GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

New Super Mario Bros. U

All new ways to Play and share your Mario Fun!New Super Mario Bros. & is a new, side-scrolling adventure featuring Mario, Luigi, Toad.... And your Mii character! Now's your chance to step inside the Mushroom Kingdom and explore new worlds, new power-ups and new ways to play.
Average Customer Rating:
9
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
14
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
41 out of 4591%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for New Super Mario Bros. U
Review 1 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Nintendega's Preview for New Super Mario Bros. U
Posted on:6/16/12
nintendega
Location: In London fighting off Zombies!!!!
I can't wait for this game. If it comes out on the launch day it will deffinetly be a first day buy for me. I love the way they are using the GamePad with this game. I can watch TV and play this game at the same time!!!??? That, to me, is just so cool and the new flying squirrel suit, and the use of Miiverse's accheivment system. Everything about this game is just really cool looking. A lot of people are saying that this game will be stupid because it looks very similar to New Super Mario Bros. Wii but heres the thing, it's a launch title. A LAUNCH TITLE! It's not like there isn't going to be more mario games for the Wii U!! The Wii U will be on the market for at least 5 years and I'm sure that there will be another 3D mario game within that time. Anyway, this game looks awesome and so does the Wii U. I can't wait to get it.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
angryelf22
Bernardsville, NJ
 
Please wait while more information about angryelf22 is loaded.
Additional information about angryelf22 could not be loaded.
$99.99?
Posted 6/24/12
I was looking foward to buying the Wii u and playing this game and rayman but thay are $99.99 each. How much is the system if two games are $200.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Looks Amazing
Posted on:7/5/12
adamr2894
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game looks freakin' awesome. That's all there is to it. It is a good promotion for the upcoming Wii U.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
E3 Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for New Super Mario Bros. U
★★★★★
Posted on:9/17/12
MarioDS64
Location: Vermont
looks great I can't wait to play. I had to pre order the deluxe Wii U console at Toys R US since it was sold out at game stop (sorry Gamestop :( I would of got it here if you had the Deluxe one still). But I am planning to buy this game here :)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Great Mario Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/13
gallowayja
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has been overlooked in way because it was the fourth game in the series, and New Super Mario Bros.2 for 3DS felt trashy. However, this one was way better than New Super Mario Bros. 2. The story starts off with Bowser kicking the Mario team out of Peach's castle and holding her hostage inside, something new to the series. Then Mario, Luigi, and the yellow and blue Toad set off to rescue her. But in the end it really doesn't feel like you're going through Peach's castle.The gameplay was great, and the level designs were done well. It didn't feel dry like New Super Mario Bros. 2, and the levels seemed like there was time and effort put into them, rather than rushed and slapped together. There were some new elements put into this game like the new acorn power up, and baby yoshis that had really cool characteristics that would help you. Seeing Mario in a bright, colorful, HD world was really a sight! The music was not original though and was taken from other Mario games, but there were some cool things added into the music like baby yoshis singing along. The game is a great multiplayer game, perfect for casual and hardcore gamers. It is up to a five player game, where one of the players uses the gamepad to set temporary ledges to help the other players out. This game also features off tv play which allows someone to play from just the gamepad itself.The game can be challenging at times, and overall the difficulty level is slightly difficult. It truly is a great game, but feels a little too similar to other games in the New Super Mario Bros. series, so it would have been nice if Nintendo made some daring changes to it. A cool thing Nintendo added to the game though was neat mini games. These mini games are cleverly done. There is also a thing called 'Boost Rush Mode" that features a unique way to play some Mario levels. If you like a good Mario game, this is a game for you. This game will provide you with hours of gameplay and an enjoyable experience.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
New Super Mario Bros. U Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 5 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Mario's In HD, But I'm Starting To Get Bored Of It
Posted on:8/4/12
ZekromWhite
Location: Johns Creek, GA
Mario has always been a popular and successful character. I like Mario, and he's not my favorite because I always put him up against Sonic games, and it's not that the series is a bad game (I think they're fun), but I'm getting tired of the same plot. Almost every time, Mario has to save Princess Peach from Bowser, while Sonic fights Dr. Eggman almost every time, but has other supporting characters and different plots. What I'm trying to say is, is that I'm sort of not as excited about the new Mario games like before, and I'm more excited about the next Sonic game. The best Mario games may have you saving Princess Peach, but they beat Bowser in different ways. For example, the Super Mario Galaxy franchise. Those are great games because of the power-ups, and how Mario is in 3-D instead of a 2.5D side-scrolling adventure where in order to defeat Bowser, you need to get past him and hit a switch. Mario needs a way better game for the Wii U than this, but because of more power-ups and the HD, this should be worth a buy.
8 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Super Mario Wii U is worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/12
omnilinkstrife
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been playing video games since 1990 and I have been a fan of the Mario series for over 20 years. I am glad to see Mario return to his roots in a side scrolling adventure. I love the charm that this game offer players of all ages. This game contains throwbacks to Super Mario World and is extremely fun to play by yourself and with others. The number of powerups is limited, but this is the NOT a bad thing. Classic Mario games had roughly 3 powers ups so the inclusion of 4 main powerups is a postive thing. Graphically speaking, this game is gorgeous at 1080p. The multiplayer mode is alot of fun and with the Gamepad a whole new fun experience has been created. I find myself looking at the Gamepad as much as the TV due to the great graphics. The controls on this game are very responsive and do not hinder gameplay at all. I would recommend this game to anyone at any age. This game is fun and has replay value as you can collect star coins in every level. The people that complain of the the game being to much like other Mario games are missing the point. The side scrolling Mario games have a well tried and true gaming formula that works and does not need to be "overhauled". I support Nintendo for staying true to their roots and creating a great game that I can enjoy by myself and with my family. That is worth $60 in my book.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Hey ya'll Mario Time!
Posted 5/30/13
Are you getting New Super Luigi U when that comes out? It looks cool. I love Pikmin and Zelda as well. Nintendo is the best! They are a lot of Nice Smart and very creative people that work at Nintendo. Some day I want to work with them!
Customer Avatar
smoov
 
Please wait while more information about smoov is loaded.
Additional information about smoov could not be loaded.
Posted 3/24/13
Thank You. That was very helpful, and actually a review.
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Your Right this is a fun game.
Posted 12/3/12
This game has fun levil designs and the new flying squal sute power up. I love Mario. Please cheack out my Per-Views i do like for like some times if i like other guys reviews. :) :D ;)
Customer Avatar
kingdomheartsmaster
none of yo buizsness
 
Please wait while more information about kingdomheartsmaster is loaded.
Additional information about kingdomheartsmaster could not be loaded.
Its not worth 60$ -__-
Posted 11/26/12
Okay so it has new power ups (as always in every new mario game does) and WHAT??? it has better GRAPHICS?????! oh my goodness! ima just waste 60 bucks on a bad guy stompin, coin collecting, princess saving, race to the finish line game.......................uhhh NAW its not worth 60$ for cryin out loud, ITS another mario game with new graphics, nothing has changed but that!!........ (new power ups and ish always come in every new mario game) -__-
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 7 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Perfect Launch Title for Wii U
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
thebradmanbondman
Location: Atlanta, GA
There is nothing to complain about in the newest Mario title from Nintendo, which is also the first use of HD in any Nintendo game. The game is a sequel to the Wii's New Super Mario Bros. Wii, and it has a very similar premise and gameplay style. My point is, if it isn't broken don't fix it. The gameplay is very solid and they add in some new power ups and level designs. The backgrounds and level of detail in the graphics are impressive and as someone who grew up playing the original Super Mario Bros. on NES, it is amazing to see the game in this kind of detail and definition. The boost mode feature is interesting as well but isn't the main focus of the game. It gives you a reason to play the game over again though in order to beat it fully in boost mode. If you get a Wii U and you don't buy this game, then I'm not sure what you're looking for. Original Nintendo titles like these always stand the test of time, so while some other launch titles aren't worth your money, this game is.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 8 for New Super Mario Bros. U
When will Christmas COME!!!
Posted on:7/10/12
CookieMonster242
Location: Florida,FL
I can't stand the fact that nintendo told us in June about this and we won't get our hands on this until November 18. Besides 99% of our parents will say " wait until Cristmas and see if santa clause thinks you've been good ." One, I know santa clause isn't real. Two, If you get a wii u before Cristmas you are very lucky. So, all of you guys who are planning to get this for Christmas like my post if you are guys are getting it ahead of time still click like :) P.S. If you look on the gamestop impotant information, for all of you guys who think the game will be 100 dollars or come out on December 31,2012 it will tell you that there is no official price or release date. Also the wii u will come out November 18,2012 :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for New Super Mario Bros. U
People, listen.
Posted on:9/17/12
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
I don't know what's with all the hate with Mario recently but this has got to stop.
New Super Mario Bros was first launched 6 years ago, 2006. Then it got ported over to the Wii 3 years ago, 2009. Now they made a 3DS and Wii U version automatically is being called milked and comments like"Its the same game for 25 years!" "They are milking Mario!" Just stop. At least we get a Mario game with next gen revolutionary graphics AT LAUNCH. I don't see anyone mocking Assassin's Creed which they get a game every single year and they have a Vita version as well yet its not called a milked game, but just because its Mario and Nintendo you have to hate it and troll it. Comparing to 4 games than others that are over 4 is just foolish. We are not gonna see a 3D Mario game for at least 3 years. This game is for the kids who have a good heart that don't play rated M games and swear so much in online games. Also for the young men and women like myself who grew up with Mario since the beginning and still enjoy it till this day. So just stop it. You're not gonna change people's minds, This is a franchise that should not be treated like dirt and pretended like Mario never delivered anything to the table.
Alright that's my rant on that whole thing, its a shame how gamers today act like its world war 3 between 3 consoles. I recommend this if you pre ordered the Wii U. Take it as a bright beginning to a Nintendo's 6th next gen console similar to Super Mario World when the SNES launched. The features Ive seen in this game looks alot more challenging than before, but fun and rewarding. So don't listen to the people who call Mario "Milked" The only thing milked is their hatred between a videogame that isn't a bad game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
33 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
originalraymanfan
White Lake, MI
 
Please wait while more information about originalraymanfan is loaded.
Additional information about originalraymanfan could not be loaded.
MARIO IS SO STALE YO!
Posted 9/24/12
I dont even like Assassin's Creed and I say that Mario has been, as you put it "milked" to the point where it comes out as moldy milk. If I can beat NSMB2 in 3 hours, its a waste of 40+ dollars, and ive played mario forever so I know its got nothing but NUSTALGA!
Customer Avatar
TAYCOOL
TENN
 
Please wait while more information about TAYCOOL is loaded.
Additional information about TAYCOOL could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Yeah
Posted 9/21/12
Right on bro. E beats M
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for New Super Mario Bros. U
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/14
nindo404
Location: Seatle, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i love this game so much
cant stop playing it
everyone with a Wii u should own this game
all in all
its one great game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Wait for the actual pricing
Posted on:9/13/12
Raiuken
Location: Oregon
I've noticed the $99.99 next to all the wiiU games, but I highly doubt Nintendo will sell any of their games at that price. Every time they've released a console, the prices on games have been normally $40-$50 for the normal game upon release or lower. Zelda: Skyward Sword was $50 for the game itself, and if you wanted to spend extra money for a nicely golden wii remote plus with the hylian symbol on it as well as a soundtrack cd it was an extra $20. The way Nintendo does things marketwise has been cheaper than the Xbox 360 and the PS3, both console and games. I expect this game to be around $60 (maybe $70) since they're finally going into the HD area. This is just an assumption of mine based off of what I've seen in the past of Nintendo's marketing on games. Since they haven't announced any price for even the console, I wouldn't be too sure about the pricing of the games listed here on this site.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Can't Wait for the reaction to the price
Posted on:6/5/12
UsingLogic
Location: Houston, TX
As of this moment, Gamestop is showing a pricetag of $99.99 (obviously just a placeholder, not the actual retail price); I can't wait to see the comments sections explode with "ZOMG I'M NOT PAYING 100 BUCKS TO PLAY MARIO!!!" ... everyone just chill and take a moment and think before you post.
20 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PIKA101
Hyrule Castle
 
Please wait while more information about PIKA101 is loaded.
Additional information about PIKA101 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
It is very specific.
Posted 6/8/12
Gamestop said that prices AND release date are subject to change so thats probably going to end up being like 59.99 like a new PS3 game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for New Super Mario Bros. U
OMG IM PREPARED
Posted on:6/20/12
DBZFORMERS
I can't WAIT for this system and this game is the reason I can't wait NSMBW was the best mario game ver create din my opinion so now just wait, restored in HD,
new power ups + new touch controls= new gameplay, and it's just MARIO I'm EXCITED
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Looks Awesome!
Posted on:7/30/12
BATFrost819
Location: Texas
Im 23 fixin to be 24. Been playin games since I was 4. First game I ever played was Super Mario Bros 3. I've played that game until my nintendo finally fried. I 've played many mario's since then, SMB, SMB2, SMW, SM64, Super Saper Mario, NSMB, NSMBW, SMG, M&LSS,SM64Ds.....There are so many I can't remember. Some I beat, The ones I really liked, some I didn't. What I'm getting at is that I have a history with The Mario Bros. For most part their 2d platformers have mainly been great. I am looking forward to the Wii U and NSMBU and if everything goes as planned I will have it later this year. The main thing I like about NSMBW is that the bosses are the koopalings. I hope they bring that back for NSMBU, That and the Ice Flowier or some type of Ice power up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Awesome
Posted on:6/28/12
powergamerstop
Location: Sacramento,CA
Awesome new power-ups and bringing beack little yoshi from super mario world can't wait. Squirel mario looks awesome.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kjb1
 
Please wait while more information about kjb1 is loaded.
Additional information about kjb1 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/5/13
This game is amazing. Very close to the Super Mario World on the Super Nintendo.. On certain levels it offers a "Luigi run through" and he completes the level for you which is new and can be helpful but I prefer to skip it and do the level myself.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Looking forwards to the new Wii U and Mario U
Posted on:8/21/12
Scarface407
Location: Orlando, FL
First of Ive done plenty of reserch on the Wii U. Some people are saying that its not HD well they are wrong the Wii U is HD. Now Nintendo has confirmed that the price of $99 for games is just a fictitious price and once they annouce the release all prices will change to the correct which will be 59.99. Ive never owned a Wii or ds system I am a PS3 and 360 Fan, I had the NEs and the Super nintendo back in the day but I am going to buy the nintendo Wii U, its different and plus its HD.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Much cheeper! :):):)
Posted 5/30/13
Good News! Wii U prices are around the same as for the other systems some are much cheaper. This game is only 59.99 so its not 100 dollars also if u never owed a Wii take advantage of the Wii U backwards compaiblity and play The Legend of Zelda Skyward Sword its beautiful and emotional and my fav game ever!
Customer Avatar
WiiUFan
Atlanta,GA
 
Please wait while more information about WiiUFan is loaded.
Additional information about WiiUFan could not be loaded.
Awesome
Posted 12/8/12
this game is awesome. this is the first time im seeing mario in hd. if you like mario buy this game. wii u i awesome
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 17 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Wii and U Can't Wait for it.
Posted on:6/8/12
MrL234
Location: Peach's Castle
This game is going to be an instant hit on the Wii U. Ignore the $99.99 price, if Nintendo wants to increase it's sale and yet still get people to purchase games and the Wii U, they won't want to sell a game over $60. I can't wait to pop it into my brand new Wii U, snag an acorn, and become a flying squirrel. This is no doubt one of Mario's best power ups. You also get to use baby Yoshis, adding to the gameplay experience. This is a game that should be on everybody's Christmas list.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for New Super Mario Bros. U
Awsome
Posted on:6/8/12
nax2466
This looks even better than the first game . I can't wait to get to use the squirell suit(that looks so cool). It also looks likee it follows super mario galaxy 2 on the multiple yoshi powers. The graphics on this onn are even better.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jvelas101
New Haven, CT
 
Please wait while more information about jvelas101 is loaded.
Additional information about jvelas101 could not be loaded.
Awesome Adventure Game
Posted 12/1/12
I been buying Super Mario Bros. Games for every Nintendo Console and they're mostly awesome, then I brought The New Super Mario Bros U and this game Rocks !!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for New Super Mario Bros. U
O_O
Posted on:6/6/12
99lucario99
Location: Wii Universe
I am super excited about this! I hope they release the Wii U around Thanksgiving, then release games all throughout December. I cannot wait for the next E3 which might have the title for the new Super Smash Bros. 4! xD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for New Super Mario Bros. U
THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE WII U
Posted on:9/18/12
MARIOFAN25
Location: CHARLOTTE,NC
Hello gamers and welcome to my special 50th review/preview which is my most anticipated game since super mario galaxy 2. as you can see I am previewing new super mario bros u for the new wii u console coming out in less than 2 months. by the looks of it bowser has kidnapped the princess and mario and friends must save her. just like the wii version of the game this is filled with awesome power ups genius level design and 4 player co op. the powerups in the game are awesome. the brand new flying squirrel suit is a fun addition to the mario franchise. also mini yoshis are avalible. red ones inflate and let you fly for a short time. the blue yoshi blows bubbles. and gold yoshis light up dark caves. speaking of caves new super mario bros u has some awesome level design. from meadows and dark caves. to forests and castles. the 4 player co op is back. 2 players play as mario and luigi and players play as mario luigi and 2 toads. all in all this game looks absolutley stunning. the graphics are amazing, the powerups are cool and the game just looks like hours andd hours of fun. if i get a wii u i wont take this game out of the slot for a long time. new super mario bros u will release world wide new years eve. so make sure you reserve your copy today.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 15 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>