GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)

The PS3 system is now slimmer and lighter than ever before. While the form factor may have changed, the PS3 system still comes with free access to the PlayStation®Network, built-in Wi-Fi, and hard disk drive storage for games, music, videos, and photos. Plus, the PS3 system is the only gaming console with a Blu-ray player to give you the best high-definition viewing experience on your television. With five times the capacity of standard DVDs, Blu-ray discs gives you more realistic and immersive gameplay that can only be possible on the PS3 system with games such as Gran Turismo® 5, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, and MAG.
Average Customer Rating:
7.8
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 1573%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
The Best Console I Ever Played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/13
imaStarr
Location: az
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love the playstation 3 and this model worked perfectly. It doesn't make noise and runs smoothly. All my favorite games series are on playstation like uncharted, jak and daxter, ratchet and clank, and many more. I really in courage you to buy this system you won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Princeton
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Princeton is loaded.
Additional information about Princeton could not be loaded.
Best Purchase Ever!
Posted 7/29/13
I brought this a week ago and when I opened the box I was deeply amazed at how it was shining and how great it felt. I also got 3 Pre-Owned GOTY Edition Games-(Batman: AC, COD:BO2, & Red Dead Redemption) They actually worked well with the console, after playing for 10 hrs or less I took the disk put to find any scratches, they weren't ANY! I was super happy with multiplayer action and how it was glowing on my T.V. I recommend you buying this if your PS Gamer.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
it work as brand new
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
enemydrake25
Location: far rockaway
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
when i first tried it i thought in wasnt going to work
but to me i work like its brand new
i never regret buying it
also it cheaper than buying a new system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
20 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
I Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
KnightTime
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Owning both a ps3 and a xbox 360 I liked both the first two years the xbox 360 was out it was my favorite then The playstation 3 just kept coming out with amazing and more amazing games like Uncharted, infamous, God of war the list goes on the graphics on the ps3 are great the only thing i notice on games like red dead and grand theft auto looked more detailed on the xbox 360 than ps3 but when you played a ps3 exclusive like uncharted series, little big planet etc etc.... they just look incredibly amazing I love it I made alot of memories with friends and I hate to see the ps3 coming to an end I love It and I am and always will be a PS3 fan <3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
It's Okay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
ObitotheBaddie
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The PS3 works perfectly for me, no overheating or disk scratching. My only problem with the PS3 is the PS store. I downloaded four episodes of DBZ, and when I tried to watch them, my PS3 said that I had to renew my liscense. What that meant was that I had to pay for the episodes again, which I ddin't do. I got a red controller with the refurbished model. My only problem with the controller is that once in awhile, it wouldn't work while I was playing a game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Great price and works great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/13
Anonymous
Location: psl, Fl
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this Refurb almost a year ago and couldn't be more happy with it. It worked like new out of the box and that's exactly what I was expecting. My expectations were for it to function as new and look almost as good as new and that's exactly what I got. I'm not sure what some of the poor review reviewers were going through or whether they were plants by MS (maybe a little too paranoid) but my point is I got what I expected and as of right now my PS3 runs as well as the first day I turned it on. I would highly recommend this to anyone. Save yourself some money and get the refurb.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
providence ri
buy it trust me
Posted 12/30/13
well for starters i got it for only $129 what a steal at first when i went the guy gave me the fat body style brought it home the thing sucked an froze up on me an was very loud an wouldnt eject my games so i went back an they gave me a slim like the one advertised let me tell u it was night an day what a great machine it is like brand new it even came with an hdmi cord an the contoller an system are flawless i say if u can go but it in the store the guys there really take care of u an no hassel with shipping if u dont like it they make sure u leave happy
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
I LOVE IT!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
PowderKegIke
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is amazing i traded in my Xbox and got this. I bought it used and I was expecting it to look ok, but when I opened up the box it was in perfect condition like brand new. Also another plus it is so so quite. I recomend buying this its really amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tavonaustin1113
 
Please wait while more information about tavonaustin1113 is loaded.
Additional information about tavonaustin1113 could not be loaded.
PS3
Posted 6/17/14
What model number is it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
BEST SYSTEM EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/13
YesImCool
Location: St.Augustine,Fl
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This system contains the best graphics free playstation network unlike the xbox360 you don't have to be gold for everything tons of exclusives like killzone, little big planet, MLB the show, God of war, infamous and motorstorm. this compared to xbox. playstation all the way
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Finally grew into its own!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/13
ThinkIn4D
Location: NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got the 360 shortly after launch, then picked up the slim 160 GB PS3 about 2 years ago. It was definitely a good move getting it when I did - the price had finally dropped enough for me to grab the console for $250 and the list of exclusives had finally become way too tempting to resist!
While I am glad I'm a PS3 owner, it doesn't come without its flaws (and nether does the 360!) and both consoles serve me well in their own unique ways.
So if you're picking between consoles here's a quick list of some of things to consider if you're deciding which one is the best fit for you:
-BluRay isn't the game-changer Sony was hoping for, but it's still a really handy feature if you haven't gotten yourself a player yet. The exclusive games that appeal to you should be the biggest deciding factor in your choice, but now that the PS3 and 360 consoles are so close to each other in price, that free BluRay player might be the thing that tips the scales towards the PS3.
-PS3 online functionality is very hit-and-miss: online gaming quality varies from game to game, and things that should be simple like system updates and some apps like Netflix just cause headaches to try and use. Bear in mind that online services are free, but if you're willing to pay for quality online gaming, lean towards the Xbox. It really is worth paying for, and the online experience is the reason that I'll almost always buy the 360 version of any game that comes out for both consoles.
-Frustrating load times. Even though Blu-Ray storage capacity is much more massive, DVD discs and lenses are just able to load data more rapidly and awesome games like Uncharted and Last of Us just seem to take too darn long to load.
-Many disk-based games have fairly large mandatory installs. 160 gigs will last awhile as long as you're not doing too many digital copies or storing tons of multimedia.
-The PS3 controller is simply not as comfortable or intuitive as the 360's. The DualShock analog sticks don't feel responsive enough, and those R2 and L2 triggers just stink. I do appreciate that the PS3's controller's battery is built in, whereas you have to pay a bit extra to get a rechargable battery pack with the 360 controller.
-PS3 Move just isn't worth it, especially for all the extra accessories you need to get each player involved. Kinect isn't for everyone, but it is pretty stinking cool and it's only one peripheral to buy. I rarely do motion gaming with it, but I love using the subtle extras like voice commands in games and apps - developers seemed to utilize the Kinect well.
Finally, consider the games. As I said before, this should be the NUMBER ONE deciding factor. More than 90% of the must-play games that came out this generation are on both consoles, so focus on which exclusives you simply can't live without - in the end, you're guaranteed an awesome gaming experience whichever way you lean, and you may just wind up owning both after a few years anyway!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
no problems
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
mrmoomoo
Location: everett,WA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I used it and it works perfectly I recommend this over any xbox or wii its even better than wii u very good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
An okay console
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/13
ktt257
Location: USA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned a ps2 before and i loved it, so i decided to get a ps3. I have heard a lot of bad things about the ps3, but i decided to buy it to see for myself. I kind of regret it now considering that I just let my ps3 sit in a corner collecting dust. To be honest there aren't really that much good games on the ps3. None of my friends own a ps3 either. I really hate how the controller's triggers feel like. I also pretty much hate the analog sticks due to the fact that they feel a bit off. When ever i play a game the system makes a lot of noise like it's breaking the disc or something. The home page is pretty hard to navigate through and the playstation store takes forever to load at times. I really hate the fact that you can't play music while playing a game, especially when i'm grinding in jrpgs. The batteries the controllers also pretty much run out extremely fast. The system is called slim, but it's extremely huge and ugly looking. After about two years of owning it I only have about 5 games for it and rarely play on it. There's not much good exclusives if you ask me. I also never play online even if it's free since there's like no games to play online on. The positives I noticed about the ps3 so far is the keyboard they have.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ktt257
USA
 
Please wait while more information about ktt257 is loaded.
Additional information about ktt257 could not be loaded.
Extra info
Posted 10/13/13
Forgot to mention the fact that when you turn it off and unplug it, then the next time you turn it on it'll say corrupted data. I also forgot to mention that when you download a game you can't play another game while downloading it which is seriously annoying since you can do that on the xbox 360. Once the game is finished downloading you also have to click on it again so it can download again for some reason.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
System with many hardware errors
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
donetfix
Location: Matamoros México
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this system makes less than 2 weeks, in principle all right, but this system is slightly incompatible with games as l.a. Noire, which so far is the only game that does not work very well, but my brother PS3 works fine, this system tends to envelope hot, perhaps due to its poor ventilation, just now the XMB froze everything was paralysed, all other games work very well...
I am concerned about this, I will make valid warranty 1 month I still have, I think EU should have bought a new PS3....
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
Anonymous
Location: Campbellsville,KY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this thing and it sucks i played it for the first 5 hours then turned it off and it wouldnt turn back on and the only time it would come on is for like 15 minutes this ps3 not any of the other ps3's on here but this one is a piece of junk and i do not reccomend buying this for you or a friend STAY EASY GAME ON!!!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
No care about their products.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
theOppression
Location: benton, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I went to get another ps3 without going to buy a new one with a bundle that I don't want. So i saw these thinking it was a score. I just got it today and when i fired it up, it froze when it brought up cod black ops 2. Powered it down (that is all i could do) fired it up again. Played one multiplayer game and it froze. I have tried 3 times and my patience has run out. I got it because my other ps3 was overheating and shutting down after 15 minutes of gameplay. A very annoying defect in this system. Bite the bullet and spend $30 dollars more to get a new one.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
PS3 SLIM
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
WLVARINE1996
Location: Sac City, IA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a very good system. I enjoyed it for the week that i had it and i dont feel that i was overpriced when i payed $169 for myne. Im just more of a xbox 360 guy
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DEMON2324
Tucson, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about DEMON2324 is loaded.
Additional information about DEMON2324 could not be loaded.
Couldn't even start
Posted 3/25/14
I plugged it in and it worked, but the controller couldn't connect and I tried troubleshooting it by resetting the controller. Nothing. Gonna get my money back or exchange it for another one
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 System 160GB SLIM (GameStop Premium Refurbished)
Just Traded My PS3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/13
WiiUFan
Location: Atlanta,GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
System is great, but trade it in before value goes down. ps4 is about to come out. not recommended for kids. Wii u highly recommended for kids
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.