GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller

Bring the console experience to your Android based tablet with the PlayPad Pro from Nyko. The PlayPad Pro is a full sized wireless Bluetooth controller designed to work with a multitude of today's top Android titles. Featuring dual analog sticks, d-pad, 4 face buttons, and left/right dual shoulder/trigger buttons the PlayPad Pro has all the necessary tools to tackle any game. Designed in conjunction with NVIDIA® the PlayPad Pro is compatible with numerous high-end mobile games optimized for Tegra-powered devices. The PlayPad pro works with Nyko's free Android app, called Playground, to provide backwards compatibility for the PlayPad Pro with legacy tablet titles, including those that currently utilize keyboard mapping, touch mapping and mouse support. Playground provides profile management for customized control schemes, as well as pre-set profiles for top selling and popular games. The PlayPad Pro works with any Android 3.0 device or higher with Bluetooth.
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
5 out of 862%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
Review 1 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
Brilliant controller, software's a let-down
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/5/14
jerbear64
Location: Palm Bay, FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller itself is a beast- I paired it, flipped it to HID mode and BAM, I was playing SHADOWGUN DeadZone with a controller. It's worked on every emulator I've tried. The overall feel of the controller is similar to the XBOX One, and one of my friends actually mistook it for a generic One controller. The buttons and triggers work perfectly, but the bumpers are very mushy. The Playground app is a letdown though- no touch input, no remapping AT ALL unless you're on Android 4.1 or lower... The app needs to die in a fire. Fortunately since I'm rooted I just downloaded Tincore KeyMapper. Now I've got touch emulation and everything. It ACTUALLY WORKS WITH THOUSANDS OF GAMES NOW!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
amazing, only needs touch mapping update
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
cylemmulo
Location: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So first hardware, it has all the buttons you should ever need, if you have used as xbox 360 controller you have used the layout (especially the pro). Battery seems to last a long time though I've only had it one day I think it was rated at like 30 or 40 hours that I read somewhere.
Functionality I have been testing all day, they just finally got the playground app out but it is still in beta and has only like 8 games preconfigured on there. Another thing to take note of is that the touchscreen mapping ability is not yet released to us so it's just HID mapping which for most intents and purposes is fine.
Test results
Mupen64: Controls map fine and function pretty much normal ALTHOUGH, since it is HID mapping sensitivity to your control stick is either on or off, which makes most games feel odd. Driving games you are either cutting the wheel all the way over or driving straight, fps games you are kind of dashing from side to side more and you can't walk only run. For now most games should be decently playable like this, though whenever they get touch mapping working you should in theory be able to get the control sticks mapped to a touch control that will give it the added movement functionality.
GBAoid - seems to work perfect, not alot of controls to mess with.
FPSE - I was a bit sad about this one, the analog sticks won't function no matter what I try, it appears something just isn't right with the programming, hopefully the developer will remedy this, though alot of games you can get away without using them, AND if they add the touchscreen mapping I can just add a control stick on the screen and map the control stick to it.
GTA III: works great, though their default control mapping is really screwy you can customize it to how you want.
If you have any questions let me know, i'm still testing things. Overall its a fantastic gamepad and when they add touchscreen mapping it will allow me to do everything I like, get this for sure if you are going to get any gamepad i would say.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
Works on my galaxy note 2!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
MrBellyBlubber
Location: california
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this so I could play my emulators from the google play store. This works great with the SUPER.GNES emulator. No lag, very easy to use. I tried other android controllers and they did not work out for my phone. This one hit a home run!!! Thanks Nyko!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
This products was rushed, app still in BETA!!!
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/12
WRBWRX
Location: Orange, Va.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller was rushed to the market. The product description on the box as well as NyKo website say's this works with 1000's of games. I have found maybe two that it works with. Your best bet for a controller that works well is to buy an OTG usb cable and a wired XBOX 360 controller (if you tablet or phone supports usb host).
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
great product for anyone who likes portable gaming
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/13
consumerhelper
Location: arizona
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This product s great for anyone who likes portable gaming! Why buy a portable game device when you could buy this to use with your tablet or phone? it is set up just like and Xbox controller and is very comfortable to hold. Shooter games are great with this device and are enhanced immensely with the use of this gamepad. So far it seems like there are a lot of compatible games and there should be more to come. The matte black finish doesnt show fingerprints and keeps the controller looking fairly new even after a lot of use. If youre looking for an Xbox-like controller for your android device, this is probably one one your best options!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
Amazing controller, especially for the price!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/13
pimentoMartini
Location: Culver City, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love being able to play controller-ready games and emulators on my Android tablet and phone, and this Nyko PlayPad Pro makes it super easy. It is by far the best Bluetooth controller I've tried, yet. The regular Nyko PlayPad is not quite as pro-feeling, but it is smaller and comes with a cool tablet/phone stand, so I recommend that, too. The only complaint is that I can't bring up the on-screen keyboard when the controller is connected but, from what I understand, that is an Android problem, not something to do with this joystick. Highly recommended!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
I will return this
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/12
vhan
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because the store run out the other one I want. My friend has the other one made by Gamestop and loved. I thought it looks almost the same as this and it should works the same. It's not the same. I will return this one and buy the other controllers online.
This one looks cheap, Poor instructions. Very difficult to use. Difficult to turn on or off. Poor LED indication. No real gamepad mode.
Only works with very limited games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Nyko Play Pad Pro Tablet Controller
Junk
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/13
Fredman
Location: new jersey
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller is junk. I returned it after only a few days. The alleged remapping of keeys did not work. The unit does not seem to hold a charge and the instructions are very confusing. Instructions typical translation of chinese to english by someone who does not know english. I tried the 24.99 controller that Gamestops makes and that is much better, and I saved some money ( that I subsequently blew on some games) .
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10