GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island Game of the Year Edition

The island of Banoi is a lush, tropical paradise in the South Pacific where its flagship Royal Palms Resort serves as the ultimate getaway for vacationers with money to burn. However, all good things must soon come to an end - and the picturesque resort falls into madness, carnage and chaos after a mysterious and contagious zombie outbreak claims its once peaceful atmosphere. Cut off from the rest of the world, only four individuals who strangely find themselves immune to zombification have the power to protect the remaining survivors from the horrors of the island, discover what's really going on and find a way to escape before their own fatal ends.
Average Customer Rating:
8.761
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
11
8 stars
3
7 stars
5
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
40 out of 4687%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Review 1 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Really Fun to play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Ftank722
Location: Philly, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I'm not a huge fan of First person games like this one but this is really really fun to play and actually a beautiful looking game. Took a little getting used to but after that no problem at all. Definite buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
always check behind you in the game it will help
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/1/13
DEMONICSNAKELORD
Location: washington
This game is perfect for: party gamers
at first i didn't like the game but once i got into it i couldn't stop. It's the best game to play with a friend(s). The hordes are fun as heck to fight and the game play is amazing. I love the go at your owen pace story line for a zombie game they did out standing same with the second; they just need a third now
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Lots of zombies, lots of world, lots of fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/13
aco612
Location: Future wetlands of Louisiana
The idea of the game is well-trod subject matter (just reference the Dead Rising series) but the execution of the game is incredible: an RPG with crafting where you kill zombies and complete quests. Ideally that format is full of win, but it would have been easy for the wheels to come off. The first Dead Rising, for example, had issues with traveling the world and with presenting quests that you were woefully underprepared for; thankfully Dead Island uses a more intelligent and discerning engine for leveling up the zombies in toughness as your character (there are 4 of them that are playable and a fifth one as DLC) progresses. This may sound a cheap method of keeping the gameplay balanced, but it does keep the gameplay fresh and engaging. In co-op it is even better in execution. There are some technical hiccups (glitching, poor cutscenes) but they don't influence the quality of the gameplay. There is a lot of time to be spent in the game leveling the characters up and completing the many, many quests (which are nicely varied) given to you, and the presence of online co-op gives the game legs after you've finished the story (or while, if you prefer), and the combat system of primarily melee-based fighting disallows you from taking the easy way with just gunplay to kill zombies, as you will have to get close and intimate with them to really kill them in quantity. For me the game was lots of fun with little of the tedium that plagues many RPG titles.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Very fun to play not for under age kids
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/13
Hershy
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: party gamers
i loved it the first day it came out but i was a little surprised when i came to game stop and nobody had bought it yet but then again it was a game nobody had heard of. i played it for hours unlocking and finding new weapons, skills, and lvls. It was a long story game but i finally finished it and i played it again and again over and over completing the story. There was some this in coop that made me a bit angry was that say u had a grenade and one player was gone they could throw that grenade at them and it would kill them and u also lose money when u die. There that that made this game bad and another thing was that when some player joined my game they had modded weapons with unlimited ammo and would take all the kills and i could get no xp to rank up. But over all the game was fun so i recomend you get this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/13
WolfeArmy
Location: ny
This game is perfect for: party gamers
a little challenging if alone though but i love it. a great game though. would be better if arena was bigger like a halo game big.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Zombies
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/12/13
CKWins
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This came is one of my all time favorites, if the zombies weren't enough the gameplay makes the package. The sound is very good, I will never forget the sound of a zombie scream when it is trying to eat me. The graphics could be better, such as the facial animations, but they are way better than Left 4 Dead 2. The Ryder White add on was kind of a let down, but not enough to bring down the over all score of the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
so scary so many jump scares
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
xbox720
Location: fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the thugs scare me alot but the bomers are huge they love meat bait cant wait till i get dead island riptide
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Fun!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/13
Babyboy210
Location: San Antonio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is just awesome I love everything about it I love zombie games this game will keep u on it ur system for a long time .....I will never get rid of this game it's a keeper!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Dead island, or vacation island?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
Blast3400
Location: West virginia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead island pretty has no much story. If you're looking for a more serious story turn away, but if you're a zombie killing lover varying with many different weapons, do NOT turn away. The story is pretty much made up of 4 different people you play as and theres a zombie virus, and you must escape, but some other stuff happens that could keep you on your feet. Now for the zombie lovers this isn't dead rising combat, except you can craft your own weapons out of anything and use it against your enemies, baseballs bat with nails, or a ripper and gut open your enemies. The fighting is pretty much a skyrim/oblivion/fallout type. So, if you like skyrim or fall outs combat you'll like this. The grahpics are pretty amazing, Nothing much to say other then a few glitches which is normal for a game like this, or any other game. A few annoying things dead island does as a game is try to be a little like borderlands, I'm not calling it a copy. But it has similar features. Nevermind that, if you love zombie games get this!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Thought The Walking Dead would be better, but...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/13
Anonymous
Location: La Habra, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game contains better graphics and has a little more of a story line than The Walking Dead Survival Instinct where your main goal is to find Merle.. I love Walking Dead, but I'd prefer Dead Island any day.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Some poor features mar Dead Island
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
Boney56
Location: Illinois
I looked forward to the getting Dead Island. The descriptions sounded quite good, and there are some very good things to say about the game. But there are also some not so good. The most glaring, and the one aspect of the game I've seen and heard the most about is the save system. It's terrible, frustrating, and it puzzles me how anyone would even consider designing such a lousy feature. The player can wind up in random spots when continuing a game, and even worse, when the character gets killed. If you get surrounded and killed by a horde, you may very well regenerate in exactly the same spot. You have no control over your save. There is also no way to set the difficulty of the game. The quests are labeled from very easy to very hard, but that doesn't always get it accurate. Your character gains experience and levels up, which is supposed to be like a role playing game, but leveling up doesn't do very much at all. The stronger your character gets, the zombies level up along with you, and the effect for them is exponentially greater than it is for you. Expect to die numerous times. That wouldn't be all that bad except for the lousy save system, which occasionally will make sure you die several times before you can get out of a mess, and there is a stiff penalty to pay in the way of your cash for items. It's true there are items all over the games environment, but you don't find everything you need when you need it, so the penalty can be quite annoying. The bottom line is that if they ever put out a sequel, they really need to change several features to make it as consistently enjoyable an experience as it could be. It's very enjoyable to a degree because that enjoyability is marred and overshadowed by the game's shortcomings.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
perfect is all i can say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
parkerman14
Location: king nc
this game is similar to fallout but alot more gory its awsome. the game is scary if your a kid but you can turn the blood off. the games really good. graphics are WOW! ID RECOMMED IT IF YOU LIKE FALLOUT. youve got missions similar to fallout. perfect!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
it sucks
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/13
Anonymous
Location: New York, NY
This is terrable i have to admit it has good sound and graphics but overall it suckssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
No Local Co-op
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
Nosferotaus04
Location: Iowa
Didn't like the fact i bought this and you can only play it online or sysytem link when on the back the company specified co-op w/o sytem link. I was pretty let down by this, if your a online gamer im sure its great but dont get it if you think its for local co-op.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
Epic007
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has amazing graphics and sound. The story line is amazing with the twists and turns you have to face. Overall an amazing game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
BLOWS UR MIND AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/13
Dan0527
Location: Denville,NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is AWESOME. Its a perfect game for people who love to be scared at all times because you would never know when the zombies will just strike at you at anytime................ GUSHING BLOOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
It was okay for the first 2 hours ...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
Ancora
Location: Battle Creek, MI
The game was seriously a huge disappointment ... for me at least. I thought the graphics looked great but aside from that it was extremely bland and slow. And don't even get me started on how often you will "Die", the sounds were really bland and I was disappointed with the clunky controls, I was playing on a brand new system and I literally only played for a day before I put it down and I haven't played it since. I wouldn't reccomend this game to anyone who wants something fast paced, and fun because my god was it such a slow build up to get to anything good. On the up side there are tons of quests, and plenty of challenges along with what seems like limitless customization which to me was really nice since that appeals to me, and they had plenty of weapons EVERYWHERE. Which did come in handy. To me this game was not what I thought or hoped it would be but if your in to Zombies and want to kill A LOT of them then here's a game for you.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 18 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
Repetitive and Uninteresting
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/13
Gary
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game puts you on an island where your character is "immune" to becoming a zombie. You never really understand why... Playing through the game is... Different. the world isn't very large and you will get to know it well. With that being said, the scenery is beautiful. The story never really captivated me like it has in other zombie games such as "Dead Rising" and it was never quite as intense as "Left 4 Dead". Killing the undead becomes a bit repetitive and the missions are predictable. The end of the game could have rewarded me for playing through the whole game by giving me the satisfaction of an amazing ending. But it did not do that. I am not glad that I purchased this game... I only really played it for a week or two and then I let it collect dust for a few months before trading. The only thing that kept me from doing that earlier was the semi entertaining co-op factor.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
So Much More Than I Expected
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
TACOpinata
Location: Knoxville, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was walking through Gamestop and saw this game had dropped in price. I figured I'd grab it because a friend said it was good. Best game I've played in months. This game is huge and the weapon, character, and perk variety is awesome! I'd say this game has one of the best replay values I've seen in the past few years. I would definitely recommend this game to all my friends. Hope Riptide turns out as good!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Island Game of the Year Edition
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/7/12
everman
Location: Minonk,IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game for christmas but i forget to write a review. This was my first rated m game. One of the goreist game ever. This game is awesome. The graphics aren't the best but the gameplay makes up for it. The game is hard at points but is very fun. If you want to exploer the whole island i would recamend you being level 18 or better and do not go to the prison before you explore the island because you can't go back. All in all one of the best games ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>