GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Aliens: Colonial Marines

You and your friends against the deadliest killers in the galaxy. Another glorious day in the corps.Buckle up, soldier! Welcome to Aliens: Colonial Marines. Created by Gearbox, the critically acclaimed and fan-favourite developers of Borderlands and Brothers In Arms, this first-person shooter is steeped in the eerie, claustrophobic and terrifying atmosphere that made the Aliens films successful worldwide. You and your friends will become the most badass military outfit in the galaxy - the US Colonial Marines. It's down to you to not just survive but wipe out the Xeno infestation.
Average Customer Rating:
5.889
5.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
0
5 out of 956%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Review 1 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Good game, why bad reviews?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/13
picklesthedrummer
Location: Greenfield, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can see why this game would not be appealing to non Aliens fans, you don't know whats going on. But as a fan, you'll love it. The graphics are fair, if you have a good gaming PC like i do. The AI is pretty solid. I wasn't a big fan of the sound it would cut out alot, mostly do to the fact that if you would get in range of the character speaking it would cut to the character instead of through the headpiece. This game offers a good challenge if you put it on the higher setting. My conclusion is if you wrote a bad review, you must have not been an Alien fan and have bought it for the PS3 or Xbox.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 2 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Ugh..could have been so good...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
Dohovakiln
Location: Orlando,Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is almost like a add-on to a normal game, it has cruddy graphics, horrible sound and the game play is sloppy and unfinished, if they had a redo-over they could have made this a great game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Complete Dissapointment
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
Jman2919
Location: Columbus, OH
I played almost halfway through the campaign and the game is another duke nukem forever failure. Gameplay is awful, graphics dont even look like there from this generation. and the story sucks. The campaign is full of lag and framerate problems and enemies sometimes completely dissapear or don't respond when you shoot them. If you were expecting this to even be an alright game based in the alien universe its sheer dissapointment. BTW multiplayer is laggy and broken and is pretty much unplayable unless you like to shoot at aliens that teleport and constantly get stuck in invisible walls
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
So disappointing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
dweezler
Location: California
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I had seriously been looking forward to this game since the announcement of it. What an extreme let down it has been. Almost everything in this game is flawed and just plain BAD. The sound is awful, especially on the guns. The graphics look like they're from a game 6 years ago. And the game reminds me of a shooter of an arcade game you would play in a Pizza Hut when you were a kid. I hope some of you read this before you waste your $60 on this atrocity.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Good game, with bad reviews
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/13
Heidrekr
This game is getting horrible reviews. Honestly the game does not deserve the ratings it is getting. True, graphics are not cutting edge, and the game play is a pretty standard FPS format. Again, nothing new or exciting. But with that said, the game is still a solid FPS with much to offer the average player. Maybe a rating of 6 - 7 for the non Alien fan would be fair.
But, if you love Aliens and always wanted to kill some bugs with your friends, the game will shine for you. The coop campaign mode is great fun and you can enjoy the entire game with 3 of your friends. The Versus mode is great too, and you even can play as 1 of 3 Xenomorph classes. Chest punch, spit acid, and many other ways to kill those pesty marines.
The settings are great and there is plenty of tension and anxiety as Xenos leap out and try to eat your face. The story is decent too as you see familiar places and explore a variety of dark and creepy hallways. I have heard many complaints about the AI, and maybe some of that is fair. But I find the game challenging and fun.
If you are just looking for a state of the art FPS, maybe this might be a good game to pass on.
But, if you are an Alien fan, I completely recommend this game to you. Grab your pulse rifle and join the fight. We need more good soldiers! Game over, man? I say no.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
totalBlammBlamm
Denver CO
 
Please wait while more information about totalBlammBlamm is loaded.
Additional information about totalBlammBlamm could not be loaded.
not bad. . .for a human
Posted 3/23/13
Thanks for the encouragement. I am much more an Aliens fan than I am a gaming connoisseur. Games don't have to be perfect if they're good enough. It's OK to be a Dunkin' Donuts guy in a Starbucks universe !! I'll get this when it comes down some more in $$. Peace out
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Had high hopes.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/13
Bollux
Location: Warminster, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So upon first impressions, this game is ok. So far the single player is ok. A bit of a strech storyline wise but fine. I had very high hopes for multiplayer to be a pseudo Left 4 Dead Aliens style. Massive hordes of aliens, 4 marines start here end there and you just have to survive. It even seems like it would have been perfect L4D clone...4 classes of aliens: normal = zombie, lurker = jockey, spitter and tank. is it too much to ask for them to redo multiplayer? ;) Seems, I am still suckered into buying anything Alien related and being a little disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
game owns so much butt like my custom xeno
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/13
Anonymous
Location: Atlanta Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
my xeno has hollow skull and is fast...hits hard and kills in two or three hits...looks intimidating...and can have last ditch regeneration when near death...need i say more game is epic mannnn
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Aliens Colonial Marines
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
Stormshadow2k7
Location: Denver
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is great for the Older Adult who nostalgically remember and appreciate the movie . Aliens is a 1986 science fiction action film directed by James Cameron and starring Sigourney Weaver with back then she was the only reason i wanted to see it but this game is in one word "awesome" ! Not only does this game bring the movie to life but actual game play and choices in guns makes it much more fun.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Aliens: Colonial Marines
Good Casual Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
Kevm31
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
As a lifelong fine of the Alien franchise (Alien, Aliens) to the point that i have most of the dialogue of Aliens memorized I find this game very fun and engaging. It really puts you into the dark Universe of the Xenomorphs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.