GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Space 3

Dead Space 3 brings Isaac Clarke and merciless soldier John Carver on a journey across space to discover the source of the Necromorph outbreak. Crash-landed on the frozen planet of Tau Volantis, Isaac must comb the harsh environment for raw materials and scavenged parts. He will then put his engineering skills to the ultimate test to create and customize weapons and survival tools. The ice planet holds the key to ending the Necromorph plague forever, but first Isaac must overcome avalanches, treacherous ice-climbs, and the violent wilderness. Facing deadlier evolved enemies and the brutal elements, Isaac can choose to team up, not only for his own survival, but for that of mankind's. Play together with a friend or go it alone as Isaac Clarke using the seamless new drop in, drop out co-op functionality. Each mode offers unique story elements and gameplay.
Average Customer Rating:
8.97
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
10 stars
19
9 stars
8
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
28 out of 3385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Space 3
Review 1 for Dead Space 3
THE BEST DEAD SPACE GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/14
GEOVANNY
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is one of best games because the story line is very long. a lot of action and amazing graphics. This game is better than dead space 2 and 1. If you want a play a pretty good game with a lot of action, terror, and scary parts go with DEAD SPACE 3
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Dead Space 3
Epic - Best Dead Space Yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/14
DingoDave
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game will blow you away. The graphics and sound are incredible. The gameplay is solid and the Necromorphs are as deadly as ever. There are moments in this game that are epic like in God of War 3 and Uncharted 2. There are some differences between this game and the other 2 like weapon crafting and 2 player co-op (which I haven't played yet). It still has those "jump out of your skin moments". I recommend playing this game with the lights off and the sound turned up. Gamestop has this game for cheap right now so if I were you I'd go out and get a copy. You won't be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Dead Space 3
Beautiful! Work of Art!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
cammmm
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Finally the third and hopefully not the last iteration in the series has arrived, and there will be a year on the 5th of next month since its release. I personally really loved this game, but it felt different from the first two the world seemed more open and the gameplay seemed less uptight. I loved the fact that they incorporated the Markers as weapons to defeat the final boss the Necromorph Moon. I also enjoyed how instead of the bulk of the game in SPACE, it's now on an icy planet Tau Volantis where the mysteries unfold of the purpose of the Markers. Isaac not only has to face yet another Necromorph battle but also the Unitologists and their leader Jacob Danik in a battle to save mankind. I hope this is not the end of the series. I will say it did lack the some of the horror factor, but the art work made up for it through my eyes.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Dead Space 3
Great game and HIGHLY addictive crafting system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/13
Clarkey
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Space 3 is a gorgeous game with excellent production value and music/sound effects. If you've seen the photos and coverage showing Issac plowing through snow on an icy planet: there is a VERY large chunk of the game that doesn't take place on the ice-ball.... including an "open-world" hub that is actually in space (which was REALLY neat.... you really could make a whole game Dead Space 3's Orbital Quest Hub concept).
There have been mixed reviews.... people saying it isn't scary like the first 2 Dead Spaces... that it's more run-and-gun or that it has become Call of Dead Space or Doom 3 Dead Space-Style (the addition of a dedicated dodge function helped sell that idea to people). I guess there was a bit more fighting than in Dead Space 2 (which in turn had a bit more fighting then Dead Space 1) but I still found the atmosphere to be scary and the situations you're placed into to be quite tense. Yes, you can craft some crazy-powerful new toys but the more powerful enemies and the larger number OF enemies make it to where you never feel like you are very ahead of the curve, so to speak. Oh, in reference to the ability to dodge by rolling..... I didn't even know I could do it until about 1/2 through the game.... and even then I maybe dodged a grand total of 5-10 times. Dead Space has NOT become some generic sci-fi shooter.... it still oozes atmosphere and tension in the same vein of it's predecessors.
The game itself is quite long..... I'm someone who goes through games slow (I like the idea of getting the best dollar-to-entertainment-hour ratio) but the 35-or-so hours it took me would still be quite a lot to someone who flew through the game much quicker.... there are lots of optional quests and even some that REQUIRE co-op..... so if you do a solo play-through you still have content you haven't seen even after you've beaten the main game. The side-quests aren't just throw-ins or "collect 10 widgets".... they all add to the plot and storyline and tend to be lengthy and provide good enough rewards to make it worth your time. On the topic of the story: Dead Space 3 starts answering some of the questions that have been building since the beginning.... of the Markers and Unitologists, Earth-Gov...... it really helps fill out the fiction and gives some neat insight into previously mentioned topics. Now: the crafting system.
You don't really find weapons.... you find pieces of weapons and weapon blueprints. The flexibility of the weapon system is mind-boggling. Easy breakdown: you have your "weapon engine" and a modifier..... example: a weapon engine could be Plasma (for Cutters, Line Guns) or Razor Blades (for the Ripper). Depending on the nozzle or modifier you put on the main engine: you can have LOTS of different results. With Plasma: You can make a Plasma Cutter... or a Line Gun.... or a Rapid-Fire Plasma Cutter.... or a Super-Wide Plasma Cutter.... or a Rapid-Fire Line Gun........ you can condense the plasma into a narrow stream and end up with a narrow laser-type weapon or have it burst all at once at the barrel and end up with a Force Gun. And all of that is just SOME of the options available from just the Plasma Engine. Consider that you've got many different engines and modifiers.... then you can upgrade Fire Rate, Damage, Clip Size and Reload Speed (like in previous games), modify ammo characteristics, add "special mods" that do all sorts of things.... oh yeah, and each gun has slots for 2 different weapons.... i.e. SMG on top and Flamethrower on bottom or Line Gun with Ripper. Half the fun I had with the game was thinking of cool weapon combos and inventing new weapons. On top of all of that: you can make either "handgun" sized weapons or "machine gun" sized and many of the engines and modifiers work differently on each. Absolute bliss if you like making your own weapons and trying them out.
In closing: Dead Space 3 holds up against Dead Spaces 1 & 2, answers some questions, and adds the coolest weapon crafting system I've ever seen in my life. Didn't play co-op so I cannot comment on it (although I'm inclined to think it'll be pretty neat... especially if there are more enemies on co-op) but what I did play was absolutely amazing. A bunch of new game-modes open up after you beat the game, giving more replay value than I had anticipated.... an Old-School mode where you can only use Dead Space 1 weapons.... a "No enemy drop" mode where enemies don't drop health and ammo: you must craft your own.... a Hardcore mode which sounds too hard to even attempt. One last note: if you are playing Dead Space 3 and are enjoying it: you kinda need to pick up the DLC Awakening.... it gives more of an ending than the base game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Dead Space 3
Empty Space
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
mike
Location: Eunice, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
With me being a big fan of the first two entries of the series I was very much looking forward to what I thought would be an even more intense experience. The graphics are very impressive, as the environments on the planet are very crisp and the sound is always one of the best qualities because of the atmospheric nature of the game. Something just seems amiss.
The ongoing search for the truth is intriguing and would normally keep one interested but the nagging personal storylines were just so childish that I felt like I was watching a teen sitcom. Two guys are interested in the female lead. They trade barbs and quips and I was just pushing myself to finish the game so that I could be done with it. I was hoping that Isaac would actually have a dark side to his character following the events of Dead Space 2. I think it would have actually made things more interesting. The anti-hero is often more fascinating than the through n' through good guy.
The storyline(s) lost my interest and if they continue with more sequels (as it seems they will), they might want to move past the lovey-dovey mantra. It also might need a dose of a new threat. There are always new enemies and aliens in outer space. Let's evolve past this current (and very stale) storyline. Don't go the way of another popular horror franchise and make it too much of run n' gun against the same protagonist. In any case, the game overall is good, but not great. Even if you loved the first two I'd definitely wait for a price drop before buying this one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Dead Space 3
Forget Resident Evil for now
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/13
MGSH
Location: Davie FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Survival horror has died from Resident Evil for the time being. So want something to pump back this sorta sense for that time being then get Dead Space 3 or the previous Dead Space games. Dead Space 3 is seriously one of a kind. It recreates the horror and the dark zombie atmosphere once again for fans of horror survival games. The graphics are great with dark, creepy and realistic environments and enemies. Gameplay is very challenging and enemies are no walk in the park. Better be smart or you will wet yourself when you get a gameover. Sound is great with the creepy and silent effects making every second of the game feel like a horror movie. Unlike previous Dead Space the story mode now enables online Co-op so you no longer have to face this nightmare by yourself. The only bad is that game heavily focuses on the story line and provides no extra content. Aside from that, if your interested in a good game and your a hardcore gamer then pick this game up definitely worth the buy especially on Sale.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Space 3
Great Game and lots of fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
ddseals48
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great for the weapon customization, suits, story, and graphics. This game is what made me very interested in the Dead Space series.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Space 3
ppl that love horror games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
johnnyboy67
Location: phx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Its a epic horror game i love everything about this game. there is nothing wrong with this game. When i got this game i didn't want to stop playing cause its so epic...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Dead Space 3
Not as good as the first two AT ALL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
biggie321
Location: Jacksonville Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Terrible compare to the first two, don't get if you like horror, or Dead Space. I don't recommend to anyone who likes horror, if you like straight action sure, but not Dead Space. Graphics aren't that good people.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Space 3
Worth the Play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/13
grkub
Location: Kentucky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Co-Op mode is Great! I am going back in at a higher setting having run thru the game once. They got the online 2 player co-op right for the avg. gamer. The set up allows you to go thru at your own pace without the headaches of a large multi-player online group. Great graphics and play speed. This is certainly correct for the M rating it has. I would not play in front of the kids. I can't wait to see whats next for this game series.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Space 3
BEST OF A STRONG SERIES! MUST BUY!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
GREAT GRAPHICS FOR THOSE WHO CARE A& A GREAT STORY FOR TRUE GAMERS. LOVE, HATE, SURVIVAL & GUNS! THE BEST WAY TO PLAY IS CO-OP. IT IS FUN, EXCITING AND YOU CANT GO WRONG WITH TWO SETS OF EYES COMBING THE AREA. YOU CANNOT GO WRONG GETTING THIS GAME. I JUST WANT MORE POWERFUL GUNS FOR DLC
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Space 3
This is the first dead space game i played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
residentevilfansince1996
Location: Clermont, FL
Even though this is the first dead space game i played, i enjoyed playing this game. even though i got killed so many times, i never gave up. The final boss was pretty simple, but now i am currently playing it again on hard, and so far i have only died twice. lets se what happens now. hopefully they make a fourth one
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Dead Space 3
Not Bad, Not Great
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
TheRealDeathWolf
Location: St.Louis Metro Area
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Space 1 is still the best version, if you haven't played that one then I highly recommend it. As far as DS 3 it's not bad but it's not a great one in the series either. It's not scary in the least, again DS 1 has much more tense moments and scares. It plays like the previous 2 versions but DS 3 just doesn't have me wanting to really keep playing it like the first one did. I can't really put my finger on it but the game is kind of bland to me. I urge those that are on the fence post about buying the game to rent it first. Some people really like it and some people are like me not really caring too much for it, decide for yourself.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sammysal
Stevens Point, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Sammysal is loaded.
Additional information about Sammysal could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Okay...
Posted 4/2/13
You say the game isn't bad but you give it a 5? I think most people consider a 5 pretty mediocre.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Space 3
Best Dead Space I've Ever Played Got it on sale to
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
mavo317
Location: Crawfordsville, Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game a few weeks after it came ou when my local gamestop was haveing on sale for $40. I had played the original and dead space 2 and loved them both. Wish i still had the first one. I love everything about this game i havent played it on co-op i dont know if i will i like playing the single player better. the graphics are amazing the story is great too. i havent finished the game yet nor have i played online yet but i am glad i made this purchase unlike wasting the $60 i spent on resident evil 6 ( complete garbage). overal i recomend dead space 3 but dont buy it used cuz chaces are the online pass has been used.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Dead Space 3
Awesome trilogy conclusion
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
HondaRyder
Location: Belfair, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
After playing Dead space 1 & 2, I was very excited to learn that a third one was being made. I will tell you now, EA games didn't dissapoint. Immediatley I was hooked into the story just like I was with the previous installments. Gameplay, graphics, storyline and sounds, all fantasic like before. Now that we all know what to expect with Dead space, it's not quite as thrilling as the other two but for what it lacks in horror it definatley mkes up for with action. Don't get me wrong, it's still creepy but it won't make you jump quite as much as the other two did. I still recommend any of the three games to anyone. Let's just hope that EA can come up with another installment for the franchise within the next few years. A prequel to the first one maybe?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Dead Space 3
mistake of the year
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/13
jackattack834
Location: Cincinnati,OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really enjoyed the gameplay and the story that was attached to this game, as did I with the last two installments. It was scary and full of excitement. Actually I found that if your not scared while playing the game, turning down the brightness and increasing the difficulty will make even the bravest player a little frightened. Scary, intense, new features, and enjoyment....So why did I give the game a '1'?
A bug. Not a small one either, a devastating, debilitating one that has led me to return a game that had high potential. The checkpoint feature in the game doesn't work. The save option is useless, why does this option even exist?
I literally cannot progress in the game without completing the entire campaign in a single sitting. I play for hours, save before I leave, even get the "saving...." in the corner of the screen. I play again, start from the begining. No progress saved. Sorry, but I'm not giving this game even a descent review if the makers release a $60 product with $2 dollar mistakes.
Apparently sloppy games are a standard at EA because this is the third game in the last 6 months that have had multiple bugs, or one that impares the entire game.
This is not an individual problem, this is common defect that many players have encountered. There are entire forums based on this. Of course, EA's customer support, are aware of the problem, but have no way of correcting it. 0 - 3 EA.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
jackattack834
Cincinnati,OH
 
Please wait while more information about jackattack834 is loaded.
Additional information about jackattack834 could not be loaded.
IDC
Posted 4/16/13
I appreciate the gesture of your help with the game to resolve my problem. However, the point I’m making, is not in error, it’s factual and evident. Your first comment completely and blatantly ignores my attempt at resolving the issue mentioned in the review. Either way this glitch exists; therefore I stand by my score.
Customer Avatar
Sammysal
Stevens Point, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Sammysal is loaded.
Additional information about Sammysal could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Idk
Posted 4/2/13
That's weird because I have not had a single problem with the game saving where I was. I don't know what to tell you and the ton of other people complaining about it.
Customer Avatar
jackattack834
Cincinnati,OH
 
Please wait while more information about jackattack834 is loaded.
Additional information about jackattack834 could not be loaded.
...yeah it is
Posted 3/21/13
Did you actually read my review? I have waited for the "saving progress" message; it still doesn't save. "Continue from last save" is also the default option, of course I've tried that. There are hundreds maybe thousands of complaints about this. It's definitly a bug. I just looked again on EA's own website, people complaining from just 7 days ago about it.
Customer Avatar
Sammysal
Stevens Point, WI
 
Please wait while more information about Sammysal is loaded.
Additional information about Sammysal could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
THAT IS NOT A BUG!
Posted 3/19/13
When you quit the game it saves your inventory in the game, not exactly where you are. When the icon in the top right corner of the screen says "progress saving" that means you have reached a checkpoint. When you quit the game and come back to play it later there are two options for you. They can be confusing I admit, but one says "continue from the last save," and the other says "continue story." Click on the one that says "continue from last save," and it will bring you to the last checkpoint. Hope this helps you get back into maybe.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 17 for Dead Space 3
Dead Space 3 Review: The Tension of change
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/13
Beans7770
Location: Lancaster, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I write this review split, one side of me loved the previous two games, and the other had a really fun time playing Dead Space 3. The reason why I am split is because the games are very much different. Dead Space had a creepy and desolate feel to the Ishimura. It was almost more scary just walking down a badly lit hallway to not be attacked. Dead Space 2 took the formula of the original and added more intense action and large set pieces. The game took place of the Sprawl and had small confined spaces and bad lighting but it also mixed it upon with open vista that had you overwhelmed with Necromorphs. Dead Space 3 is a departure from the original formula. One could say it is the Resident Evil 4 of the series. It takes chances, brings new things to the table and ultimately succeeds.
Dead space 3 takes place on the abandoned ice planet of Tau Volantis. One maybe surprised though the games actually spends hours of gameplay away from the planet. The first setting of the game is a lunar city, where Isaac Clark has come to hide away from the world. It doesn't take long to get into action, the Unitologist have found Clark and he needs to escape. The next setting is the space ship grave yard in orbit around Tau Volantis. This area gives fans that classic dark corridor feel, but at the same time giving them the freedom that was lacking in the previous games. The space between ships are allow one to explore. Finding secret stashes and stumbling across side mission are just some of the things that are here for the player to find. The final setting of the game is Tau Volantis, were its massively open outdoor areas with blinding blizzards, contrast that of the previous games the series.
The story of the game is good and overall enjoyable, I would have to say it wasnt as good as the story told in Dead Space 2. Isaac is now over the hallucinations of Nicole that he once experienced. He is now a more tame Isaac, who is stuck in a stupid love triangle which added nothing to the plot. John Carver ( the Co op character) is the one the is now experiencing the hallucinations and fighting of insanity, but sadly this can only be experience through a co op campaign. the game also offers side quests to complete that are totally optional, as a reward you are given rare parts for guns, upgrade ships, and tons of resources. Some side missions a locked and reserved for co op only. The co op only on the other hand does not screw the game over but adds the ability to play through the tough difficults with a cushion. Other than that the story gets its job done.
The combat system has largely stay the same with the addition on crouching and weapon building. Weapon customization is the star of the show. The way it works is that through out the world one will find parts to guns, or if enough resources are gathered they can build the part needed for their gun. The guns consist of a heavy mount like the machine gun or a light mount like the plasma cutter. One can attach a top gun and a bottom gun for ultimate destruction. Upgrades can then be added to add more dammage, clip size, reload time, or rate of fire. Resources have now become the new credits. One can find them in the environment, but the easiest way is to utilize the scavenger bot. The RIG can also be upgraded though this time upgrading the RIG is universal to all other RIGS. All RIGS in the game are purely cosmetic only.
The combat in the game relies on the classic formula of shooting of limbs to kill the necromorphs, which is still as great as it use to. The new addition to combat has to be the human enemies. The game then turns into a subpar third person shooter, but you cant blame the game for trying to switch things up. These action sequences are far and few between, thankfully. Overall the game retains the same feel when fight the necromorphs, but have become a little easier with Isaac's newfound ability to roll.
The thing is I had a it of fun playing the game, and I did not want to put it down. I played this game for hours at a time and it was enjoyable. My play through clocked in and a minute over 14 hours. I played on normal difficulty and tried to do everything. I do recommend that previous dead space players play on hard because the normal difficult gives you plenty of resources that your never really afraid of running out. If the previous dead space games were built upon scares, dead space 3 was built upon tension. This change in the series is not bad but it is different.
Concept:
Make a Dead Space game that is more accessible, while retaining the feel of the series.
Graphics:
This has to be one of the best looking games on any console right now, absolutely gorgeous.
Sound:
As with previous Dead Space games the sound design is right on, from the iconic sound of the plasma cutter to and creaky door.
Playability:
The game is as accessible as it has ever been, weapon upgrades truly make a difference, control scheme is easy to understand and use.
Entertainment:
The games makes you not want to put it down, hours go by with out even realizing it.
Replay:
Moderately High
With its chapter select option and co op mode this game will have you coming back for more
FINAL SCORE:
8.5/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mike
Eunice, LA
 
Please wait while more information about mike is loaded.
Additional information about mike could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Nicely done!
Posted 4/29/13
I would have written a thorough review myself but I wasn't sure if it would have passed the moderation phase. Very nice review, though!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Dead Space 3
Best game of the year
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/13
crosscross
Location: In space
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played all the dead spaces and they were so scary dead space 3 I was waiting so long for this and the sound is amazing with headsets
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Dead Space 3
Game Of The Year Contender
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
Anonymous
Location: Amherst, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has it all, really. Tons of replay. Graphics are great. I mean they are no cryengine3 but they are close. The sound is great, like usual it has an amazing game music and sound effect. I've been a hardcore fan of Dead Space since the anime and the first game. So if you like Dead Space even a little this game is a good lasting buy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Space 3
Isaac’s return boasts a new brand of scary.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
kemeo1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You’d be mistaken to think Dead Space 3 has lost its edge due to a more action-packed approach. Dead Space 3 is not a survival horror anymore – at least not in the conventional sense. Carefully stepping down claustrophobic hallways with the unexpected lurking around each corner is still present. But Visceral Games has amplified the scope in plenty of ways to spice things up. The end result is a truly spectacular game that emphasizes an engineer’s will to survive.
Dead Space 3 is a blast to play from beginning to end. And it only gets better as you go. It is the winning recipe of how to effectively sell a survival game with a more open scope. The game is not shy from stepping outside of the survival-horror genre. But when it does, it does with class. Packed with gorgeous graphics, memorable moments, and stellar combat, Dead Space 3 is a valuable addition to the franchise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>