GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: A New Beginning

Customization is King!For the first time in series history, you can completely customize your character's appearance! Choose your character's gender, skin color, facial expression, hairstyle, and much, much more!
Average Customer Rating:
9.368
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 1995%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
other system
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/13
BrownEyes
I think it would be great if the game was on the regular ds version as well dont really like 3ds at all
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Lets move that house!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/13
MichNative
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you like to customize and move everything this game is going to please you.......... you farm, you take care of animals, you make new friends and yes, you eventually get married! Its up to you to rejuvenate the town and to make it appealing to everyone so you have to be creative....and all the while make some money to keep your farm going .. sound easy? ha ha.........don't let the cute characters fool you .
Play New Beginnings and see what I mean....great game.......of course I love all the harvest moon games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
My new favorite of the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
ellipse311
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been playing for almost 2 weeks now and this is by far my favorite of the series. My previous favorite was HM 64 but I don't think I could ever go back to that now after playing this one. The last Harvest Moon I played was a wonderful life on the Gamecube and although I did play that one quite a bit, it was ultimately a disappointing entry for me. A new beginning is back to the basics on steroids as you can plant far more crops and care for many different animals while adding a whole new addicting element in being able to customize the whole town. As you earn money and progress you will be able to purchase and scavenge for building materials to add more houses, shops, roads and decoration items. You are given a set of objects that you need to build around town in order to move on to the next list, advancing certain story elements and unlocking new items or areas as you go. Highly recommend this to anyone who liked harvest moon games before but thought something was missing, cause it might have found it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Nice and relaxing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/13
Carrine
Location: Norfolk VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is pretty much the best harvest moon I've played. It is a wonderful thing to have such a game in a world with soooo much shoot em ups and hack&slash games. When you need a chill gaming experience, harvest moon and games like it are the way to go. This game is beautifully done with the things you remember about harvest moon games. I'd love my resident evils and my first person shooters but this is truly a beautifully done game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
What an amazing game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/13
sealboy
Harvest Moon: A New Beginning is one of the best games I have played. It is very fun and the Gameplay is great. Anyone who loves Animal Crossing will enjoy this game. I recommend it to any gamer who wants to be impressed!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
new for me
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i have never played a harvest moon game in my life. this is first one ever. i would have to say it was right choice to play. good great.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Not a bad game, but not excellent
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/12
Leaco
Location: SJ
You should have enough patient to play it, but it is interesting to build different building by yourself. The biggest disadvantage is its graphic. Er, trees are looked fake, and roles are distorted
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Best Harvest Moon yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
lissymonster0
Location: Avoca New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is my favorite harvest moon yet the graphics are great and you can customize your character now and the bachelors and bacheloretts are great my only complaint is that there are no marriage rivals well not that I know of :( they are one of the best parts of harvest moon games. but with that aside it is a great game and I love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
A must have for 3DS owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
Vengieo
Location: Syracuse, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A great game for those that loved the ones before it. The game is a big step up over the 3DS port of the previous title, Tale of Two Towns, that was a DS game with a flawed mini game added (would cause memory leak errors in your 3DS, causing crashes that would make you lose all unsaved progress because of the "only saving at the end of the day" system). I love that they kept all the core game play consistent with the older titles, but with minor changes (like plots of land being set in one size of 2x4). Over time, you gain the ability to completely customize your farm to where you place fencing and even later in the game you can remake the whole town. It's a wonderful game with a long play time and it makes me glad to own a 3DS. The only thing I would of liked to see added would be voice acting or at least Japanese voicing with subtitles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Customization is King
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/12
CamKat
Location: Lake Charles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So having heard about this game WAAAAY before GameStop workers did, I eagerly stalked the GameStop webpage so that I could jump in and reserve the game. As soon as the game popped up for reserve, it was reserved and I waited patiently for it to be released. Release day finally arrived and I eagerly popped my game into my 3DS and started playing. Initially, the game play is really slow and the tutorials while helpful for learning the new controls are rather tedious. Users are able to customize everything from hair color and style to clothing. Few choices are available at the start of the game for hair and clothing, but as you progress forward in the game more choices for customization are unlocked. This game has become one of the best of the Harvest Moon series of games and continues to surprise me with their new tools and ways of foraging. I also enjoy the dating aspect of the game. Now the player (male or female) can choose to enter into a relationship with a potential spouse before they decide to marry them or break up. This game is great for casual gamers such as myself who don't have a lot of time to devote to gaming, but are still able to enjoy the story aspect of the game. I fully recommend this game for ALL Harvest Moon fans. It is the most enjoyable game since the Rune Factory Series and it has revolutionized the Harvest Moon Series in new and exciting ways.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
The beat harvest moon game to date!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/12
FireEmblemNerd
Location: arlington
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has everything that makes harvest moon great. It lets you customize everything-except for cosmetic appearance of the houses.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
My Favorite!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/12
Wawy
Location: Chicago, IL
If you've played any other Harvest Moon game or games, like me, this one's going to knock them out of the park! It's extremely fun and addictive. I like how you finally get to choose how your character looks like. There's a lot of new features I enjoy in this Harvest moon game, like being able to customize you and the town! The game is totally new, but has that nice Harvest moon feel to it. I highly recommend getting it! My guy looks awesome :D and I haven't been stop playing it since I got it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
So far what I know
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
Ocarinaoftime
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
HEY Ocarinaoftime here and I have awesome news about the new harvest moon game!
So everyone knows about the new player features like being able to design your character's facial, hair and clothing
also the grapihics have improved (making the Characters not look like little pixils anymore)
yaks and llamas are here!
You can take your wife and kids on vacation with the help of the travel agancy
The player must commit in a relashionship before marriage (you can date!)
wall papers, floorring and decor can be put in the main players house
you can place down fields, ponds, bee huts, barns, ect (not in just random places
long haired cats (I know not very big but needs to be said)
you choose the wedding clothes for you and your partner (more awesome for girls)
if your a hardcore or casual player play this game, because this is a game changer for all harvest moon players
and if you want to learn more like the bachelors and bachelorettes, the story line, new features and more. go on ushi no tane! it has all things harvest moon like best website ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Very good game so far! Different, but as usual...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
Nalligater
Location: Clovis, California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SUPER LONG TUTORIALS! This game is very fun and keeps you hooked wanting to get married, grow crops, raise animals, and even customize your entire town of where fences should go and making roads! BUT there is that ONE THING I know almost all Harvest Moon Vets really don't like. The SUPER LONG TUTORIALS. Just have patience and this game will be extremely fun lol.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Awesome Harvest Moon Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/12
Nightshadow
Location: Vancouver, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is an awesome Harvest Moon game. The beginning is slow especially if you have played other Harvest moon games and know how to set up your routine quickly. This Harvest Moon has much better 3D graphics than Tale of Two Towns. I actually like playing this with my 3D on. I really like how the world and the characters graphics look like the graphics on the console rather than their usually blocky, handheld kind. The sound is the normal Harvest Moon sound, not much to say there. Overall the game is amazing! I shall now happily go back to playing my copy of the game for a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Finally The Harvest Moon i been waiting for!!! =)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
Sazh
Location: Miami,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off The game looks great thanks to the 3D graphics of the 3DS =) there is lots of stuff to do and many things to make thanks to the customization tools. There is a lot of animals you can have on your farm and the best part you can organize and move your farm as you see fit =) Natsume did a good job with this game and a good way to celebrate its 15th Anniversary . I highly recommend this game to fans and newcomers alike =)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Truly is "A New Beginning"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Joeyz1114
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a fan of the hm series for just about as long as I can remember, and I thought the more recent ones have become worse in quality, gameplay, etc, I mean dont get me wrong i loved EVERY SINGLE hm game, but they've just gone downhill from "friends of mineral town" for the gba. This game brings TONS of welcomed new features, and has lots of depth for its characters. I've had this for a week now and have been playing for(i looked at my activity log on my 3ds) 8-13 hours each day i could(i lost power for the past couple days because of hurricane sandy). This is in my opinion, the best harvest moon game in A LONG time, and probably one of, if not the best 3ds game(s) . Theres a slow start, I can admit, but once you get past the first spring, there is SO much you can do! It keeps you engrossed for a long time. It has lots of new features i love, but personally i love that you can customize your character from looks, to hair, to clothes, and that YOU are the town carpenter (basically) and you can set up your town and farm the way you like, dont like your coops next to your house, place it near the barn, dont like the general store near the tailors, place 'em somewhere else! ITS THAT EASY!! I Theres also A LOT of new farm animals, which is great because i love owning a bunch of animals, as well as lots of wild animals to befriend(i havent done it myself yet). Overall, the game stays with its roots, while branching out and adding tons of new features to justify the name, "A New Beginning".
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Another great Harvest Moon game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/12
corbit08
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome! If you are a fan of the series I would pick this one up! Even if you are new to the Harvest Moon games you should try this one out. It will keep you entertained for hours. Plus you get to create your own character and customize your farm.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
FINALLY: A Harvest Moon That Has It All!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
Carissachu
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just got my hands on this game and let's just say Natsume finally got everything I loved about each Harvest game wrapped up into one solid game! THE GOODS: FINALLY able to customize your character! (and, you can continue to customize if you get bored :] ! ) Your stamina and health don't drain nearly as fast as previous games. Multiple camera views so you are never stuck in a weird position where you don't know if you're going to drop an item, not place a crop on the right plot, etc. and you can also shift the camera angles! Characters are so clean and not chunky block people that you can actually enjoy looking at them without talking to them! But when you do talk to them their illustrations are very well made. THE BADS: Only in my first month so this will probably pass but many tutorials and just a slow beginning. Lots of dialog that if you've been playing Harvest Moon enough, it's going to be a drag (not many skip screens). Not many villagers either but hey, that's expected right? Time is counted when you are inside. I can't really find some negatives in the game yet so grab a copy and get to farming!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MichNative
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about MichNative is loaded.
Additional information about MichNative could not be loaded.
New Beginnings .....Its a hit!
Posted 11/8/12
If you love a frendly town that has lots of space to be creative this is the town for you ! Graphics are beautiful, music is good and the opportunities to just do what you want is endless.......One of the best games of this genre! Buy it and see!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
This game will make (or break) the series.
Posted on:10/28/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
Harvest Moon used to be a great series. It felt almost rewarding to plant crops, make friends, and get married and start a family. The newer games in the series, however, are not as fun or satisfying, since they all rely on a gimmick of some sort.
Now, Natsume gives us Harvest Moon, A New Beginning, a game that will supposedly give us a fresh new take on the beloved series. The ability to customize the character seems interesting, but customizing the town may be a little too much. Who knows? This may end up being a great game, but it may not. I guess we'll find out soon enough.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>