GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2

In Castlevania: Lords of Shadow, the origin of Dracula and his legendary connection with the Belmonts was revealed. In Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2, fans can expect thrilling new twists and challenges. In this shocking conclusion to the Lords of Shadow saga, Dracula returns once again, weakened and yearning for release from his immortal bonds. Facing a new and powerful threat, the vampire lord must reacquire his old powers - and only his castle holds the key. However, the famed Belmont clan also seek his ultimate destruction.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
5
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 2186%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Review 1 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Dont Listen to Tards
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
Avatar29
I usually don't write reviews but after seeing someone rate this game a 5 just because his PS3 is fail or the copy he got is not working is crazy. That has nothing to do with the game so anyways this game is awesome I love it, I love how now finally you can rotate the camera and see the whole beautiful world around you. Graphics are freaking amazing Dracula looks and feels awesome they really made you feel the change from human to Dracula and its beautiful and fun, combat never felt better in this series. The game is more open world now so you can explore lots of areas and figure stuff out without having to come back so much and redo missions but you prob will since combat is so fun and looks great and flows smoothly, only problem I have is I wish you could zoom the camera in and out but it does a great job of auto zooming in and out so its no big deal, the fact that you can rotate the camera to enjoy all aspects of the scenery is so great and you have so many cool Dracula abilities man this game is the best man I tell you now you can tear some stuff up if you take the time to learn 2 play really goodand the story is off the charts they done such a wonderful job between part 1 and 2 I love it. Get this game is you played the 1st one or not I promise you wont be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Drewcious281
NM
 
Please wait while more information about Drewcious281 is loaded.
Additional information about Drewcious281 could not be loaded.
Well Said
Posted 3/4/14
I just wanted to agree with this poster. He did a very description of why this game rocks. Gabriels weapons are even more awesome than from Lords of Shadow 1. I repeat "Dont listen to Tards and stupid Critics"!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Time to Usher in Another Masterpiece
Posted on:6/6/12
Meddycalf
The first Lords of Shadow was a visually striking game that presented a refined game-play experience. It boasted a medley of rich environments, interesting characters, and a sonorous orchestral score. Every minute detail dazzled with an apparent sense of polish. I'm so utterly thrilled to hear announcements of a sequel. Hopefully it delivers even more so than its remarkable predecessor!
38 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Twizle
 
Please wait while more information about Twizle is loaded.
Additional information about Twizle could not be loaded.
castlevania LoS 2
Posted 7/18/12
Ya know I was really excited about the first lords of shadow game... Though when I got it I was very sorely dissapointed. :/ Not that it wasn't a decent game, but it didn't have a castlevania feel to it in game play or story :( and that made me so very sad. So that is why I don't have any real intrest in this title sad to say, even though it does look like another half way decent game (just more polished). I hope someday soon we can all get a few titles that bring us back that TRUE castlevania feel that I know I had grown to know and love as a child.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Really Underestimated Game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Retribution888
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I truly enjoyed this game, the first game had better story telling do to the fact that it was level-based, and you received a narration from Patrick Stewart every level. However, I don't see why people are upset. This game has wonderful story-telling, the best in-game music you'll ever hear, due to the fact that they used the largest orchestra in video game history. Also, they capture a lot of the essence of the old Castlevania series. The gameplay is solid, I haven't had a glitch yet. It runs smoothly and I haven't gotten frustrated with how it plays. The graphics are amazing for the ps3 console. Also, the designs of the whole game are beautiful. My only complaints are the forced "stealth missions" which are more like puzzles (which the first LoS was known for), so it wasn't too terrible. Secondly, half the game takes place in the modern setting...which I wasn't a large fan of. It was incorporated well, but to me Castlevania is more of a medieval adventure. However, I have been anticipated this game for a long time and it hasn't let me down.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Konami unveils another Masterpiece
Posted on:9/5/12
Alucart777
Location: Orlando,FL
After the overlooked but amazing Lords of Shadow comes another epic Castlevania game. We see Gabriel in the trailer has become a full blooded vampire after the events of LOS1. Morphing into a bat of smoke and ash and wiping out thousands of Templar crusaders that wish to purge the evil, the one thing Gabriel fought so much against, that has consumed him. This game will take place after the events of Mirror Of Fate on 3DS, which is to bridge the gap between 1&2 which should release around November.
*SPOILER ALERT*
Alucard is the man seen in the end of the trailer. The white hair, the ancestral armor, and that sword. Konami has tried to debunk every rumor about it being him, and considering Alucard is Dracula spelled backwards and Gabriel became Dracula at the end of LOS 1, Get hype, cause we'll be playing as Gabriel and Alucard.
*SPOILER ALERT*
In Mirror of Fate you see that Gabriel has had two children, Trevor and Simon Belmont, and they learn of their mother's demise and want revenge against the man who did it. Has the same combat style of LOS in a 2.5D setting.
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
LegendaryScarfo
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about LegendaryScarfo is loaded.
Additional information about LegendaryScarfo could not be loaded.
Huh?!?
Posted 1/16/14
You got it completely mixed up! Trevor is Gabriel's son. Simon is Trevor's son.
Customer Avatar
hugeassface
 
Please wait while more information about hugeassface is loaded.
Additional information about hugeassface could not be loaded.
close!
Posted 3/20/13
trevor is gabriel's son. simon is trevor's son.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Needed a better ending
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/14
jacobikenobi88
Location: Napa, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The gameplay mechanics were really smooth and fluid. Transitioning from weapon to weapon in the middle of combos kept the fighting fun, particularly the diverse enemies who made use of all weapons. The boss fights definitely didn't dissapoint, especially on Prince of Darkness difficulty, always have to stay on your toes. The voice casting was perfect. Robert Carlyle and Patrick Stewart gave the characters depth and life, as did the supporting cast. The stealth was very bland, although it was cool to turn into a swarm of rats, which was a nice homage to Nosferatu. The ending made meeting feel like I just watched the series finale of Lost, St. Elsewhere and the ending to A Beautiful Mind. Not too content with it. The DLC to play as Alucard definitely helped this game, some of Alucard's abilities should have been Dracula's, bat-teleport in particular.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Another master piece
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
elcomebackking
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Huge castlevania fan, this one is unique but still a very very great game, great story. The sound is phenomenal and the abilities Dracula has are amazing. Great combat, beautiful architectural in the buildings.. Am really enjoying LOS2. For any true castlevania fan, this game is amazing... I just hope they continue doing Castlevania games like this..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
I freakn love this game
Posted on:7/23/12
Jsmooth26
Location: Memphis,TN
When I played lords of shadow I was so amazed of the detail and the graphics the graphics were to sick it was in my opinion better than god of war and the music they had fitted right wit the game it made you wanna play more and more and more my suggestion if you haven't played one make sure you do b4 you move on to part two I'm gonna reserve this as soon as I get paid i'ma pay it off I hope they have a collectors edition like the last one did.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lORDOFsHADOW
 
Please wait while more information about lORDOFsHADOW is loaded.
Additional information about lORDOFsHADOW could not be loaded.
COLLECTORS EDITION ASAP
Posted 8/31/12
THIS GAME DEF NEEDS A COLLECTORS EDITION, GREAT FIRST GAME AND LOVE ALL FIGHTING TACTICS. SECOND ONE IS GONNA BE AMAZIIIIING
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
omegared004
Location: oc,california
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Story is amazing and love how they pulled the history of the Belmont clan and coincides with Dracula. The game is beautiful remniscent of GOW; but with it's own flare. Playing a game that deals with past, present, and future. This Castlevania epic game is def worth playing and buying. I love it!! And I have been a fan since the begining for NES. New direction they took is a start over and refresh to the series. We old school fans should appreciate having Castlevania still in our videogames today. Others might hate it for it but it's 2014 people's! It needs to change a bit..but I'm enjoying this game very much!! Get it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
A great game for some
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I would say that this game is great for fans of the first one, like myself. The best aspect of the game is its combat. If you enjoyed the combat in the first game then you will enjoy the combat in this one. The new additions to the combat, such as the Void Sword, are nice additions as well. The only real downside to the game is that the only people who might enjoy this game are fans of the first one. Other gamers might be turned off since most of what is in the game has been seen before in other games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Great for the first few hours...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
yourunclebob
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a fan of this series however but LoS2 has got to be one of the worst installments to date. Visually it is very good and gameplay is ok. I think Konami was banking on the visuals to distract from its more or less shallow content. The brooding reluctant hero approach is lame. Am I supposed to believe that the "Prince of Darkness" suddenly develops a conscience? The weapons mastering also reeks of lazy development it should actually read: repeat exact same button sequence with the 3 different weapons. New game+ is another unsatisfying feature; what they really mean is you can start the game over with all the secrets (by secrets I mean pain boxes, xp generating dungeon locks, and alters of sacrifice) already found and all of your xp for weapons you no longer have. Exploring the world becomes pointless since you have to progress to certain parts of the game to reach areas that will contain nothing. What happened to the days of playing through again as Richter, Joaqim, or Trevor? Alucard is there as an NPC. Overall this game is worth a single play through. Just try to find all the stuff the first time through since new game+ takes away all the useful abilities until you progress through the game again.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
AMAZING!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/14
samurai400
Location: Los Angeles, ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The graphics,story,and the music are what made my $60 well spent.the begining wastes no time getting to action and story. It also recaps on what happened in the 3ds previous castlevania game. The only reason I did not give a solid 10 is because the game froze on me twice.and they make you use stealth missions as a rat and that is why most websites gave it a bad review(even gameinformer ) And I almost didn't buy the game because of the bad reviewes. So if you loved the first one, and want a solid story and action(epic) game . this is it. I haven't played a game 5 hours straight in years I think. There's about 15 plus hours of gameplay. The ending is well worth the rat missions and frustrating puzzles. The combat system is flawless.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Castlevania LOS 2
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
jprock
Location: Dallas, TX
I was so excited about this game for months and after the demo it looked promising. The actual game is nowhere near as good as the first. It is very repetitive with sub par graphics. It seems like I'm always waiting on an elevator to take me somewhere or going back through a previously explored area multiple times. The game gets borring and it is not what you would expect after playing the first. I would not recommend this game to anyone, it freezes constantly and has lots of glitches. It was poorly put together and I wish I could get my money back.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/14
dragon13
Location: Carson City, NV
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Despite the negativity this game, and series, has received, this game is great. I never was a big fan of Castlevania although I found the series interesting; however, once I bought the Lords of Shadow series, I became a huge fan of Castlevania. This game is great and has an interesting plot and an interesting take on Dracula. I really do not find any problems with this game. Although the stealth sections can be a bit awkward and out of place, they are short and work well enough to where they are not annoying. I wish they could have done more with the modern city, like more interactions with people or just something like that. Anyone who enjoyed the first game and Mirror of Fate should buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Alucard?
Posted on:8/3/12
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
I'm curious to see who we will be playing as in this game. At the end of the trailer we see Alucard ready to fight Gabriel but who is good and who is evil? Who will we be playing as? So excited!
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Pretty Darn Good... So Far...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/14
Chromagnum
Location: Missouri
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I haven't cmpleted it yet, but what I've played through has been visually stunning and fun. The story, though, is what has really been bringing me back to it. The story has been captivating. I'll admit, I wasn't entirely keen on the idea of Dracula being in modern times at first... but it is panning out quite well, actually. I've enjoyed it. I WILL stress that you should definitely play through the first one, if you haven't already done so. Again, I haven't completed the game yet, but I will say that the experience has been a pleasant one, so far. I don't think fans of the series will be disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
I love the Castlevania Saga
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/14
shreveport
Location: Phoenix, Az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Castlevania is an instant classic how can anyone rate this game other than what it deserves which is either a 9 or 9.5. I finished the first Lords of shadow and it was awesome I'm a huge castlevania fan dating back to the very first one the NES. Don't even question whether or not to get this game if you are a castlevania fan you need to get this game asap!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Nice epic action game
Posted on:8/26/13
ayobro
People mouth water over these next gen. titles with over complicated GUI's and loose story telling, but Castlevania does well enough on its own with out useless stats and repetitive online play.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
EPIC!!! BRILLIANT!!! STUNING!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/14
elcomebackking
Location: Deerfield Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I freaking LOVE this game!, love the Castlevania games and LOS series has been a truly amazing story of the Belmont Clan. This game has everything a true gamer could ask for, musically, graphically, controls, story, gameplay etc... Gabriel "Dracula" is soo freaking kool. Lots of action and love how your able to go to the past and present time, the background castles are Beautiful. I just hope they continue to do castlevania like this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
another great castlvania epic tale
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/14
harleyh7373
Location: carrollton ms
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
if you are a castlvania fan you will love is game,but if you have never played a castlvania game give it a try its never too late. plays alot like god of war but dont get me wrong its not god of war has more exploring than god of war. no glitches (have about 15 hours of time invested) and no freeze ups. over all it is a must try for all gamers.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Castlevania: Lords of Shadow 2
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/14
Kirai
Location: FL
This game was actually pretty awesome. The story ties together very well. Alucard was perfect tbh. As far as the other review saying the game was glitchy and freeze ups, did not happen for me at all. And the gameplay is pretty awesome as well to. Basically if you don't get this game, you make bad life decisions!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 next>>