GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Based on The Lord of the Rings motion picture trilogy, LEGO® The Lord of the Rings follows the original storylines of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, taking players through the epic story events reimagined with the humor and endless variety of LEGO play. Trusted with the dangerous task to destroy an ancient magical ring that threatens all that is good, Frodo is forced to leave his peaceful home. But the ring wants to be found and the road to Mount Doom, the only place where it can be destroyed, will be perilous and riddled with Orcs and fouler things. To help Frodo, a Fellowship is formed - Aragorn the Ranger, Gandalf the Wizard, Legolas the Elf, Gimli the Dwarf, Boromir a Man of Gondor, and Frodo's Hobbit friends Sam, Merry and Pippin. Players relive the legend through the LEGO minifigures, as they explore wonders, solve timeless riddles, and overcome endless foes in their quest to destroy the Ring.
Average Customer Rating:
8.625
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 out of 1694%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Review 1 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
IT'S AN EPICBURGER COVERED WITH TOTAL AWESOMESAUCE
Posted on:8/30/12
Alranican
I PREORDERED IT AND I'M GETTING THE ELROND MINIFIGURE, YEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS GAME IS GONNA BE SO FRIGGIN' AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I've heard it has a MASSIVE open world that's WAY bigger than Gotham City. IT'S GONNA BE THE MOST EPIC AWESOMESAUCEINESS LEGO GAME EVAR!!!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Docvideo
 
Please wait while more information about Docvideo is loaded.
Additional information about Docvideo could not be loaded.
Can't wait to get it
Posted 10/8/12
I love Lord of the Rings! I have the whole trilogy of all of these movies at home. This is my favorite movie.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Another great Lego Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/13
Anonymous
Location: Daegu, South Korea
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was curious if I was going to get this game being such a huge fan of the Lord of the Rings because I didn't want this to be a case where a company screws up things throughout the series. Now that I have played the game, I am glad I purchased it. This is another great take on a franchise from the Lego perspective. The great character models and sound make you feel at times like your not even in a Lego game. That is, until the great parts of humor come along throughout the story. Little things like Frodo dropping the ring into a hot cup of tea to reveal the language of Mordor on the ring instead of by fire were a little bothersome to me at first, but after I got a better understanding of the humor Lego was bringing along with the game I welcomed it. A great game for Lego game fans and fans of the Lord of the Rings.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enkidu
 
Please wait while more information about Enkidu is loaded.
Additional information about Enkidu could not be loaded.
Your Review
Posted 7/11/13
D0od, nice review! 1st one I have read, and I am pretty sure i am sold on this game now :)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Best Lego Game Ever!!!
Posted on:10/6/12
Zelane
Location: Graham,WA
Ok so i see a lot of people saying same old Lego game. Well im here to tell you your wrong, Yes we see a lot of the same stuff but there is tons of new like making your own weapons and items and i believe armor as well. This is going to be the best Lego game and only the 2nd to use voice's This is defiantly a buy for anyone who is a fan of Lord of the Rings or of Lego, and for anyone who has a child they want to play with. I'm buying this game the moment it comes out and you should too.
28 of 31 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Better than I was expecting (a lot).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
RootBeerOfDoom
Location: Nampa Idaho
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first saw this game advertised, my knee jerk reaction was "YES, another Lego game." Then I began to think about Lego star wars three, which while different from other games, had left me underwhelmed. However, as I heard more and more I knew I had to get the game to see what the future of Lego games was. And I am glad I did. First off, the game introduces better animated attacks, and a block button, putting the player more in control of the attacks. The greatest improvement I saw, was the fetch quests, now, instead of having you play free play to find a red brick to purchase, you find or forge an item and give it to a character, who will then offer you a red brick to purchase, and on top of that you get to keep the item they wanted. This lengthens the free roam aspect of the game, and to me is a much better way of handling red bricks. In short, if you want a good, much improved Lego game, I could not recommend a better one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lord of the Rings in Lego?
Posted on:7/11/12
AppingnGaming
Location: Canada
When I first saw this I was surprised that they were making a LEGO game out of Lord of the Rings. They just keep making interesting LEGO games! I wonder if this will be a series with more than one game? I'm also curious to see if they will have a part for the Hobbit, Bilbo! As maybe an extra level for when you complete the main game? Just my thoughts, this game should turn out very good as the LEGO games just keep getting better and better!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Arzy
Chicago
 
Please wait while more information about Arzy is loaded.
Additional information about Arzy could not be loaded.
It's really good
Posted 11/13/12
Got it today (Nov 13) and can't say enough great things about it. It's got quests too in places like Bree! Grab this now, its the best of the Lego games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Loved, loved, LOVED it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/14
FreshKrisKreash
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was the first Lego game I ever bought and it got me hooked on all Lego games, it was sooo good! I was surprised by how much I liked it. Any Lord of the Rings fan will appreciate all of the cute and funny characters and clips in this game. One of the best games I ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
THIS IS GONNA BE SO FRICKING AWESOME!!!!! XD
Posted on:6/6/12
Alranican
I CAN'T WAIT TO PLAY THIS GAME!!!!! I'VE WAITED YEARS FOR THIS GAME TO COME TRUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! AND IT HAS VOICE ACTING!!!!!!!!!!! THE 3rd LEGO GAME EVER (NOT INCLUDING THE REALLY OLD GAMES LIKE LEGO ISLAND, etc.) TO HAVE VOICE ACTING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I WANT IT RIGHT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
evilchickenz
 
Please wait while more information about evilchickenz is loaded.
Additional information about evilchickenz could not be loaded.
Posted 6/8/12
Actually it just takes the voices from the movie, it doesn't have REAL voice acting because they're all filming "The Hobbit" and don't have time to voice act for this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
lord of the rings
Posted on:8/31/12
jake260
Location: fremont,ca
this game will be awesome especially the mini figure! hope the hobbit will be a lego game. Hope they sell a character dlc pack.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jedibunnnies
 
Please wait while more information about jedibunnnies is loaded.
Additional information about jedibunnnies could not be loaded.
Elrond Minifig
Posted 11/14/12
Who did not get their Elrond minifig?
PreOrdered so it would be there the day we picked up the game, but they had none.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Optimistic outlook.
Posted on:6/14/12
NuclearBuckshot
Location: Indiana
Looking forward to this. Out of all Lego games this looks to be the most engaging. I hope its a throwback to the lego games of old.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Hopefully Optimistic
Posted on:6/20/12
MWMike2011
Location: St. Joseph, MO
All right, I'm going to lay it out on the table...I'm not a huge fan of voice acting in these LEGO games. After playing the LEGO Batman 2 demo, I'm a little more on board, but I still wish they would stick with slapstick comedy that they have been doing before now. However, I feel that, if they are going to have voice acting in LEGO games, they need to make it original. Instead, LEGO Lord of the Rings chose to go the lazy route and rehash the dialogue from the films. That said...I'm SUPER excited for this game! I'm really hoping that, once The Hobbit comes out in December, they release that as a downloadable campaign. They already are doing downloadable characters (LEGO Harry Potter: Years 5-7, LEGO Batman 2: DC Superheroes), it only seems to follow suit. Man, these games just keep getting better and better!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
legolordoftherings
 
Please wait while more information about legolordoftherings is loaded.
Additional information about legolordoftherings could not be loaded.
this game is going to be sweet
Posted 6/23/12
i think you are going to be able to explore the hole middle earth now that is sooooo cool !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/13
Sorrows
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As someone that saw the movies, free play is better than story. Only because I know whats going to happened so it left alot of the battles for me...just waiting to do whatever I needed to do to get to the next part. Like for example: When Gandalf fights Saruman. I knew he was going to lose so spending time fighting him, felt alittle "chorish" waiting for the cut scene to finally pop after hitting him 3 times or whatever. If I didn't know what was going to happen, then I probably wouldn't have minded it so much. Alot of the fights felt like to me. I just think it's LOTR though because I knew what was going to happen in all the lego games I played and I loved story mode in all of them.
I think Story Mode would be a pretty epic experience if you didn't know the story already. So I found myself just pushing through story mode, while I did enjoy it, to open up all my free plays. I ofcourse went back through all the levels which were much more enjoyable for some reason in free play.
All in all it's a good game that's really fun. And I love how you can switch to different parts of the story that happen simultaneously. So if you're tired playing Frodo & Sam's story, just switch over to Aragon, Gimli and Legolas.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lord of the rings is awsome
Posted on:6/13/12
someone853637
OMG!!!!!finally a good lotr game plus legos are pretty cool and also its like the first lego game that has real voices not just mubbling.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
akdpanther
Oswego,IL
 
Please wait while more information about akdpanther is loaded.
Additional information about akdpanther could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 11/19/12
You are both wrong, the first lego game to have voices was Lego Rockband even thought the voices were the sing or the song. The second being batman and this being the 3rd.
Customer Avatar
Izad
 
Please wait while more information about Izad is loaded.
Additional information about Izad could not be loaded.
Posted 7/11/12
This isnt the first Lego game to have voices instead of mumbling. Lego Batman 2 DC Super Heroes was the first.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 13 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Can't wait!
Posted on:9/26/12
MrBlankStrider
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
It's going to be the best LEGO game ever! LOTR is my favorite book, movie etc. Pre-ordered it! Can't wait!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
OOOMMMMMGGGGGEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/25/12
ArrrrRrrrrrrrrrb
Location: Hobbiton, Middle earth
OMG im so excited for this ive been waiting for this since lego starwars i was so happy when i saw the lego sets not because i wanted them but because it meant that they might make a game.
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Super pro
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Minerelf
Location: columbus, oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
another wonderful lego game lots of voice clips from the moives. has a very good storyline process you can choose what part you want to play
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
can't wait
Posted on:6/30/12
morducto
Location: racine, wi
i can't wait for this to come out after playing lego batman 2 dc superheros i was a little disapponted it wasn't as good as i was hoping i would be so im not getting my hopes up to much about this one but it should be fun and entertaning none the less i hope that they include the hobbit for download that would be more worth it pluse if they actually do what they say their doing with it will defently will be worth the time to play
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Good LEGO game. Has some issues.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
Kingdomkid
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was great. It had a good story and Middle-Earth looked amazing. The story is interesting, fast paced at some points, and funny just like a LEGO game should be. But sadly I saw some issues. First you don't get to ride the mounts (horses) where ever on Middle-Earth. You reach an invisible boundary that makes your horse kick you off and run back to where it was before. It is annoying. Second the restart characters. I call Frodo and Sam restart characters because of an annoying situation. Here is the situation: I am traveling around Middle-Earth and then I find out there is a character that is nearby but only available during the night but currently my map is on the day setting. So I click on the map and click the map stone statue and change the setting to night. When I get there my characters are not the same as they were before. Instead my characters are Frodo and Sam. And finally the wars. If anybody had LEGO Star Wars III you will see what I am talking about. In the Star Wars game you can command soldiers and lead armies into battle. You fought against droids and could customize your battle zone with cool buildings and weapons. But in this game you don't do that. I thought you would be able to fight the enemies like in the Star Wars game but instead you only fight a few. This was the biggest disappointment. Other than these three issues the game was good. I hope to see other Free-Roam LEGO games in the future.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Greatest LEGO Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
MaximusTheBreton
Location: Kino Der Totem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Being the huge Lord of the Rings that I am I had to play this game. It is the greatest Lego game ever. When and if you play you can expect the usual Lego gameplay with the usual Lego game charm. The game is amazingly respectful of the movies with voice acting taken directly from it. It is better with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Great lego game, does not disappoint
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
Zorak
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game and immediately was a bit confused due to the fact that everything in it was different than previous lego games; after I played it awhile I started to get the hang of it and now, I love it. The gameplay afterwards is extremely fun and all the quests really help it stay interesting, it is a good game and I don't understand why people don't think that it does..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lord of The Rings in Lego?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/13
Stoffangadd
Location: Gotland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is the best Lego game so far and I've played alot of Lego games. If you only care about graphics I'd recommend you getting this on PC otherwise get it for Xbox360 or PS3. It has voice acting and follows the movie really good and it has got free roam. The character creation is really dissapointing though.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 next>>