GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition

BEFORE HE WAS A GOD, HE WAS A MAN. Vengeance is born in the fires of betrayal in this prequel to the best-selling God of War franchise. Six months have passed since Kratos stood over the bodies of his wife and child, his hands stained with their blood - tricked by Ares into murdering the only people he ever loved. Swearing to avenge them, Kratos broke the blood oath that bound him to Ares, but oaths to Olympus are not so easily broken...
Average Customer Rating:
9.429
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1493%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Review 1 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
B3A$T!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
partyanimal501
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok!! heres the deal, I am a freak about greek mythology, and bloody and awesome games, so when a game comes out that is about both of those, i can't wait to be holding that game, and playing it to my hearts content, I have god of war 3 and it was beast, my favorite part is when you take hades soul. anyways this game also has multiplayer (FINALLY!!!!) that looks just as great as the story.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Statue Collector
Posted on:1/21/13
Sabinx7
Location: McAllen, TX
I'm really looking forward for this new game. I know that most of you are looking for something cool to add to your collection, and having 2 different statues of Kratos will do the trick, having this one from Ascension and from the Omega Collection will definitely be an eye opener. Can't wait to see how the whole story unveils.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
could this be the 8'' statue???
Posted on:7/14/12
R3DRAIN89
Location: CALI
Taken from the god of war blog about god of war: ascension process on kratos e3 2012 display,this itself was a concept art only but wasn't used at e3 due to height issues and what not. This stood out as if it may be the one everyone who pre - order's gets .take a look at for your self and tell me . ya never know.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SPJammer
 
Please wait while more information about SPJammer is loaded.
Additional information about SPJammer could not be loaded.
Posted 7/15/12
That would be so epic if that is the statue that came with the game. Would definitely pay the $80.00 just to get the statue.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
amazing
Posted on:7/18/12
crunkkid
Location: hartland,wi
this game looks intense ive played god of war since it came out this is one of the best games ever made. one thing i dont understand how the online is going to work
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
holdendmcg
USA
 
Please wait while more information about holdendmcg is loaded.
Additional information about holdendmcg could not be loaded.
Answer
Posted 1/10/13
If you want to know, play the beta! It's on the PSN right now. Instant access for all Playstation Plus members, and if you don't have Plus, IGN was giving out beta codes and may still be. Spoiler alert: IT'S AWESOME!!!!
Customer Avatar
Pekkou
Sweden
 
Please wait while more information about Pekkou is loaded.
Additional information about Pekkou could not be loaded.
Posted 12/31/12
Can you play this on a EU account, this is the best deal ever all the stores close to me costs something like 260 dollar. and they do not even have the 300 exlusive please tell me.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 5 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Love Kratos, But WAAAAY too many bugs!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/13
Phynese
Location: Queens, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I think Santa Monica Rushed this game out for no reason! I am the Biggest Kratos fan! I mean I Purchased my PS3 because of God Of War! Lets start off by saying the collectors issue was a good buy! $79.00 was a great price and you get a lot! the statue is nice gave to my son! the disc contains the soundtrack ( just incase you want to experience being in the halls of Olympus) and other peripherals... But the game was a headache I mean the other day I took off from work and thought hey let me play GOW.. and I dedicated 5 hours for it to then freeze and I had to manually reboot the system.. when I started again I had lost 5 hours of gameplay... it has done it many times throughout the game also.. I am not the only one also some of my buddies had the same issue... I mean I'm waiting on Santa Monica to fix this issue..im disappointed with overall gameplay.. they should have taken care of this issue! but since I am a GOW fan ill look past it and just wait a while till ill play this game again,.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 6 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
WOW!
Posted on:7/25/12
Gamersince93
Location: Right here
Alright, I'll make this easy. Buy this.Think about it. You get an 8 inch statue, a steel book case, the soundtrack, PSN avatars and themes, Multiplayer XP Pack, and a pass for future DLC content. All that for $20 extra. This is the best deal ive seen for a collectors edition, usually you get an artbook, an ingame item and a steel book, This is a must buy. I would buy this than any other collectors edition that is over 100 dollars.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gopack21
 
Please wait while more information about gopack21 is loaded.
Additional information about gopack21 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/15/13
Idk if it is the best collectors edition because when i got resident evil 6 it came with 1-5 too but anyways i love god of war i can't wait for this game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
A MUST for Collectors and everyone
Posted on:1/24/13
PungYo
Location: Berkeley,CA
This Collector's Edition is a MUST for collectors, fans, and anyone new to the series everywhere! I'm getting into the this series myself and from what I've seen and know of the previous installments, I have to say this doesn't look like it will disappoint. And for the price? 80 bucks for DLC pass, a 6" statue, Tin steel case, 300's Leonidas skin, and a few other in-game stuff? This beats many other Collector's Edition ever came out! (I'm looking at you Mass Effect 3) Plus if you're new to this series like me, this is a great time to get in with the 'God of War Saga' floating out there packed with 5 full God of War games ( I think that's all of them) for only 30 bucks. So I see no reason why any fans and new comers would pass this Collector's Edition up :)
PS. I've heard that if you buy the "God of War Saga" used, you won't get the codes for the games you have to download from PS Store, so try to get it new for your ultimate God of War collection.
Review 8 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Finally you add it!
Posted on:6/23/12
WweRyan
Location: Owensboro, KY
I wrote a preview on the regular edition on what this comes with. I am going to try to put money down on this asap so it does not sell out. This is way worth the game for the price and the kratos statue is probs gonna look sick on my tv stand. GOD OF WAR FTW!!!! (Have played every god of war and not missing out on this one)
What sony needs to do maybe around nov or so, release a god of war ultimate collection for around 50-70 dollars. Having God of war 1, 2, 3, ghost, and chains in the same box (not disc i dont think sony could put all 5 on one disc but i could be wrong) So people who have not played any can jump right into the chaos, or people wanting all the games in one collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ohbasa
 
Please wait while more information about ohbasa is loaded.
Additional information about ohbasa could not be loaded.
To yahoo000000
Posted 8/2/12
to yahoo000000, you definitely need to play GOW 1 prior to this game but I would suggest playing GOW 1+2+3. The games are so great, playing through them is a breeze, You can skip Ghost of Sparta and Chains of Olympus. They are great but not but in story progression.
Customer Avatar
REEQ215
 
Please wait while more information about REEQ215 is loaded.
Additional information about REEQ215 could not be loaded.
~Multiplayer for the 1st time~
Posted 7/25/12
Finally god of war added multiplayer
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
THIS IS HOW A GAME SHOULD BE MADE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
HAZEEN
Location: CLOSE TO HEAVEN!
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THE [ONLY[ THING THEY COULD IMPROVE ON IS INCORPORATING CO-OP! THIS GAME HAS EVERYTHING! IMPECCABLE STORY MODE !! ADDICTING AND WELL DEVELOPED MULTIPLIER! AND THE BEST SOUNDTRACK THUS FAR! THE MULTIPLIER IS SHORT OF NOTHING! I CANNOT WAIT FOR WEAPONS OR EVEN MORE GODS ON THE DLC PACKAGE! THE DEAL YOU GET WHEN GETTING THE COLLECTORS EDITION IS TOP NOTCH! THERE IS NOTHING MORE I CAN ASK FOR. ONE OF THE MOST SATISFYING GAMES OF MY LIFE!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
such an awesome game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
pauly08
Location: monroeville,pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
now this is my first god of war game and i must say it is awesome!!! the graphics are amazing the gameplay is terrific i just wish i would have started playing all of the GOW games awhile back but now i cant wait to start playing the other ones :) but i havent played the multiplayer yet but for this type of game idk why they would have it so idk if i am going to play it yet but i highly recommend it!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
A TREAT FOR YOUR AUDIO AND VISUAL SENSES
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/13
mojpeptan
Location: Houston, Tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is NOT for kids. That's my one disclaimer. Other than that, I would absolutely recommend this. The story is deep. The characters are complex and the score is superb. In a world of FPS monotony, this genre is what reminds people why they love being a gamer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
This is the reason why I switch to ps3
Posted on:1/26/13
Knightknight
Location: ORLANDO,FL
Cant wait to get this game.Im 99% sure im not going to regret trading my xbox . I just wish i got the omega editon :( trying to look online , looks like nobody is selling thier omega edition , this is just a worth it game , just for 20$ more u get a ton of extra this is a no brainer.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sabinx7
McAllen, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Sabinx7 is loaded.
Additional information about Sabinx7 could not be loaded.
Omega Edition
Posted 3/10/13
I have one man, actually i'm selling it on ebay if you are interested, you should look it up
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Going to be awesome!!
Posted on:9/9/12
Dabman678
Location: New Jersey, NJ
I LOVEE! god of war and this is going to be even awesomer for just twenty bucks more Sony Santa Monica knows how to do things, if you find any enjoyment in god of war which who dosent? GET THIS NOW! like right now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
So Far...So Good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
AzzKickr
Location: Belleville, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
While I'm not exactly finished with the game (I certainly hope not, hahaha) after being about 4-5+ hours in I'm still taken with the angles, the puzzles, features and graphics that the game is comprised of. With the same familiar fighting system slightly modified I love that I can get right back to the feel of Kratos in little to no time and I can't wait to get back into the arena online to destroy! My PSN is Venom417, see ya out there folks! Pros on the package: You get dlc for playstation all stars and many other in game valuables that you'd otherwise have to pay for. The game case in awesome, the statue is kinda cool, feels cheap but for $20 no complaints!Cons: What cons? This is god of war, there are no cons!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Gamestop South Asia SHIPPING
Posted on:10/13/12
ASJayekody
Location: Sri Lanka
Can anyone confirm me if this will be delivered to Sri Lanka....I am a really big fan of the GOW franchise and this game looks promising....now we know why SANTA MONICA thought of mutiplayer...definitely going to preorder this....can anyone from GAMESTOP confirm me if it will ship to SRI LANKA....thanks
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lilithe
Missouri, USA
 
Please wait while more information about Lilithe is loaded.
Additional information about Lilithe could not be loaded.
Posted 10/19/12
GameStop US will not. But GameStop is all over the place, so there is probably a "version" of GameStop that will. If you look at the bottom of the website, there is a section called 'GameStop Around the World.' Maybe see if one of the areas down there is near you and try their website?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
VERY bloody
Posted on:8/5/12
xDEATHxPUNCHx
Location: Wisconsin
like god of war 3 i hope it will be ground breaking. my dad said i hopes its EPIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
Should be Awesome !!
Posted on:6/24/12
luvgaming
Location: Pittsburgh
I just pre-ordered this game and can't wait to get my hands on this... This is my first preview and that should explain what an awesome series GOW I think is... The storyline would really be interesting and I am guessing the graphics would be several notches higher above GOW 3. This will definitely be an epic game. A Kratos statue is an icing on the cake :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
BEST ACTION GAME!!!
Posted on:8/28/12
lilboricua777
Location: TN
I really enjoy playing God of War! This hopefully will be better than the rest, seeing as it went back in time before Kratos had to fight Ares! I cannot wait until next year when it drops. I wonder if they're going to make another GOW after what all happened in GOW3! OH YEAH--add me on PSN :::>>> Castroredfire212 <<<<<
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Snake241079
 
Please wait while more information about Snake241079 is loaded.
Additional information about Snake241079 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/4/12
Just finished platinuming the saga collection. Looking forward to this one, hopefully if the mp has trophies then its actually fun and not tedious and unnessassary. Love the series, I'm sure this one will be just as awesome!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
CANNOT WAIT!!!!
Posted on:1/2/13
GodofWarJuggalo
Location: IL
I am a huge GoW fan! Every game only got better every time, & GoW III was just amazing. The only thing I'm worried about is after putting out 5 different titles for God of War, they are now doing multiplayer..the fact that GoW had always been a single-player franchise was one of my favorite "pros" of the games. You look at games like Call of Duty, their campaigns are way too short..because of multiplayer. & I already read that Ascension's story is going to be shorter than the other ones. That was not a rumor either..I just hope they don't ruin a GREAT title because of this lame multiplayer feature......
Review 20 for God of War: Ascension Collector's Edition
look's great!!
Posted on:7/29/12
yahoo000000
Location: monroeville,pa
i had just recently bought a ps3 and my question is too anyone who can answer it is do i need too play the other god of war games before playing this one or is this one a prequel too the first??
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
Customer Avatar
xxxhhhxxx
chicago IL
 
Please wait while more information about xxxhhhxxx is loaded.
Additional information about xxxhhhxxx could not be loaded.
Posted 8/13/12
this is a prequel, but like many on here already said you should play the first God of War games first. Well God of War Saga is coming out which has all the previous God of War games for only $40, so i would strongly recommend you buy that first. i am pretty sure you will hooked with it, and finish all the five games in a week or so.
Customer Avatar
msummers
 
Please wait while more information about msummers is loaded.
Additional information about msummers could not be loaded.
Posted 8/10/12
If you really want to list the games in order of time within the game, then is would be as follows: 1) GoW - Ascension, 2) GoW - Chains of Olympus, 3) God of War (GoW), 4) GoW - Ghost of Sparta, 5) God of War II, and 6) God of War III. I think that this would be the correct order of play
Customer Avatar
DOmiNicanBoy21
New York
 
Please wait while more information about DOmiNicanBoy21 is loaded.
Additional information about DOmiNicanBoy21 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Play the others first
Posted 8/8/12
Even though technically it is a prequel, you should play the other five games first. PLay them in the order they came out, just as the developers intended it to be. Lucky for you though on August 28th a collection of all 5 games with some extra goods will release for $40. Definitely look into this. P.S Please disregard my nickname. I made this account about 4 years ago. Curse my 12 year old self.
Customer Avatar
WWEFAN25
 
Please wait while more information about WWEFAN25 is loaded.
Additional information about WWEFAN25 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/2/12
Yes I agree with the person who commented on your question. if you wanna go platinum on all 3 be warned gow 1,2,3 challenge mode are difficult especially the 1st one
Customer Avatar
BradTheMutt
Macclenny, Florida
 
Please wait while more information about BradTheMutt is loaded.
Additional information about BradTheMutt could not be loaded.
Its a Prequel
Posted 8/1/12
This is a prequel but its like after another prequel per say. I believe Chains of Olympus is before this storywise then its Ascension and finally you actually get to the first game.
Customer Avatar
ko84
Wichita, KS
 
Please wait while more information about ko84 is loaded.
Additional information about ko84 could not be loaded.
Posted 8/1/12
It's a prequel to the first game but they all are worth playing.
Customer Avatar
hitman7571
 
Please wait while more information about hitman7571 is loaded.
Additional information about hitman7571 could not be loaded.
YES
Posted 7/31/12
This is a prequel to the others but I strongly suggest playing the first three.
Comments (7)
Comments (7)
1 2 3 next>>