GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nintendo 3DS XL - Red

Everything you love about Nintendo 3DS-only bigger!
Average Customer Rating:
9.553
9.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
8
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
36 out of 3895%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Review 1 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
One of the Greatest Handhelds
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
Jimjamjimbomcfimbo
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned multiple handhelds such as gameboys, a PSP, and a DS Lite but this has to be one of the best I've owned. The 3DS XL feels solid in my hand and I absolutely love it. Gaming experience is great if you are a Nintendo kid. One of the best consoles and I would recommend this to anybody looking into buying this console. You will not regret it! GO BUY NOW!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
The Greatest Thing Imaginable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/1/13
swaggerdragon
Location: Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its a great system at home and on the go I would suggest this for family players Also its good for layed backed players also
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Great Handheld but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
Buccarru
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its a great console if you know what games you want to play on it. I purchased it in anticipation of pokemon x and y, then eventually played some demos and purchased some of those too. My only complaint is that the screen quickly got dents in it due to the elevated border around the touch screen. I feel like for $200, this system shouldn't have hardware flaws like that. So be sure to purchase a screen protector.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Nintendo has pulled me in... again!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/13
SpiderGeek
Location: Grayslake, IL
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
About a year ago I bought myself an Xbox and I had completely forgotten about Nintendo. I started off with Nintendo and now when I look back on the moment I pushed Nintendo out of the way for Microsoft I feel ashamed. While I do still love Microsoft I also love Nintendo. I have not gotten this product yet but it looks amazing! Good quality, good graphics, and overall good fun!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
A comprehensive evolution of recent handhelds.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
Goomba92
Location: California
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The 3DS was the first actual step the handheld industry took since the introduction of the original DS. The DS lite was an improvement similar to that of the GBA sp (which added a backlight and closeable screen), because it sported greater portability by giving the system a sleeker, slimmer design, and adding a compartment for the stylus. The DSi system was a negligible addition, it boasted a camera, greater fragility, and a software update or two (DSi ware was really all there was). The DSi XL had no real improvements except a better niche for the stylus (for the head of the DSi stylus protruded from the provided space, unlike the previous system), and possibly a bit more durable.
But the 3DS added the first 3D aspect to handheld gaming, and a more impressive way of putting it was that it was the first gaming system to have self-sustained 3-Dimensional effects (with consoles you would need a 3D TV, which I am under the impression makes no real difference for the vast majority of games). The downfall of a self-sustained 3D system is that, since there is no form of ocular assistance (ie. glasses), the proper viewing window may be somewhat narrow, given the size of the screen and the way the effects are handled.
The 3DS XL's larger screens boast a larger "viewing window" for such 3D effects, and an purported increase in battery life (depending on 3D settings and most visible while the system is in a sort of "sleep-mode"). But all of this comes at the sacrifice to the system's portability.
Those are the only true improvements to the system itself, of course some people may find the larger systems more maneuverable, but as I, personally, have gotten older, I have not been met with any such issue with portable gaming systems (larger or smaller, both fit reasonably well and allow decent play), and as such it may seem that I severely downplay the aspect of a larger system. I feel that for those people for whom the system size (namely too small) is an issue will buy this item for that very reason, many others who have bought this system merely crave every new addition to the gaming franchise (some have a wider franchise base than others), others will think that the extra ~$20 will mean something so they pay it, very few take anything else into consideration when choosing the 3DS and the 3DS XL, and to be honest, those seem to be the only real reasons (unless you're a hardcore gamer and you'd love the extra battery life, but for most cases that niche will invest in portable chargers [car or USB port chargers] or get one of those "extra battery packs" for their system. All of these options being cheaper and more efficient).
 
My Product Recommendations
Portable Power Battery Pack for Nintendo 3DS
9.3 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Everything I wanted and more!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/13
Arnire
Location: Charleston, SC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have owned many generations of Nintendo handhelds. Gameboy, Gameboy Color, Gameboy Advanced, and now the Nintendo 3DS. I was disappointed by the original DS and the DSi and so I did not purchase them, but when Pokemon White was announced I began to consider my options. I eventually bought a Red 3DS, Pokemon White and Black 2, and now I can't stop searching for more good games. I can not wait to play Ocarina of Time and other amazing games on my 3DS. I am more than satisfied with the function, the image, the 3D (which was a big worry), and the time I get out of the console. I have spent more time in a month playing this system than I would spending $200 on anything else. If you get a handheld this one is for you. The 3DS is almost perfect, aside from my fear of its fragility. I'm very protective because the system does feel very flimsy from minor impacts. I hope never to drop Ruby though.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Overall a great system
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/13
Kell
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The graphics are just amazing. The controls work fairly well, although the control stick gets stuck from time to time. The buttons are sturdy and feel solid. The cameras has pretty poor quality, but not everything can be perfect. The 3D takes some time to get used to, but it is phenomenal. Regular DS games are slightly enlarged on the screen, so they look a little different. Also, BUY SCREEN PROTECTORS. The bottom screen gets scratched VERY easily. There is no current way to take screen shots of your games, but this might change with a future update of some sort. The larger screens are much better than the normal 3DS screens, especially if you want to download Colors! 3D (a drawing app) or Netflix. The battery life is decent as well, and you could always turn on power-saving mode. That's all! (sorry for all the negatives, but I feel like people should know before they buy.)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Love the color and games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/13
dragon6
Location: Glendale,AZ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The 3ds is awesome.Red is the best color for it.The size is way better than the original.I play mario tennis open and mariokart 7on it .So awesome.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Amazing tech, Fun, not ergonomical.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/13
TYL3Rhez
Location: maiden, nc
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love my 3ds, being a console junkie; i've really never considered going back to portable gaming like my younger years. But I got a craving for some new mario games, and well lets face it... Me or probably not you are buying a wii U. So I picked up this little gadget. The 3d effects work awesome when viewed at the right angle. You will get headaches if you play for long exposed periods of time. But the graphics and the sound quality out of this device is superb. 1 analog stick does present problems, especially when playing platformers. The device isnt very comfortable in your hands either. I found myself having to take breaks and pop my fingers alot!!! I am happy with my purchase, I just really wish there were more games to play, I would give this device an overall 8 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
I love my 3ds XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
Tyler117
Location: Los angeles, ca
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love my 3ds XL. I originally had just the regular 3ds and still loved it but the bigger model is way better for graphics and battery life. I take mine everywhere and recommend it to everyone i know.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
My Review of the 3DS XL
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/13
DarkHeroJosh
Location: Somwhere over the Rainbow!!
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Over the years as a Nintendo Player, im am Glad to be a owner of a 3DS XL, Well First The Size and the Shape for the XL is Amazing, I would get my hand hurted on my normal 3DS But playing it for longer time on the XL makes it more comfortable in my hand and Even thou I have Big Hands I can Enjoy playing Like Kingdom Hearts DDD for a longer period of time. The Screen Size is an amazing improvment, I can See the 3D more clearly than before. The Stylus is Better cause it no longer a slider and bigger with my big hands at all and it is not on top of the 3Ds and Like the DS lite and DSi, Also To metion it back to the Slider Volume From the DS lite Which I think it better. The Home Select and Start Button I like Cause it all seperate and easy to press, Also the L and R buttons are Bigger and now Easy to press cause the games I have could really need this without my fingers hurting after a few hours of play. The Battery Is one of the Best Part, Even with power Saver I got more hours on my 3DS than Ever Before . The Memory is Amazing cause I Downloaded Two 3DS retail games on the E shop and still got more memory to download even more games which is a Definate impovment. Now my Cons, Well it big in my pockets even if i have big pockets in my jeans which is my only complaint at the moment. But Overall, This is a nice improvment. If your new to the 3DS, Get this. Also it good to upgrade from the normal 3DS. So I say Get a 3DS XL cause this is a Great improvment from Nintedo until Nintendo Trows somthing more amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
amazing product good in all but one small aspect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
textrockyouknow
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this yesterday and it did not disapoint however if a tilt my head even a little the stereoscopic 3d mingles and you end up with a double image but its much more comfortable because the edges no longer dig into your palms also the 3 can be completely turned of instead of minimal depth lastly i was happy because the pixels were ok and stayed the same resolution and the start select and home buttons are actually buttons
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Amazing upgrade from the original 3DS system
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/20/13
Dracont
Location: Guayanilla, PR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this system because playing long sessions of 3D on the original 3DS is kinda pain in the eyes with the smaller screen, now with the great larger display on the 3DS XL everything is better for playing long sessions of 3D content on it. Apart of the screen it comes with a 4GB great for download demos like metal gear and kingdom hearts and most recently the awesome fire emblem. The battery is... kinda meh because they claim that it just more hours of power and I find it like one hour and half more than the original, obviously with brightness on 5 and and save power mode off and sound from the speakers. Talking about the speakers I have to say that this is the low point of the 3DS XL, they sound very low about nearly 45% or 50% lower comparing with the original 3DS system, but is nothing too important if you have a pair of headphones. I easily recommend this system to everyone, it have an awesome library and more to come in 2013 and beyond.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Traymor21
Concord,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Traymor21 is loaded.
Additional information about Traymor21 could not be loaded.
I love It!!!
Posted 3/15/13
I just got one yesterday and its so awesomei played it like 10 times and i recommend saving up to $120 and trading in some old games which is what i did also can't wait for Pokemon X and Y i'm so ready!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Awesomeness in your hands
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/13
Ethan588
Location: Georgia, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This thing is so cool I have a plain 3ds myself but I'm hoping to get this one soon my friend has one and I've playedd it is so much better the the old 3ds great job Nintendo!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Looks awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
Ethan588
Location: Georgia, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Look insanely awesome and am hoping to get it soon cuz my dad has a 3DS and I play all our games on his so I'm hoping to get this for myself!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Amazing!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
ChristianS
Location: US
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Very fun system, worth every penny, mario kart 7 is amazing, big screen, best handheld ever, really good graphics
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
the bigger, the better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/12
rockstar123
Location: fairfax VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the 3ds xl has way more battery life than the original. also has a 90 precent bigger screen. for a handheled system that is like a movie theater screen.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
WOW!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/14/12
Papa
Location: New England
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love hand held gaming, and I always have. This is a wonderful system. I had the 3DS and traded up for the 3DS XL. I am so glad I did. Not only better battery life, but much better 3D effect, and it feels better in my hands. This is a great system, and I am so used to playing in 3D that 2D looks boring now. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Innovation: Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
DaWei
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Great system. I was hesitant at first to get 3DS, but playing on the larger screen and taking advantage of motion control, AR, and internet connectivity sold me. The 3D is enough to keep you hooked, IT WORKS...and it is something no other system can deliver. In a time where I can play games just as fun on my smart phone, you need something to keep you coming back to the handheld, and this DELIVERS.
When i got my 3DSXL (Red) it came with some dead/stuck pixels so I had to exchange it for a new one, no big deal, but very annoying. My replacement is great though. Grab some of Nintendo's screen protectors for it as well, they are super east to install and are not noticeable at all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Nintendo 3DS XL - Red
Beautiful
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/6/12
jagesiscool
Location: new jersey
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The system is so cool. For those who thinks it is ugly when you take it out of that box the colors stand so strong and it looks fantastic. The large screens make the display near perfection. The matte finish doesnt hog fingerprints/grease. Fits nestedly into your hands. For those who complain about the lack of a 2nd circle pad, this is a 3DS XL if it had duel circle pads it would be a completely new ds. Anyway the system is great and worth whatever your upgrading from.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>