GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points

Dawnguard is the first official game add-on for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim® - the 2011 Game of the Year. The Vampire Lord Harkon has returned to power. By using the Elder Scrolls, he seeks to do the unthinkable - to end the sun itself. Will you join the ancient order of the Dawnguard and stop him? Or will you become a Vampire Lord yourself? Featuring an all new faction questline and locations, the ultimate choice will be yours.
Average Customer Rating:
8.242
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
9
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
27 out of 3382%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
its very fun and a good idea but...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/13
specialist657
Location: Florida,FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I mean does Bethesda seriously only give us one dawnguard weapon I just think it would be better if you throw in the dawnguard battle ax ,sword ,mace,dagger, great sword, war hammer maybe even a bow. come on seriously Bethesda! if you have something else to say? tell me in the comments and I will send Bethesda a big fat juicy email.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
werewolves and vampires, COOOOL X3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
eziothemaestro2
Location: the oblivion gate in marrowind
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
my friends cannot appreciate SKYRIM, the like LotR and WoW, they dont know nothin like SKYRIM, i tell them that they do not know true gaming until they play skyim, they tell me to get WoW or some othe rthing like that and i dont, i prefer skyrim
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
8.2 out of 10(33)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
The Best Download
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/12
sdonny
Location: clifton park, ny
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i frist got dawnguard i didn't know all the stuff that came with it. there is so much stuff to do.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
IT WAS AIGHT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/12
xFDMxHOLLOWTIPx
Location: 40 DEUCE. QUEENZ NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I See peoples aint feeling it. but new items and perks is aight with me. and real talk vampires have been doing since morrowind
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Awesome.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/12
Druid
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The story and the way it builds is cool but the ending is non-climatic. I would still recommend this to anyone who is into Skyrim, it got me back into Skyrim in interesting ways. The new features are also a great addition. It's a little above average for the cost.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
not that great
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
gameguy1
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it was ok. anot as great as i expected. I chose the vampire side. it was not that great. it had pretty much nothing to do with the dawnguard. the new dungeons looked the same as any other and had not that great rewards. the vampire form is pretty much the only big thing u get from the vampires and it gets old and boring after a while. the reason i use it is to get an achievement and then i will be done wiht it. if ur a vampire the dawnguards will be constantly chasing u down. as soon as i step outside from a building their their waiting to kill me. its really hard to fight them being a vampire since health doesnt regenerate outside. being a vampire sucks. health and stamina wont regenerate unless its dark. every day u have to shoot an arrow in the sun to make it dark and its hard to see and annoying and the arrows u need are hard and expensive to come by. Positives: -vampire form is fun for a couple days -a new place to explore called the soul cairn- -- new wepons, armor, enemies, shouts not worth $20
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Eh.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
VirusObey
Location: Texas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Sort of disappointing good add-ons but to short and non climactic it was kinda boring and not beefy enough
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Bleh.... Just Bleeeeh.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
Swagtildawn
Location: Frankfort, Ky
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was ecstatic when I heard about the first DLC installment of Skyrim and when I read about the plot I thought it sounded like another fun, interactive, unique quest line like Shivering Isles was for Oblivion but when I started playing I was disappointed. I would expect this for a regular RPG but for an Elder Scrolls game its just unacceptable and disrespectful to the series. It was just boring and all I had fun doing was getting the new armor and crossbow and bolts you get with this add-on. I was over generous with my scores just because I love the series so much. Hope for more fun, PLAYABLE DLC.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Good but no great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
DarkSaint78
Location: Texas
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Dawnguard is a decent addition to Skyrim. But in most ways for an RPG fan it's a bit of a let down from the vampire side. from the fact that you can not search or activate anything in dark lord mod. to the fact that hovering is simply that and no more. it does not even allow you to scale steeper angles. or survive higher falls. so it only actually provides a few new attack methods while giving you all the hassles & drawbacks of your average vampire. i have yet to play from the Dawnguard side so hope it is better.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
amazing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
krashnak
Location: Bondurant,IA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i loved the origional storiy and secondary quest lines in the base game but the option to become a vampire lord was an amazing add on it gave you more to control and it made me want to pick up skyrim again and continue questing in the extensive world that now got even bigger if you enjoyed the base game you will love the add on to one of the most enjoyable games to date then you will love the expansion
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!! :)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
KingKong96
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This dlc was epic and very fun i recomend doing the dawngaurd questline. Because you can still become a vampire lord after being a vampire hunter. This game is EPIC!! i would recomend it to anybody. If you have some spare cash just laying around go ahead and pick it up.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
BEST ADD ON EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
ShaDowSlaYer259
Location: Fredericksburg,VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game add on is awesome!! People who say this is too short I disagree with.this game add on lasted a while for me and I really enjoyed it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
...Magnificence in a box...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
IIIICLUTCHIIII
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I loved it I tried both sides dawnguard is my favorite...............................................................
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Starscream92
Winfall, NC
 
Please wait while more information about Starscream92 is loaded.
Additional information about Starscream92 could not be loaded.
Got a question
Posted 9/7/12
Is it possible to still become a vampire lord if you join the dawnguard
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Great Add-On
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/12
nascarfan24
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was skeptical at first but when I started playing it I enjoyed it quite a bit. However I don't think it was worth the $20. The crossbow was probably the thing that sold me to get the DLC. I'm really glad they added the ability to create arrows and dragon weapons. I was also happy that they allowed you to change your appearance but the downside to it is that it cost 1000 gold to do it. Overall this DLC is really good and worth playing. Graphics: 8/10 Gameplay: 9/10 Sound: 10/10 Replay Value: High
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
NOSerpent Isle
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
OpsDarth
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
They said it would be bigger then serpent isle? This DLC is not very Big or very Long. While the perks will stay with your character, the land is not very well made. Other then being small, the land only hold a few different kind of monster/animals to kill. No town, no people to talk to. I was expecting a new land with new location, towns, people quest. I was done with the DLC in 3 days, wondering were my money went? Elder Scroll is by far my favorite Game, but it seems they are taking the path of, "less Work, More Money".
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 38 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JacobGenocide69
 
Please wait while more information about JacobGenocide69 is loaded.
Additional information about JacobGenocide69 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/13/12
Dude its called the Shivering Isles and Bethesda said Dawnguard "would not" be as large as the Shivering Isles
Customer Avatar
stivers314
 
Please wait while more information about stivers314 is loaded.
Additional information about stivers314 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/13/12
Dude, it said that it would be about 10-20 hours of gameplay time anyway, so live with it.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Great for all hardcore skyrim fans
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/12
kdhjkahfkh
Location: nunya
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this game adds a very memorable vl vs. hunter campaign and some cool new items but once you get past the first couple of missions both sides become quite linear. adds 2 new very large locations. one of which is the soul cairn which is cool at first but extremely hard to navigate. at first you encounter alot of glitches but can learn to get around them. i loved auriels bow it has the best animations i have seen throughout all skyrim. i hope they save the really good stuff for future dlc's. hopefully each one is better than the next, but also not more expensive than the next.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GamerGurl4life
 
Please wait while more information about GamerGurl4life is loaded.
Additional information about GamerGurl4life could not be loaded.
Just a few questions
Posted 7/12/12
Can I use stuff from the DLC in the regular Game, like weapons & armour ? Can I use Vampire form on the regular game ? Does it enable you to feed standing and swipe from horse in the regular game after adding the dlc?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Great DLC, lots of content for 20$
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Typically I give a large detailed review, but considering this is a DLC, I have to be cautious not to spoil too much right?
Make no mistake, this is a good story line, many don’t appreciate something non typical. Vampires vs warewolves, vampires vs hunters, all have been done many many times before. This time around it’s a vampire race that has been around a long time, and there ultimate enemy is the sun. If there is no sun, then nothing can stop them. Dawnguards when you see them explain right off the bat why the vampires don’t fear them, because they are barely a threat. When you go to their large castle, they have like 8 guys in the entire castle. So the vampire quest is how to destroy it’s greatest enemy, the sun. The dawnguard quest is both improving the dawnguard army, and taking down their greatest enemy, the vampires. Many oppose any story that isn’t typical, because they are so used to the same old. Still referring to a previous 6/10 review, I will be fair and admit there are a lot of “fetch” missions. But that’s what Bethesda massive RPG’s are all about. I mean really think about it, what else could a massive rpg do aside from things along the lines of dungeon raids, cave raids, exploration, etc. It will always somehow consist of go fetch something, go kill something, go figure out something. Even then, yes it is still the same old Bethesda massive RPG stuff, but they are still fun, interesting new locations, etc. Skyrim is know for it’s mountains and snow, including a dlc inside skyrim, of coarse it can’t be like shivering isles where it’s an entirely new world. I’m willing to bet the next dlc will be a lot more different.
This DLC adds a few hours worth of new areas. Three large areas are out of Skyrim’s boundries, and a few more are added to skyrim. Example, there are a few caves within Skyrims original map, but the inside of the caves are completely new. A problem I have with locations, is that they don’t get maps. Example, one location is in the mountain peaks on the NorthEast corner of skyrim, dead east of Solitude. It’s a massive outdoor area, but it gets no map. I mean at least the rest of the game you get a map to see as a reference, this there is none. The only reference tool you get in such areas is the small “interior map” which is fully zoomed in, only shows the square footage that you have explored, and you can only see maybe 100 feet from where you are at. It’s a pain, but not a huge deal.
The DLC adds a lot of content both in the new areas, and in already existing areas. Example? Remember the falmer (Snow elves) often found in dwarven ruins? They were never very strong except in numbers. Now for high level players they added a “Falmer warmonger” which is like a “Draugr Deathlord” as far as attack power, and hp goes. There are a few others in falmer, and more in other races/enemy categories.
They added a fair amount of new weapons, spells, ingredients, potions, clothing, shouts, etc. I feel like “dragonbone” weapons was chopped from the original game then added into the dlc. I mean all other materials (deadric, elven, etc) had weapons, just not this. Regardless, they are great. I like the deadric look a lot more, but these weapons are stronger. It’s also nice that they finally added arrows/bolts you can craft. Deadric arrows were the strongest before dlc, and if you came across 150 you were lucky. That’s super rare. And any archer knows 150 arrows only lasts maybe 200 shots even with the perk that lets you retrieve twice as many arrows, most of them disappear in your enemies inventory.
The new genre of weapon is the crossbow, and no it is not just dragon bone. There are deadric, elven, glass, etc crossbows, all of which a smith can craft.
Now for the big question, vampires and warewolves. How cool are they, are they worth it, which ones better? Lets start off with the basics. One of my concerns was being lvl 70, even one skill perk is hard to obtain since all my most used skills are at 100. So how could I get perks for the vampire or warewolf skill tree? They thought of this as well. Instead of using lvl up skill perks for the perk tree’s, you get separate perks points. To be more specific, you get a vampire perk every so often when you finish off an enemy with the bite ability, or the drain ability. So if you are lvl 50 and are using vampire non stop, you can get 8 vampire points and still be lvl 50. So no matter what lvl you are, it is possible to lvl up vampire or warewolf. They said you can start the DLC around lvl 10, and idk how true that is since I started at lvl 45ish. Luckily the enemies match your lvl so I’m sure lvl 10 was about right. I just recommend coming in later and having a large inventory (hopefully at least 500 carry capacity) before tackling some of these large dungeons and areas. The warewolf I haven’t plaid yet, so I don’t know how that is.
So I’ll detail the vampire. The design is pretty cool. The wings are kinda stupid, more like wing frames without actual wings, but I think the reasoning is that if it had wings in third person, the wings would cover most of the screen. So it’s good enough. The powers, and animations are all well done. Like before, there are a lot of downs to being a vampire. Sunlight makes you unable to recharge anything (magicka, health, stamina). There is a loophole, if you “feed” then you are immune to the sun for 24 hours. The problem is that if you fast travel anywhere, it usually takes long enough to have that “feeding” ware off. It’s a pain in the rump, not being able to recharge. Often times I play during nighttime (ingame) but it’s no doubt easier to see during the day. Indoor play (dungeons, caves, etc) the sun doesn’t effect you. However later in the story, you get an ability to control the sun, making it not hurt you.
As you can imagine as a vampire, I’ve played the vampire side of the dlc, not the dawnguard. The story line was great. If you remember the civil war quests, no matter what side you were on it was essentially the same missions as the other just from the others point of view. These are completely different. The vampires are souly concerned about controlling the sun, not the dawnguard. The dawnguard during the vampire quest line are more of an inconvenience, then an actual threat. So this dlc is no doubt worth playing through twice for two different versions. As far as I know, you can be a warewolf while on the side with the dawnguard.
I’d rate this dlc as follows.
Value 5/5
Content 5/5
Story 5/5
Replay value very high.
Ultimately I’d say 5/5, wish I could rate it maybe 8/5.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
32 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Dawnguard review
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
IAMTHETABLE
Location: dont have one
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Dawnguard was good except it was kind of short I went on the vampire side and it was short I like the dragonbone weapons and the crossbow it only like 4 main quest missions thats the only reason its a 9 and not a 10 but I do like the stuff you get like the crossbow so it was good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
waiting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
shiznit
Location: VW
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was waiting a long time for Bethesda to come out with DLC it seems like it was only a few months since skyrim came out and it was the biggest convo out there now it's dawnguard whats next Bethesda.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Dawnguard - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 1600 Points
Good, not perfect
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
DOVK
Location: New York
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Upon downloading the Dawnguard pack, I was so ready do dive into the content. I started the storyline and chose the Dawnguard as my side in the conflict. I was greeted with decent quests that contained a good amount of storyline to them as well. The only real problem I had with the story was how the Snow Elves were worked into it. It felt weird, as there was little mention of them in the base game. The story wasn't the only thing included min the DLC. There was the addition of crossbows, which are trumped by some bows made and improved by the Smithing skill. Also, those with high Smithing skill can take a perk to make Dragonbone weapons, the best weapons in the game damage-wise. Another feature added was the ability to have your character's face altered. Sadly, this only works if you are not a Vampire. One last feature of mention is the addition of 3 new Dragon Shouts. All in all, the story isn't amazing, but the added features reedeem this DLC.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>