GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Other or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Nexus 7 16GB from Google™

Thin, light and portable, the Nexus 7 is a no compromise Android tablet that's designed to go where you go. With a stunning 7" display, powerful quad-core processor and up to 9 hours of HD video playback, 10 hours of web browsing or 10 hours of e-reading and up to 300 hours of stand-by time, Nexus 7 was built to bring you the best of Google in a slim, portable package that fits perfectly in your hand.
Average Customer Rating:
9.585
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
31
9 stars
8
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
41 out of 41100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Review 1 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Action Packed Jelly Bean
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/12
jhart
Location: Ogden, UT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This device is very capable, screen is perfect size for Android. I use N64 emulators and tons of applications. Perfect for HD movies and listening to music. Had an iPad2 and will never go back.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Love it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/9/12
Traceguy
Location: USA -- IOWA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So far I haven't found any flaws that make me regret buying it. Let me start off by telling you it has a GPS navigation system that works without 3G or even WiFi. You will only need WiFi for initializing the app so it can make navigation calculations using your current location.. It also has the ability to track how many MPH you are going. And it is very accurate at that. Have you hated Apple products when it came to getting music on your device? Well, with this device you will no longer need to plug into 1 computer sync, backup and copy music over using iTunes. You can plug it into any computer you chose and quickly and simply drag and drop the music of your choice into the music folder. You can even download music from the device straight to your music library. I gave it a 9/10 star because it does not have a second camera on the back. I WILL UPDATE THIS REVIEW WHEN AND WHERE IT IS NEEDED.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nickkylovesu
 
Please wait while more information about nickkylovesu is loaded.
Additional information about nickkylovesu could not be loaded.
goggle nexus 7
Posted 11/12/12
mine dont even want to work ill turn on but it wont write and let me get on the apps ugghh
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
this tablet is amazing!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
GarrettC
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So i was pleasantly surprised when yesterday morning GameStop called me and said my reserved copy of the Nexus 7 was already in!! Mind you I pre ordered it July 7th, and one week later on July 13th it was already in which is way before there suppose to be in stock especially for me, because I pre ordered it so late mine was going to be the second wave of shipments which was August 7th or so we thought haha.. I also traded in my iPad 1st Gen 32GB 3G for it giving me $270 in store credit which technically got me the Nexus 7 for free with money to spare, and WOW!!!!!! I couldnt be happier... This thing is lightning fast all videos are in HD, websites even big full ones load up in the snap of a finger and games looking excellent. I will never turn back and look at that Apple product again so so soooo glad i picked this up, even happier that in came in almost a month before it was supposed to!! I would for sure suggest people to lean towards getting one, and geez at this price its KILLING the competition ....... OH wait what competition?!?!?!?!?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GarrettC
Detroit, MI
 
Please wait while more information about GarrettC is loaded.
Additional information about GarrettC could not be loaded.
about that $25 gift card
Posted 7/22/12
Yes you do get the $25 gift card for the google play store at gamestop aswell.. its not a physical item like a real gift card, when you boot up your tablet and go on the store and buy something it pops up as a payment option saying you have a $25 credit balance.. its pretty smooth and the tablet is AMAZING!!! after owning it now for about a week.
Customer Avatar
HenryL
Madison, WI
 
Please wait while more information about HenryL is loaded.
Additional information about HenryL could not be loaded.
Quick Question
Posted 7/15/12
I was just on the curious side, did the nexus 7 tablet come with the 25 dollar gift certificate like google had promised? I wasn't sure if gamestop would do that, considering they might not be able to distribute them without permission... P.S. Congrats on the Tab!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Best tablet available, period
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/31/12
ciamos
Location: Plano, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best tablet available, period. Playing games and reading comic books on this is amazing, and the battery lasts pretty much all day. Anytime I need to use the restroom, my Nexus 7 goes too - from skimming news articles or getting in a game of Cut The Rope, it handles every task with speed and elegance. To be honest, the Nexus 7 is where it's at, with fully integrated Google services like Mail, Docs/Google Drive, Music, Videos and the Play Store. Added bonus - it plays all my videos and music without any problems, and google music actually stores up to 20 THOUSAND of my mp3s for FREE, with no bullcrap DRM. Suck on that Apple. Plus there's no need to sync to a bloated software program or anything, Google takes it all to the cloud. I think Google hit the nail on the head with the Nexus 7, from the features to the price point and right down to the placement of buttons. Thank you Google!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Great to trade-in games to help buy this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
vespa5
Location: South San Francisco, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I'm finally coming off a long video game addiction (I guess you can say I'm a recovering video game addict, ha ha) and decided that getting a tablet for school would be a lot more sensible and useful than buying another multiplayer game for X-box. So I traded in 10 games to my local Gamestop and accrued over $125 in store credit. So using that to help pay for a 16gb Nexus 7 was a fantastic investment. It's the closest thing to a useful tablet that's not produced by Apple. At first, I was wondering what I'm going to do with 16gb of space (that's a lot for me), then I realized, right off the bat, you have about 12+ gigs to use. So if you bought the 8gb version, you'd only have 4gb of space to play with. I have no regrets with this purchase. Don't forget to take advantage of Gamestop's 2-year warranty program. Seriously, if the battery dies, the screen gets cracked, you spill coffee on your tablet, they will replace it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
A splendid little machine
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/12
BurntPirate
Location: West Chester, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For $250, this tablet has pretty much everything. My ebooks and comics look fantastic with apps for Nook, Kindle, and an installed app for books from Google Play. It browses the internet quickly and smoothly, though no flash support. The touch screen works gorgeously picking up on even tiny links and no issues typing with the on-screen keyboard. The 7" screen is more portable and easier to handle then Apple's 10" iPad, while the system specs itself leaves Apple's competition in the dust. The only qualms are the lack of accessibility for digital GameInformer, the XBox Live app, and GameStop's own Powerup Rewards app. To be fair, the fault is on the part of the apps' publishers, not the tablet itself. Also, no way to expand on the memory, which is not a problem now, but may be down the road or for those who plan on putting a ton of music and movies on the device. Overall, definitely worth the money for a powerful little system
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nightmage80
 
Please wait while more information about nightmage80 is loaded.
Additional information about nightmage80 could not be loaded.
Adobe no longer supports flash for non-desktops
Posted 8/13/12
Adobe has abandoned Flash for HTML5. Android 4.1 is the first Android with no Flash support. Most developers can still use Flash to produce native Android or iOS apps but with Adobe's stance, Flash is pretty much dead.
Customer Avatar
jakeyam
nyc
 
Please wait while more information about jakeyam is loaded.
Additional information about jakeyam could not be loaded.
really?
Posted 7/21/12
really? it doesnt support flash? this is an android tablet, it supposed to be flash supported. try dowloading the flash player app..
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
GamestopJunkie
Location: moorestown nj
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love this tablet! I was so excited when I herd they were coming out and we could reserve. Now in saying that I should also state that I work for the company, I did my research on the tablet before trying to sell it. And I thought it was an amazing product with area's of interest for everyone. I picked mine up today after trading in some games. And well now I've been playing with for hours. The graphics and resolution are amazing, the WiFi doesn't lag at all.....that was a concern of mine at first. The only thing I would have like to seen is a manual, yes there's one built in but I like reading and exploring at the same time. I would love to seen a stylus included as well, I hate finger prints lol. The only major complaint I had was having to download the camera application.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Get on the bandwagon already!
Posted on:7/3/12
Stamatos
Location: Livermore CA
I've been touting the tablet form factor when HP was doing them, you know, BEFORE Apple "invented" it :P I've used everything from the high end Samsung devices to the Chinese Aurora line and by all accounts, this one is the one to get if you are new to this flavor of mobile computing. Google has thrown together a pretty tight ecosystem from Currents to G+ and Maps. They have replaced my need for a day planner, a TomTom and I never enjoyed social networking until I used circles to organize it.I probably sound like a Google fan boy and maybe I am but that doesn't change the fact that for $200, you can't afford not to try it. I was proud to be the first pre-order in Northern California.. now let's get these here before July 31st, please!
25 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Pure Google...12 cores.
Posted on:7/1/12
Crow11
Location: tx
The Nexus 7 from Google is not really getting to compete with the iPad. It doesn't need to. Is this a direct competitor with the Kindle Fire? Probably. This "Kindle Fire" killer is an awesome deal. 7" hd, the first tablet with quad cites, 12 core graphical processing power and Tegra 3. This is also the first device with "Jelly Bean". Yes out has no micro sd slot and no rear facing camera...but with cloud storage for all your music, pics & videos your set. And items just a matter of time before there its an adapter to hook up either a sd card or other usb device. This price is a steal for all you get. Also Google its throwing in $25.00 play store money and a free copy of Transformers Darkside of the moon.you know you want this and you have games to trade in.
30 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
municiple
 
Please wait while more information about municiple is loaded.
Additional information about municiple could not be loaded.
um 4 core tegra 3 no multithreading
Posted 7/14/12
tegra 3 does not have 12 cores it has 5 and can only use up to 4 at a time. the tegra 3 processor has 2 sets of cores. 1 set has only 1 core in it and its designed to be used in low stress apps or simple tasks so that it can save power by not running on the second set of 4 cores mainly used for power hungry apps. there is no multithreading. there are 5 cores but only 4 are usable at a time
Customer Avatar
Rodillo
Mexico
 
Please wait while more information about Rodillo is loaded.
Additional information about Rodillo could not be loaded.
I want to buy Nexus 7
Posted 7/3/12
Hi I'm from Mexico, and I would like to buy the new Nexus 7, is it available to delivery in Mexico. How much for the shipping? Thank you .
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Excellent Choice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
CamTek
Location: New England
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If your on the edge wondering which Tegra3 tablet you want, a 10" without HD, or a 7" with HD.....I can tell you the 7" with HD is well worth the 3" sacrifice, it goes well beyond making up for it! This tablet is exceptionally fast with a breathe taking picture....I'm so glad I chose the nexus 7, what's even more is the price tag!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
My wife loves this tablet!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
Golfman
Location: KY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
Bought this tablet for my wife and she used to only want the ipad well after using this and owning an ipad she says that she prefers this anyday its a great size and super fast..... and tons of games to choose from... great product and much easier on the old pocket $250 is a steal for this and it comes with a free $25 in Google Play money
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Great Portable Device
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
My4sons
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I absolutely love this tablet. It does everything that I hoped it would. I know many reviews state the problems with Wi-Fi (cellular) service, and the lack of removable storage. I have been able to use the cloud, my hard disk storage at my house, my Dropbox account, and the USB charger to store data on my laptop. I tried multiple methods just to test the limitations, and have not found one for storage. As far as cell service is concerned, I have been able to Bluetooth it to my phone (an Atrix 2) to use that cellular wireless connection. I did not have to add on a tethering plan, or increase my data plan in any way. I love that I am not incurring additional monthly costs to use what I already pay for. I use my home wi-fi to complete any serious downloads prior to being in a location where hot spots or free wi-fi are not available. I do work in information technology, so i have repeatedly tried to break Jellybean or slow the responsiveness. I have yet to find a way to do this. I was so impressed, I actually bought a second for my son.
** Two areas where it lacks - any tablet is not ergonomically set up for comfortable data processing, such as creating a word document. I still use my laptop for document creation. I have still not found a direct way to print wirelessly to my printer. I can work around by sending the content to my laptop though.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Awesome Tablet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/12
McPherson
Location: North America
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Nexus 7 with the Tegra 3 chip runs smoothly and fluently with no lag. I had a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 and at times the touch screen wasn't that responsive and would give you what is referred to as screen rage. The touch screen on the Nexus 7 is very responsive and won't give you screen rage. The only things that is keeping the Nexus 7 from being a beast, is the lack of a microSD expansion slot and the lack of Adobe Flash. Other than that, this is one awesome tablet and hopefull Google and Asus make a 10 inch version.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Sweet Tablet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/7/12
ElJayButter
Location: Salem, OR
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Yo iPad, I’m really happy for you…I'mma let you finish. But Asus has one of the best tablets of all time! One of the best tablets of all time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Great tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/12
Assviolator
Location: az
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's a great tablet jelly beam, is awesome. I just wish I was able to watch amazon's instant video. It also needs rear camera and sd slot.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Very capable and quite user friendly
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/12
Akaelik
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've quite thoroughly enjoyed my first experience exploring beyond products that were apple based. As I write to you from my new toy I will definitely say it was a worthwhile investment. The sheer smooth nature of jellybean and the well built hardware make this a definite competitor for the lower end tablet market. This fits so many of my tasks that the poor iPod touch is rotting faster than a zombie on fire. I must admit that I never touched an android device before this but it wasn't nearly as painful as I thought. I'd compare it to going to get a shot, knowing you're about to get stabbed, but instead you feel the nurse wipe your arm and say `done!` Bravo Google and wise choice with ASUS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TabletWisher101
Columbia,MO
 
Please wait while more information about TabletWisher101 is loaded.
Additional information about TabletWisher101 could not be loaded.
Can't Wait
Posted 7/26/12
I've expirienced some GREAT reviews, some bad, but if we come to conclusion, will there ever be the perfect tablet? Either the ipad to big, both pricey and size. The latest ipod to small, and the oldest ipod touch, on-aible to do big-screen games with HD! I hate that tech. always has to move on. . . but I'm exited about getting a Nexus 7 table! :) Many readers say the 16GB is worth it more! Infact, I might get it today at Gamestop!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Awesome Tablet!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/12
alittleshakey
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Finally something of quality out there for us on a budget! Thank you Google and Asus!! I remember my excitement when I got my first android device the HTC Incredible. Now the same excitement is back.......in tablet size!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
One of the first...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
Jessica797
Location: Tempe, Az
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Being one of the first consumers to have the nexus 7 is something i love touting. But throne thing that disappoints me is that GameStop didn't get their software ready for the nexus. GameInformer doesn't work on it yet and the kongregate app requires flash which you Can't get as flash isn't available for any device with android 4.1 and newer... but other than that, it looks great and is Fast. Makes the iPad I had look like crud.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Nice Tablet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
McWilson
Location: Kowagoe Saitama
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Really good tablet, lots of fun, easy to load movies, books, and apps onto (even without it all coming from google play) plus you can load anything from kindle or B&N onto it with an app. very clear VERY tough screen ive whacked it a few times with no denting or scratching what so ever a MUST buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
Amazing Device
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
DrDinosaur
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Typing this on it now. This tablet is great. Web browsing, reading, YouTube, and even games all load very quickly and run very smoothly. Jellybean runs great. I strongly recommend you get one as soon as you can.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nexus 7 16GB from Google™
9.6 out of 10(43)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Maidene
Scottsdale, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about Maidene is loaded.
Additional information about Maidene could not be loaded.
Nexus 7 16GB
Posted 8/15/12
I would love to purchase the google nexus; do I need a cell phone account to access email, download books or browse web?
I am certainly not tech savvy.
When are the 16GB Nexus 7 expected and where is the closest GameStop store in the zip code area 85260?
Thanks
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>