GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fable: The Journey

You are the controller and the hero. Powered exclusively by Kinect for Xbox 360®, "Fable: The Journey" is a whole new way to experience the deep storyline, heart-pounding action and picturesque world of Albion that fans have come to know and love about the "Fable" franchise. From the new firstperson perspective of Gabriel, a young dweller who has lost his tribe, you will come to the aid of the ailing and mysterious Theresa, who thrusts you into an action-packed adventure full of dangerous enemies, hair-raising chases and humorous characters. As you traverse through dangerous lands with your horse by your side, you will learn to master magic as a deadly weapon, defend yourself in combat and solve puzzles on your journey to becoming a hero.
Average Customer Rating:
6.143
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
4
8 stars
6
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
4
14 out of 2167%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fable: The Journey
Review 1 for Fable: The Journey
Fable The journey and etc.....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/14
XxFF7MastaxX78
Location: CA san francisco
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this is the game that you would like to play when you are bored of cod and other games anyways this game is really good to me please do not send a childish reply to me Thank you Nadeshot~
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Fable: The Journey
Fable has failed us
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
MaxwellLOVESFable
Location: Buffalo, NY
Decided to buy the game and give it a try. Since all of the other Fables were excellent, I was sure that everyone was getting upset over a game that may very well be new, refreshing and packed with fun. Oh boy, was I wrong! The storyline is dumb IMO. The graphics aren't really that great and it's tough to see what direction the road goes and steer correctly when you're galloping and collecting power ups or running from something. There is no free roaming. You can't buy a house and you cannot choose your character. i used to like taking breaks from the storyline to mess around in different towns. Can't do that. Yes, they designed it so that you can sit, but that even sucks because I have to use my kitchen chair and sit perfectly straight up. Forget relaxing in your recliner people, the kinect can't read you when you are in a comfortable position. After a half hour of game play, I got up and left the room to get the blood running back into my butt cheeks and grab a drink. When I went back to the game, the kinect couldn't read me right and then made the game near impossible to play. Frustrated, I turned it off. I don't know if i even want to continue playing this game. If you love Fable, DON'T buy this game!!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
21 of 24 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Floymin
Seattle
 
Please wait while more information about Floymin is loaded.
Additional information about Floymin could not be loaded.
High expectations much?
Posted 10/28/12
First of all, this is Kinect. Never expect complete controller functionality with a peripheral that had to be scaled waaaay back to be affordable.
Second, how much of this game is riding? I'm sure a LOT of memory was used up for all the scenery.
Third, in order for the game to flow, the developers had to choose 1 control style, and they chose linear. Adding free-roam would have required more memory than a Kinect game can handle.
Enjoy the game for what it is, not what you expect it to be.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Fable: The Journey
I was planning on buying until.....
Posted on:6/27/12
Slayer1745
Location: Tennessee
This really should have had just kinect option instead of kinect only. Im a huge fan of the fable series but if i have to buy a kinect to play this game im not gonna buy it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
32 of 35 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Leldorin
Maryville, TN
 
Please wait while more information about Leldorin is loaded.
Additional information about Leldorin could not be loaded.
Not sure why everyone is so upset
Posted 7/27/12
I personally am looking forward to seeing how Lionhead expands the Kinect's horizons with this type of game. My Kinect system is very responsive and I have had NO problems with it at all. Don't get me wrong...there are some pretty sorry titles out there from 3rd party developers that are just broken, but it's always been in the software. My hardware works great in the space I have set up. I love the Fable franchise and am excited to see how this will work out.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Fable: The Journey
Terrible Idea
Posted on:9/13/12
Damianll
A lot of game franchises create a game like this. They have a great series going, as did Fable, but they decide to drastically change the scope of the game. This game only has Fable in the name and not the game. Creating a "Kinect" only game was a terrible idea, but we Fable fans must sit through this until they realize that this was not the way to go (which they more than likely have already figured out). Fable is a great series and it has not been lost. This is merely a setback which is common with a series such as this. I will not buy this game as I did with Fables 1-3, but I am not losing hope on the idea of Fable because it will return in due time.
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fable: The Journey
Fable Kinect.
Posted on:9/9/12
WhiteWarrior
Me and my wife have always pre-ordered and bought all the Fable games. This will be the first time that we do not do so. The fact that you require Kinect to play is very saddening. The Kinect has never been reliable and in my opinion took away from video games. We grew up with controllers and will die with either controllers or virtual reality gaming rooms. The Kinect is not only slow responding but demands you be a certain distance from the Kinect. How does this work for people who have a small gaming room, people who live in trailors, and people who lan party. We want our games to have controllers. Save the Kinect for the kid games and pre-teens.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Praxin
Somewhere near Rochester, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Praxin is loaded.
Additional information about Praxin could not be loaded.
Disappointed
Posted 10/21/12
I love the Fable games but am very disappointed that I bought this new Fable, I hate the first person, the kinect because if you walk away it doesn't remember you when you get back, you have to sit in a kitchen chair rather then be comfortable. There is no free roam in this game, no buying houses. It should be called something other then Fable, it doesn't come close to what the Fable franchise is all about.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Fable: The Journey
Oh no!
Posted on:5/31/12
coalstaindlife
Location: Kentucky
I love the Fable series, I've played all of them and can never wait for the next one. But I'm very disappointed to see this one will require Kinect. I have multiple game consoles and can't afford the fancy extras like Kinect. So I guess I won't be getting this Fable.
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fable: The Journey
I cant belive they are doing this
Posted on:7/24/12
danydestructo
Location: km, nc
I can't beleive they are taking the failed format of the kenect and applying it to such a popular franchise. Its too risky a proposition to be a respoinsible decision for a game company during the economic slowdown. hopefully they at least pad thier decision with a option for normal controler operation for a alternative, because if they don"t I wont purchase it and I a huge fan of fable but not a fan of kenect.
16 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fable: The Journey
The demo stopped me the day before i ordered it.
Posted on:9/20/12
KingOfAlbion
Location: Mobile, AL
This game...Fable 1, Great, Fable 2, great, Fable III, Wonderful, Fable the journey, Awful. I thought it would have at least a hint of open ended gameplay, But it doesn't, No swords, No Guns, Just magic, Magic that hurts your arms, and no other option but using it. This game completely walks for you, It doesn't let you explore, make your own decisions, or do anything but, You guessed it, Magic. It's "Kinect Advent***s" with a story. I'm gonna go order Assassins Creed III now, Not even gonna think about buying this "wonderful" game I held on to cash I could have used for something better for for a month. You shouldn't either!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fable: The Journey
Horrible game
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/14
Shoop
Location: Ft Dodge
Love the Fable franchise. Great story lines and game play. Then came this debacle. This game is horrible in every way. Driving a cart while waving your arms around is boring at best and stupid at worst. No game play, just an exercise in kinect and even in that aspect it fails. Fable should never have marred their otherwise great series with this morbid and absolute failure. I HATE THE FACT THAT I BOUGHT IT, but am keeping it only to remind me how bad games can be and to never trust a game because you loved it predecessors. The disc for this game is a coaster; but only if used upside down so nobody knows you were dumb enough to actually pay for this stupid, stupid loser of a game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Fable: The Journey
Not cool
Posted on:6/27/12
Gremilin
Location: Brandon, MS
I am an avid Fabler and love the games and the story line. Come to find out there was a new one in the line, I was extremely excited. But, it requires a Kinect, which I do not own at present. Plus, my brother and I's "Xbox Cave" is rather small and barely big enough to move around in, much less get into Fable like we do. All in all, I'm extremely disappointed to hear about the Kinect-only Fable.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bill1
Federal Way
 
Please wait while more information about bill1 is loaded.
Additional information about bill1 could not be loaded.
sorry you are wrong
Posted 7/20/12
sorry you aer wrong kinect is not needed at all you can still play it the same way as all fable games do Kinect is reccomended that is about it
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Fable: The Journey
Interesting
Posted on:9/14/12
doodoobear
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL
This game is just an in-between game. Every game strays from what they normally do. Test it out before you judge. I am totally looking forward to this game :)
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Fable: The Journey
Sucks!!!
Posted on:7/23/12
natedog1304
Location: west covina, ca
okay how much is it going to take until microsoft gets that they are doing things wrong the first game was the best one and with each new game they release it gets worse fable 2 was good butt lacked something from the first game that would have made it great the third game sucked their was little customization and there was no challenge their was no penalty for dieing you just got back up and the pixie trail come on they are basically holding you hand and now with this game they removed sword fighting shooting and it basicaly looks like a shooting range with magic i mean come on
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Fable: The Journey
Important Info!
Posted on:9/17/12
PhyziX
Location: Horseheads, NY
The demo was released this morning for Fable: The Journey on the Xbox LIVE Marketplace. Please be sure to check it out before making any judgement prior to the experience from the demo. Trust me, I just downloaded it. I'm getting ready to play it myself. I found over the years not to judge a game by its trailers & previews before trying it out & getting a hands-on experience for myself. Happy adventuring my fellow Heroes of Albion. Here's to hoping. ^_^
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Fable Heroes - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
3 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NESGamer
York, PA
 
Please wait while more information about NESGamer is loaded.
Additional information about NESGamer could not be loaded.
PhyziX is a Genius!
Posted 7/19/13
I'm glad I could find someone who has sense enough to play a game before hating it. I played the demo, and was very impressed by this game. Maybe this isn't as good as other fable games, but I've never played them before. However, this has gotten me interested in the Fable series. I consider that to have one more person even consider buying Fable games is good for Microsoft. If you have a Kinect and realize this will be a different experience than other Fable games, this is worth a look.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Fable: The Journey
WHY
Posted on:8/8/12
Cubby
Location: New Jersey
I am a big fable fan and I think there should be a opition to play the game either way. You should be able to play with the controls also.
Not going to buy,very disappointed in Microsoft.
12 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Fable: The Journey
Wrost Idea Ever
Posted on:9/12/12
RandomDude265
Location: Richmond,VA
Stopping the hero bloodline was a big mistake and making it for kniect was too. I am a fable fan myself this has really dissapointed me. I'd rather stick to the third person fable games and not first person
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Fable: The Journey
Interesting to see how this will play out.
Posted on:5/17/12
sheep
Location: palm beach
I have been a big fan of the fable series but fable going from a full on third person game to a first person kinect game with kinect integration will be interesting to see how this will play out. Fable has never gone first person little lone have kinect integration. I look forward to seeing how this game plays out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Cubby
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about Cubby is loaded.
Additional information about Cubby could not be loaded.
Very disappoint with microsoft
Posted 8/8/12
I am a big Fable fan and this really sucks if you don;t have the kinect to play the game. You should have the opition to play with the controls also. I don't have very much room to have the kinect, so I will not be buying anymore microsoft games. I am very disappoint with microsoft and besides you would have to go out and spend another $150.00 for the kinect doesn't make any scence to me.
Customer Avatar
Duffyz71
XBOX!
 
Please wait while more information about Duffyz71 is loaded.
Additional information about Duffyz71 could not be loaded.
I will be holding off for now.
Posted 5/20/12
I really loved the 3rd person mode. I don't like seeing anything through first person aside from mmo shooters. I wish they would have made it like 3 that was a good one. More personal customizations for your player would be great too. Like the first fable or the second game. More options in building your own houses would kick butt. More things to do with the MASSIVE amounts of money you buy. When you buy everything money is just boring after a while. I wish there were more side quests I am talking almost insanely unneeded ones. More MMO with other people like challenges against them. I guess I will just wait for the reviews. If they pan out alright I will check it out again later.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for Fable: The Journey
a great game for people who get into the character
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/12
T13M4N1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i just finish the game, and for all of you who think the game sucks, think again. although the demo is poor, the real thing gives everything i like in a game. there is action, love, suspense, heart breaking moments, and to top it, it tells you about the older fable games. to me, it was a 4+hour game. the game made me feel like i was Gabriel (main character) because the Kinect makes it first person. sometimes i almost cried, but the best parts are at the end. for the game, you ether like it or not. you cant be in the middle. so for all of you who dont know if you want it or not , look at a gameplay on youtube or here. i guarantee you will love it. and if a birthday or holiday is coming up, try getting this if you have the kinect. i give this an overal of 8 out of 10. oh yah, if you think the game went to fast, try the arcade mode.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Fable: The Journey
Taking a chance....
Posted on:6/5/12
MoToX20
Needing Kinect and going 1st person isn't a smart move. I love all the Fable games, they're among the few games I refuse to trade in, but this one unfortunately isn't even on my list because of Kinect, they're alienating a lot of fans here.
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fable: The Journey
Buy, Play, and then Return.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/12
Jared822
Location: Colombus, Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game is good for 1 play through ONLY. This is a end of all of the fables, ALL. Because they made it for the kinect it made fables free roaming and choices of future.e.g you can't choose if you wan't to be good , normal, or evil. there are no more weapons, just spells. You don't get to choose any location of where you go. Only a straight mission play-through. The game play can be amusing but does't make up for the lack of options for the game. Another horrible thing is sometimes the kinect will just not read you body at all, so then you just die or something bad happens.(This is the biggest problem when driving the carriage, or for casting spells, or defending from an enemy.) Also the voice recognition is horrible and rarely hears you, or it will mess up.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fable: The Journey
the journey issues
Posted on:7/7/12
cox98580
Location: wa
Its good idea trying to expand the game to fit more movment & control than just using a controler But a game thats always used controler & fully moving it into a handes free game played on a device thats not always reliable in long game play and fast movments when people are comfy with the speed & control of a controler. People want the game to have basic controls that continue down a serise and this is just throwing it out & pushing people to start over witch people dislike.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>