GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

XCOM: Enemy Unknown

From the award-winning creators of Civilization comes an action-strategy game about humanity's last stand. Threatened by an unknown enemy, the Earth's governments unite to form a secret paramilitary organization, known as XCOM, to combat this extraterrestrial attack. As the commander of XCOM, you control the global defense team in a battle against a terrifying alien invasion by creating and managing a fully operational base, researching alien technologies, planning combat missions, and controlling soldier movement in battle.
Average Customer Rating:
8.167
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 out of 1283%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Review 1 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
a worthy successor
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/12
Matrona
Location: Gladstone, OR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Thank you Firaxis! This is what Xcom fans have been waiting for. I have already finished the game twice, so make more content ASAP. Please?! I will keep myself entertained with multiplayer in the meantime. Thank you in advance!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Noxide
Orlando, FL
 
Please wait while more information about Noxide is loaded.
Additional information about Noxide could not be loaded.
Amazing, Almost like the old school DOS version
Posted 10/18/12
I was skeptical about this game when I saw it, I thought no way it'll come close to the original......Man I was wrong. This is my favorite Strat game, I just hope they add more DLC like armor, weapons etc. The customization for armor colors and such was an awesome touch to the pre order but I NEED MORE. AMAZING GAME you wont be mad you bought this especially if you like the original XCOM from like 98 or whatever year it was.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Surprising Attachment
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
Niepz
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've been invested in this game for about 2-3 days now depending on how you count the days and after playing through plenty of successful missions I lost my first set of troops. Which really upset me cause I was doing so well. Anyways anything about this game is solid and fun plenty of maps, good challenging enemies who even on normal can get a grasp around you if you mess up, and a fairly decent story ( not phenomenal but good enough). There is one thing I've been having a problem with is sometimes the game will glitch in the weirdest ways. The camera will keep sliding off the map, the buttons will sometimes be unresponsive, etc... Other than that its a very fun game and has plenty of possibilities to grow.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Sleeper strategy game of the year.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
Resigil
Location: Earth
Not changing much from the original, Firaxis built upon a solid foundation and walked away w/ a modern era classic. This should be the strategy game of the year.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
oldsnakee
The Moon.
 
Please wait while more information about oldsnakee is loaded.
Additional information about oldsnakee could not be loaded.
Great!!
Posted 10/17/12
This game is great it keeps me on my PC for hours I would like them to keep making these games in the future. Its hard me for to get into games any more and this pulled me right in.
Customer Avatar
Cyoherz
 
Please wait while more information about Cyoherz is loaded.
Additional information about Cyoherz could not be loaded.
I couldn't stop playing for 6 days!
Posted 10/16/12
Awesome game. I rarely ever play turn based games but this game really intrigues you to keep going, upgrading your units, upgrading your weapons, ships everything. you have to really use some strategy to win most missions and not lose any of your members otherwise its gonna suck in the long run. very addictiing. Im at the last stage but Im going to upgrade my squad to max rank! Oh Yeah ALIENS MUST DIE! GET THIS GAME ITS A MUST HAVE!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
pathetic
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/12
Backstop
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I could write a highly detailed review of this game, but it simply isn't worth the time. This game is a pale shadow of the original x-com. The original, now 18 years old, offered more strategic and tactical options than this game. Yes this one may have some pretty colors, good sound, and cool little cut scenes. However there are still plenty of bugs, you are extremely limited in your choices for your squads, your tactics, and your overall strategy runs like it is on rails. If you are looking for something mildly entertaining and amusing, this is it. Wait until it goes below $20. That is really all it is worth. (This game adheres to the new trend of the last several years, to just keep making games dumber and dumber)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
SHOCKED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/12
MaddenBlows
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is extremely fun to play. I watched reviews and gameplays before the launch of this game and they mentioned that you will get attached to your squad members...i forgot where i was going with this but this game is so good, well worth the 49.99 on PC or 59.99 on Xbox or PS3.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Good game, could have been better
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/12
moneymatt7
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a great game, fun to play, easy to learn, just not in depth enough. It pays a great homage to the original X-Com games but, it is basically just that, the original X-Com game with better graphics.
Character development is lacking, there are only 4 character classes and the skill tree is extremely linear.
Research is also lacking, many items come from the skill tree rather than research, I would say there are less items than in the original game.
The game was dumbed down for console gaming, taking out many RPG and strategy elements I personally loved about this series. It's just too simple.
Real X-Com fans will be more impressed with the UFO series(Aftershock, Afterlife, Aftermath.) It is a fun game and worth buying but, a slight let down for hardcore strategy gamers.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Great!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/12
oldsnakee
Location: The Moon.
This game is Excellent!! As I get older it gets harder and harder to get into game's any more and this one is great, It pulled me in for hours. I would like to make some DLC and another Xcom in the future.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Giggity!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
G0m3r
Location: Youngstown, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was addicted to the original X-com games. This new installment has the heart and soul of the original with awesome graphics and really good miltiplayer. You don't have to be a fan of the original to love this game. I bought a copy for my nephew. He was skeptical since he really doesn't like RTS games but this one turned out the be the exception. I recommend this game to anyone who likes games which are heavy in strategy. I only wish PC players could play the console players online.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Worth every penny
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/13
Docwaw
Location: Orlando, Fl.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game rocks!! I have played every X-Com game since the 90's and love this one. If your looking for a great game ...... you've found it!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Awsome game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/12
Augustus512
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is better than what I had expected. Has good graphics and gameplay. Yes you do get attach to your squad especially the high ranking ones. It keeps you wanting to replay the game to see if you do better than the last time. One word of caution your PC must have Windows 7 or 8 in order to be able to play it, I had to upgrade my PC. Other then that it's an awsome game enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/12
B0N3YARD
I downloaded this game to my computer and it took 17 HOURS!!! When it finally loaded it doesn't even work! It told me there is some problem during the download. I have yet to be able to play it!! DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XCOM: Enemy Unknown
Possible GOTY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
Stewhammer
Location: Delaware
Modern take on a classic master piece. Jake and crew have made me a believer! This game is not for the faint of heart. Ironman is the only way to play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10