GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset

The Afterglow Universal Wireless headset boast tough construction, a beautiful aesthetic design, and the signature Afterglow lights. The headsets also feature large, 50mm Neodymium® Speakers that sit inside an angled acoustic cavity tuned by an award winning Hollywood audio post-production facility. The custom designed speakers are calibrated for audio depth, sonic richness, and clarity of sound.
Average Customer Rating:
7.831
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (177 reviews)
10 stars
60
9 stars
48
8 stars
15
7 stars
8
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
8
130 out of 17276%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Review 1 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
REAL honest review (revised)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/12
jcraff
Location: hampton, nh
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
check out the pic..so this is a real review..for people that want to know how the specs perform..im listening to music right now and it sounds incredible, they are just like my skull candy aviators....easy as ever to just plug your phone or mp3 in and just hit play or play and wait for a call..in game iv never met something so clean, the way the sound pops, exploisions smh, and when emp's go off in cod its the most wicked theater rumble you could ever hear..at first i wasnt sure about putting them on cuz the extension to fit different heads is different but it u get used to it the 2nd time u put them on..i had to return a repair and have pdp themselves send me a pair cuz my friends said i sounded horrible..i got this pair back and told my friends i was on my old headset so they wouldnt be bias and they said i sound fine now..the volume dials are easier than turtles, they are lighter than turtles..the blue lights up my ceiling and whats cool is i can turn the lighting off if the battery is low or just to shut it off, i havnt needed to extend the mix i figure just keep it in..again, THE SOUND IS OFF THE WALLS..i play borderlands 2, cod all the stuff to rly test them out and i keep finding new things it does..you know how music cycles between both ears? it makes the game do it to! so its just insane..1 cord, no dumb stuff its allllll built int he headphones so all they need is a reciever to pick up game sound which is a ncie little cord from your tv to the xbox usb..BUY THEM, if you have a problem fine w e they are new you know, get a replacement i called pdp witht he 800 number the headset gave so they get true feedback send out a tested pair..either way amazing, i gave the design a 9 only cuz i think they could have made the ehadband smaller but still kicks
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Amazing Price just one annoyance
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/12
FKINGBS
Location: california
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I own a Ps3 so I initially went with the Sony headset that costs around $100. First off, hands down this is a better headset simply because it offers similar durability and can be used on ANY device, not just Ps3 and PC. With that in mind I have to say that the quality is amazing considering the price and considering that it is wireless. It does not compare to Turtle Beaches PX21's that are wired, but again due to the fact that they are wireless, its forgivable. Now, their is one very annoying thing that i simply do not understand why they would do such a thing. When you charge the headset, it automatically turns on, and cannot be turned off. You CANNOT turn of the led lights at anytime, EVEN when it's finished charging. You have to manually unplug it and turn them off. This is completely ridiculous because if you have the headset charging in your room, it's impossible to sleep with the headset lighting up the whole room. With that said I simply have to charge them during the day. Everything else is great, and well worth $90.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A 30 second Call of Duty LOL moment
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Best purchase I made in a long time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
LoveGaming
Location: Mesa, AZ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First off these are universal, and what I mean by that is I can use them on all my systems, my tablet, and my phone, which makes these an all in one for me. The price isn't bad at all considering the competition, the fact that they are louder and sound much better than most of the turtle beach products I've tested, I say that there a winner, oh did I mention to say that there wireless.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A 10 hands down.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Great for gaming, producing, or recreation
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
TmanFro
Location: Morehead, KY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall, the headphones are sweet. I am a video producer and audio engineer, as well as an avid gamer. I wanted something that would give me clear audio and booming bass. These work fantastic for picking up enemy footsteps or for EQ'ing your bass guitarist. They will rattle your eardrums and rock your socks off. My fellow audio engineers and gamer friends are astonished by the overall quality and mesmerized by the wireless and universal capabilities. I traded up from Turtle Beach px21's that I used for a day an could not stand the background noise and electrical feedback. They do lack comfort for larger heads due to the lack of adjustability; however, it is nothing unbearable. If you want quality prosumer headphones to give you an edge, or to crank your music, then these are for you.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Best gaming headsets out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/13
TheEnforcer115
Location: Chicago ill
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've wanted to let you guys know that this is an actual review of my PDP wireless afterglow headsets I rated this 10/10 because these are the best headsets ever the guy at GameStop said that that the headsets were too "Plastic" I simply told him "Look man I know what I'm getting okay?" He tried to recommend turtle beach x32 but I told him "No no no!" Haha best choice I've ever made is these headsets I took a pic of my headsets to show you that is is a real review so you gamers that do all nighters and have a cat etc...etc...etc... These are the headsets for you no lie best headsets ever and best price and quality best $100.00 I've ever spent..
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Best Headset Ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
kademan15
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When i got the headset i was so excited and i had it for 2 weeks and its still great. BUY THE HEDSET. its worth the money!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Very surprised!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
Heavensriot
Location: Northern, Cali
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First let me make something very clear. I am an Game Stop SMGR. There, now that we have that on the table here we go. Myself along with every SMGR in the company received a pair of these headsets for free this yr. as part of our Conference PKG in San Antonio, TX. It's PDP. It's Afterglow. I honestly didn't really care. The lights are cute and all, but performance is something that has always been lacking. Well, after being stuck traveling for 21 Hrs. and putting these head sets on so I could drown out the noise of the airport I can tell you all that I will be pushing these head sets onto every customer that steps through my door these holidays. Crisp clean sound, Deep bass along with a clean sharp design and a low price point for what you get and these things are GREEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAaaaatttttttt. Seriously, buy them. My only complaint is that for someone who wears glasses, I can sometimes have an ear cup push the side of my glasses into my temple which can cause an head ache. No other complaints.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
22 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bluex420x
PACAS
 
Please wait while more information about bluex420x is loaded.
Additional information about bluex420x could not be loaded.
Posted 12/3/12
Cant wait for Employee appreciation day haha :D I might get these for a My GF shes been complaining about how she wants Wireless Head set >< Shes always using my x41's But hopefully this will keep her busy <3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/9/12
Afiorica
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset and so far it has worked very nicely. This headset, recommended to me by the greatest Gamestop manager ever, is amazing. I have gone through many wireless headsets trying to find one that works well with Xbox 360. It is noise cancelling and the sound is really good for a wireless headset. The battery life is great. The headset is very tight on the head for the first week. One thing i dont like is the way they set up the chat volume.There are two seperate knobs. There is the game volume knob (Normal) but then they did something really annoying with the chat volume. Instead of it being chat alone, it is the chat AND the game volume. So in order for me to lower the chat for example, i have to increase the game volume so the game sound doesnt go silent. In order for me to higher chat, i have to lower game volume to make sure i dont blast the game volume. The mic has a quality of a cellphone headset but it is worth the $90.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tubbles
 
Please wait while more information about Tubbles is loaded.
Additional information about Tubbles could not be loaded.
Posted 12/20/12
Can you hear yourself talk through the mic when you speak like with turtle beaches?
Customer Avatar
MRAWESOME132
Clayton NC
 
Please wait while more information about MRAWESOME132 is loaded.
Additional information about MRAWESOME132 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/11/12
do u think they are as good as astro A40's ?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 9 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
making a name
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/12
jcraff
Location: hampton, nh
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the whole point of these headphones if you did any research is for them to finally become something..see-through controllers lighting up is cool but when i was in 6th grade..they are finally trying to come out of the box and make a better name for themselves, literally. thats the reason for these bad boys..they are cheap cuz they know they cant jusst toss out a pair for 130$ like turtle beach when they already have a "eh" response on their previous products. its all legit and i cant wait for them. turtle beaches arent even that good as much as we like them all of you can admit they have their problems, iv had multiple pairs and not just the cheap ones..and i always come across something i dont like. these headsets are definitely guna be a good competition with the outer party contracts to build the best sound all the way to the lightweight and clarity in the mic..plus the neon blue is sweet as heck..and if they turn out to be just as good as turtle beach, well, at least mine are guna look nuts and still be lighter and about 50$ cheaper
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
XxHuDixX
P.R
 
Please wait while more information about XxHuDixX is loaded.
Additional information about XxHuDixX could not be loaded.
Thank You
Posted 9/7/12
nicely said sir,i feel more secure about the purchase of these now.they'll arrive sometime soon.thank you
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Amazing Headsets 2 Thumbs Up!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
NoS83
Location: Anderson, SC
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have been wanting these since I heard of them, then they came out but gamestop stores were limited on them so most were out of stock or didn't have a clue what I was talking about. I finally had went to nc with my wife and had got my hands on a set, it was the only one they had left. Wow they are freaking awesome on the consoles and the smartphones, looks awesome, love the lights, mic is very clear, the quality is beyond great. The audio is perfect, I seen some reviews on here oh it's not loud enough.. Well it's just perfect, it gets pretty loud but I'd like to keep my ear drums and not go deaf. Also if you wear glasses, you are fine it does NOT effect wearing these headsets in anyway.. I have own many headsets, mainly turtlebeach yeah they name brand but these afterglow headsets would put most turtlebeach to shame so I wouldn't put afterglow down there product could last a very long time as I see these headset gonna last for a good while cause of the quality. If you are wanting the Afterglow Universal Wireless headset, I'd say they are very worth the price, I Recommend them for sure but remember everyone is gonna have there opinion on them...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Fantastic headset for the price!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
StandardDamage
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This $90 headset rivals wireless headsets that are over twice the money. The sound is nice and crisp and it works with literally every current game system out there. To answer some questions I've seen in the preview buzz... 1.Yes, the headset does include a retractable microphone, as well as the needed mic cable for the Xbox 360. 2. When they say the wireless headphone range is 100 feet, they're NOT kidding. As a test, I walked all over my house to see if I could get the sound to break up...and it didn't. It stayed crystal clear all the way through. 3. Yes, it's literally a Universal headset...it even includes the cables necessary to work with the Sony Vita and Nintendo 3DS. 4. Say goodbye to batteries...The headset is rechargeable. The headset seems to last anywhere from 8 - 12 hours on a charge, depending on if I have it all lit up and how much I'm chatting with my buddies on PC or Xbox Live. It also includes a 10 foot long charge and play USB cable. So if you're running out of juice you can plug it to the USB port on your gaming system and charge it while you still use it. As I've only had the headset for a few days, the only thing I can't speak to is durability. I CAN say there is that the headset certainly feels nice and solid while still being reasonably lightweight and comfortable. Overall, this headset is a great buy. I normally don't write reviews, but this one impressed me enough that I felt I should share my thoughts.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
69 of 72 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
QuincyBlaze
 
Please wait while more information about QuincyBlaze is loaded.
Additional information about QuincyBlaze could not be loaded.
Posted 9/10/12
Preparing to buy this gold, does it have a jack for opting out of bluetooth (for the battery's sake)? if not, doesnt matter, I want em so bad
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
All around wonderful device
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
juicybeef
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset because I was looking for a wireless headset so I would have to deal with all the cords tangled around my feet while play my Xbox. I saw these online and the style alone caught my eye. The range on them is ridiculous I've walked all around my house and even parts of the yard and didn't lose signal. The comfort took me a few hours to get used to because I was so used to my old turtle beaches but now when I put them on they feel great. They hold a charge for about 6-7 hours of straight gameplay and then you can plug them into your console and charge and use them at the same time. The only bad thing about these I have found was that the voice quality I put out isn't as high as my turtle beach x12. Several people have asked me when we were in party chat why my mic sounded like I was in a big room or why is my face so far from the mic, when really it was right near it. Besides that, probably one of my better purchases of the last year, great device, highly recommend.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Really great headseat, worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
llamacek
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I feel that this headset was worth the money because I was looking at headsets for my birthday. I was looking at Turtle Beach headsets, but I looked at many different brands after seeing that Turtle Beach was not in my price range. I also looked at Tritton headsets but they were only for Xbox 360. Then I looked at many headsets on Gamestop.com, when searching through I came across the most amazing headset I have ever seen, it glowed and it had a built in mic and it is extremely durable. I had everything I was looking for and more so when my birthday came around I chose this headset and never looked back. Although I love this headset, there are few setbacks such as: discomfort after prolonged use, the mic is hard to slide back into place after using it, and personally it does not have enough bass to it. Overall this is an amazing headset I would recommend to everyone, despite it's shortcomings. Turtle Beach, Tritton, and Astro look out because there is a new competitor on the market. P.S If you enounter a static sound while playing, turn up your tv volume and decrease the volume of the headset.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Amazing and Affordable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
Korso
Location: Bellingham, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When you first open the package and hold these in your hands, you'll immediately feel how well they are built; solid and sturdy. Nothing about them seems cheap or skimped on. And when you put them on your head you will immediately feel how comfortable they are; large PU leather pads are the perfect shape for the human head.. Then, when you play games, music or movies... you will be in awe of its amazing sound. All levels of noise are blended together so well that you'll hear everything. I challenge you to play a game without them and then, again, with them; you will pick up on subtle sounds otherwise lost. The only gripe i have about them is the large clear plastic piece that holds the two headphones together. They look a little bulky and silly on your head...but who cares really? It is purely a cosmetic gripe, but a gripe nonetheless. Also i wish there were a way to turn the blue LEDs off, if there is a way, it's not obvious. I highly recommend these to anyone who loves sound.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
This headset is more than worth the $90.00
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/12
Anonymous
Location: Spokane, WA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Oh boy! I saw the ad for these in GameInformer and loved the look. I did my research and thought these would be a good buy. I WAS WRONG, THESE ARE AN AMAZING BUY!!! The sound quality is outstanding. Deep bass, crystal clear high ends, and a vibrant and full body overall sound... Design is a bit over the top (which works for me because I like my things to stand out against the grain)... the Lights are cool as H3LL and the big band that runs over your head definitely turns some heads! They are very comfortable to wear AFTER the first 5-10 minutes... they feel a big snug and awkward at first but that quickly fades. They do an excellent job at blocking out the outside noises and the pads are nice and thick for extra comfort. The earcups are contoured for a better fit and noise cancellation (which works great). This setup comes with EVERYTHING you need to connect to ANY device!!! I love that I can VOIP via skype or others, I can play online games with my PS3 and my 360, it works on the Wii and WiiU, it connects very easily to all devices, PC setup it simple - USB and headphone jack and bam wireless up to 100ft from your PC!!! AWESOME... There is only TWO things I found that I do not like about this headset... 1) With the amazing audio quality the headphones sound great and get pretty loud, but I am the kind of guy who likes my music to wake neighbors and these headphones don't get quite as loud as I hoped... 2) THEY ARE HUGE!!! Photos online and the videos I saw they didn't look like they were all that big, but the are BIGGER than the Sony PS3 Wireless headset and I hated the size and bulkiness of those... BUT this headset is VERY tough, and built very well... and as an added bonus I can hook it up to my iPod, Android phone, and tablets to use as standard headphones which turned out to be a huge selling point for me... Overall I would get these headphones over and over again... PDP did an amazing job with research and development and took everything into consideration when bringing this headset to life... GREAT JOB!!! I say YES get these, and get a set for your friend!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
35 of 37 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Best gaming headset ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
MikeMike1337
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Tried this at my friend's house who got it early because he works for Game Stop and my god is it an awesome product. I own a pair of X32s and A40s from Astro and this headset blows them out of the water. I think I spent as much money on batteries as I spent on my X32s and it feels like a toy next to this headset. This one has a built in battery, a tough build yet it's lightweight and very comfortable. My friend had to kick me out after I was refusing to let it go. It sounds amazing and works with everything. I was very impressed with its range as we played some music from a computer and we couldn't get it to drop the signal. It freaking looks like it's a sci-fi movie prop but it's a serious gaming gear. Can't believe the price neither. Headsets twice the cost of this isn't nearly half good as this.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RDream1
bbb
 
Please wait while more information about RDream1 is loaded.
Additional information about RDream1 could not be loaded.
Afterglow Review
Posted 9/16/12
Ok let me start off with the design is awesome and they really do light up just like the picture. I was so excited about this head set that the first time i saw them I had to have them I mean they glow blue come on right! I ordered them online and waited and waited for them to arrive! Three days later i had them! I was SO EXCITED!!! I opened them up slowly taking it all in reading the outside of the box so on and so forth. prolonging the experience like it was some kind of gift from GOD or something. OK so here we go there sleek they glow blue yall!!! And sound like cra!!!!!!!! Yep you heard right they sound like cra!!!! They had such potential but unfortunately they fail to deliver the sound to go with the looks! Dont let yourself be fooled as I have and dont listen to thease other reviews either I tell You the gamers the truth they look GREAT but sound like CRA!!! 6 out of 10 and the only reason it got the extra point is because it glows blue.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
I love the quality and value.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/12
BigEpple
Location: Dewey, OK
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have never had a head set that i liked until now. I like how comfortable they are to wear. I like that i can use them with any device and how far i can go while wireless. The sound quality is as good if not better than higher priced headsets. With digital surround you can get that FPS mode you are looking for.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
James4657
 
Please wait while more information about James4657 is loaded.
Additional information about James4657 could not be loaded.
They aren't Surrond Sound
Posted 12/22/12
This headset aren't surround sound so no the sound quality on these headsets aren't anywhere near as good as the higher priced ones. Also you can't use this on any device as it's not Bluetooth so you can't use it with your phone. This is coming from someone who owns these headsets and has the pulse headsets.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Would be good if more comfortable
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/12
Anonymous
Location: Eugene, Oregon
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My little brother got this headset at Gamestop. They look like a fairly nice headset if you're into really flashy stuff, and $90 isn't that bad for a wireless set. However, when I tried them on, they immediately felt very uncomfortable and I was surprised that there was no way to adjust the band. I'd say I have a pretty average size head for an adult male and these were definitely too tight on me. Even my 12 year old brother said he thought they weren't comfortable, but he might have a larger than average head for his age. For PS3 and PC players, I would look at the Playstation PULSE headset. They are in a different league as far as quality and comfort go, and they've been selling for only 10-25% more than these lately, despite having a much higher MSRP. Last but not least, this Afterglow headset uses a lot of wires connected between the TV and the console. I like that both the PS3 wireless headsets only require plugging in a USB dongle, which helps cut down on wires.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Great set
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/12
DankG
Location: West Michigan
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great headset for gaming with. My first headset purchase, I really couldn't be happier with the performance. The sound is fantastic, the unit is cheap, and the wireless range is superb. I was listening to some music through my Xbox and was able to walk around my house without ever having an interruption with the signal. The three sound modes aren't bad, but I find myself using the Red light mode designed to present the audio exactly as the creators intended. Whether I'm playing Assassin's Creed III or Battlefield 3, the presentation is amazing. You can hear everything, from the rustle of the bushes to the colonists sowing dissent among themselves. The balance between game audio and chat volume does take some getting used to. Playing with the levels will allow you to find an optimal balance pretty quick. This of course brings up one point - the headset does require a cable to hook between the unit and your controller if you want to do voice chat while playing on Xbox Live. It's really not a problem - I'm used to having to hook into the controller to chat. The wireless setup itself is a breeze. Just take out your left and right audio cables, hook into the pass through, then reconnect to the TVs inputs. Once done you can plug the wireless adapter into the USB slot on the front of your Xbox and turn the headset on. I was able to connect a USB cable into the second slot while the wireless adapter is plugged in. I did a lot of research before buying this headset. I really didn't want to spend upwards of $250 on a wireless Turtle Beach, so I went this route. I charged it before using the first time, but only for about an hour (got a full charge by that point as it is partially charged). Once I was ready to play it took all of 5 minutes to hook everything up and be in the game. Several reviewers mentioned some feedback when they first started using the headset. I got this as well, but within about 30 minutes it had gone away. I thought maybe I just got used to it, so I turned everything off, then tried it again. The little buzz was gone. The only real con is the design. It is pretty comfortable, if you consider that no headset is really comfortable. I've played this for a three hour and four hour stretch now since buying. Both times I was able to wear the unit without any high level of discomfort. Every now and then it feels good to pop the cups off - between matches - and give the ears a breather. And it does get a tad warm, but again nothing that is a deal breaker. When you first get the headset it does take a minute to get a comfortable fit. The set doesn't adjust, but rather is built in the one size fits all mode. My head is average size, and by placing the band a little towards the front on the top of my head, I'm able to rotate the cups so they rest comfortably on my ears. If you have a big noggin, this might be a bit of a tight fit. And the controls are on the left ear cup. Not a real issue, but being right handed I feel like it would be easier to adjust my game/chat audio mix while playing if I could use my dominant hand. Switching between audio modes is a simple push of a button, the main power button acts as a mute (also easy to use), and so far I've gotten good feedback on the quality of my voice from teammates when using the extendable microphone. This unit works well for your mp3 player also. I will usually run the player through my Xbox with a USB cable, allowing me to go wireless. When I have plugged them in with the included cord, I haven't noticed any decrease in performance. My only complaint here is that with the extremely high profile it's not always convenient to wear while working around the house. I've hit the head band a couple of times. Long review, but all in all a great purchase. We're looking at a surround sound system for Christmas, but in the meantime I wanted something that would let me experience game audio as it should be while not keeping my anyone up late at night. I can sit on the couch and game in full audio without anyone being disturbed. The sound is fantastic, the fit is pretty good, and the wireless is excellent. The quality carries over when listening to TV shows, music, and podcasts as well. A great value for a great wireless headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
26 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Alright, some issues.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/14
Taegaris
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this headset about 3 months ago. When I first started wearing it, it was pretty good. It synced almost immediately to the USB transmitter, and I was able to get quality sound fast. -- That being said, there were some very noticeable problems. The headset is not adjustable, and the plastic headband squeezes rather tightly. After about an hour or two of wearing them, my ears hurt pretty badly. Because the band is a thick plastic one, it hast worn in at all, it is still just as tight as when I bought it. -- Another issue I seem to be having is interference with the wireless connectivity. I hear a really obnoxious buzzing no matter what USB port I plug the transmitter into, that will not go away. I can even hear it in the background when I'm listening to music. If you can manage to fit into it comfortably, though, it is a good headset. I recommend trying it on before you buy.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>