GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island Game of the Year Edition

The island of Banoi is a lush, tropical paradise in the South Pacific where its flagship Royal Palms Resort serves as the ultimate getaway for vacationers with money to burn. However, all good things must soon come to an end - and the picturesque resort falls into madness, carnage and chaos after a mysterious and contagious zombie outbreak claims its once peaceful atmosphere. Cut off from the rest of the world, only four individuals who strangely find themselves immune to zombification have the power to protect the remaining survivors from the horrors of the island, discover what's really going on and find a way to escape before their own fatal ends.
Average Customer Rating:
8.766
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
12
8 stars
3
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 out of 4787%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Review 1 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Solid Game
Posted on:6/25/12
JerryMcGhoulBerry
Location: Dallas,Texas
Dead Island is a solid game, with it's in-game mods to weapons, solid story line and 4 player online coop. While Dead Island has some flaws. ( Some glitches and bugs and moderate graphics) it's a game where fun and destruction to zombies collide. The game of the year edition is something that includes another side of the story and includes The Arena which hold 5 arenas of varying difficulty. It is a gaem you should pick up if you have the money and enjoy slaying some zombies with your friends.
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jammershark
 
Please wait while more information about jammershark is loaded.
Additional information about jammershark could not be loaded.
Great game
Posted 1/26/13
I just got this game from my friend for 1.50 I played for about an hour and it is awesome the island is awesome to explore. I've always love role playing games but this game is amazing with well thought out campaign and co-op is amazing
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Dead island, or vacation island?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Blast3400
Location: West virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead island pretty has no much story. If you're looking for a more serious story turn away, but if you're a zombie killing lover varying with many different weapons, do NOT turn away. The story is pretty much made up of 4 different people you play as and theres a zombie virus, and you must escape, but some other stuff happens that could keep you on your feet. Now for the zombie lovers this isn't dead rising combat, except you can craft your own weapons out of anything and use it against your enemies, baseballs bat with nails, or a ripper and gut open your enemies. The fighting is pretty much a skyrim/oblivion/fallout type. So, if you like skyrim or fall outs combat you'll like this. The grahpics are pretty amazing, Nothing much to say other then a few glitches which is normal for a game like this, or any other game. A few annoying things dead island does as a game is try to be a little like borderlands, I'm not calling it a copy. But it has similar features. Nevermind that, if you love zombie games get this!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Very Well Done!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/12
Amythest97
Location: Atlanta
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I ordered this game from Gamestop because my friend got it for his birthday. This game is extremely well done! One of the best parts of the game is just the concept. Zombies... tropical island... it's just never been done before. The graphics are great, the sounds are cool, and the open-world island idea makes it even better. Co-op is really fun because it make the game a lot more strategic. Making weapons out of a pile of junk is also really cool. The only downside is that the weapons degrade extremely and it can get really tedious time after time. Overall, a fantastic game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Almost free dlc
Posted on:6/6/12
US447
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Unlike the previous guy who never played it but felt he should review, I have played the game. Its a solid game with hours of gameplay. One of the few games to have 4 player coop as well. The used copy now costs around 30 so buying this new or used basically that you get all the dlc for free. Not a bad deal.
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Great atmosphere, HUGE map, a lot of content
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I wrote a review for the regular version (without the DLC) but figured I should throw out an idea or two on this version: BUY THIS ONE. The cost of buying the DLC alone costs more than picking up this version of Dead Island. The DLC is a nice addition, especially for people that get really REALLY into the game, but the main game by itself is one of the greatest games I've ever played.
The island is HUGE. I was sad because I had explored the entire map and I was worried that I was close to finishing the game.... then I hit the SECOND map. And then a third. And so on. Each map (though I am partial to the second) is large enough and beautiful enough (or at least atmospheric enough) to ignore the main and side quests for long stretches of time and just wander around and explore. There are very few games I have played that can suck you in and so fully immerse you in such a unique experience. The actual quests are very cool.... I was simply saying that random wandering can be just as fun and rewarding.
Graphics and sound are great. The gameplay is just as good. You get experience, find new weapons and weapon upgrades, weapon recipes, money..... the fighting is all melee (hand-to-hand and close-range weapons) for a large part of the game and even after you can get firearms melee weapons are still a solid way to go. As a result every encounter has a chance to go very badly at a moment's notice (especially since you are usually fighting lots of very fast-moving zombies.)
That's basically it.... this game can be rather freaky... it is VERY fun, very long, looks and sounds AMAZING... I'm sure my review for the regular edition of the game is longer if you are looking for more detail but the whole point of this review is basically: Buy this version. If you don't and end up wanting to buy the DLC you'll be out about twice the cash as simply buying this version. And how many chances do you have to play a game that has: Guns with electric bullets, electric machetes, baseball bats with nails sticking out of it...... acidic throwing knives (and that's just the tip of the iceberg). Good times.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Hard Corps: Uprising
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
It was okay for the first 2 hours ...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Ancora
Location: Battle Creek, MI
The game was seriously a huge disappointment ... for me at least. I thought the graphics looked great but aside from that it was extremely bland and slow. And don't even get me started on how often you will "Die", the sounds were really bland and I was disappointed with the clunky controls, I was playing on a brand new system and I literally only played for a day before I put it down and I haven't played it since. I wouldn't reccomend this game to anyone who wants something fast paced, and fun because my god was it such a slow build up to get to anything good. On the up side there are tons of quests, and plenty of challenges along with what seems like limitless customization which to me was really nice since that appeals to me, and they had plenty of weapons EVERYWHERE. Which did come in handy. To me this game was not what I thought or hoped it would be but if your in to Zombies and want to kill A LOT of them then here's a game for you.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
a FUN zombie game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
xxRavenxx2
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is great for people who love zombie games like me. I buy any good Zombie game like left 4 dead or this game this game was fun last year but i dont know how many people still play the game. I am looking forward for the 2nd game. This game is worth your 30$. It has great graphics and sounds and gameplay. but one thing i hate about this game is, that the guns are introduced late in the game i got bored with no guns when like 30 zombies come at me and i have no guns to kill them but the weapon modfications are awesome so... i hope you enjoyed this review this is my opinion i dont suggest trading in this game if u buy it now because u would get nothing for it because they already announced the next game so you would get nothing like i only got 3$ for madden 12 ENJOY THIS GAME!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Solid Game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
Swagtildawn
Location: Frankfort, Ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first saw the trailer for Dead Island I was stunned and amazed and thought the game had so much potential but upon playing it I found it had some big flaws and ended up just being "another game". The weapon system was great with each weapon being unique and having its own stats and the perk system they had when you leveled up was awesome but the gameplay was just boring at times with there only being one boss (the very end) and it lacked difficulty considering me and my girlfriend completed every mission in the game including the side missions and misc missions in a couple of days. With all that said, its a solid game and is a pretty good slash em' up zombie game but it won't be remembered.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Great.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
gamestop101reviewer
Location: Norman,OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best games i have ever played and it's also one of the best zombie games out there. You start off on an island where it has become overrun with zombies and there are four characters to pick from, they all have a story, they all have once wanted something and lost it, and they also want to be something again. So basically it's an RPG based game with a large island to explore. You can create weapons and drive vehicles. One bad thing though is that you can only level to 60.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
It is really fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/12
freshprice
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You can do what ever you want and have lots of fun i would recomend to all zomie game lovers. is a great game and cheap.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Revival of a genre
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/12
mike
Location: Eunice, LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Upon playing this game I was immediately enthralled with every aspect of it. "Dead Island" takes the missing aspects of other titles involving the walking dead and fills them and then some. It's been some time since I was so immersed in a game. Even though you sould expect a "walker" around every corner, you find yourself jumping out of your seat at times as you run from one, enter a room or a building only to be confronted with yet another screaming ghoul. That's how a horror game should be. Remember how a certain zombie movie ended where the survivors who were locked up in a mall escaped to what seemed like a nice, serene island? Well, this game pretty much picks up where that movie leaves off. The cast of characters are vastly different but imagine a similar scenario. If only other horror movies (and of course, games) were as well made as this game. The only issue were the bugs. While it's not a major issue, there are a few times where the offending undead are stuck in place and you have free reign to hack away. Then there is the issue with "Gabriel's Sledgehammer". I was awarded this weapon upon finishing a task and somehow "lost" it without my character discarding it. I've read about others having the same issue. With that being the only real issue, and I'm sure the sequel will clean up any slight mishaps, I advise anyone who enjoyed this game as much as I still do to buy the follow-up when it's released.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BloodLikeIce
Connecticut
 
Please wait while more information about BloodLikeIce is loaded.
Additional information about BloodLikeIce could not be loaded.
Decent game
Posted 7/25/12
Dead Island sold itself quite high but failed to really meet any of those high expectations. Pre-kick limit patch, all you did was spam kick continuously and win the game. Honestly though, the kick was your only defense mechanism. If you are out of stamina, a little zombie can knock you to the ground, resulting in quite a lot of damage being taken. You're only defense, was to kick your way out and hope for the best. Overall, the game is a good rent if your buddies do it as well. The game is quite lacking if you play alone, you will become bored of the fetch quests and repetitive environment quickly.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Repetitive and Uninteresting
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/13
Gary
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game puts you on an island where your character is "immune" to becoming a zombie. You never really understand why... Playing through the game is... Different. the world isn't very large and you will get to know it well. With that being said, the scenery is beautiful. The story never really captivated me like it has in other zombie games such as "Dead Rising" and it was never quite as intense as "Left 4 Dead". Killing the undead becomes a bit repetitive and the missions are predictable. The end of the game could have rewarded me for playing through the whole game by giving me the satisfaction of an amazing ending. But it did not do that. I am not glad that I purchased this game... I only really played it for a week or two and then I let it collect dust for a few months before trading. The only thing that kept me from doing that earlier was the semi entertaining co-op factor.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
BEST GAME EVER.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/12
oreoballer
Location: California,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is perfect for those gamers who love to be scared.Also its awsome gets your pulse up throught all the campain.All the DLC's are awsome.The Bloodbath Arena is just like in Geras of war 3 whorde mode.The ripper mod is a baseball bat with an eletric saw on the tip of it.The Ryder White episode is not part of the campain.When choosing the characters after the first four characters move down one more time and theres a character called ryder choose him for the Ryder White episode.Those are the 3 Dlc's it comes with.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cmanfahw7746
 
Please wait while more information about cmanfahw7746 is loaded.
Additional information about cmanfahw7746 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/6/13
best game ever!!!!!!!!! its a little bloody but in the setting you can turn blood down and game is even better! MUST BUY!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Great Survival Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/14
Keystone35
Location: Madison, CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Island is an awesome game! Good thing they made the sequel Dead Island Riptide. The gameplay is top quality and the story to the game makes it more appealing to play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Not as good as it could have been.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
blique13
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game received a lot of hype. But there isn't really that much of a story. The Quests are basically go get me this and then after that you can do more quests of going and getting me stuff. Not trying to say its just a bunch of lifeless quests cause they fit the standards of a zombie world like go check to see if this person is alive and stuff like that but none of the quests really evolve into a big emotional storyline. The Game play is decent. But the way the character moves is just kinda slow. Also the in game map is very confusing. It was hard to read and i found myself lost a bunch of times and the map would be leading me to dead ends. Theres a variety of weapons in pre determined spots all over the island but after a few whacks at a zombie it needs to repair and for some reason you have to spend money to upgrade and repair these weapons. I guess having to make sure your weapons are good to go kill and you always have enough money is a good way to add some strategy into the game instead of a go kill every zombie you see kind of strategy. The Graphics are pretty decent to but not anything special. The sound is okay.This game could have been way better than it is. Hopefully Dead Island 2 will be able to but together everything promised in this game to make a perfect game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
coolcol2
 
Please wait while more information about coolcol2 is loaded.
Additional information about coolcol2 could not be loaded.
not as good as it looked
Posted 8/23/12
it was fun in the beginning but as you start playing it it gets boring but if you already bought it i wouldnt return it because i got 6 bucks for it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
very fun excellent game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
dicro1204
Location: alliance oh
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is fun and i would recomend it to everyone you should get now whem u have the chance get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Best zombie game ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
deathvirus
Location: MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is realistic and satisfyingly long because of the tons of side quests. with weapons sharpened and ready to use and the zombies alert, this game will entertain you for hours.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Very fun to play not for under age kids
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
Hershy
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i loved it the first day it came out but i was a little surprised when i came to game stop and nobody had bought it yet but then again it was a game nobody had heard of. i played it for hours unlocking and finding new weapons, skills, and lvls. It was a long story game but i finally finished it and i played it again and again over and over completing the story. There was some this in coop that made me a bit angry was that say u had a grenade and one player was gone they could throw that grenade at them and it would kill them and u also lose money when u die. There that that made this game bad and another thing was that when some player joined my game they had modded weapons with unlimited ammo and would take all the kills and i could get no xp to rank up. But over all the game was fun so i recomend you get this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Under-the-radar thriller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
twainjay
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game really exceeded my expectations. The opening to the game is fairly flat and can discourage some gamers, though with continued play the game really opens up and truly shines. The gameplay is fantastic, with a focus on melee combat. The gun mechanics are nice, though don't feel very polished. The world is vast and feels as though you are really exploring a zombie infested island, and Deep Silver did a great job making you believe you are your character. The little details are what make a game for me, and I wasn't disapointed. There are so many different zombie models that I never felt like I was just fighting twenty of the same enemies. The story is interesting, though the characters felt someone static and always seemed to be the same. The story isn't where Dead Island delivers, it delivers in making you feel like you are your character. Heart racing and nervously walking around corners are two of the biggest things I noticed, and that is exactly what I expect from a game where you are fighting hordes of undead. The first person perspective is also very refreshing and hence, draws comparisons to the Fallout series. It is incredibly enjoyable and defintely worth attention.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
just love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/12
guuero
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i love this game i bought two copys one for me and one for my cousin it was his birthday so i bought this for him and i wasnt trying to leave him a lone in this game so we play online well i like this game better then left 4 dead before you dislike my review let me explain you left 4 dead is like a shooting zombie game and dead island is more a survive game i love this game i have left 4 dead too and is on my collection if you like games were you have to survive this the right choice by the way dont expect to get all kind of weapons on dead island is hard to find guns and the ammo is limited but thats why this game is good buy it i recommend this game and approve it ;)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>