GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Code of Princess

Hailed as a spiritual successor to the Saturn cult-classic Guardian Heroes and featuring the art work of Kinu Nishimura, beloved for her character de-signs in the Street Fighter series, Code of Princess' blend of cooperative and competitive action RPG brawling - up to four players in VS mode, local and online - offers gamers an exciting, unconventional hardcore experience.
Average Customer Rating:
7.9
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Code of Princess
Review 1 for Code of Princess
One Heck of a Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
StokedRider
Billed as a spiritual successor to Sega Saturn's cult classic Guardian Heroes, Code of Princess has quite a lot to live up to. Honestly, I doubted how good it could be, but it turns out the hype behind this one was spot on. Similar to Guardian Heroes, this is a 2D beat 'em up/brawler. However, beyond that you have RPG hooks that'll keep you playing for a very long time.
The gameplay is very satisfying. Chaining combos together is so much fun. After every quest you level up, which gives you a number of points to upgrade your abilities. In addition, throughout each level you collect loot. You also unlock the characters you meet in each level, allowing you to replay levels, level them up, or just play as different characters with different styles. Sadly, there's some framerate slowdowns in Code of Princess, which can be pretty annoying.
The production values are great. Beautiful 2D visuals that look excellent in 2D and 3D modes. The characters are well voiced and very likable in a cheesy way. The music, in particular, is pretty freaking amazing.
This is a super fun game and unlike any other game on 3DS. Don't miss it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
WOW Great review!
Posted 4/18/13
Great review bro. Keep it up. And feel free to read any of my reviews and tell me if thay were helpful i found your review very helpful. That game looks like awesome fun as well.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Code of Princess
Worst game I have ever played...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/14
yuoruddo
Location: Edmond, OK
Let me begin with this: I love Atlas and the games they make. In fact, they have made some of my favorite games of all time. Code of Princess however is an abomination and isn't worth a penny. For starters, the game took me only about 10 hours to complete all four of the stories it offered and less than 20 to complete every challenge and complete just about everything. Beyond that, the story is just godawful. The voice acting is pretty bad, but not the worst I've ever heard. The twists in the story make little to no sense at all, there is no character development (not joking) and the whole plot is flat out undeveloped and poorly written (not to mention the terrible dialogue).Moving onto audio, the soundtrack was not very interesting and average at best. The tracks got a bit repetitive, but it was nothing terrible. Similarly, graphics were nothing outstanding, once again, average, but nothing terrible. The lasting appeal is also just about the lowest ever. Multiplayer is just the efforts of your grinding against cookie cutter monsters and doing the exact same thing, but with more people. Verdict? Under NO condition should you buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 3 for Code of Princess
Guardian heroes reborn!!
Posted on:8/9/12
Windluvian
Location: Rome,GA
As a spiritual successor to a great game, I wish they'd give you more about the game to give some comparison. For those that don't know Guardian heroes was a side scrolling beatem up rp that was fun solo, but soooo much more fun with others. So if anything make sure if you plan to get this game play with other people often. Another thing is if you want a game to sink hours into, look no further.
15 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Doc4000
Brooklyn, NY
 
Please wait while more information about Doc4000 is loaded.
Additional information about Doc4000 could not be loaded.
This Game Will Be Epic!
Posted 8/20/12
When I heard this game was coming out to the west I practically jumped up for joy. A spiritual successor to one of the greatest games of all time seeing the light of day outside of Japan? AWESOME!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Code of Princess
Code of Princess (3DS)
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/13
lobothesacred3
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
========
Story
========
The story itself starts out rather standard affair with your kingdom falling to an enemy kingdom that is ruled by an evil queen that needs to be stopped before she destroys the world. The game is largely straight-forward, but rarely defines certain in-universe terms like "codes".
The story is also plagued with over the top characters which may be a good or bad thing depending on your mood and perspective. The game also contains a lot of cheesy jokes that I found to fall rather flat, but may work for others.
========
Gameplay
========
Like many games of this type Code of Princess eventually devolves into a rather vapid button mashing affair that requires little actual skill or effort in order to beat the main campaign. If anything the AI tends to be rather easy to walk over as long as you put some of your points into defense and mind.
While the game does offer a few combo attacks that you can chain together you can largely get by with a quick shoulder thrust followed by the standard weak chain attack combo. In fact, I managed to beat the entire game relying on those moves, and I never found a good reason to use any of the special attacks beyond the fact that they existed.
On the bright side a major facet of this game is unlocking additional characters and each of them tends to have a unique feel. So, if you get bored with one character you can always use one of the other characters in the free battle mode or bonus mission mode.
========
Graphics
========
I tend to find that the 3D effects hurt my eyes so leave them off. So, I can't comment on the 3D in this game, but find the 2D visuals to be rather standard affair. The sprites are alright, the main character models rather detailed, while the secondary characters and regular enemies are more generic in terms of design.
========
Sound
========
The soundtrack is decent, but none of the tracks stand out. The voice acting tends to range from good to terrible.
========
Lasting Appeal
========
After you beat the short main campaign you can revisit the free battle mode in order to grind for experience for all of your unlocked characters or enter into bonus missions in order to take on side quests.
========
Scores
========
Story: 7
Gameplay: 8
Graphics: 6
Sound: 7
Lasting Appeal: 7
Overall: 7.25
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Code of Princess
Best game on 3ds yet...thats not from nintendo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
StriderHien
Location: Revere,MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome mainly because of the co-op and versus modes and its funny if you love classic beat em ups and rpgs with multiplayer then this is perfect for you my username for the multiplayer is TrevorBmont
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Code of Gaming
Posted 4/18/13
Happy you liked it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Code of Princess
bestest game made for 3ds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
lisset
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This the best game ever it has great graphics and 3ds in 3 ways when battling. Don't want to spoil it so wont say much but i love the characters and especially Allegro the "sage" he is funny in his ways. I recommend it to people who are in to action and for those who i know you are in to smashing and whacking things. Also you can play with other people online, to battle one another with strategies and skills you perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Code of Princess
Fun, addicting, but a little too easy?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/13
paperowls
Location: flat rock, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was a blast, the sound quality blew me out of the water, the graphics are stunning as well. It sucked me in for a long time, but I beat it fast. I even had it on the hardest mode and it was still a little too easy for me. There were too many glitches where you could corner an enemy and just go all out on them and beat them within minuets. Maybe I'm being too picky. Here's the deal, it's fun, addicting, flawless in both quality and graphics. If you like Final Fantasy, and any of the Tales series then this game is for you.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Code of Princess
Hope you got friends
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/13
Iliusive
Location: Nunya
This game is perfect for: party gamers
CoP is a fun game but is not worth a Full $40.00. This game has NO story co-op, and the co-op that is in the game is only mission based that can be beaten in less than 2 minutes. Characters are unique i give them that but this game is slow and even slower with 3D on. You also have online versus but its dead so you wont even find a game unless you got friends to play with. After you beat the game there is nothing rewarded. the voice acting is cheesy and gets really boring after the first 5 hours.
 
My Product Recommendations
Streets of Rage 2
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Code of Princess
looks cool enough
Posted on:10/1/12
zeldaguy
Location: santa cruz ca
got a 7.5 from nintendo power, but still looks good. i will pre order tomorrow so i can get the art book and soundtrack
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Code of Princess
one of the best 3ds games ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
siriso
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is so much fun the combo system is real nice , the graphics are awesome no lag online is fast an fun it has a long lasting appeal to it i love this game do your self a favor and get this game add me on to your friends list il play co-op its siriso01
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Code of Princess
ONLY REASON TO BUY A 3DS!!!
Posted on:8/25/12
NotHappy
love this game and for over a year the 3ds hasn't had any good games. just the same old mario crud over and over. but FINALLY the 3ds gets a game worth playing!!! atlus your the best :3
2 of 57 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Sadarac152
 
Please wait while more information about Sadarac152 is loaded.
Additional information about Sadarac152 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/26/12
Not really, I would say that Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time 3D, Kingdom Hearts 3D and Fire Emblem (and maybe Starfox 64 3D) are the only games that deserve being called "the only reason to buy a 3ds" However there are a lot of other great games out there, and this is one of them. Its also usually a good idea to have more then one game you want when purchasing a system, since its a waste to spend hundreds on a system to just play one game.
Customer Avatar
Sicklestar22
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Sicklestar22 is loaded.
Additional information about Sicklestar22 could not be loaded.
Wrong 3DS Roster....
Posted 9/8/12
I don't know what 3DS game roster and releases you've been looking at, but apparently it isn't the same one that I've been seeing. There are quite a few 3DS games that are awesome, and that aren't mario related. Also, a lot of these games wouldn't be here if it wasn't for some of the building blocks that super mario gave us. I do, however agree that this game is one of the greatest 3DS games to look forward to. October can't come quick enough!!!
Customer Avatar
Manny675
 
Please wait while more information about Manny675 is loaded.
Additional information about Manny675 could not be loaded.
Your right but...
Posted 8/30/12
there are some good games like Kingdom Hearts DDD but you are right about this being a reason to get a 3DS but thats just my opinion
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 12 for Code of Princess
Incredibly fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
Nebula
Location: Westfield
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a fun game ! It's funny and plays great, the combat is really well done heavy action , side scrolling fighting goodness. If you like action/rpg's this is good buy.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Code of Princess
Awesome game for 3DS
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/13
Bugbear
Location: Seattle, WA
Absolutely love it. The characters are well thought out and the game play is addicting. The story line as well. Great game for the 3DS!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10