GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dead Island Riptide

They thought they had escaped the terrors of Banoi and survived the apocalypse on a corrupted paradise. Then their fate took a turn for the worse...The Dead Island heroes escaped in a helicopter to the safety of a military ship, but when a furious storm hits and the virus suddenly spreads throughout the crew, the nightmare starts all over again, leaving hope drowning in the rising tides.
Average Customer Rating:
7.842
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
6
8 stars
4
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 out of 1984%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dead Island Riptide
Review 1 for Dead Island Riptide
Should I Buy This?
Posted on:3/31/13
PS3game222
Location: St. John, IN
this game looks rlly good. i didn't play the first game and i've hear mixed answers and mixed reviews about it being good and bad. but i'm excited for this. i love zombie games and such and this looks like it will be a lot of fun. help me out here if you think i should buy this game hit the like button, if not push thumbs down. thanks.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
128 of 136 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
KodieT17
White Hall, AR
 
Please wait while more information about KodieT17 is loaded.
Additional information about KodieT17 could not be loaded.
YES!!!
Posted 1/22/14
if u like zombies driving running them over walking around to different places and shaddering zombies heads.
Customer Avatar
IamdaWalrus
 
Please wait while more information about IamdaWalrus is loaded.
Additional information about IamdaWalrus could not be loaded.
It depends...
Posted 4/21/13
I felt with the first one that it was kind of like Skyrim with Zombies and cars. I loved the game, and its a blast with friends. Its not as fun without friends, as its a hack n slash, so if you dont have any on PSN, go for the 1st one first to test it. If you like it, get this one. I dont think they will be much different other than storywise, as the first one's gameplay cannot really be expanded upon.
Customer Avatar
Onide
 
Please wait while more information about Onide is loaded.
Additional information about Onide could not be loaded.
Posted 4/13/13
The problem with the first one if I remember correctly is that the game was never beta tested and was released with a large load of glitches.They were eventually addressed, but I think it left a sour taste in alot of players mouth. I personally loved the game, and the concept for it was very interesting at the time. Im hoping that Deep Silver learned from their first mistakes and make this game as polished as it could be. Heres to another trip to Dead Island. Hope that helps.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 2 for Dead Island Riptide
Holy mother of zombies!
Posted on:8/6/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This game will be the greatest zombie rpg ever! Lets face it, the number of zombie games that can be their own franchise, well... it's lacking. Dead Island was a fantastic game, excluding bugs. I loved it, and this game will hopefully take it to the next level! Here's hoping this game doesn't actually take another year to come out!
22 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XLilNiqX
Huber Heights,Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about XLilNiqX is loaded.
Additional information about XLilNiqX could not be loaded.
Dead Island Riptide
Posted 4/6/13
Yeah it was very good i was addicted to it and it was my second Platnium on my account back in 2011 . I can't wait to get this and kill even more Zombies with John Morgan and the rest of the crew . The Bbq blade and everything else this game should improve on the faults of Dead Island hopefully .
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Dead Island Riptide
havent seen the sun in a few days
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/13
thingsidotoyou
Location: georgia, newnan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
everythings perfect besides guns glitch and lag also when you swtich weapons it glitches but it never gets old when you run kick wth jhon
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AnarchChef
US
 
Please wait while more information about AnarchChef is loaded.
Additional information about AnarchChef could not be loaded.
Dead Island Riptide PS3
Posted 5/13/13
First among anything else, if ur not a fan of the game, you will HATE it. But if ur a fan like me, you'll LIKE it. Not much more than LIKE. The games strengths balance out its weaknesses. The PS3 version has even more lag than the first DI, its plot is a little straight forward, and for something that was in development for 2 years, they stole alot from the previous game. On the plus side, as u know DI is a beautiful environment no matter where u are. And this one is no different. Vehicles are pretty much limited to boats, however there is the occasional truck. Weapon mods are the same with just a few new additions. But....the difficulty level is through the roof!! So if u struggled in the beginning of the 1st one, ur really gonna have a time w/this. Truly just for the fans, I would say.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dead Island Riptide
Re-Spawn too quick
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/13
rdb40k
Location: San Leandro, CA
I bought the first Dead Island 'used' and it was awesome, then when I heard Riptide was coming out soon I couldn't wait 'til the release date. Now I wish they had play tested it more before releasing it. The zombies re-spawn much too quickly (2-5 min) so you're using up more weapons and ammo just trying to survive instead on concentrating on your quests. If the designers wanted to add something new, how about the ability to swim? With a game that has you navigating through waterways in a boat, I guess our heroes never learned how to swim. I expected the difficulty level to increase with a sequel, but this is over the top ridiculous. Its like choosing difficulty level 'INSANE' on any other games, and the movement is sluggish when moving forward or backwards. In my opinion this game needed much more work before its release date, they rushed it. Hopefully they will do a better job with Dead Island 3 - if there will be a part 3.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DJG228
Philadelphia, PA
 
Please wait while more information about DJG228 is loaded.
Additional information about DJG228 could not be loaded.
Posted 4/29/13
They spawn every 10 minutes for me which doesn't matter to me cause then I get more loot from them instead an empty barren wasteland with no challenge. And it isn't that difficult if you have good a weapons and a team.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Dead Island Riptide
It Gets Deader!
Posted on:6/10/12
RYUHAYABUSA
Location: Irvine, CA
Dead Island rightfully earns a spot as one of the best survival-horror games ever made; a sequel deserves just as much respect.
28 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
InfectiousClown
Bronx, NY
 
Please wait while more information about InfectiousClown is loaded.
Additional information about InfectiousClown could not be loaded.
In agreement!
Posted 3/7/13
I think Dead Island is one of the best games out there, and Dead Island Riptide will be even better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Dead Island Riptide
Better then the first one
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
BudWype
Location: ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is way better then the first one and keeps you on your toes! does do some repeat monsters but it's all good!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Dead Island Riptide
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/14
MikeShiznit
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought this game at the beginning of the 2014 year and have been loving it ever since. After 14 hours in I am about 58% of the way complete with the story so there is plenty of game content. I would best describe this game as a Skyrim battle system (first person hack and slash) with similar quest fetching on a zombie infested island. Each character has their own unique special that can be further upgraded as level increases in a sort of tree based system (think Borderlands). My only complaint is that you are unable to play offline co-op on the same system. But yea this game is hella fun and well worth the a measly $20.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dead Island Riptide
Not the Dead Island I Loved
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
TIMonkey45
Location: Wakeman, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Dead Island Riptide was horrible compared to the original Dead Island. Despite the new weapons including nail guns, flare guns, and stun guns and the addition of a new character; John Morgan, Dead Island Riptide only felt like a carbon copy of the original game many people came to love. The gameplay was essentially the same in terms of the hacking and slashing zombies but with a lower frame rate and the story of the game honestly felt rushed to the point where you really couldn't do many if any side quests. After finishing the game in a matter of about 10 hours of gameplay, I have not touched it since. Considering all of the ups and downs of the game, I would give it at most a solid 7.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dead Island Riptide
Flawed but Fun Experience
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
BradB
Location: Brentwood, TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Dead Island Riptide is a mixed bag. If you enjoyed the first Dead Island, like me, then you will love this game. A few improvements are that the weapons degrade much slower now and there are new environments. But that's just it, there are hardly any new improvements. The graphics on the console versions are crummy and the frame rate is atrocious at best. Techland seemed to ignore everybody's criticism and just copy and pasted the first DI into a new world. I still really like this game though. Something about it keeps me coming back!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Dead Island Riptide
Take two?
Posted on:9/13/12
Sipioc
Location: Mauston, WI
The first one was a lot of fun but very choppy and seemed unpolished. I hope thais one has more customization, especially the characters. The game seemed to take notes from fallout and it should just embrace it fully.
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Dead Island Riptide
Great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/14
Ngentile
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game. Not a big fan of how other people can join the game though. I think that this game is almost as good as the first 1.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Dead Island Riptide
Dead Island 2 technically
Posted on:3/22/13
XLilNiqX
Location: Huber Heights,Ohio
I only hope that that you get something from having a previous save file file from the past game at least and they've fixed the glitches from the last game . I'm not sure why they need a fifth survivor who's the main character and hopefully you can play as the other four . I'm thinking the rage attack for this guy will be a mixture of Sam B and Xion probably . I just think that this the game we probably deserved in 2011 that were getting now because they've probably seen all the glitches afterwards . I still don't get why they never released some of the dlc for everyone not the ones buying the game a second time when the game of the year edition game out this past summer . I like the hordes of zombies at once and now a safehouse defense game should be awesome .
Review 13 for Dead Island Riptide
Want to be hyped, but after last time...eeh!
Posted on:7/9/12
smokedout0215
Location: WV
Honestly want to be hyped about this game but can't do it! I played the original day in and day out for the first week it came out! Was pretty close to finishing the second week and that is when my save data corrupted! There was no rhyme or reason other than I picked up too many of the same/similiar items! Supposedly duping would cause this, but even back in the days of Diablo I never "duped"! Playing a game through, doing as I can without cheating, is what I have always done! While as I loved the gameplay of the first game, I have tried but can't take myself back through the game! Sorry, but the police station/hotel were enough once through! We shall see how this one fairs!
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Solofunk
 
Please wait while more information about Solofunk is loaded.
Additional information about Solofunk could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/12
Its because of the release date the new consoles are coming and they lowered the price
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dead Island Riptide
Dead Island: Riptide
Posted on:4/4/13
Agent1VRoman
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Well once i heard that you can transfer your character from your first Dead Island i knew i had to reserve it. Right now I'm a rank 47 on the first Dead Island:Game Of The Year Edition and i have to get my Purna to rank 60 in just a few weeks! I chose her for weaponry and was kind of disappointed when guns weren't featured until later on in the game but i didn't mind hacking and slashing zombies with my katana and machete. Now that Dead Island: Riptide will be having guns in the beginning of the game it will be sick! reserved my copy and if there is a Midnight Launch i will be the first just as i was in God Of War Ascension. If you have PSN and a mic don't mind to add me: Agent1VRoman
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 15 for Dead Island Riptide
Not Soon Enogh
Posted on:10/21/12
ZombieMan000
Location: Lynnwood, Washington
Before Dead Island, my main focus as far as zombie games go was COD Zombies and The Walking Dead TV show. Then a got my PS3, and I started REALLY gaming. All of the hot titles I had never gotten the oppertunities to play were now a pocket full of money away. I tried a few, then, a few weeks ago, Dead Island caught my eye. I had heard good things about it, so I rented it from the nearest Redbox. I immediatly fell in love. On my first day of gameplay I got my very own car, a new base of operations, and an upgraded mace. The blood and gore level in the game made COD Zombies seem like My Little Poney. I will admit I have not completed it yet. Nor has any oppertunity popped up for me to play online multiplayer. But once again, I am in love with the game. DI2 trailers has not shown me much of what to expect, but I am certian it will be good. Great-looking graphics, a cheap price and the sheer of excitment of knowing its real and not just hype.My only problem is that it is coming out at the start (very close at least) of 2014. That is way to long. Im already anxious for Hitman Absolution to come out and I only heard about it a month ago. If the creators of Riptide are listening (they're not) please release this game earlier. I'll die of anxiety if I have to wait a YEAR!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Review 16 for Dead Island Riptide
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/13
Bucksnort
Location: Wisconsin, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Cool I love the gameplay I even got scared at some parts! The game is definitely recommended I love zombie games!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Dead Island Riptide
Story is good, gameplay is not
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
Breanna2405
Location: Murrieta, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This was an anticipated game for me, considering I played the first one. This was my birthday present, got it preordered. Played it right when I got it...I could tell it wasn't the best game. The graphics, they are down right bad..the combat is glitchy and there are many bugs in the game like you can't even save at an area, and the checkpoints are separated far. I was exploring one time, went into a room and I jumped from chapter 2 to chapter 11 and had to fight off 20+ zombies for a completely different mission. The sounds can get repetitive but are pretty cool. Overall, not recommending the game and I am returning it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 18 for Dead Island Riptide
Hope Its Awesome!
Posted on:7/26/12
Braski13
Location: North ridgeville, OH
I got stuck on the last dead island. but i beat it and it was a very fun packed scare for my family to watch me play.! i am super happy they are making another one! Cant wait!
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iceadded
detroit
 
Please wait while more information about iceadded is loaded.
Additional information about iceadded could not be loaded.
gg
Posted 9/9/12
im only getting it if its 2 players offline and 4 on
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Dead Island Riptide
ZOMBIE BAIT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/13
HFBVHFBVUIBFEVIEFBNJHYUG
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok for those of u on the fence, this game is worth buying, if u played the first one and liked it then theres no reason y u wouldn't like this one, its really fun exploring the new locations killing new and old infected, now some quests like the first one can be frustrating or tedious but over all its not a bad experience, it picks up where the first left off, same characters and one extra joins the group very cool guy to, its really not a sequal its more a continuation same story same concept only infection is spreading beyong original island, so if u like Dead Island then get Riptide
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Dead Island Riptide
if had buy first dead island game.
Posted on:4/17/13
sunnyanks
Location: NY
if had buy first Dead island game and you like it, then you will like this as well but the first game was very short i finish game like in month. i hope the gameplay is longer than first game. this gotta be same like find parts, kill zombies help other people. in addition i'm buying this game because i had fun with first game so i think i will have fun with this. my friend, did not have fun with it. so still i gotta preorder later today so i can get bonus stuff. plus this game for zombies lovers lol. other hand this game open world map game i believe. i hope this was helpful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 2 3 next>>