GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island Riptide

They thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Then their fate took a turn for the worse...The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a furious storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides.
Average Customer Rating:
7.604
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
16
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
36 out of 4875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island Riptide
Review 1 for Dead Island Riptide
More Dead Island = Sign me up, please
Posted on:8/22/12
Clarkey
Location: Florida
If Dead Island: Riptide was the exact same gameplay with a different location and different missions I'd be thrilled. That said, any improvements they make to the game will be icing on the cake. The original, with all of it's bugs/glitches (but show me any open-world game that doesn't have bugs), was an open-world masterpiece that even after 3 play-throughs over several months still manages to find it's way into my 360. There was just SO MUCH to do in that game.... SO MANY PLACES to explore... and making a horror game that takes place mostly during the day on a tropical island was such a jarring juxtaposition that it worked perfectly.
Slightly different skill-trees, higher level cap, new places to go/people to see... I really hope they stick to the basic formula that made the first game an addiction for so many. Yay Dead Island. Yippee.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dead Island Riptide
More fan-made then trying to be a sequel...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: party gamers
While a new game, not a full game on its own. It brought back the same characters, style of gameplay and pretty much everything else. There are a few changes, however, while they maybe minor, they played a big impact on the fan base. First off because of the lack of ammo in the first and second game they decided to make guns more powerful and shooting a zombie in the head is a critical and usually a 1 hit kill. While some might not say thats a big deal, well it is to fans of the first game because there most of the guns in the first one didnt do the job. While there are still bugs and glitches, there are noticebly less of them this run through. The story isnt long and acts more like a DLC than an actual game. The good thing though is that there is a good amount of replay value and even more when playing with friends. Like the first game, this touches more on an actual reality feel of a zombie outbreak instead of just shooting everything like L4D or Dead Rising. A word of warning though, if you didnt like the first game then you will most likely not like this one, because they are one in the same for the most part. Keep in mind too, this game felt like it was made more for the fans of DI than trying to dish out a sequel. The game is worth more than a DLC price, but honestly probably closer to $20-$35 in all.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Dead Island Riptide
Lookin' for a Chalange
Posted on:8/4/12
MLGxxDUKESTERxxMLG
Location: Africa
When I got the first Dead Island game about 1 year ago I loved it. I have to admit I was addicted to it. I was on the final map the jail when my game was loading. My game froze on the loading screen. Long story short I did everything I or anyone else could do to fix it. There was no hope. I sold it for a full refund and later bought Skyrim with that money, also a great game but I was hungry for SamB... I later read that the game had a loading bug and they would soon fix it. I went out and bought a Dead Island and got playing. I was in the jail where I left off but there were no AI's or zomzoms. So I had to go back in the story abit. Now woth Dead Island Riptide coming out I cannot wait. In the first Dead Island there were ALOT of graphic and glitch flaws, which was not bad for my friends and I. We had so much fun playing the 1st Dead Island and are still playing it, so were looking for a thrilling some what difficult and fun zombie game. BRING IT ON DEEP SILVER
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Dead Island Riptide
As if we didn't have enough disappointment.
Posted on:11/27/12
I3ryce
Location: Wisconsin
There's not much really that I care to post on this other than the fact that the first one was a mega letdown. Yeah the game was gorgeous and the weapons system was unique. But the game played poorly, especially with co-op via online. If it's a survival, I shouldn't do more damage with my fists than a 'broken' weapon or a gun for that matter due to an RPG aspect. It was basically an alternate worsened Borderlands. I did have a lot of fun when the inital release of Dead Island came about. After about a week of playing, I got bored. What replay value is there? I just really hope they add more story to this other than "Go here, kill/retrieve this."
I'm not a bias person, and I usually like to give every game a chance. I'll have to rent this / borrow it before I actually decide if I'm going to buy. I know a lot of fans are excited, and I used to be hyped, but it didn't deliver like I had hoped. I figured it'd be just a little bit more realistic.
 
My Product Recommendations
The War Z - Survivor Edition
4.7 out of 10(16)
 
 
 
 
 
8 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mir7909
nj
 
Please wait while more information about mir7909 is loaded.
Additional information about mir7909 could not be loaded.
cool, but why $49.99
Posted 3/12/13
i enjoyed the first one i bought new for $60 but why would this be $50? is the price drop gonna take effect for all new games?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dead Island Riptide
Pretty Excited
Posted on:9/20/12
RazorHail
Location: Williamsport, PA
Off to preorder two copies tomorrow. I still play Dead Island religiously and it's even better now that I have gotten my little sister into it. Excited to see where they take the story and how missions are handled on a ship.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
18 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Dead Island Riptide
Looks Amazing!!!
Posted on:4/6/13
Laurenn
Location: New Jersey
The graphics looks so much better! Plus I am so happy that there is new vehicles because just having the car was kind of boring but now theres boats and bulldozers and more!!! I hope there is a offline co op that would be amazing because I would love to play with my sister cuz we always fight over the remote !! Cant wait :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Dead Island Riptide
Big Waste Of Time
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
PurpleSnowflake
Location: Ridgeley,WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I absolutely loved the first Dead Island so I was very excited when this came out. Now that I've been playing it awhile it just keeps getting more disappointing. There are lots of glitches in this game and I wouldn't recommend it for that reason. I have been stuck on the same mission for a couple days because the game keeps freezing and their tech support is laughable. They tell me the only way past this glitch is to create a new profile and while that sounds easy it's not. When you do that it depletes pretty much all of your weapons including special ones, and all of your inventory including medkits and parts. I called back to tell them this and Deep Silver couldn't tell me how to create a new profile without losing all inventory because according to them that doesn't happen, and they hung up on me. This game is worthless because with these kinds of problems you may never get to beat the game and play repeatedly like the first and if you do it will cause a great deal of frustration. It's a $50 piece of junk, I wish I wouldn't have wasted my money.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Dead Island Riptide
LOOKS AMAZINNG
Posted on:8/2/12
SH4RPSH00T3R
I loved (and still love) the first dead island i cant wait for Dead Island Riptide i hope it is just as good or better!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Island Riptide
Good game but more of a dlc
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/13
721CM
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It is exactly the same as the last game. Some new things and a new island but overall the same graphics and sounds. The campaign is short but there also a lot of side quest and things to find through out the locations on the new island. All the problems in this game get overlooked because its a lot of fun to play , especially with friends online. Overall a good game although its kind of like huge dlc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Island Riptide
So Pumped !!!
Posted on:12/3/12
yourmom20
Location: California
The first dead island was epic. I couldn't stop playing it. I love the storyline. going to be epic .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Island Riptide
Don't think of it as a whole new game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
Joecool96
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is more of a dlc for the first one. It basically is the first one, it just has some sleeker graphics and more fluid movements. They don't add a whole new perk tree but they add on to it. Just think of it as a giant dlc for the first one and you will love the game. It's all about expectations.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dead Island Riptide
All things you need to know about this game....
Posted on:3/20/13
ConnorReviews
Location: Texas, TX
Prepare yourself for another Dead Experience on the Island of Banoi, but this time not as quite the setting as last time......You start from the end of Dead Island (Play this game before you play Riptide to get the full effect of the story)Finding yourself back in the depths of The Unkown otherwise known as Banoi with a twist.....the riptide has come and swallowed up half of the Island with it......this $50 Exclusive will be hitting stores April of 2013 with the same gameplay as before, if your in to killing some Zombies, blood, and Weapons that are back and pack a new punch. This story takes place with (my understand as) a man named James, and this time you will be a sideline character helping the original survivors escape once more.....but did they ever escape once? Find out what awaits are friends and what happened at the cliff hanger ending and explore the new things to do on the island of Banoi, I can't wait to return to the island to smash some brains and crack some skulls.....hope this review of what I know helped your perspective on Dead Island: Riptide, hope to see you online this coming April. Happy Hunting!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Dead Island Riptide
CANT WAIT!
Posted on:11/13/12
Axton
Location: Gainesville, FL
I love dead island and this one looks awesome i know i will play this all the time,I cant wait for this game.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Dead Island Riptide
its amazing so far a must buy for fans of 1st 1.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
borderlands2isboss
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
ok so i just got this game tonight at 8 pm i loved the first dead island. yes this game SHOULD have been a dlc but i can see why it wasnt. first of all dead island riptide runs on a higher graphics engine than the original dead island. it lags on every occasion but nothing too major and the only time it lags is when it has a lot of trouble loading the environment or details. also there are new vehicles that couldnt be implemented as dlc. and the new island has so much to explore! im on chapter 2 only because im doing EVERY side mission before i move on. overall the game is crisp,clear fun, and highly addictive if you like hack and slash games this is one for you. its also a really nice break from other games that got repetitve too quickly i hiighly reccommend this game especially since its 50 dollars instead of 60.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Dead Island Riptide
OMG!!!
Posted on:6/7/12
Gator4220
Location: None ur biz
THIS LOOKS INSANELY GOOD AND I LOVE DEAD ISLAND SO YEAHH!I've been playing Dead Island since it came out. I love it, my YouTUbe is: dendenzHD.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JAY3133
NY
 
Please wait while more information about JAY3133 is loaded.
Additional information about JAY3133 could not be loaded.
New game? or....
Posted 7/10/12
Hey i loved dead island and i was wondering if this was a whole new game or just a big dlc please tell me thank youuu
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Dead Island Riptide
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/12/14
ColassalKiller3
This is one of my all time favorite games. The introducing of a new a character, new modification blueprints, modifications, and weapons that the first game did not have made this game even better. New objectives have also been introduced. I would recommend this game to everyone, don't care who you are.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Dead Island Riptide
cant wait
Posted on:8/18/12
merper123456
i cant wait till it comes out dead island was fun little tricky at first but when i started playing more i would not stop till i beat the game it got real fun when some one gave me a modded shut gun but i like my sword more and there was a real twist at the end it almost made me cry but i kicked the boss butt so i give 9.5 zombies out of 10 zombies so its gonna be great
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
UncleMike
Seattle
 
Please wait while more information about UncleMike is loaded.
Additional information about UncleMike could not be loaded.
I'm enjoying the game even with it's faults...
Posted 5/20/13
If you're expecting something other than Dead Island, zombies, looting containers for materials, creating weapons and hacking up zombies, then this isn't the game for you.
I'm 65% through and after my initial review readings on glitches and gameplay, I'm still enjoying the new Riptide. It's DI with a few new wrinkles added.
I like the AOE (area of effect) mods that I've found in addition to the team skills missions that you can do to increase the overall efficiency of the team.
Lots of rescues and grab and fetch missions which is nothing new to DI veterans.
Again, easy co-op drop in, drop out and the unique level system that a level 50 player can get in on a level 10 game.
I suggest using a character import from DI to make leveling up to level 50 and level 70 a lot easier. I imported my lvl 55 Logan from DI. All your skills will transfer over, but none of your weapons or materials will.
Worth purchasing a used copy if you have played the original DI game. Not sure if there will be any DLC for this version.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Dead Island Riptide
If you liked the first game, buy this one!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
KRoW
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was on the fence about this one at first due to mixed reviews on it. I picked it up used in case i didnt like it, but i gotta say it is a good game specially if you liked the first one. You can start the game fresh or import your character from the previous game, which is cool and you can level up to 70, but whatever weapons you had dont come over. I found the story more entertaining, lots more quests to do, and its not as repeatious. Some new weapons, few new enemies. Go pick it up
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 19 for Dead Island Riptide
Great Game But...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
Peerawg
Location: Miami FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is very well made and the objectives are more fun then ever. New additions of Zombies make this game a bit more difficult at times like the Screamer, She can be EXTREMELY annoying with her screams and i mean ANNOYING. I love Dead Island and I am a HUGE FAN of the Franchise But... The game is shorter then the previous Dead Island. Remember in the previous Dead Island where you Adventure off in a Beach, Jungle, City & Prison. Well the world in this game is not as BIG as you think. It took me a couple days to beat this game with ALL the side missions completed, While Dead Island took me about 2 months. Still the game is very good despite being short, I would rather wait another year for Dead Island 2 and pay $60 then get this Dead Island 1.5 for $50 short game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Island Riptide
Better than the original!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/13
blair225
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Dead Island Riptide starts off where Dead Island Left off at. With many new infected it makes the game more fun. They also have book where you can learn about the new infected. The side quest could become very annoying only because you are running around getting items for people and returning it to them. The only difference between the side quests is that it is different items and going to different places on the island. The graphics of this game didn't affect me. I don't think games should be judged by there graphics as much as they are. If anything the game improved from the original dead island. I would recommend this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>