GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset

The Afterglow Wired Headset for the Playstation 3® boasts tough construction, a beautiful aesthetic design, and the signature Afterglow lights. The headsets also feature large, 50mm Neodymium® Speakers that sit inside an angled acoustic cavity tuned by an award winning Hollywood audio post-production facility. The custom designed speakers are calibrated for audio depth, sonic richness, and clarity of sound.
Average Customer Rating:
5.921
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
10
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 star
6
22 out of 3858%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Great Headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/14
darkness5595
Location: Texas, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So I got this headset just now at Gamestop for 40 dollars and make sure before you go that you call and ask as for me and my dad called in before to three other stores before we finally found a store across town that had them, not a problem but a little hassle to drive. Everyone's a critic saying this headset is "terrible" the mic "bad". Sure the headset doesn't have the best quality sound but for 40 dollars and the design makes up for the mic and sound quality's slack. Also the main problem with these is if you are insecure or know you have a big head I would not get these as the headset is almost too big for my head but so far I haven't had any trouble with these headphones they seem to work great for me and are affordable. Some headsets for example the Astro A50's are 300 dollars and are the best quality, sound, etc. If you aren't sure about these may I say these are great
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
comfortable and great sound
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/14
tokezy
Location: Atlanta, GA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Its crystal clear and it wont break easy and it is very very soft also it has a retractable microphone which makes it all the better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
It was GREAT at first
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/14
Squiddles
Location: Anderson, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I used this product at first it was amazing, even if I had to balance the chat and game. (It took me a long while to get used to such thing). Still even though the sound is phenomenal, a couple months later I had wired issues. Sometimes it will only play out of one ear while having my chat wire plugged in to talk to others. Even with such great sound, I would definitely recommend Turtle Beaches over Afterglow. I've had Turtle Beaches that lasted me 3 years where as I just got these at the middle of 2013, and they are giving me a slight bit of problems. (Given note I've only had these since August of 2013. 4 months) Even so, they are good headphones for a while. They DO Have great sound don't get me wrong. I just believe Turtle Beaches are more worth the money more then Afterglow.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Great audio, but to what cost?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/14
JustSavage05
Location: Minford, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is with out a doubt amazing with audio quality. Its crisp and will not miss a sound, but with that everything else is wrong. Its too focused on great audio quality but forgot about mic quality the sizing of the headset and everything else. Now to start with the problems with this headset. First off lets talk about the microphone quality. Its less than poor. Its at a pathetic standard, its microphone jack for the Xbox 360 WILL break the controller if it is plugged into it. The controller for the rest of its use will always think that it has a microphone plugged into it. Also the microphone itself will sound like you are talking through a pillow under the sea. Now on to the comfort of the headset. Its not. If you are lucky enough to have the head to be able to fit in the thing it will wear your ears raw in a matter of minuets. Its really awkward to keep the thing on as well with its support brace beneath the glowy part of the headset . For the last thing is compatibility. After a struggle to connect the headset to a console except the Xbox 360, but as I mentioned it breaks the controller. But with everything else it is a struggle. I am STILL unable to use the headset as a microphone for my PC. But even with all of these faults there is two good things. Price and sound quality. I would recommend saving the extra 10$ and just buy a pair of turtle beaches. Best thing to do and you know you are getting better quality out of it all around. I hope I can save you from making a poor buy choice that I made.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
The Best Headset I Have Ever Owned
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/13
Anonymous
Location: ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the looks are awesome not just the looks but the feel they are awesome a must buy if your looking for something that are like turtle beach in fact these are way better.I HAVE TRIED TURTLE BEACHES and yes they are an awesome brand of headsets.Although this tops them the sound way better and fell very comfy.My friends can hear me better and the game sounds amazing through the headset.I am not kidding these are by far the best headset to buy. if you are looking for an awesome clear sound bass bumping headset for a decent amount of cash you have found the headset you want.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
The headset I bought was terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/13
MoMokizm
Location: Framingham MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The wire connecting to the actual headset was worn out and ripped in 4 months. I believe I should get another pair
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
It was great but...not for my general laptop...
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/13
Sana
Location: HI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love it, and it works for the ps3 and xbox buuut...the audio jack for the pc is only 3.5mm and it doesn't fit onto my laptop jack so i was very upset with that. I'm more of a pc gamer and i really need to find thicker audio inputs, but this headset is THE BEST and thats what got me the most.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
AWESOME PRODUCT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/13
SlythekidGaming
Location: Leesburg VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I went out to find a good quality headset for pc gaming got the afterglow agu.1 and was amazed with sound quality and durability it truly is THE BEST HEADSET EVER it even works for xbox, ps3, wii, pc, and even smart phones!
BEST HEADSET EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Great for sound, bad microphone.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/13
ReedFeeds
Location: Sherburne, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First, i was amazed on the quality and sound of it. the Bass boost on it really worked on music, and certain games. but. if you are playing Call Of Duty, or any game. When you have your mic plugged into your control, doesn't matter if its muted or not. The people who are listening to you heard all of your game sound. your gunshots, reloading, etc. etc. it was very annoying. and i ended up only using the headset for a good 5 minutes online. i tried again a few days later. and the same thing. the overall headset was good. the design was very cool. i liked the way it lit up. also, the way the chat and game volume mixed was confusing. there wasnt two separate dials for each. just a game sound, and another dial that evened the game and chat volumes out.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Ok
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/13
Chidosi797
Location: Henrico, VA
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this headset has amazing performance but hurts my head after over an hour of playing i love the spinny thingy on it
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Worked properly for 4 months
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/13
InkaJedi
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The design itself is a bit bulky and the fit on your head feels a bit tight. After a bit of use, you really don't feel uncomfortable. The sound quality is great and the mic worked well. After 4 months, the mic stopped working completely. I can still hear, but the mic is completely dead. The light on the mic won't even turn on. I've called their helpline and would always get a recording, and that was during their business hours. I left a message and have yet to get a call back. There's no way to fix the mic. $60 for only a 4 month use? Not worth it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
do not buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/13
nikname
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
uncomfortable, low quality design. especially for the price. get the X12's instead. the bad thing about this headset is that there is a chat and master volume controls, not like any other headset with chat and game volume. the master controls the chat. so the only way to hear the people you are talking to is to have the master and chat volumes turned up to 100%, but if you like your eardrums unburst, then this is not the headset for you
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Great idea, POOR execution!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/13
TheKate
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headphones look AWESOME! I got these for use with Xbox 360 and was truly disappointed though!
They don't adjust to your head size and the sound quality is awful. The cables are all a mess as well! I've dealt with wired headsets before but these were not much fun.
If all you care about is wearing a (really) cool looking headset and listening to the game sounds, then you are GOLDEN. These will work great for you!
But if you care about the quality of the chat volume and the quality of your own voice, I would seriously suggest that you highly reconsider.
A girlfriend of mine who plays Xbox recommended these to me so I got them instead of Turtle Beaches. Within 30 minutes of using these I had 4 people tell me I sounded like I was either in a huge empty room with echo-y walls, that I was in a vacuum, or like I was talking through a pipe.
After I put my old Microsoft headset in (the one that comes with your Xbox 360) to ask if I sounded better (which everyone agreed I did!), I also realized that everyone's voices sounded better with that headset than with the Afterglows.
Seriously, the sound quality should at least be better than the cheap headphones that come with your xbox! I was sorely disappointed.
I kept using them though to see if they would grow on me.
Well the headache that grew within an hour certainly changed my mind. I packed it up and took it for an exchange the next day!
If you're a reallyyyy casual gamer and don't really talk much, you will probably like these. The bass boost with the game sound sounds awesome! But I do talk to a lot of friends and if that's your thing you may want to get something better suited to that.
I'm disappointed these didn't work out. They look GREAT!
I paid $20 more and got TB's that I LOVE...but I still think the Afterglows look amazing! haha.
OH and by the way...they say that it's universal and compatable with iPods and computers and whatnot. But you have to have like 8ft of cables attached and it's very cumbersome.
Also, I thought there would be individual adjustment knobs for the game volume and the chat volume...and there isn't. All it is is one knob and you either adjust it more towards game volume or more towards chat volume. And after a certain point it mutes the opposite one. I couldn't personally find a good balance for myself.
I added a recommendation to the headset I exchange mine for. Everyone who heard me with the Afterglows agrees that the quality is much improved. They don't LOOK as nice. But in this case I had to chose function over form!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
I really like it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
Gamegagster
Location: milwakie,Wisconsin
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Everything about the heaset is just increadibel exept the Reatratible micriphone is a little sensitve that is why i gave it a nine i fixed it by taking some carboard a sitriphome and taped it to the micriphone other than the micriphone it is a great heaset with the 50mm stero headphones base bost is the best part the chat and all of that stuff works the best i recomend it ALOT to any body who is on the market for this heaset the heaset actily comes in green instead of blue dont know why just is
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Don't Buy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/13
adog1011
Location: Whitehall, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The headset was amazing at first never had any problems at all love the thing, but after 3 months the headset's mic would cut off and last night the mic stop working. I loved the things but afterglow products don't last long I even had a controller that didn't last more than 6 months. So in conclusion don't but this headset
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
SO DISAPPOINTING
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
Em11399
Location: Ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First of all, I purchased this headset from toys R us, I had them for about 2 weeks, the green cord you use to plug into the controller on Xbox broke. I had to take them back and exchange them. I got a new pair. They seemed to be doing fine until I noticed the sound quit working in the right ear. By this point I have had them for a few months now. Besides the ear that quit working, the bass button was good. they sounded fairly well. I also noticed after keeping them on for awhile, they started hurting my head. They literally gave me a head ache. They were just so uncomfortably tight. I noticed that if you like to play your video games in the dark, the LED light on the speaker was very blinding. It was really hard to figure out the controls. You have to play with them forever to get it to the exact spot. I was very disappointed considering they say they compare with turtle beach. I tried on my friends turtle beaches and right away noticed the difference. These are not worth it. Buy turtle beaches.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
not for people with big ears
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/13
riku87
Location: Porter texas
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I know I have big ears {insert dumbo joke here} save some money get yourself some turtle beach headphones
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
Terrible gaming headphones.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/13
Odin001
Location: Sparks, NV
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Afterglow's aren't ideal for gaming in my opinion. The headset is good for game sounds, and game sounds alone. They have a terrible static hiss noise on PS3, 360, and PC (don't have a WII or WII-U to test these on). Game and chat volume isn't controlled separately and thanks to this terrible design, FPS like Battlefield 3 or Call of Duty game sounds overpower the players voice! You almost can't hear anyone talking to you or just in general chat thanks to this. I don't recommend this product to serious gamer's. If you're on a tight budget and just need a pair of headphones for game sounds then these will do. If you want a good pair of universal gaming headphone, then I recommend the Turtle Beach: PX21 or the DPX21.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
coolest headsets ever
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/13
killer323
Location: antioch,Ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
best headset ever. Great for PS3 and they are the coolest headset ever I would suggest this headset c
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 Afterglow Wired Headset
VERY GREAT headphones
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/13
PRICELESSxPENGUIN
Location: La Grande, OR
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love these headphones there great comfort, sound fantastic and the mic is good. Worth the Money!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>