GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition

Dark Souls is an upcoming action role-playing game from the developers who brought you Demon's Souls, FromSoftware. Dark Souls will have many familiar features: A dark fantasy universe, tense dungeon crawling, fearsome enemy encounters and unique online interactions. Dark Souls is a spiritual successor to Demon's, not a sequel. Prepare for a new, despair-inducing world, with a vast, fully-explorable horizon and vertically-oriented landforms. Prepare for a new, mysterious story, centered around the King's Crowns and the original, now dying flame at the center of the world. But most of all, prepare to die. You will face countless murderous traps, countless darkly grotesque monsters and several gargantuan, supremely powerful demons and dragons. You must learn from death to persist through this unforgiving world. And you aren't alone. Dark Souls allows the spirits of other players to show up in your world, so you can learn from their deaths and they can learn from yours. New to Dark Souls is Beacon Fire, where you can share the experiences of your adventure with the spirits of other players. Around the Beacon Fire, you may find the only warmth and calm that exists in this dark world. Beware: There is no place in Dark Souls that is truly safe. With days of game play and an even more punishing difficulty level, Dark Souls will be the most deeply challenging game you play this year. Can you live through a million deaths and earn your legacy?
Average Customer Rating:
7.692
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
10 out of 1377%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Review 1 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Best Game Ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
Atropos
Location: Orange, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Demon Souls, Dark Souls and now the PC edition with DLC Prepare to Die i don't think I've had more fun playing any other game. Great single player play and even greater pvp style system.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Once you get the ball rolling you never stop.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/14
Kotojo
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been playing this game since it came out day one for ps3, and then picked up the pc version when it came out. For those of you familiar with demon's souls this game will be another loved game that will seem familiar, but with many additions and improvements. Those that have never played a souls game this will possibly seem like an insurmountable level of difficulty in gameplay, and to just figure out where you are going. I promise you if you can take the time to sit down and make it through the first boss then you will know if this is for you. Don't give up so easily though. It has a very subtle story line to it that is told through the npcs, item descriptions, and just the world around you. This game is visually wonderful for the time frame it came out in, and the atmosphere is one of the best qualities of the game. After 500+ hours of gameplay I can say this game is my favorite RPG of all time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
Seppuku1191
The game is amazing. Lil hard and unforgiving at times but that adds the fun. Love what"s happening with the pc expansion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darksky777
On Dark Souls SL 200
 
Please wait while more information about darksky777 is loaded.
Additional information about darksky777 could not be loaded.
If you like the ease of COD this is not for you
Posted 7/24/12
with this game comes death rage and quitting but probably the most rewarding gaming experience most people will ever have. this game doesnt allow you to eat bullet, run past hard enemies and destroy bosses even on NG+ its not easier in fact NG+ is 2.5 times harder. all the hard bosses are harder all the easy enemies murder you in hoards, so wheres the fun? the fun is dying and coming back with knowledge of death this game is for the people who have stayed up all night trying to beat a difficult boss and who love that feeling of beating that super hard boss, who you weren't suppose to face yet, after an all nighter. if you like that if you like the challenge then this beautifully dark game will give you what you love
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Best game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/12
JoeCamo
Location: Olympia, WA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, first of all, stay away from strategy guides, and/or Googling anything about how to play or beat this game. Just go into the game blind. It will be the most engaging video game experience you've ever had. You are dropped into a huge world with very little guidance as to what you need to do. But you will learn the do's and don'ts of the game very quickly, without setting yourself back too far. But, I can't wait to see the additions in this edition of the game, as well as the online features they have added. I've already purchased the game on Xbox and will be buying the PC version in hopes that the lag problems on the Xbox version, in a certain portion area of the game, have been resolved, as well as I know my computer should have no issues running that certain portion of the game. Regardless of the graphical issues, on the Xbox version at least, with the original version on PS3 and Xbox 360 you should prepare to die, over and over again. I would not recommend this game for younger gamers for the mere fact that, unless they are a prodigy child, they will hate this game from the lack of directions, and from the very subtle hints of direction you need to take. You have to pay attention to the story and what they NPCs are saying or else you will never (or have a really difficult time) figure out how to beat this game, unless you buy the strategy guide, which again will take away from the experience of Dark Souls. 10/10 I am definitely buying this game again for the PC.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Challenging, fair, and well put together.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
Ubertaker
Location: plainview, tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game starts you from scratch. You learn only from experience and are forced to create strategies to further yourself in the game. after you beat a boss the game really envelops you and turns the game almost into an addiction. the game is hard but it is fair. its possible in my opinion to go through the whole game without leveling up at all. all-though that would make the game very, very hard. the only thing about the game the IRRITATES you off the most is the invaders and the pvp system. the pvp or co-op system has some glitches. after a while you might want to invade but as a low lv there are a few that invade and make the game frustrating. the co-op is only available when you are in a form you can be invaded in. the gameplay is amazing. it is varied from player to player. it is changed by weapons, weight, magic-use, and other things... in my opinion this game is... AWESOME ----- Ubertaker
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Game is broken
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/12
zjod95
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I went into this expecting it to be great, just like the versions on PS3 and Xbox 360. I went into this hoping it would be just as fun and challenging.
I came out regretting my purchase.
Why, you may ask? What could it have been that changed my opinion so drastically?
THE PORT IS SO HORRIBLE YOU CANNOT PLAY IT.
I.E.: "Press A"; now, the problem is, there is no key binding for "A", only for action, so you have to search every key on your keyboard for what does that action, and you find out it is Q.
I would continue with all the examples, but I need to find a way to either fix the game or get a refund.
All in all, until they fix the port, DO NOT BUY IT.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 50 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Pwoolston
Costa Mesa, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Pwoolston is loaded.
Additional information about Pwoolston could not be loaded.
PC Port
Posted 9/17/12
This game is way better on the PC than the PS3 and Xbox 360. The Graphics are superior and framerate as well. Sorry the hardware on the PS3 and Xbox 360 can not live up to the performance of a PC. Use the Xbox 360 controller and the Durante patch (NeoGAF DSfix) this is pretty easy to setup took me 5 mintues.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Suggestion
Posted 9/12/12
Did you read the recommendations for it to suggest using a controller vs the keyboard? That is why the suggestion is there.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Absolutely amazing.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/13
ManlyTeddyBear
Location: Aurora, Co
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is brilliant, the layout is incredible, the game play is amazing, the combat is intense but precise. This isn't a game that you can just rush through, you can't take on many enemies at once, and you certainly can't just casually play it. With this game, the challenge is the reward. Taking so many attempts just to beat a boss, just makes beating it all the more rewarding. The DLC took did nothing but improve it, it answered questions, raised more suspicions, and started even more rumours. The new weapons, armour, and consumables are amazing, and fun. I would recommend this game to anyone looking for a game that takes patience and wants a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
360 controller required
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/9/13
BlokHedd
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
just an fyi all the complainers in these reviews are upset that while you can use the keyboard and mouse its still designed for an xbox controller. when it says hit "A" it means the "A" on the controller. I have played on all platforms and PS3 was the worst. It had huge texture pop in problems.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
UNFINISHED GAME, DO NOT BUY!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/12
Captpancake
Location: USA, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First let me start off by saying, Dark Souls is the best game ever made for PS3 or Xbox360. The reason I am telling you not to buy this because it is a total waste of money because the designers NEVER finished formatting the game for PC... it is unplayable, the game itself is still 100% still an Xbox game and they intend for you to play it on PC. Please listen to my warning and don't waste 40$ on it like I did. Buy Dark Souls for PS3 or Xbox
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
8 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sirLoin
Behind You.
 
Please wait while more information about sirLoin is loaded.
Additional information about sirLoin could not be loaded.
I must be Buddah
Posted 10/25/12
because I finished the game. If it's so unplayable why is the only time I suffered slow down where everyone else who has ever played the same, Blighttown. It plays fine on PC, and I would recommend it over the console version if you can run it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Best money I've ever spent.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/13
IOnlyPlayRealGames
Location: Oregon
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is absolutely amazing. Forget what some of the negative comments are saying. The only reason they didn't experience it fully, is because they didn't take the time to optimize it. The PC port in and of itself isn't the greatest. but if you use a controller from PS3/X360, you'll be perfectly fine for playing. That combined with some of the community fixes, make this one of the best games you will ever play. Dark Souls has far and away exceeded my expectations for a game, and I can hardly play anything else as a result; most other things can't compare.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
DONT BUY IT FOR PC
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Mcars
Location: ny
This game is broken for PC. It displays Xbox 360 controls there is no menu so you cant equip anything
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Amazing Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/13
Zlifno
Location: Fremont,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The fighting part is hard in the beginning, but you get used to it. Amazing graphics and story! Would recommend this to anyone !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Dark Souls: Prepare To Die Edition
Best RPG game Ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/17/12
Pwoolston
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I played Dark Souls on the PS3 for 230 hours now I purchased it for the PC and it's even better! I Highley recommend this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.