GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset

The Afterglow Universal Wireless headset boast tough construction, a beautiful aesthetic design, and the signature Afterglow lights. The headsets also feature large, 50mm Neodymium® Speakers that sit inside an angled acoustic cavity tuned by an award winning Hollywood audio post-production facility. The custom designed speakers are calibrated for audio depth, sonic richness, and clarity of sound.
Average Customer Rating:
7.829
7.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (175 reviews)
10 stars
60
9 stars
47
8 stars
15
7 stars
7
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
8
129 out of 17076%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Review 1 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Great sound poor build
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
badbennie
Location: Springfield
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had these headphones for about a year and a half. After a year the clear band snapped. I had to duct tape it together. They have been too tight on my head since day one. I usually wear them for 30 to 45 minutes before they start to become uncomfortable. The sound quality is great but with 7.1 virtual surround out now I wouldn't bother picking these up. Hope this helped.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Excellent product, needs updated documentation.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/14
Drinnari
Location: Mississippi
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
RELATED TO PS4 USE:
When I purchased this headset, it was pre-PS4. I wasn't sure if it was going to work. The USB connector WILL NOT FIT into the PS4, and you shouldn't try to make it. Instead, plug the included Headphone jack into both the Dualshock 4 and the Headset. Both audio input and output will function as expected. I don't know how the product will function with an Xbox ONE.
REVIEW:
I'll keep this short. A really great product for the price. Three different sound modes, with the most useful for multiplayer being the directional (green) sound mode. However, on rare occasions, the headset will emit a loud beeping noise and then reset itself. It's not a common occurrence, but it's the only thing keeping this headset away from a 10.
If you have the money and are looking for a headset, this is the one to get.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Good for gamers with multiple devices
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
baseball1822
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this headset for about 5 months now. I use it on my PC, Xbox, and phone and the sound is really good. The only downside of it is that the mic is not the best but my friends can still hear me fine on each device.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Great Headset with 1 Problem
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/13
TheSonicFAn
Location: Clearfield, UT
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the must have universal headset for Wii U owners and I love using this headset on my PS3, My PC, and on my iPod. My one complaint is the Mic: it sounds fuzzy when I heard it inside the Audio Settings tab on the PS3's Xmedia Bar. This can't compete with Turtle Beach or Trition because of Wii U compatability
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Worth the Money? It's worth it JUST for service.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/13
Roughknite
Location: Des Moines, IA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After doing much research I decided to buy a pair. I was blown away by the quality and the design. The sound is amazing. The only downside is the Mic is pretty sensitive, which can not be adjusted. Anyway, the reason I say it's worth the money simply for the customer service at PDP. I have had the headset for over a year now. I'm pretty sure it is out-side of warranty. After the first few weeks it had a problem, the blue light on the mic kept flashing and I could not turn it on at all. I have had no time to call them to replace it until now because of my job. Even though it has taken me this long to call them, the first person I talked to advised they would simply send me a new one at no cost. They didn't need my recipt, didn't need me to fill out a bunch of stuff, no upfront costs and reimbursments. Simply free shipping through FedEx and all I need to do is give them the headset (not cables or anything) back to them with a letter stating I would like a replacement, and that's it. If you ever have a problem with yours for some reason give them a call, they are awesome.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
awesome headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/13
freakyninja
Location: brownsdale mn
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i just got this headset it works amazing. i use it for my 360 the only bad thing is that you get the buzzing sound when you have your controller plugged in with the headset otherwise works perfect!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Stunning
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/13
SaintMartin300
Location: Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a product that ive never regret spending my money on, and I spent my last paycheck for this. I LOVE playing games with this headset, and when I want to surrounded the noise level to my games I can hook them up. sometimes, when I listen to music I can simply set it to the PC and jam to music! an amazing product and so worth your money! I had a trouble with it at first trying to connect the USB to the Headset but the website for the product certainly helps in delivering options that help you in fixing the simpliest product. my favorite, is using the bass boost when dubstep, and the audio boost for listening to important cutscences!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Worth Your $80
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/13
Snazzysix
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The headset was amazing. You have to hook it up to your controller like any other headset, but you can listen to the tv and chat in the headset as adjustable volumes. There are three mic options, but they all work. They aren't perfect mics though but they are good. You can go farther away from the television than most Xbox and ps3 headsets can go. There is only one thing that really bugged me about this. The thing that bugged me is that if your tv does not have an audio out spot (headphone jack) you have to get the free transmitter shipped to you. It stinks if you really want to use it bad. Overall it is a good headset!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Fair Sound, But Hard to Adjust
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/13
XenonVarad
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset provides a fairly good sound, but not as good as I was hoping. It grabs onto my head and hurts to wear after awhile. The massive band going across the top that lights up makes it awkward to wear. It also always seems to run out of power when I need it the most when I'm teaming up with friends. Charging it can also become a problem since the audio plug that you have to plug into the Xbox is so huge that you are unable to plug in the charger. Also, even though it says wireless, it has a bunch of cords going everywhere. One from the Xbox to the audio equipment, the charging cord (since it seems to always run out and it never tells you when it is fully charged), and the cord going from the controller to the headset so others can hear you talk. The main reason why I'm getting a new headset is because the tip of the cord that has to be plugged into the controller busted and somehow got stuck inside my controller (I was able to take it apart and get it out, but there is no way in fixing the cord). Not to mention, the microphone seems to always pick up what everyone is saying all over my house, making it hard to talk to others on Xbox Live. The Mute option on the side of the headset is also the power button, and it seems like every time I turn it on I'm muting myself. Plus the "Mode" option is a joke, you don't even know what mode you're on yet alone stop them from resetting, making it just about useless.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Overall great product and great price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
Zeeek26
Location: Imperial missouri
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product just about a week ago and I have to say this is the best headset I've ever bought. There is one thing I'd like to point out if your really picky is that the game sound only comes out of one ear and the chat sound out the the other but it still sounds amazing. It will change your gaming experience and raise your k/d ratio if your a call of duty gamer. All I have to say is your only making a mistake by not buying this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
wiring is awful.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/13
productionreviewer
Location: new mexico
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
while i had barely used it the afterglow headset seemed utterly increadible. great sound, a bass increase button and an adjustible mic made it great. until i found out that, since it was clearly not made in the usa, the wiring was not properly saudered and many features on the headset ceased to work correctly. now i didt see a warrentee nor was i offered one as im sure there wasnt one. this is a simple matter of resaudering someones disaterous work. i recommend looking for durable headphones that were made in the united states or somewhere they check the headphones for defects.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
Shaddy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought and have had this headset for almost 2 years now. It still works perfectly and the audio is beyond words. There's three different audio modes but I use (and most likely everyone else uses) the immersive mode (green) because it sounds best and you can hear more, even the footsteps of people near you! The battery life is long lasting, and the look is beautiful. Someone said that the only con to it is that peoeple can hear everything that goes on around you like if the phone rings, that's true but you can fix that by going to audio settings and lowering the microphone sensitivity.(I know it works on PS3 not sure if other game stations have it) I would definitely recommend this to everyone and it's better than even some turtle beaches and headsets which cost 200$+ Another awesome thing is the comfort, and the flexibility of the headset! You can't go wrong with choosing this over other headsets!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Good but mic needs improvements
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/13
Koala
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Being straight to the point, the speakers sound incredible and provide excellent surround sound. Having three sound modes, you can switch between standard sound (very good all around), bass boost (adds more bass and depth to explosions and such), and 3D sound ( which provides amazing situational awareness for games like battlefield or any shooter). The only problem i found was the fact that i apparently sounded terrible through the mic according to all of my friends. They described me as an announcer at a really big stadium. Slight echo,distant, muffled, and little clarity. Not sure if it's just the headset i have, but i'm on my second and the first one had the same mic problem.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FrodoF
 
Please wait while more information about FrodoF is loaded.
Additional information about FrodoF could not be loaded.
hmm
Posted 1/9/14
It might be just your bad luck, 3 out of my friends own this exact headset and my complaint is that it picks up every sound, it is so sensitive, but that is how good the mic is, the quality is amazing.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Wouldn't recommend
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/13
thatdrummerguy19
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had used Turtle Beaches for about two years and was very happy with them. I turned in some games recently and had some money to send so I decided to upgrade headsets. I bought this for a fair price and on an employee recommend. I was happy at first and couldn't wait to use them. I wanted to try them for a couple of days to see if I wanted to keep them. The headset is not adjustable so it can cause pain after only 45 minutes of playing. My friends online also said the voice quality in their end of the mic was poor compared to my old Turtle Beaches. It was nice that it was a wireless set, but I would not recommend this. Buy the px22's by turtle beach instead. I hope this was useful.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Great headset but you need to be careful with it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/29/13
dannyboi00
Location: Houston,TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got the headset and i loved the look of it and the quality of the headset very good headset but just be careful with the usb cause i screwed it up and now i cant talk to people but u can hear the sound and everything else
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Best bang for your buck
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
SpencerTheRealDeal
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is an amazing product!!! I did my research before i bought these and these are the best bang for your buck by a long shot! they are so clear, crisp, and comfortable. The bass is amazing and i would recommend these to anyone!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 17 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
The mic is awful
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
Biglab
Location: Mount Laurel NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The mic is awful my friends cant stand how i sound and when i played it back it really is bad. It sounds like your talking through a cone. Would not recommend
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 18 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
Excellent gaming headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/13
DarkshipDan
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Has enough range to enable me to walk upstairs to the kitchen to get a cup of coffee or a cold beverage while still talking to my friends. For me to get 100 feet away from it I would have to go outside (and I don't think I want to be seen walking around outside in this). My PS3 is in the basement and I have been able to talk on it while on my second floor.
I use it predominantly for playing COD and Battlefield on my PS3, but have used it for watching loud TV shows when everyone else in the house was asleep.
I wish I could turn off the LEDs while charging with the USB.
I really like this headset. I have a size 7 5/8ths head and it is more comfortable than the sound deadening headset I use at work. I have recommended it to many of my friends and will continue to do so.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 19 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
horrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/13
cdtrain
Location: ny ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
got kick out of party because my mic sounded like a robot and could barely hear a gunshot in cod with volume all the way up DO NOT BUY GIGANTIC WASTE OF MONEY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Universal Afterglow Wireless Headset
it looks cool but not for me
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/13
mrpenguin22
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought this today and wasnt impressed it took me like 20 mins to get it to work the cable that came with the headset didnt work at first i had to jimmy it to get it to work at the beginning the headset worked fine sound was good i could hear my friends well on live although i felt that when you changed the game volume and chat volume the quality would mess up then after 15 mins of wearing the headset it started to hurt my ears i put the headset down charged it went to work picked it back up and the volume wouldnt change no matter what i did it was at an ok volume for games but when i tried to watch netflix it was super quiet idk if mine was just defective but i can assure you i will be taking this back and sadly picking a wired headset back up
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>