GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Harvest Moon: A New Beginning

Customization is King!For the first time in series history, you can completely customize your character's appearance! Choose your character's gender, skin color, facial expression, hairstyle, and much, much more!
Average Customer Rating:
9.2
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
6
8 stars
0
7 stars
2
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 out of 2090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Review 1 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
I'm Super Shocked!
Posted on:9/27/12
Ashalot
Location: Peyton CO
I've always LOVED, Harvest Moon games. But I never liked how my girl (or the occasional boy) looked. But now i can customize it! Like in the new Animal Crossing, you can changer your shirts, wear pant, and Shoes! Both of the new games have an AMAZING customization feature. At first i wanted Harvest Moon: Tale Of Two Towns but when i saw this Harvest Moon i told my mom "We GOT To Get This! NOW!" Luckily we are buying it real close to my birthday! Happy birthday to me!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
This is a good Trailer but the date is wrong (at least compared to Game Stop's Date)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
So far what I know
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
Ocarinaoftime
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
HEY Ocarinaoftime here and I have awesome news about the new harvest moon game!
So everyone knows about the new player features like being able to design your character's facial, hair and clothing
also the grapihics have improved (making the Characters not look like little pixils anymore)
yaks and llamas are here!
You can take your wife and kids on vacation with the help of the travel agancy
The player must commit in a relashionship before marriage (you can date!)
wall papers, floorring and decor can be put in the main players house
you can place down fields, ponds, bee huts, barns, ect (not in just random places
long haired cats (I know not very big but needs to be said)
you choose the wedding clothes for you and your partner (more awesome for girls)
if your a hardcore or casual player play this game, because this is a game changer for all harvest moon players
and if you want to learn more like the bachelors and bachelorettes, the story line, new features and more. go on ushi no tane! it has all things harvest moon like best website ever!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
24 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Ultimate favorite game !!! <3
Posted on:10/1/12
eimiyuki
Location: Palatine, IL
I've been a huge harvest moon fan since gamecube!!! This along with animal crossing as well. So pretty much I have been more into it once I bought animal parade for wii I got myself back into it so then I started checking often when new realeases came out. I lived grand baazar but I wasnt 100% in love with it. I even got the pre-order horse from it which I regret selling! ;-; But when I found out the 3ds had a harvest moon release I litterally bought the 3ds then and there and pre-ordered it because I wanted to see my favorite title in 3d. When I saw the free alpaca plushie I nearly died of happiness. xD Now I have the dog from gamecube a wonderful life and the alpaca from tail of two towls. I miss my horse but from now on I will keep every animal bonus ! I'm super excited to get the yak plushie that comes with this game!!! <3 I cant wait. Although I do hope it comes in october but I bet it wont... >.<~ !! Oh well I already have it paid off so i will just wait patiently
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
I thought my thumb was going to fall off
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/14
waffles89
Location: Crofton, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My biggest problem with the game is the excessive need to run around and collect 50 some items out in the woods. My thumb hurt after about 30 mins of playing. And yes, I am familiar with many Harvest Moon games, unfortunately I keep thinking I will enjoy one as much as HM 64. It does look great, one of the better harvest moons as of late but that's not saying much. The characters fall very flat. It left no lasting impression with me and I traded it in about 3 months of owning it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 5 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Natsume Announces "Soft Release"!
Posted on:10/19/12
Flamesi
Location: NJ
As of today, 10/19, publisher Natsume has announced that Harvest Moon: A New Beginning officially has a "soft release" - they've begun shipping out preorders from their online store, and sending shipments to retailers! Copies may start showing up on store shelves as early as next week. :] Natsume's facebook page has all the information.
52 of 56 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Flamesi
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Flamesi is loaded.
Additional information about Flamesi could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
? - Maere
Posted 11/17/12
Maere, what did you mean by "check your sources"? :p Since my source IS Natsume. Who said, officially and unofficially, that they'd begun shipping orders early. Which, by the way, they did - people began receiving them well before 11/6. And GS finally became aware of the early release as well, and released the game early. So. Yeah.
Customer Avatar
Maere
Riverside, CA
 
Please wait while more information about Maere is loaded.
Additional information about Maere could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
check your sources?
Posted 11/2/12
Natsume themselves doesn't ship their online orders til the 6th, so.................
Customer Avatar
angelcandy
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about angelcandy is loaded.
Additional information about angelcandy could not be loaded.
soft release
Posted 10/23/12
well just check on the soft date for Harvest Moon A New Beginning?. Natsume relaease date Oct. 19, walmart has release as today Oct. 23 online ordering. whats up with gamestop still saying Nov 6. Gamestop when are you going to release Harvest Moon A New Beginning? I have preordered since Aug.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 6 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
FINALLY: A Harvest Moon That Has It All!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/12
Carissachu
Location: Massachusetts
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just got my hands on this game and let's just say Natsume finally got everything I loved about each Harvest game wrapped up into one solid game! THE GOODS: FINALLY able to customize your character! (and, you can continue to customize if you get bored :] ! ) Your stamina and health don't drain nearly as fast as previous games. Multiple camera views so you are never stuck in a weird position where you don't know if you're going to drop an item, not place a crop on the right plot, etc. and you can also shift the camera angles! Characters are so clean and not chunky block people that you can actually enjoy looking at them without talking to them! But when you do talk to them their illustrations are very well made. THE BADS: Only in my first month so this will probably pass but many tutorials and just a slow beginning. Lots of dialog that if you've been playing Harvest Moon enough, it's going to be a drag (not many skip screens). Not many villagers either but hey, that's expected right? Time is counted when you are inside. I can't really find some negatives in the game yet so grab a copy and get to farming!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MichNative
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about MichNative is loaded.
Additional information about MichNative could not be loaded.
New Beginnings .....Its a hit!
Posted 11/8/12
If you love a frendly town that has lots of space to be creative this is the town for you ! Graphics are beautiful, music is good and the opportunities to just do what you want is endless.......One of the best games of this genre! Buy it and see!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Release Date & Pre-Ordering from Nastume instead
Posted on:9/5/12
xCrystalx
Location: California
If you haven't heard yet, HM: A New Beginning will be released November 6th!!! (Actually sooner than I expected so I am happy) AND if you pre-order the 15th Anniversary addition from Natsume you get a giant cow plush instead of the yak!
"You can get a Premium 12” Plush Cow when you purchase the Harvest Moon: A New Beginning 15th Anniversary Edition exclusively from Natsume.com. Pre-ordering for the Harvest Moon: A New Beginning 15th Anniversary Edition will begin on September 24th, 2012. The retail price is $49.99. This will not ship outside the USA."
Sure, it is $10 more, but I rather have a big cow!
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Danielle634
United States
 
Please wait while more information about Danielle634 is loaded.
Additional information about Danielle634 could not be loaded.
15th Anniversary Editio
Posted 9/27/12
So where can I pre-order the 15th Anniversary Edition to get the giant cow plushie? I'm not seeing it anywhere on this site and I reeeaaaally want to get it :C
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
My new favorite of the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/13
ellipse311
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been playing for almost 2 weeks now and this is by far my favorite of the series. My previous favorite was HM 64 but I don't think I could ever go back to that now after playing this one. The last Harvest Moon I played was a wonderful life on the Gamecube and although I did play that one quite a bit, it was ultimately a disappointing entry for me. A new beginning is back to the basics on steroids as you can plant far more crops and care for many different animals while adding a whole new addicting element in being able to customize the whole town. As you earn money and progress you will be able to purchase and scavenge for building materials to add more houses, shops, roads and decoration items. You are given a set of objects that you need to build around town in order to move on to the next list, advancing certain story elements and unlocking new items or areas as you go. Highly recommend this to anyone who liked harvest moon games before but thought something was missing, cause it might have found it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Truly is "A New Beginning"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/3/12
Joeyz1114
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have been a fan of the hm series for just about as long as I can remember, and I thought the more recent ones have become worse in quality, gameplay, etc, I mean dont get me wrong i loved EVERY SINGLE hm game, but they've just gone downhill from "friends of mineral town" for the gba. This game brings TONS of welcomed new features, and has lots of depth for its characters. I've had this for a week now and have been playing for(i looked at my activity log on my 3ds) 8-13 hours each day i could(i lost power for the past couple days because of hurricane sandy). This is in my opinion, the best harvest moon game in A LONG time, and probably one of, if not the best 3ds game(s) . Theres a slow start, I can admit, but once you get past the first spring, there is SO much you can do! It keeps you engrossed for a long time. It has lots of new features i love, but personally i love that you can customize your character from looks, to hair, to clothes, and that YOU are the town carpenter (basically) and you can set up your town and farm the way you like, dont like your coops next to your house, place it near the barn, dont like the general store near the tailors, place 'em somewhere else! ITS THAT EASY!! I Theres also A LOT of new farm animals, which is great because i love owning a bunch of animals, as well as lots of wild animals to befriend(i havent done it myself yet). Overall, the game stays with its roots, while branching out and adding tons of new features to justify the name, "A New Beginning".
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Great a brand new harvest moon game
Posted on:7/3/12
DKandDK
I am so excited for this game to come out. I have played most every harvest moon to come out and i must say from the articles on other websites this game sounds amazing. All I know is that you get the freedom to customize your own town. the characters in the game are not recycled which means they are brand new. According to a report by nintendo this is the third best selling harvest moon of all time next to a wondeful life and friends of mineral town in Japan. So I would definetely get this game even though this a portable harvest moon.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MilkChan
Queens, New York
 
Please wait while more information about MilkChan is loaded.
Additional information about MilkChan could not be loaded.
Another To Add To My Collection
Posted 7/4/12
I have been stalking the life out of this game as soon as Rune Factory: Tides of Destiny came out. I've been waiting so long just to get some idea of a release date, and I saw it this morning... I ran to GameStop and reserved it automatically. The fact that you can customize EVERYTHING and create your own character is what dragged me in the most, other then just buying the game because its another installment to Harvest Moon. Even the characters are not recycled, they resemble many of the older characters and some of the new ones, and all their styles are unique. I can't wait for this game to be released, I'll be the first one on line for this at my GameStop.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
But when is it REALLY going to be out?
Posted on:7/23/12
xCrystalx
Location: California
I have been looking forward to this game since before it was even out in Japan. Everything about it just looks amazing! And I LOVE the fact that you can customize your character.
However Natsume has NOT given an official release date yet, Gamestop is just using October 23rd as a way to satisfy fans.
I am sure MANY HM fans remember what happened with the 3DS version of ToTT. Gamestop put a random release date and kept pushing it further and further back until Natsume gave them an official date.
The only thing Natsume has said is that it will be out in 2012 but until they tell us when it will be out I am not getting my hopes up for an October release.
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Paramourn
 
Please wait while more information about Paramourn is loaded.
Additional information about Paramourn could not be loaded.
Release Date
Posted 9/2/12
Natsume recently said this on their facebook page: Harvest Moon: A New Beginning will be released in North America on November 6th, 2012
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Yes!
Posted on:7/6/12
Yukina
Location: Nevada
I heard you can customize your character and ALSO THE TOWN!!~ You can pick ANY type of hair style/color AND EYES TOO!!~ I'm so happy I'm reserving it ASAP! Anyone a HUGE HarvestMoon Fan I highly suggest this game because it is the first game to be customized!!~
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Dis gon b gud (or at least it looks like it will!)
Posted on:8/8/12
Broswagonist
Location: Seattle, Washington
I love Harvest Moon games, and this one looks like it's going to be amazing! Looks like across between HM: Tree of Tranquility and Animal Crossing! I haven't been impressed with any of the DS Harvest Moons (sorry guys...), but I have high hopes for this one!
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fangirl17
 
Please wait while more information about Fangirl17 is loaded.
Additional information about Fangirl17 could not be loaded.
My mood? I can't wait for it to be released!!!
Posted 8/23/12
As a HM fan, I can say this game is defiantly going to deliver its promises! FINALLY! We have so muuuch more customization choices!!! As a matter of fact this has a splash of animal crossing to it because of the new customization features ^^ I honestly hope the release date will come sooner, because us HM fans are getting angry because we've been waiting so long for the English version!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Super Stoked!
Posted on:9/17/12
Nats
Location: Viola, IL
I was actually just looking at wikipedia for a list of all the Harvest Moon games and then I noticed a new one was coming out! This is so great! I've been waiting AGES for a Harvest Moon game with a completely customizable person, and I'm definitely getting this as soon as it comes out!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Getting this on release!
Posted on:9/22/12
xWarriorhime
Location: Dreamland
I'm so excited for this game to come out, I haven't been following update images, but I think this game will be wonderful. The customization should be a lot of fun, and hopefully this game improves on things that TTOTT lacked in (not that I don't love TTOTT)
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
A must have for 3DS owners
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/12
Vengieo
Location: Syracuse, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A great game for those that loved the ones before it. The game is a big step up over the 3DS port of the previous title, Tale of Two Towns, that was a DS game with a flawed mini game added (would cause memory leak errors in your 3DS, causing crashes that would make you lose all unsaved progress because of the "only saving at the end of the day" system). I love that they kept all the core game play consistent with the older titles, but with minor changes (like plots of land being set in one size of 2x4). Over time, you gain the ability to completely customize your farm to where you place fencing and even later in the game you can remake the whole town. It's a wonderful game with a long play time and it makes me glad to own a 3DS. The only thing I would of liked to see added would be voice acting or at least Japanese voicing with subtitles.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
YAY I WON'T HAVE TO BE A GUY ANYMORE!
Posted on:10/5/12
Ocarinaoftime
Location: TN
HOLY YAK see what I did there corny joke I know, but anyway this game looks amazing if you are a girl harvest moon lover like me well I don't know about you but I was mostly a guy in harvest moon (Which was not so bad because the guys were pretty ugly) but now the guys don't look like 80 or 10 so yeah i'm pretty exstied about the new customization thing on here so i don't have to look the same for the rest of my harvest moon life. The Graphics well look amazing the story don't know about it but still I am so buying this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
SOOOOOO EXCITED!
Posted on:9/22/12
AshyBear
I played Harvest Moon Save the homeland since I was a little kid. It is the most addicting game. I am really excited, but idk how it'll be with the high tech graphics and it being on a portable. I'm still gunna get it and hopefully love it. I recommend any harvest moon game :)
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Bought system for this game
Posted on:10/6/12
daisukechann
I just got my 3ds, I bought it for this game and style savvy trendsetter. . From going on the internet i learned that you can crate your farm and your character.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Harvest Moon: A New Beginning
Yay!
Posted on:8/28/12
MidnightXMonster
I'm so excited for this! I saw this in Japanese a couple months ago and have been waiting for it to show up on GameStop! Can not WAIT.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Steph09
 
Please wait while more information about Steph09 is loaded.
Additional information about Steph09 could not be loaded.
release date
Posted 9/4/12
November 6th is when it will be coming out. Means we all have to wait longer. Waiting longer is not much fun. Better come with the Yak on here like it does on the natsume website
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>