GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset

Average Customer Rating:
6.625
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
8
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
6
19 out of 3259%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Review 1 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
AMAZING BUY, A MUST!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/13
Tylerk
Location: New York
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So.. i got this headset a couple of days ago and wow did I get a bang for my buck! This headset is right up there in sound quality and the mic is ultra clear. Most of my friends asked me if I was using TurtleBeaches. Go out and buy these NOW!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
20 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Worth it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
64Aaron
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
The sounds are really excellent.the mic works just about god enough.i recommend this to many players
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Great mic for an even better price!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
JoeyB12
Location: Boston, MA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i just bought the mic about a week ago and it is great for only $40. It is my first mic and i see nothing wrong with it. An overall great buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
read it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/13
writerGPL
Location: mechanicsburg, pa
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
not my first headset probably won't be my last. before this one i had a turtle beach which everyone knows is amazing but it broke after a few years and i didn't want to pay the money again so i bought the red samurai. in total it is a good headset feels a bit cheaper then the turtle beach but that is understandable. i used it to play cod borderlands and even single player for other games and it has good sound quality can hear foot steps and so on. there were a few issues i noticed one is the mic is quieter so you'll need to set the volume as high as it can go and try not whispering into the mic and this could just be mine who knows but i have a lucid 2 and when i text someone i hear a decent amount of static in the headset but i discovered that if you set it a certain distance from the box where you control volume you won't hear anything. these are minor complaints if you want a good headset mostly for a first one or just one to play around with without spending over a hundred dollars you should buy this one
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Super Comfortable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/24/14
CMannn
Location: Minnesota
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've tried a few different kinds of headsets and I made an impulse buy on this one because it was cheaper than Turtle Beach's and man was a I glad I got this. This is the most comfortable headset I have ever worn. It is a little bulky and there are a few long wires that go with it but that's about the only cons I can think of. Great audio quality, great mic, loud volume, ability to independently control chat volume of other players and game volume. This is an all-around great product.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Best headset I have owned so far.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/13
shyguyxv
Location: Newton, NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A couple of notes: I just purchased this headset today, so, this is more of an initial impression than a full fledged review. Secondly, I play most of my games these days on the PC so I look more for something to enjoy on the computer than my gaming console.
I went out today looking for an affordable headset for my PS3 that I could also use on my PC. I first went to another store and bought the usual junk I end up wasting money on that is "good enough" for basic use.
I am so happy that the other headset was broken and had to be returned because I then decided to actually head into Gamestop and see what I could find that was designed for use on the PS3. Which is where I found this Red Samurai headset. From just the few hours I have been using this I can comfortably say this is easily the most comfortable headset I have ever owned. The foam padding is so gentle and is plenty large enough to fit completely around my ears and barely touch them at all. Along with this, the head band is extremely secure without being obtrusive at all.
As for the sound quality, I will start with the microphone; the one on this headset is a little on the quiet side compared to other headsets I have owned in the past, but the trade off is that there seems to be hardly any distortion or background noise picked up by the microphone. The quietness of the microphone isn't too bad and I made myself more audible by bumping up the microphone volume in the settings on my PC. Another thing I like about the microphone is the feel of it as I adjust it down to a comfortable usable position. The microphone pivots with firm notches allowing you to be sure it will not slip with age (hopefully), and out of this pivoting action there is also quite a bit of movement allowing you to ensure the microphone is not resting against your skin or tangled in your beard.
Moving on to the output. I find the drivers aren't the best I have heard (just something you see from using headsets instead of an exclusive headphone or speaker set in my opinion). They aren't terrible and, in fact, produce a fine audio signal for playing video games with, but I wouldn't recommend them to someone who is obsessive over having the best sounding headset. Out of the box the bass seems to be a bit higher on these than what I am used to, which, again, is good for video games, but I will see if I can adjust this on my PC for listening to music.
A few more features these offer is separate in-line volume controls for your game volume and your chat volume. This feature I love. Especially for use on the PS3, as there are far fewer ways to control volume on the console compared to on a computer from what I can tell. Another feature is the ability to use these with a (single) 3.5mm plug; a USB plug; or, something I didn't notice in the store, by using pass-through AV audio cables. I am not sure how often the latter of the three would normally be used, but having it as a feature, I will see about using these attached to my turntable.
So, that is about it so far. The reason my overall score is still an excellent ten out of ten when I find the overall performance as a still great eight out of ten is for two main reasons:
1. Value. For forty dollars (and tax) even if these do not end up lasting like $200 counterparts I find the build quality so far to feel extremely sturdy, and, if worse comes to worst. I won't be completely heart broken having to replace them.
2. Comfort. I find this the most important factor in my extreme and immediate satisfaction with this headset. There is absolutely no amount great enough that I could assess the importance of having something being comfortable that is strapped to my head for tens of hours a week.
3. Isolation. the way the foam ear cups fit around your ears allows not just for an extremely comfortable time using these headphones. It also blocks out a surprising amount of outside noises, allowing you to become even more immersed into all of your favorite games.
Normally I tell people to avoid anything marketed as "Gaming" or "For gamers" as I have found most often these terms are just a way to sell something mediocre for an absurd amount; however, with a price that fits the product like a velvet glove, I have to admit, this headset is actually worth trying out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Awesome and a great price too!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/13
shaqburger
Location: Hilo, Hawaii
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these because I really started getting into black ops 2. I was a bit skeptical at first because I thought is was a generic brand, but boy was I surprised. The sound quality was awesome I could here every foot step. It was super comfortable, I played for two hours with no problems. It was also very easy to set up which was great. the only flaw in my opinion is that it is really loud. If you put it to max it has a little hiss, but i don't think you will ever need to put it to max volume.I love it and would recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
DOESNT EVEN DESVERE 1 STAR
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/15/14
calico2014
Location: springfield,ohio
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
waste of money, the left earcuff broke of except for a small cable, the mic cuts out, makes this annoying static sound to whoever u chat with plus the top of it the rubber top makes your head itchy.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
this greatest headset ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
themonster4
Location: san antonio TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it is the greatest headset ever great on noise canceling and great on hq sound.and also great with me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Keep the receipt
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/14
loki258
Location: Midland,MI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The first time i bought this product i figured that red samurai was a good brand and i wouldn't have any problems, but after i had the headset for less than a week the mic quit working, so i took it back and got a new one, that one lasted for longer but after a month the mic quit working on my ps3 and i could live with it because it still worked on my pc well then it quit working on that too so i decided to not return it and just go for a different brand. so i do not recommend this product unless you are prepared to go to gamestop a lot.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 11 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
the buzzing noise
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/14
myname21
Location: bama
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i bought these because i needed reasonable price gaming headset since my turtle beach had broke. at 1st they seemed like a great buy. but over time its seems like the buzzing noise and picking up my phone frequency has gotten worst. they kinda are better than nothing but spending a little extra to get rid of the unnecessary noise is not a bad thing either
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Lacks in durability
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/14
DIG2013
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The headset is great. It feels comfortable to put on, and I can wear it for hours. On top of that, I sound crystal clear to all my friends online. To check for myself, I ran some audio tests on my computer and everything sounded fine. The only real problem I had with this headset was that it came apart easily. An earpiece came off, but was still connected by the wire. This is an easy fix, but it happens often and at inconvenient times. Regardless of that, I can say that I would recommend this to a friend. What it lacks in durability, it makes up for it with sound quality and a comfortable fit.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
awesome!worth buying!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
jabbowackee101
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got this headset as a present and it is awesome! it cancels out all the sound and is really comfortable. the only con i have is that they could have made the cable a little longer but other than that its awesome!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Why does Turtle Beach exist w/ Red Samurai around?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/14
SamHunny
Location: Tucson, AZ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I don't want to just fan-girl praise this thing, but I love it to death. I didn't buy it too long ago, but the case was covered in dust. I can't fathom why more people don't love this thing! It's so cheap and amazing. The headset I was using before was a 20$ Red Samurai with just one speaker, but this thing can jack audio from your console even with an HDMI cable plugged in.
I guess I'll do a break down:
The speakers are so crisp, is makes me feel like Real Life has lower quality audio. I've been playing Darksouls II with them, and it's so clear and the sounds rumble in your ear with a base I didn't know could exist in a headset. It actually has a normal headset jack, and an adapter to use with a console, so you can use this headset with a phone or iPod. It can get really loud, too. I played half an hour with it on max volume, resting around my neck, and it was still clearer than anything.
When I first started testing the mic, it was so quiet. The original Red Samurai I had was on a 3 mic setting and perfect. This one was on 5 and still quieter. I fiddled around with it, and after unplugging it and replugging it, and moving the mic closer to my face, I found the mic was just fine. It was clear just like the other one was without the fear of the wires coming lose when the mic moves. It's got a weird rubber feel that seems like it will never stay in the shape you want, but it does with no effort.
The whole thing is really comfortable. Me and my fiance use it. His head is bigger than mine, but both of us find it comfortable. When you first wear it, it might hug the bottom of your ears, but it'll stretch out, like a new pair of shoes. It actually felt a little big on me when I first wore it, which was never something I experienced with headsets. The ear pads are so comfortable and soft, the military head pad thingy keeps the plastic from rubbing on your head, and over all, the thing is pretty light.
I actually want to compliment the cables, too. I didn't realize when we bought it, but it jacks audio. It has the same left and right audio plugs anything else with the old 3 plugs do, but it also has a plug in the back of them, so you can jack audio from the console. You can plug the USB for the mic into the console, or into a computer, making it really great for doing recordings. I have an idea of plugging two headsets into each other this way, and both headsets might be able to pick up the same audio.
My one major complaint is that the audio plugs and the USB plug are only a few inches apart, so if you want to put in the audio plugs into anything else, make sure the USB port is near it. I don't know of many cases when that might be needed, but just something to note.
Over all, for 40$, you get a good, high quality headset speakers, AND a clear microphone. Get for general use or for professional use, I guess. If you got it and didn't like it, try playing with your settings or something, because it's totally worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
works great for the price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/14
knightwolf705
Location: long island ny
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i was looking for a cheap pair of gaming headphones when i called game stop and the sales guy Dave recommended these and they work great worth the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Dat Mic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/14
MrBuga
Location: Manassas, Va
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The sound quality was pretty dope, however the mic is complete trash. Trash. Completely. Like fo' shizzle. It gave me a lisp. I dont have a lisp. I am not happy. Real comfortable though!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
WOW.. Dont buy this headset
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/13
LCW552
Location: South Carolina
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So its christmas and I was really exited to get a gaming headset (Ive had previous one's) But OUT THE BOX THE LEFT SPEAKER NOT EVEN WORKING! I am shocked. It looks like such an amazing headset but the left speaker doesnt even work. Go and buy another liable headset!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Mic is really quiet.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/12
Split2ends
Location: Colorado.Denver
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The sound is good. you can wear it for long periods of time. But... The microphone to this headset REALLY SUCKS. It is really quiet. Really. Really. Quiet. I have tried to raise the Microphone volume. but no matter what i am really quiet... I raised the Microphone level to the max(5) and still really quiet. I almost regret buying this.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NateBuster85
 
Please wait while more information about NateBuster85 is loaded.
Additional information about NateBuster85 could not be loaded.
Dude...
Posted 1/5/13
Dude You Got To Go Under The Ps3 Settings And Hit Audio Settings. You'll See The Device. After That Adjust The Mic Loudness/Quietness. So It's Not The Mic. Just Do That.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Cheap, Defective.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
Lukeisnotmyrealname
Location: Lansdale, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these, tried them, and returned them the next day. The 1/8" plug on the headphones cable was shoddy, and the right speaker cut out until I giggled it and held it in place. The mic created obnoxious feedback when it was turned on, even at low volumes — probably also due to shoddy wiring. Needless to say they were pretty much useless out of the box. That said, when the right speaker was working the sound quality was acceptable, and they were comfortable to wear. I suppose you might get good sample, but the construction is cheap so I wonder how long they would last.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
drush65
austin, tx.
 
Please wait while more information about drush65 is loaded.
Additional information about drush65 could not be loaded.
Is it wireless
Posted 11/20/13
i just want to kno if its wireless before i buy it becuase i want a wireless headset
Customer Avatar
GT5gamer3
 
Please wait while more information about GT5gamer3 is loaded.
Additional information about GT5gamer3 could not be loaded.
I think you over looked this product.
Posted 3/31/13
Well based on all the other reviews i think you just got bad luck. Everyone will get a bad product once in a while.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for PlayStation 3 Stereo Gaming Headset
Was Good For A Few Weeks...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/13
SoulReaperHikuru
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well long story short it broke after a few weeks of use and no reason as to why it broke. Today I was in a Skype call with a friend getting prepared for a session of Borderlands when he noticed a huge amount of background noise, I cleaned the ports for the control box and my USB hub and it still had the noise, I cleaned it again to double check and guess what? Still noise, long story short this is another one of those disposable headsets that you could find at the Dollar Tree....sadly enough I think those would last longer than 3 weeks.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 2 next>>