GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

LEGO Lord of the Rings

Based on The Lord of the Rings motion picture trilogy, LEGO® The Lord of the Rings follows the original storylines of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, and The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King, taking players through the epic story events reimagined with the humor and endless variety of LEGO play. Trusted with the dangerous task to destroy an ancient magical ring that threatens all that is good, Frodo is forced to leave his peaceful home. But the ring wants to be found and the road to Mount Doom, the only place where it can be destroyed, will be perilous and riddled with Orcs and fouler things. To help Frodo, a Fellowship is formed - Aragorn the Ranger, Gandalf the Wizard, Legolas the Elf, Gimli the Dwarf, Boromir a Man of Gondor, and Frodo's Hobbit friends Sam, Merry and Pippin. Players relive the legend through the LEGO minifigures, as they explore wonders, solve timeless riddles, and overcome endless foes in their quest to destroy the Ring.
Average Customer Rating:
9.25
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 1283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Review 1 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
LOL!
Posted on:6/21/12
seanb2012
Location: Columbus, OH
I've been thinking for years: "The only popular classic movie series that Tt Games hasn't made a LEGO game off of was The Lord of the Rings." Well, I can't say that anymore! I've never been a really big fan of these LEGO games, but i liked the LEGO Star Wars series. I might get this, because the movies were good and This game looks better than the other ones.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
i love this game, it's awesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/13
huffy
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game to me is the best game that has been made. It is the best because it has great graphics, and it is just so awesome to play. It is just like the movie!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Good game, if it worked properly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/12
hmvgKHfan1
Location: Crown Point, IN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As with the recent LEGO games, the open world concept is fantastic. The story is as good as the books/movies with the game following the movies pretty closely. The music is straight from the movies and transitions nicely as you move through the overworld of Middle-earth. The graphics are good as long as motion is at a minimum. When multiple objects are moving at the same time the game gets awfully choppy. The game developers should have ha some of these animations packaged in a install to prevent the issue. The main gripe is the most troublesome part of this review. The game doesn't work. Not on a complete play though at least. I am only at the third chapter of Two Towers and the game has frozen twice. These instances were at the shore near the gap of Rohan, Fangorn forest when Merry and Pipin are on Treebeard, and in the field near Edoras. One of which caused the system to completely freeze. For a game that was delayed, I would not expect such issues and I hope they are fixed in a patch soon.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
I'm proud to say I'm Buying this game
Posted on:9/3/12
Cap1995
Location: Tiverton, RI
As far as I'm concerned Lego games, are awesome and downright fun but for someone who doesn't replay games to find the stuff I missed the 1st time, I find the Lego games have little replay value.
However, this is a game I will not rent(like the others) but buy. While this does have the stuff to hunt for, I am not buying it for that, I am buying it for these 3 reasons.
1st I want another Lord of the Rings game...this isn't to hard to understand.
2nd I want this game for the 85 playable characters. Now that means I can play characters in this I haven't played in any other Lord of the Rings game.
3rd and perhaps the biggest reason of all. Replay value for Lego game fans and/or Lord of the Rings fans like me...There will be stuff that would make me want to replay the game so I can't wait till this comes out.
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Best Lego's Game to Date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/12
ZeroAffex
Location: Arizona
My wife and I are big Lego's fans and we pre-ordered this game. First, it was only 49.99 and we received a Lego piece "Elrond" for free, as well as on the receipt was a redemption code for weapons upgrades. Those alone made it worth the purchase.
Gameplay: The graphics are STUNNING. Its beautiful and the background scenery is lifelike, a huge improvement from previous games. Also, the story is Free-Roam, you can do side quest and lots of exploring, another massive improvement. Two player co-op is improved as well, as you and your partner can play two stories simultaneously. I was fighting Sauron while my wife was playing Frodo fending off the black rider. First time I've seen that in Lego's or any video game.
This game is driven towards co-op, as my wife can branch off and do a side quest, while I am exploring or doing something else. The characters are well made and like previous Lego games have their own attributes to unlock different things specific to that character.
Voices! YES! This game has characters that speak, which I love tremendously. No more "uh" and "mmmm" and sign language. Adding the voices has implemented the serious undertone of the dangers the ring brings and how important it is to destroy it. All the voices are those from the Movies (Elijah Wood ect.) which just adds the icing to the cake.
Did I mention the graphics? They are by far the best I've seen for Lego's and are gorgeous in 1080i on my tv. The scenery is life-like, the water that flows in the rivers looks real, the tree leaves move independently, like something out of a Pixar movie.
They show concept art in the loading screens, I am HUGE fan of concept art and am so happy to view the small details as I wait. Speaking of Loading, its FAST. My PS3 loads levels in less than a minute, and you only have to Load when you are moving into a new location. Locations are MASSIVE, so you load very few and far between.
This game has customizing too! You can find Mythril and have a black smith make you a weapon, as long as you have the bluprint for it.
Hours of side quest, lots of loot, ton of fun with a friend, and overall the best Lego game I've ever played. If you are on the bench about purchasing yet another Lego game, then have no fear, you will not regret this. They really pull you in from the beginning and don't stop, you don't want to put down the controller.
Don't wait! Buy this game and relive your favorite moments from Lord of the Rings today!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
LOTR, In Lego!
Posted on:9/17/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
This Is Maybe A Buy From Me, Idk About Anyone Else But I Am A Gamer I Preorder And Buy Games Almost Every Week, I Love Games And I Love Lord Of The Rings, The Movies Amazed Me, Maybe Because I Am A Hack And Slash Type Of Guy, But I Also Love The Lego Games, I Loved Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga, Lego Indiana Jones And Lego Batman, Lord Of The Rings Is By Far One Of My Favorite Movie Series EVER So Basically This Is My Type Of Game! I Love The Price It Is Pretty Cheap For A Preorder Which Is One Of The Reasons I Might Buy It, Yes It Is Only 10 Dollars Cheaper Than A Normal Preorder But Hey, Its Cheaper. I Also Might Buy This For The 85 Playable Charecters. Hopefully Just Hopefully This Will Have Free Roam. I Have A Small Wishlist From This Game And Some Of The Things On There Are, Free Roam, Good Combat, Lots Of Levels And Lastly Great Charecters. I Have High Hopes From This Game, Probably Not GOTY But I Can't Say It Wont Make GOTY.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Double Release!
Posted on:10/13/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
If this Does Come Out On November 13th Which I Hope Is The Final Date, I'm Hoping They Won't Push It Back Any Farther, I LOVE Lego Games, I Grew Up With Legos And I Purchased Several Lego Games, I Purchased: Lego Batman, Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga, Lego Indiana Jones And Lego Indiana Jones 2. I Am Purchasing This Tomorrow And Possibly The Guide, The Reason I Am Buying This Is Because Lego Games Were Always Fun And Sometimes Never Got Old. By Far My Favorite Lego Game Was Lego Star Wars The Complete Saga, Next Was Batman And Then Lego Indiana Jones. I Hear In This Game You Can Craft Your Own Weapons And There Is Free Roam And The Other HUGE Reason I Am Buying This is Supposedly 85 Playable Characters, I Am Looking Forward To That Elrond Mini-fig. Lord Of The Rings Was One Of My Favorite Movie Series Ever And I Even Had Some LOTR Games But They Weren't Lego. This Looks As If It Will Be A Big Hit For Tt Games (Travelers Tales). Nothing Disappointed Me with The Trailers And I Doubt The Game Will! I Am Really Looking Forward To This!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 8 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Can't Wait!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/12
Sheogoraththemad
Location: Lacombe,Louisiana
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I have watched all the movies and read all the books and i cannot wait to play as a Lego elf that shoots 30 arrows per second!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Shut up and take my money!
Posted on:7/25/12
Anonymous
I can't wait for this game! I've always dreamed of a Lord of the Rings LEGO game! I hope it's going to be a free roam sort of thing like in LEGO Star Wars III. I also hope I get to play as a troll and Lurtz!
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
legoking1617
florida
 
Please wait while more information about legoking1617 is loaded.
Additional information about legoking1617 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/21/12
lego lord of the rings was the first lego game I thought they should have made ever since i waucht the movie win I was a little kid so im super!!!!!!!! exited for this game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
O Yeah!
Posted on:6/13/12
mac99
All of my favorite Books and Movies and TV Shows are becoming LEGO Video Games!!! My only favorite show that is still not a LEGO theme is Doctor Who. Anyways, This will be one of the best I hope! I LOVE The Lord of the Rings so much! The trailer makes it look so so so so so cool! CAN'T WAIT!!!!
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/14
techny9ne
Location: kcmo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is cool it has awesome graphics nice story line and cool characters every thing is fast paced
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 12 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Wow! It's finally official, huge bombshell!
Posted on:6/4/12
TheDoctorInABlueBox
Going to pre-order now. It's been rumored for years, but never really thought it would happen. So, bye.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Tt Games, Hopefully A Good One
Posted on:9/29/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Hopefully Traveller's Tales Can Pull This Game Through Just As They Have All Of The Other Lego Games, I Must Say I Have Only Played The Original Lego Games I Haven't Played Ones Like: Lego Star Wars 3: The Clone Wars Or Lego Batman 2: DC Superheroes. I Am Looking Forward To Picking Up Those Games Later Though, But For Now I Am Going To Start Saving After October 9th (Release Of Dishonored) So I Can Start Saving To Purchase This. I Heard Of Options Such As Free Roam, 85 Playable Characters And Lastly Good Combat, The Showing At E3 Looked Pretty Nice And The Interview With Some Of The Co-Creative Directors Showed Some Real Nice Footage On The Game, Saving For October 30th. Lets Go Lego LOTR!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 14 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Least what I had originally expected!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
VanderKooi
Location: Michigan, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was worried about it being in "Lego" form. Not that it was to be a bad Lego game. I like the Lego games. They are very fun for adults and kids. But this was more than I had expected. First off, VERY VERY DEDICATED TO THE FILMS. There are some cute humor there and here. Also first Lego game to be very "gruesome" and somewhat "more than average violence which you'll see in the game. I recommend it. If your a Lord of the Rings get it. If your a Lego fan, get it. If your both, its your dream come true. Lets just hope no Twilight Legos lol. So far, the original voice actors are there so this is the first game I have seen that Legos actually had voice acting.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
LOTR in LEGO!
Posted on:10/7/12
LEGOFan11
Location: California, CA
I am so excited for this game!! if some of you don't know I'm also a big Lord of the rings(LOTR) fan! and this looks awesome! I also pre-ordered meaning I can get the Elrond Mini-Fig :D once I get it I'll post a review! but for now we just have to wait! :D
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lego games are back
Posted on:6/20/12
NovaFlash
This game is going to be good as the second LEGO game where the characters actually talk.All the games I recommend I think are the best LEGO games by far, LEGO lord of the rings is also one of the is going to be one of the best but I did not add it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Buying This Today :D (Lets Go LOTR!)
Posted on:10/14/12
AC3Assassin
Location: Hoover, Alabama
I Normally Buy All My Lego Games On the Wii Such As Lego star Wars: The Complete Saga, Lego Indiana Jones 1 And Lego batman but I Bought Lego Indiana Jones 2 On The PS3 And I Realized I Liked The Controls A Lot Better So I Decided To Buy Lego: LOTR For The PS3 This Time. This Game Looks Very fun, LOL I Have Already Written 4 Previews On It! There Are Over 60 Playable Characters, Free Roam And Great Combat Just As In All the Others (No Free Roam In Some). By Far My Favorite Lego game Was Lego Star Wars. I Can't Wait To Head To GameStop On November 13th To Pick Up This And COD: Black Ops 2. :D
Review 18 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
One Ring to Rule Them All
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/14
beastoftheast9
Location: Mendham, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Before I start, let me say that I have not played Lego Marvel Superheroes. I hope to play it in the near future as I have heard it is incredible and the best Lego game yet. That being said, Lego Lord of the Rings is the best Lego game I have played so far. I have played all of them except Marvel and The Lego Movie. This game is a dream come true for any LOTR fan. You can play through all three movies and can become virtually any character that has appeared in the films. I have not read the books for some time so I cannot say how faithful the game is to the books, but it is supposed to be based off of Peter Jackson's films, not Tolkien's original source material. The puzzles are a perfect amount of difficulty for any player and never get boring. The variety of characters and abilities makes for constantly interesting gameplay. Furthermore, the use of the original voices and soundtrack from the film gives the game a feeling of authenticity. Nothing is more pleasing than a Lego Gandalf yelling, "Fool of a Took!" at a Lego Pippin after the blundering hobbit falls down a well in the Mines of Moria. Another main draw of this game is its expansive map and open world gameplay. Lego LOTR covers almost all of Middle-Earth and definitely covers everywhere of importance in the movies. Discovery of different map stones allow for fast travel, but theoretically, one could walk from the Shire to Mordor if they wanted to. The lands of Middle-Earth look beautiful from the welcoming Shire to an enchanting Rivendell to the dark and barren land of Mordor. My only gripe with this game are some parts of Mordor. After you beat the story mode and travel to Mordor, the tower of Barad-dur (the eye of Sauron tower for those who don't know) is still (spoiler alert) broken. (Spoiler alert) At the end of the game, when the ring is destroyed, Barad-dur crumbles to the ground as the final sign of Sauron's defeat. Unfortunately, when you return to Mordor in free roam, the 1500 foot tower is only a black base in the ground. I would have liked to visit a full, massive, threatening Barad-dur. Furthermore, you cannot enter the doorway to the pits of Mount Doom to visit the site where the ring was forged and destroyed. These minor free roam gripes aside, LEGO LOTR is one of the most fun and addicting games I have played in a very long time. This game is a must-have for any LOTR fan and for anyone who likes a good Lego game. This game has made me want to watch all of the movies again, read the book, and go buy Lego Marvel Superheroes. Do yourself a favor and spend the small amount of $20 to treat yourself to this excellent game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Lord of the Rings meets lego
Posted on:10/4/12
traker
Location: MO
Look i'm a hardcore gamer so lego game are not my thing, BUT lord of the rings is my thing, my brother said it was open world and you can make your on wepons and person it is awosome!!!
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LEGO Lord of the Rings
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
brownbob
Location: Chicago,IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great if you like lego or lord of the rings. I love the free roam; you can explore anywhere from the movies (ex. Helms Deep). Its awesome forging your own weapons in the blacksmith. Free play is also good. This game is very different than previous lego games and its alot better than the rest. the Dlc is also good. The only bad part of the game is the occassional glitch( minor problem). Otherwise I love this game and would recommend it to a friend
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>