GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Based on The Lord of the Rings motion picture trilogy, LEGO® The Lord of the Rings follows the original storylines of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, taking players through the epic story events reimagined with the humor and endless variety of LEGO play. Trusted with the dangerous task to destroy an ancient magical ring that threatens all that is good, Frodo is forced to leave his peaceful home. But the ring wants to be found and the road to Mount Doom, the only place where it can be destroyed, will be perilous and riddled with Orcs and fouler things. To help Frodo, a Fellowship is formed - Aragorn the Ranger, Gandalf the Wizard, Legolas the Elf, Gimli the Dwarf, Boromir a Man of Gondor, and Frodo's Hobbit friends Sam, Merry and Pippin. Players relive the legend through the LEGO minifigures, as they explore wonders, solve timeless riddles, and overcome endless foes in their quest to destroy the Ring.
Average Customer Rating:
8.533
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 out of 1593%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Review 1 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Super pro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Minerelf
Location: columbus, oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
another wonderful lego game lots of voice clips from the moives. has a very good storyline process you can choose what part you want to play
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Greatest LEGO Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
MaximusTheBreton
Location: Kino Der Totem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Being the huge Lord of the Rings that I am I had to play this game. It is the greatest Lego game ever. When and if you play you can expect the usual Lego gameplay with the usual Lego game charm. The game is amazingly respectful of the movies with voice acting taken directly from it. It is better with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Not the best lego game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/13
lego1
Location: hendersonville,nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When i bought this i thougt it was going to be good but i didn't have the lego experience like other lego games. If your thinking of getting it i would say to buy lego batman 2 or lego harry potter.They are a better experience
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lord of The Rings in Lego?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
Stoffangadd
Location: Gotland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best Lego game so far and I've played alot of Lego games. If you only care about graphics I'd recommend you getting this on PC otherwise get it for Xbox360 or PS3. It has voice acting and follows the movie really good and it has got free roam. The character creation is really dissapointing though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Good LEGO game. Has some issues.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
Kingdomkid
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was great. It had a good story and Middle-Earth looked amazing. The story is interesting, fast paced at some points, and funny just like a LEGO game should be. But sadly I saw some issues. First you don't get to ride the mounts (horses) where ever on Middle-Earth. You reach an invisible boundary that makes your horse kick you off and run back to where it was before. It is annoying. Second the restart characters. I call Frodo and Sam restart characters because of an annoying situation. Here is the situation: I am traveling around Middle-Earth and then I find out there is a character that is nearby but only available during the night but currently my map is on the day setting. So I click on the map and click the map stone statue and change the setting to night. When I get there my characters are not the same as they were before. Instead my characters are Frodo and Sam. And finally the wars. If anybody had LEGO Star Wars III you will see what I am talking about. In the Star Wars game you can command soldiers and lead armies into battle. You fought against droids and could customize your battle zone with cool buildings and weapons. But in this game you don't do that. I thought you would be able to fight the enemies like in the Star Wars game but instead you only fight a few. This was the biggest disappointment. Other than these three issues the game was good. I hope to see other Free-Roam LEGO games in the future.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/13
Sorrows
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As someone that saw the movies, free play is better than story. Only because I know whats going to happened so it left alot of the battles for me...just waiting to do whatever I needed to do to get to the next part. Like for example: When Gandalf fights Saruman. I knew he was going to lose so spending time fighting him, felt alittle "chorish" waiting for the cut scene to finally pop after hitting him 3 times or whatever. If I didn't know what was going to happen, then I probably wouldn't have minded it so much. Alot of the fights felt like to me. I just think it's LOTR though because I knew what was going to happen in all the lego games I played and I loved story mode in all of them.
I think Story Mode would be a pretty epic experience if you didn't know the story already. So I found myself just pushing through story mode, while I did enjoy it, to open up all my free plays. I ofcourse went back through all the levels which were much more enjoyable for some reason in free play.
All in all it's a good game that's really fun. And I love how you can switch to different parts of the story that happen simultaneously. So if you're tired playing Frodo & Sam's story, just switch over to Aragon, Gimli and Legolas.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Better than I was expecting (a lot).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
RootBeerOfDoom
Location: Nampa Idaho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first saw this game advertised, my knee jerk reaction was "YES, another Lego game." Then I began to think about Lego star wars three, which while different from other games, had left me underwhelmed. However, as I heard more and more I knew I had to get the game to see what the future of Lego games was. And I am glad I did. First off, the game introduces better animated attacks, and a block button, putting the player more in control of the attacks. The greatest improvement I saw, was the fetch quests, now, instead of having you play free play to find a red brick to purchase, you find or forge an item and give it to a character, who will then offer you a red brick to purchase, and on top of that you get to keep the item they wanted. This lengthens the free roam aspect of the game, and to me is a much better way of handling red bricks. In short, if you want a good, much improved Lego game, I could not recommend a better one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/13
gamer326
Location: a place
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this is great. Really fun. Good story. Great characters. Co-op! Great sound. 10/10! Get if lotr fan or lego fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Another great Lego Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/13
Anonymous
Location: Daegu, South Korea
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was curious if I was going to get this game being such a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings because I didn't want this to be a case where a company screws up things throughout the series. Now that I have played the game, I am glad I purchased it. This is another great take on a franchise from the Lego perspective. The great character models and sound make you feel at times like your not even in a Lego game. That is, until the great parts of humor come along throughout the story. Little things like Frodo dropping the ring into a hot cup of tea to reveal the language of Mordor on the ring instead of by fire were a little bothersome to me at first, but after I got a better understanding of the humor Lego was bringing along with the game I welcomed it. A great game for Lego game fans and fans of the Lord of the Rings.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enkidu
 
Please wait while more information about Enkidu is loaded.
Additional information about Enkidu could not be loaded.
Your Review
Posted 7/11/13
D0od, nice review! 1st one I have read, and I am pretty sure i am sold on this game now :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Great Game With a Great Idea
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
bojoe321
Location: pieville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When they first anounced this game I was expecting it to be a great ame because who doesn't like LOTR, and when i got my hands on it I realised thet this was WAY better than what I expected, plus this is a great game to introduce someone to LOTR, so this was a great buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Great lego game, does not disappoint
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
Zorak
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game and immediately was a bit confused due to the fact that everything in it was different than previous lego games; after I played it awhile I started to get the hang of it and now, I love it. The gameplay afterwards is extremely fun and all the quests really help it stay interesting, it is a good game and I don't understand why people don't think that it does..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
I couldn't get the game past a certain stage.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
Henders
Location: Arkansas
The game disc said demo disc not for sale. Could this be why the game would not progress past a certain stage? I have had two other lego games and had no problem.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
BEST LEGO GAME EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
spartansoldier49
this is the coolest lego game ever. if you are a fan of lego games, lord of the rings, or both, i definitely recommend this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Fun game for Kids
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
thenatural1991
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Boss fights are repetitive, story is easy to complete. Scenery is amazing and voice overs are great.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 15 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Awsomeness
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/12
akdpanther
Location: Oswego,IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love how in every lego game made from a movie the nail how the movie actually looks but in lego form. Has bright colors and from the beggining it has me captivated. Love the free roam and the fact this is the second lego game where they talk. If your not a fan of lord of the rings you would still love this game. One of the best to date.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
HAS 2 B AWESOME :D
Posted on:11/5/12
spongebobfunny
Location: Illinois, IL
i have played almost all LEGO games AND THEY WAZ AWESOME. I HOPE THIS GAME WILL BE GOOD GO LEGO :D :D
Review 17 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Yet again Lego mixes two great things in one!
Posted on:11/3/12
Floobersman
Location: Wisconsin
Lego's are amazing! Lord of the Rings was amazing! Put them together and boom another great game is bond to come! This game is going to be great! Open world and each character has their inventory's are awesome new features!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
LEGO LOTR!!!
Posted on:10/29/12
starwarslotr2207
Location: Elgin, SC
I've been waiting for this :) can't believe its finally here !!! gonna pre-order for game, minifig, and 5 bonus characters
Review 19 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
The fellowship of the brick.
Posted on:10/15/12
HAVOCTHEDESTROYER
Location: everywhere
One brick to rule them all.this game looks awesome, they have the actual dialoge from the movies and you can craft your own weapons. if your a fan of lego and /or LotR I would highly recommend getting this game
Review 20 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Best Lego Game Ever!!!
Posted on:10/6/12
Zelane
Location: Graham,WA
Ok so i see a lot of people saying same old Lego game. Well im here to tell you your wrong, Yes we see a lot of the same stuff but there is tons of new like making your own weapons and items and i believe armor as well. This is going to be the best Lego game and only the 2nd to use voice's This is defiantly a buy for anyone who is a fan of Lord of the Rings or of Lego, and for anyone who has a child they want to play with. I'm buying this game the moment it comes out and you should too.
27 of 30 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>