GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS XL - Red

Everything you love about Nintendo 3DS-only bigger!
Average Customer Rating:
9.564
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
10 stars
27
9 stars
8
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
37 out of 3995%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
This is great, Nintendo is NOT making you buy it!
Posted on:6/25/12
gammalad222
Location: Cleveland Heights, OH
Ok people please realize that Nintendo is NOT making you buy this. I mean will you people stop complaining! This is still the same 3DS system but bigger. It is just a different option for people who want one, or already have one. I for one will be buying the XL as for a person like me with bigger hands and such it is perfect. Again it's not for everyone. But people please remember this is just a matter of PREFERENCE!!!You do not have to buy one if you DO NOT want one. I don't think I can stress that enough! In my opinion it's great that Nintendo is listening to fans who wanted a bigger screen! And if you don't like the bigger screen,GUESS WHAT! Don't buy it! Like I said Nintendo is NOT making you buy it. Because all 3DS games will work on the regular 3DS and the 3DS XL!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
More information on what I think of the 3DS XL
 
My Product Recommendations
 
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Nintendo3DS XL
Posted on:6/24/12
Riley97321
Location: New Jersey NJ
This Nintendo3DS XL well be the coolest gaming System ever! everyone should buy it! its a must buy!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
3DS/DSi XL/DSi Charger
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ent1220
 
Please wait while more information about Ent1220 is loaded.
Additional information about Ent1220 could not be loaded.
QUESTION ABOUT 3DS XL AND GAMESTOP
Posted 6/25/12
Will gamestop make like a trade in bonus? like if i have already a 3DS, can i trade in with the 3DS XL and discounts some money from the 199$ (price of 3DS XL)??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
...
Posted on:7/15/12
zeldafan1002
Location: Andover, KS
I already got a Flame Red 3DS, but now Nintendo released THIS. Anyways I DID want a 3DS befor that Ambassador was over... so yeah.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Nintendo 3DS XL Trailer
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Awesomeness in your hands
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
Ethan588
Location: Georgia, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This thing is so cool I have a plain 3ds myself but I'm hoping to get this one soon my friend has one and I've playedd it is so much better the the old 3ds great job Nintendo!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Looks awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
Ethan588
Location: Georgia, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Look insanely awesome and am hoping to get it soon cuz my dad has a 3DS and I play all our games on his so I'm hoping to get this for myself!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
My review of the Nintendo 3DS XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/20/12
Megagamer87
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off let me say that Nintendo got it right with this one.The main selling feature of the 3DS XL is it's bigger screens that are 90% bigger than the screens on the 3DS.When I first turned the system on and again when I played a game I was amazed.The bigger screens really improve on the 3D too.The size of the 3DS XL really helps with gamers with bigger hands on hold it comfortably,and the rounded edges doesn't cut into your palms like the sharp corners of the 3DS does.The Home,Start,and Select buttons have been improved and are clickable buttons now.The matte finish on the system really helps prevent stratching unlike the mirror type finish on the 3DS.The stylus is located on the right side to make it easier to remove and to replace during gameplay.As excellent as this system is it does have a few con's.As amazing as the bigger screens are it makes the 3DS bigger so it is bigger and heavier,and unless you have huge pockets,the 3DS XL is better carried in a bag,purse,or backpack.I'm please to say I'm a happy Nintendo 3DS XL owner!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
33 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dudy
brasil brasilia-DF
 
Please wait while more information about dudy is loaded.
Additional information about dudy could not be loaded.
Nintendo 3DS XL red
Posted 10/28/13
gamestop exports to Brazil and because I live in Brazil and I really want one nintendo 3DS XL Red
Customer Avatar
TJames
Altoona
 
Please wait while more information about TJames is loaded.
Additional information about TJames could not be loaded.
Best Hand held
Posted 9/5/12
Im kind of new to the whole game systems thing but this is AMAZING 3d with no glasses , it fits so nice in my hand and the games for it the quality for it is WONDERFUL.So I would Give it 5 stars
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Battery Life is Best
Posted on:7/2/12
BakerGuy
Location: Sugar Land, TX
The 3DS is a wonderful system. The 3DS XL will enhance all the things that i love about it, but what im excited about the most is battery life. I cannot tell you how many times i would be playing my 3DS for a couple of hours, and then i had to go somewhere and i wanted to bring it along for streetpass. But what usually happened is that my system died in the car, which bothered me. So this upgrade specifically will address that problem. The larger screen and data are good too, but battery life is the best, in my opinion.
18 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Amazing upgrade from the original 3DS system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
Dracont
Location: Guayanilla, PR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this system because playing long sessions of 3D on the original 3DS is kinda pain in the eyes with the smaller screen, now with the great larger display on the 3DS XL everything is better for playing long sessions of 3D content on it. Apart of the screen it comes with a 4GB great for download demos like metal gear and kingdom hearts and most recently the awesome fire emblem. The battery is... kinda meh because they claim that it just more hours of power and I find it like one hour and half more than the original, obviously with brightness on 5 and and save power mode off and sound from the speakers. Talking about the speakers I have to say that this is the low point of the 3DS XL, they sound very low about nearly 45% or 50% lower comparing with the original 3DS system, but is nothing too important if you have a pair of headphones. I easily recommend this system to everyone, it have an awesome library and more to come in 2013 and beyond.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Traymor21
Concord,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Traymor21 is loaded.
Additional information about Traymor21 could not be loaded.
I love It!!!
Posted 3/15/13
I just got one yesterday and its so awesomei played it like 10 times and i recommend saving up to $120 and trading in some old games which is what i did also can't wait for Pokemon X and Y i'm so ready!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
An even better 3DS
Posted on:7/15/12
NinGamer
Okay, be honest. Though Nintendo said it wouldn't happen, we knew it was coming. The 3DS XL is pretty much the 3DS with bigger screens, but it's more than that. Same or even better screen resolution, 3D effect works much better, and it just feels more natural. Games such as Ocarina of Time 3D or Super Mario 3D Land look great on it, and so many more games. It has a better feel, and the colors are only on the top and bottom, inside is black. It has curved edges instead of flat/box-like like the 3DS. And, it also comes out the same day as New Super Mario Bros. 2! The buttons under the touch screen are finally real buttons (I didn't like how it was sort of a sticker type thing) and the 3D depth slider clicks into place. I'm getting red because I already have a blue 3DS, and blue 3DS XL will most likely be popular like the blue 3DS, so I want something different.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Great System
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/12
JAT527
Location: Battle Creek, MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Nintendo 3DS XL is a great system. The large screens are just what I wanted and I really did not think the an XL would be released so soon. It's a good price. If you own a Nintendo 3DS, you could trade it in for the XL. Even the employees at GameStop helped me with the system transfer I needed with the Nintendo 3DS I traded for the XL. There store didn't have any Wi-Fi- service, but a store located in the mall did. They said they'd take me over there and make the transfer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KH3D
Portland OR
 
Please wait while more information about KH3D is loaded.
Additional information about KH3D could not be loaded.
Nintendo 3DS XL
Posted 8/24/12
The Nintendo 3DS XL System it's performance is very reliable the battery life (In my opinion the battery life has not improved as much as I had hoped) But the fact that the system offer's a Larger Screen and Improved Graphics is enough for me to give it a 8.5 out of 10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Your Decision...
Posted on:8/9/12
LoopDeeLoops
Location: Brooklyn, NY
I am here because there are alot of Nintendo fans that are enraged about the 3DS XL on YouTube. Just search. I will show you the pros and cons of the 3DS XL the decision is on you if you want to buy it. Don't say that it just has a bigger screen. It's more than that. Hopefuly I wil go through most if not ALL of the pros and cons. Here we go. PROS: It has a 90% bigger screen so you can see easier and find its "sweet spot" faster. What i mean by that is it easier for you to concentrate on the 3D you can see it pop out easier than the original. They added a 4GB SD card so there is more memory, that is good if you download LOTS of games. They put the stylus back on the right side so it is easier to grab it and go. They smoothed the edges of the 3DS XL so it won't bruise your palms and enjoy more hardcore style games. The buttons are more "clickable", and the 3D sider has no light like the previous model. This is more of an advantage than a disadvantage because it also has a certain click to it to make sure that the 3D is completely off when you slide it all the way down. The speakers are aligned differently so that its speakers are more powerful. The start, select, and home buttons are physical buttons now, instead of one weak strip of plastic. It will start to wear off (3DS) if you press it occasionally. The hinges of the 3DS XL lock at two points now, midway and flat open. Now it's good to play on the table without worrying about the screen flopping over. Now over to the cons. CONS: There is no second circle pad, but there are not that many games that use two. (there is another review of why there isn't a second circle pad) So it isn't a HUGE problem. It also has the same resolution, so it might seem a little blurry for characters in the distance. It might even lag a bit. There are more pros than cons, but the cons are more important. The colors that come out for the US are Blue, and Red (hopefully Silver comes out soon) It launches on August 19th, 2012. Hope this review helps on your decision. :) Tip: You can press the start and select buttons at the same time for a few seconds. That will expand the screen to almost full screen when you are playing DS games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
25 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
A REALLY GREAT SYSTEM
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/14
ps4gamer4ever
Location: Katy,Texas
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think this is a good system to play on. And I think the regular 3ds is small so its good to get they big one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Makes me scared for the future of the 3DS...
Posted on:7/14/12
Harvestmoonguy
This is really bad.... the 3DS is going down the same path the DSi went down and let me tell you, it wasn't pretty. i love my 3DS, in fact, i'd even go as far to say its the best portable system i own, far better than the PSP. But unfortunately, it looks like this will just be another impending failure. Maybe if this XL added an additional analog nub, it'd be a little more understandable, but it doesn't even have that! Bigger screen and a little bit longer battery life? Not really worth an extra 70$ if you ask me. Hey Nintendo, instead of 'XL'ing things and trying to 'fix' them, why don't you actually work on improving the library of games! If you don't already have a 3DS and are considering getting this as your first and you have a $200+ budget, then go right ahead. Who knows? Maybe this 'upgrade' can fix the problem. But as of right now, it looks like the 3DS will be headed for the Nintendo Graveyard, with a saved spot next the Virtual Boy and the DSi.
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
someguy462
 
Please wait while more information about someguy462 is loaded.
Additional information about someguy462 could not be loaded.
seriously?
Posted 8/1/12
i tried to play a demo of super mario 3d land, i could barely focus on where mario was because he was so small! i have absolutely no idea what your talking about when you said the dsi was a failure when it had an upgrade! p.s. a built in second analog nub WOULD be a disaster.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Pretty Impressive.
Posted on:8/11/12
3DROX
Location: Paterson,NJ
Firstly, let me just say Nintendo has a PERFECT REASON for not including the second circle pad on the system. It's just a bigger 3DS. Why do you think Nintendo kept the horrible graphics when they were making the DS Lite? Because it was just a smaller version of the original ds. Sure, they could have made it better, but it's just a smaller version of the ds. The 3ds xl is just a bigger version of the 3DS. They don't want to make 3ds owners think the Xl model is better, it's just bigger. It's great for me, because if I get this, I could sell my Dsi XL and my 3DS.If your worried about your eshop downloads, take out the sd card on your normal 3ds, and plug it in to the 3ds xl. All the memory will go. Pictures, save data, everything(except dsiware...). The only thing I'm worried about is friend codes. They're saved on to the system, not the sd card. I recommend contacting Nintendo about this, as I think it's possible to transfer them via complete system transfer. Or swapnote all your friends with the xl's friend code. I only kept my dsi xl because regular ds games looked AWFUL on the 3ds's little midget screens, so the 3ds xl is perfect for me. Not to mention the battery life. I can't play 20 miinutes with the brightness on 4 or 5 without having to see that llittle red light.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
It's like a Nintendo 3DS, but bigger!
Posted on:6/26/12
MrHowie
Location: Paducah, KY
I just LOVE the larger screens. (90% larger than the original 3DS) Can't wait to get my hands on it.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Unfortunately Awesome
Posted on:8/5/12
andrewpbeast
The 3DS is a great system on its own, but it has its share of flaws. The system is too glossy, has somewhat small screens(at least for gaming purposes), and original DS games look kind of muddy when being played on it. However, the 3DS XL looks to change most issues created by the original 3DS. It has 2 HUGE screens, larger pixels to play DS and GBA near their original native resolution, and the system has a nice matte finish. The XL also has a better stylus placement, a 4gb SD card, and feels better in your hands due to the bigger design. The only unfortunate part is that most people who already have a 3DS won't get the XL, no matter how much they want it. This is due to simply not wanting to spend the funds on a product that functions the same as the original 3DS. There are so many other things I want to buy, such as games for my old 3DS and even the Vita. To everyone who doesn't have a 3DS yet, this is the system for you. But due to Nintendo actually being SMART when it comes to marketing, they may get a hefty amount of original 3DS owners to buy this, thus getting even more money in the long run. Altogether though, this a great option for people to get and a great addition to the 3DS family.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
For me, a must have
Posted on:7/11/12
Darkstar99
I understand why some of you think this is just a way for Nintendo to make more money. It's true in a way, but I feel like this is a needed change. The box feel of the 3DS gives me cramps after five minutes. There are no curved edges. This curved design will feel much better, because I can play for hours on my DSiXL without cramps. I will buy this, transfer my games, then trade in my old one for this. Thank you, Nintendo.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Why Do you guys Not Stop
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/12
zelda5
Location: fremont,wi
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I think everyone gangs up on Nintendo too much . Why do you need a second circle pad if theres only a couple games that you can use it for. The other thing is a lot of you think 200 its too expensive but, the ps vita is 250 and you think thats a good deal. Nintendo has been making games and systems longer than sony and microsoft and have been around longer, just stop its annoyng i like the 3ds xl and 3ds they all have there featers as does the vita but, stop ganging up on Nintendo they dont need it. Also Nintendo is for a lot of gamers who want something easy to learn example the wii is easy to learn and so is the ds line the wii u looks like it will be easy to learn and Nintendo is also for EVERYBODY not just hardcore gamers. The xbox and playstation are for hardcore gamers. Plus the 3ds is dominating the vita. so i think i have made my point.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Awesome!
Posted on:8/6/12
Bunniesareawesome
Location: Malibu, CA
This looks like a fantastic purchase so long as they keep the games coming! With a larger screen, longer battery-life, and more storage space this is a big step up from the normal 3ds. My only hope would be to be able to trade in my 3ds for like half off.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
animegeek88
Orlando,FL
 
Please wait while more information about animegeek88 is loaded.
Additional information about animegeek88 could not be loaded.
3DS Trade-In
Posted 8/13/12
As of 8/12/2012 I was able to trade in my 3DS for $75. They had a special at my store that if you traded in your 3DS you would get an additional $25 so it was $50+ the additional $25= $75.
It's not the greatest price but that's around 37.5% of the 3DS XL price.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
This is great!
Posted on:6/27/12
Mommab
Location: Kansas
My husband and I have wanted to get the 3DS for our son but hated that it had such a tiny screen. This is great that they are coming out with this. We will definately be owners of the 3DS XL.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
someguy462
 
Please wait while more information about someguy462 is loaded.
Additional information about someguy462 could not be loaded.
i agree!
Posted 7/2/12
i had a REALLY hard time trying to play super mario 3d land because of the screen size!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>