GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ragnarok Odyssey

Ragnarok Odyssey is set in an original world based on Norse mythology where a battle is being waged between humans and giants after the fall of the gods had previously separated the races. Players create their characters from over 20,000 possible combinations based on customizable physical features, then select one of six specialized job classes. The game's real-time battles are fast and furious as players can fling enemies skyward, follow them into the air for gravity-defying strikes, then finish off the combo by smacking them clear across the stage. Gameplay is driven forward by story-advancing and optional quests, and up to four players can fight together in online co-op mode.
Average Customer Rating:
7.1
7.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ragnarok Odyssey
Review 1 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Game release dates
Posted on:10/27/12
Rage6969
Location: Wilkes-Barre
Why do u say ragnarok odssey coming out on 10/30/2012 when u web page said 11/2/2012 i called u Guys on 10/25/2012 and u said it will be out on 10/30/2012 fix u web page
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Been waiting for something like this.
Posted on:6/14/12
RedBlackout
Location: Virginia
Am I the only one thats been waiting for a game like this since PSO (Phantasy Star Online) I dont know why Sony wont bring a game like this to the PS3. It would sell out for the simple fact that you could communicate, play and socialize with people while playing an awesome game online without being on a computer all day. I think this game is going to be an amazingly underrated game. Ive been waiting on it since I heard about it. Im hoping for good things from this game.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ragnarok Odyssey
When Phantasy Star online met Monster Hunter.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
Anonymous
Location: Yorktown, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you have been craving a decent RPG more less a MMORPG on a handheld for a while and here it is. I've put about 60 hours into this game and is still loving it. Also note I have recently purchased Persona 4 Golden and Ragnarock Odyssey keeps in the back of my mind. I know, I know, shame on me, and don't get me wrong. Persona 4 is an amazing game but hear me out. I Also have a group of 6 friends I play with off and on, so the review maybe more bias since I have an advantage to enjoy this friends and not much on shooters, but more mainly fighting games and RPG's. So let me begin.Let me give you the Pros and Cons with the Game itself:
Pros:
-Controls are a breeze with a easy to pick up combo system which involves you using the Triangle and Circle buttons for attacks.(Similar to a Devil May CryFeel) R Button is to block and run, Square is to dash (ground or mid-air) and potions are accessed threw touch screen, along with a Dainsleif Mode (Beast Mode! which I refer to it), that gives you high attack and critical hits, but depletes health when not striking a enemy. Triangle are for fast attacks, and Circle for heavy attacks. Hold Circle alone for a charged Heavy attack, Heavy Spell, or Heal depending on the Job chosen.
-Charter Selection is decent. You start by a "Creating Character" and his or her Job, which include:
Sword Warrior (Medium speed, Medium attack damage)
Assassin (Super Fast, High damage, Low Defense)
Hammersmith (Very high attack damage, High HP, Slow speed)
Mage (High Powered Ranged attacks, Low HP,Long Range,Low Defense)
Cleric (Low-Medium Attack, High Defense, Healer class)
Hunter (Long Range, Archer, Medium Attack)
-Material Collecting is a blast and the item management is automatic with the select button. All items are usually needed because you upgrade gear but using the items collected instead of leveling, so feel free to unleash the hoarder in you. Only time you level up or in this game "Rank up" is when you complete each Chapter.
-Great Monster Design and back ground design. And huge monsterous Boss Battles. And charater models are decent some being awesome with the different outfit and dye choices.
-Item up gradeing system is simple by pressing the triangle in the main menu on a selected weapon and armor which gives you all the infomation you need to see what to upgrade on a weapon or armor and
also what materials to collect. Items say where they can be collected from their item descrption once you've collected the item. You also Collect Cards from killing different monsters/bosses to attach to your Armor which give you Different boosts. You gain new Cards not only by killing random monsters, breaking barrels and defeating gigantic bosses. But also by upgrading your weapons to their max point by then destroying the weapon and keeping the attibutes in it in the form of a card.
-Two modes in the game. For you loners which are single player (lower dificulty) to a seperate 4 player Co-Op (higher dificulty). Completing a mission and/or chapter in Muliplayer converts to single player vice versa.
-Very high replay value, and great length with endless hours of game play. Includeing extra missions and soon to see DLC. With great music and BMG unlocks and apperal unlocks.
- Item Transfering is a breeze with the near application.
-No to impressively quick loading times.
------------------------------------------------------
Cons:
-Lock on system can wonkey and can be annoying at times by mistargeting an enemy or in a Boss Battle's case an incorrect body part.
-Can be frustrating slightly, to slightly difficult at times for newbies to RPG's. Although I believed it to be slightly easier then Monster Hunter.
- For the most part the Camera can be compliant at times which is controlled by the right stick or tapping the L button to movie the came to the point of you facing, but still can be inconsistant when stuck against walls, or when a gang of enemies swarm.
-Mutiplayer can be extremely laggy to dropping the connection at times. Mostly with 4 players in the Co-Op.
-Graphics are a bit dated. Close to PS2 but it is a handheld and graphics are not everything. So it is a minor complaint.
-No voice chat options without party chat activated. It is replaced by a in game text message system which is overly censored at times and limited to a character amount.
-Can be repetitive to unaccustomed RPG players. Which most RPG's are a grind. Fetch these items, or Kill this boss, or kill this amount of enemies.
Overall this game is fun, addictive, and challenging. I recommend this to most Vita owners. Hopefully this is a great start for a great Vita library which is slighly barren until recently.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Wash, Rinse, Repeat
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/12
jmac1979
Location: Vancouver, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mission areas are very repetitive. But when a new area is revealed its very satisfying.
Boss fights are very tough in this game, however with a good wifi connection or friends to play ad hoc with it can make things much easier. However the inability to trade items with other players in multiplayer is a big miss with near being the only way to distribute items.
Combat is fast, fluid, and on the simple side. Customizing your outfit with cards is very strategic and deep as monster cards can have multiple effects on your character.
Finding the correct ingredients for refining a weapon can be tough. You only level your character when you complete a chapter so grinding is out.
If you don't mind helping others in multiplayer and don't mind repetitive maps then this game is a buy. This game becomes a must buy if you actually know someone with a vita and can play two player with someone.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for Ragnarok Odyssey
A must buy for PS Vita Owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
chinchillen
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is thee game you should buy and dare i say one of the best games on the vita right now i bought this the same day as ACliberation and i haven't even opened it yet .i just cant tear my self away from it. As for multilayer it actually really good there might be times when you get some lag but it dose not last all that long. all great game and great fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ragnarok Odyssey
While fun in small bursts, this game lacks.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
Leess
Location: Worcester, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would say for sure that I was excited when I purchased Ragnarok: Odyssey. In fact, it was the second game I bought for my Playstation Vita. However all of the hype was soon lost when I began my journey into a game that lacked explanation, emotion, and general prowess.
At its startup you get a lot of hype building in your head. An action packed intro video, vast customization for your character, and a handful of unique weapon classes. However, this hype lasts for about 5 mins into the game when you realize that they don't really explain anything to you.
They pretty much tell you right from the get go that you're a recruit and you need to protect the city by going on quests that help you earn exp. and thus expanding your skills and overall strength.
You do mission after mission to get to boss battles where you fight giant creatures. That I would say was the funnest part for me, the boss battles. It was really cool trying to see if your little girl with a giant hammer could take down a giant beast. But the boss battles were about the only thing from quest that were actually challenging. There was nothing that hard about fighting mouses or little blobs of goo over and over again.
Its tedious really, and the lack of actually dub makes it even more dreadful doing quest after quest only to hear nothing but the grunts and squeaks of npcs. Not having any actual voiced lines makes you feel disconnected from the story (not that there really is one) and you find yourself getting bored quite quick.
I had high hopes, I really did but this game wasn't that good to me and I would recommend it to anyone with a sense of taste.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 7 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Will be awesome...when its finally released
Posted on:9/30/12
Sarij
Location: Pwnsville, USA
I have had this game pre-ordered and fully paid off for months now and they STILL continue to push the release date back every single time it gets to about 2 weeks before its previous release date. A couple days ago it was set for 10/16/12, I check today and now its 10/30/12. Game looks amazing, and I REALLY hope its worth all this wait!! So if you've still not made up your mind yet on purchasing this game or not, just know it will probably get pushed back AGAIN for, what I know, as the 4th time in a 2-3 month max period.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ragnarok Odyssey
this will be epic
Posted on:7/27/12
Pheonix
the game is filled with action and adventure. there are new and more powerful monsters the more you progress. and you can strengthen yourself with cards and new gear (you dont level up). but all the same people won't be able to judge your strength at a glance in co-op. but if you want a better feel for the game you should watch the videos on youtube made by kinetic. He goes in depth about characters, vocation, monsters weapons, etc. can't wait for the english release or at least a demo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ragnarok Odyssey
why does it keep getting delayed
Posted on:10/3/12
GundamRed
Location: Southern CA
it was supposed to be out the 17th aaaaaaaah two more whole weeks!!!!!!!!! I guess i'll just have to suffer through it. It doesn't seem like it would be that hard to release here. I'll theyre changing is voice actors and text. its already out in japan.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ragnarok Odyssey
It's finally coming!
Posted on:6/18/12
Jellyfish99
Location: Pollock Pines, CA
This looks like a fantastic game for the PlayStation Vita! It looks like it will be a very good RPG! When this game was first released for the Vita in Japan, I hoped that it would come to the west. And now it is finally coming! I can't wait!
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ragnarok Odyssey
You Have to be in to it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/14
CoolerOnline
This game, for the average FPS and assassins creed kind of player, most likely will not be much fun. The gameplay is often very slow paced and not very exciting. I would recommend personally Assassins Creed III: Liberation, The Amazing Spider-Man, or Uncharted Golden Abyss. These games have a much better fighting system and have a good story line, unlike Ragnarok Odyssey.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for Ragnarok Odyssey
MUST BUY!!!!
Posted on:6/7/12
Bigdaddy911
Location: South Carolina
The game play is similar to monster hunter, check out videos on youtube. Can't wait! This game will be BAD AZZ! Boo ya!!!
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yuuu
 
Please wait while more information about yuuu is loaded.
Additional information about yuuu could not be loaded.
Posted 6/11/12
been waiting for this game since the vita came out. caaaaaaaaaan't wait. tried the demo but its in japanese so i have no idea what is what, but game play is awesome
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Ragnarok Odyssey
On the fence about this game.
Posted on:8/31/12
pdnim
I'm really not too sure what to make of this game. I've seen my uncle play Monster Hunter (MH), I played Gods Eater Burst (GEB), and I've seen the Japanese gameplay for this game and I must say that it's the anime-type, graphically refined version of the first two I mentioned. Combos look fairly basic and static--just like GEB. The only difference is that you don't "eat" your opponent. Instead, you kill them just like you're supposed to in MH. Since there's no pre-order bonus, I won't be in any sort of rush to buy this. I'll most likely buy it to at least give it the benefit of the doubt and try it out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ragnarok Odyssey
It was okay
Posted on:6/25/12
DgsToni
This game was alright. I had the Japanese version and honestly there wasn't anything that exciting about it. The game was fun to play at first and the customization was pretty good but the story grew repetitive really fast. Each mission was like the last. Go in kill a certain amount of monsters or collect a certain amount of items then rinse and repeat. There wasn't any depth to the story. If you're a fan of RO than you might like this. I honestly never played RO but it was a decent game to play in this pretty weak lineup of vita games in North America
4 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ragnarok Odyssey
the hype for this game was too high
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
KoolKidzKlub
Location: LA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i really wanted to like this game so much. it was one of the most anticipated vita games but it didnt live up to all the hype. first of all the graphics are pretty good. and the game starts out fun but it gets really repetitive fast. your pretty much doing the same thing over and over and the ranking up system in the game takes away all of the fun in a rpg. i also had a hard time following the story and there is almost no voice acting. camera sucks also. but overall the game isnt horrible. i just expected too much. this game had alot of potential. i feel like this was a missed opportunity. but worth playing
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ragnarok Odyssey
My favorite game so far!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
Thebrento
Location: Texas
Before I get into this I want to say that I haven't played the online mmo for this game nor have I even heard of it. Now that that's our of the way lol This type of game is something I've wanted to play on a hand held gaming device since the original gameboy. 90 kids you know what I'm talking about. Odyssey is a game that you'll find yourself playing for hours, If its simply fighting that boss again because you need something to craft an item, or you just want to try another job to see how awesome you are. This game will deliver, typical anime style for the graphics, beautiful visuals, and as you get stronger clothing becomes less of an option for female characters... O.o the online is great, (when everyone has decent connection) there are some lag spikes when you get a 3g user in the room and can be a bit of a pain when you catch a couple lag spikes back to back. When online you can also summon a keypad to type messages, or up to 10 preset messages with your choice of actions or anime faces (as I call them) to express what you feel when you type them and they are easily accessible by pushing it on the touchscreen. To keep from rambling i'll simply say that this game is well worth the money, everything you expect before you play it is just what you'll receive when you finally do! Pick it up its worth it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Fun game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
Kurikuri
Location: Honolulu, Hi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game plays very similar to titles like phantasy star but there is no leveling grind at all in the game. Instead your stats increase as you progress the story (so after each chapter). In order to get better equipment/upgrades/aesthetics, you have to hunt down drops from creatures as you progress through the game. This game also brings great reminders of Ragnarok Online when I used to play it, and helps with the nostalgia factor. Has a local coop/online coop system much like PSO and since level doesn't seem to be much of an issue, it would allow players of all ranges to enjoy the game together. Great title to wait for
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Ragnarok Odyssey
should be good
Posted on:6/13/12
weaponsmaster
Location: san antoniou
It looks like monster hunter and that was fun so this should be fun to. It looks like it would be fun to play online
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Stale
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
Anonymous
Location: RI
I bought this game because of the customizable features and description of long gameplay. However, every mission takes play on one of maybe five map. The 20,000 character customizations is based on factorials. There are really only 7-8 customizations + main weapon. You do not gain experience from killing anything so you can basically rush to the goal since fighting is a waste. I wanted to like this game but I've played better games that cost a tiny fraction of the price.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 20 for Ragnarok Odyssey
Its Pretty Good !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/13/13
AquaBlue3ds
Location: Lowell, NC
This Is A Good Game. (Especially Online!) I Had Alot Of Fun Playing This Game Online ! But The Only Thing Is, When You Beat It, It Really Just Gets Repetitive , So Then Playing Online Would Be The Only Great Thing About It .... But I Still Had Tons Of Fun !
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 next>>