs with no life, and the developers that are still in business have just lost their edge in my opinion when it comes to creating a game that will stand the test of time. Take a look at some of the other PS1 classics out there, King's Field, Doom, Alien, Legend of Dragoon, even Crash Bandicoot... Pick up any one of these games now and play it, you just can't beat the classics. Period.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
This Game is EPIC INCARNATE!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
Rayn0fHeaven
Location: Shamokin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Most people would say the graphics are horrible...but back in 2000 this game had the best graphics. The fighting system gets you involved and it keeps you on your toes with the counter system. Cutscenes are pretty but some of the voices are weird. It makes it fun and easy to want to play RPG games more often. It's a great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Easily Top 5 of All Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/14
6669Anonymous6669
Location: Cedar City, Ut
Legend of Dragoon, has easily been in my top 5 since I was a kid. The unique "Additions" combat system can be frustrating when you first learn a new addition but soon becomes an amazing and unique part of your gaming experience. No similar RPG will ever be the same to you again after you have played this incredible PlayStation Classic, including FF VII or FF VIII.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Bringing back an old friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
legendStormcrow
Location: Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game when I got it as a kid. I haven't gotten to play the new one but handhelds are a perfect spot for these old gems. It had an epic story and many interesting characters. If you are a fan of old school ps1-2 era Final Fantasy then you will love this. One word of caution though, this game has friends go missing or die so be prepared to be upset. The first character in my party I lost literally brought me to the verge of tears.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/14
DCR1
Location: WESTVILLE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I still own my original copy. this is gaming at its finest never a disappointment, long playability!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
A timeless classic for RPG lovers.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
Common5
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I found out this game was being offered on PSN and I could transfer it onto a psp, I was overly excited. This game is over 12 years old and the storyline still draws me back. Now a days, the graphics would be considered a joke at best but back in the day that was top notch. Their decision to create stationary backgrounds with transitional scrolling was a great choice. They were allowed to create detailed environments. The game play I believe was done just right. They added a little twist to battles with the addition system and counter. You did not just go down your character list, set attacks and wait for your turn. You needed to pay attention. I never found an issue with the music and enjoyed many songs. Some people may comment that the voices were weird but this was one of the first games to incorporate voice acting. It did not exist commonly before this. So in between some cinematics the balance between voice acting and the music was off. But, obviously, this game has left a lasting impression. If anyone used to own this game, it was 4 discs long. The plot progresses wonderfully. You don't rush to the end or side track forever. A great balance. Anyone who truly enjoys a good RPG should give this a play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
13 Year old game still selling
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/13
Marsh1000
Location: Crittenden,KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game since it came out in 2000, made it to 4th disk twice then my memory card goes bad. I heard this game came out for PSP last year, and I went out and got a psp just for this game. Really long game also, so it will keep you busy for 30+ Hours.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
greatest game i've ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
faytleingod1989
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Legend of Dragoon is without a doubt the best game I have ever played. Between the gameplay, graphics, music, story, and the combat system this game managed to beat Final Fantasy VII as the game at the top of my favorites list. I still own my original copy for playstation one that I bought in 2003 and still play it to this day. It's one of the few games outside of the Final Fantasy series that I never got rid of.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
BEST GAME EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/12
KEGAN1392
Location: Michigan
This games graphics aren't amazing compare to today's graphics but if the took them and only upgraded the graphics to what we have these days it would be a new top seller all over again. I can't wait to download it and play again and actually beat the game and not stop on disc 2 because the system doesn't want to read it anymore lol.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Timeless Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
blueboy08
This game is absolutely one of the best I have ever played. The length of the story, the unique(for it's time) combat sytem, and the endearing characters are just some of the reasons I have never forgotten this game. If you have not played this, now is the time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for LEGEND OF DRAGOON
Love when ps3 brings back games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
RpgKindaGuy
Location: New york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well another good game brought back to life. the gameplay has a few glitches that werent there b4 but it wont stop you from completing the game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.