GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Madden NFL 13

With beautiful HD graphics, an in-depth Career mode, and exclusive Touch Screen features, Madden NFL 13 on the Wii U delivers the most authentic NFL experience ever on a Nintendo platform. Build your own legacy as a player or a coach - or relive the glory of an all-time legend - in Connected Careers. Immerse yourself in the Madden NFL experience with features exclusive to the Wii U, including streamlined playcalling, personnel management, and more - all directed from the Wii U gamepad's innovative Touch Screen. Madden NFL 13 - bringing next generation innovation, gameplay, and graphics to a Nintendo platform like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
6.909
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
0
8 stars
3
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Madden NFL 13
Review 1 for Madden NFL 13
Finally!
Posted on:10/7/12
Jumpman98
Location: N.C.
Finally! For the first time in like six or seven years, Madden for a Nintendo console is going to be just as good as the PS3 and 360 versions! I really want to get this game!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Madden NFL 13
Good fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The reviews for madden 13 on the other consoles are mostly sub-par. I do not understand why. Most people complain how there is not a "franchise" mode but there is. If you play your career as a coach it's just like a franchise mode but MORE in depth. I find it absolutely amazing how I can watch a movie or tv show on my big screen while playing a full madden experience on the game pad. The controls do take a while to get used to because the joysticks are above the buttons but after a week or so I feel like it's better. This version does not have the so called "enhanced" physics engine, well that isn't a bad thing. In the ps3 and xbox versions players are always tripping over each other, so bad that it's unrealistic. On the Wii U version you do not have to worry about that. My ONLY complaint is that the commentary is just not that good. I like how the did the broadcast booth thing but what the commentators say do not make sense at all. For instance, I threw a pass and lost about 3 yards. The commentators said that "It was a very good completion" ? That makes me feel like the quality of the commentating is going down because I loved it in madden 12. Overall I think this is a good buy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Madden NFL 13
Good but not great game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/13
StickyMick
Location: DE
Madden on Wii U is pretty good overall. The graphics look on par with 360 n ps3. One thing I like the most is it does not have that physics engine like the other systems. I had a ps3 and i couldnt stand tripping over my lineman everytime I ran up the middle or couldnt get around a block. That was very annoying to me. Not to say the Wii U could use some updates to the game there are some glitches but the others have them to.The Gamepad addition is awesome changing routes on the fly are pretty cool and the touch screen to pick plays is also good (even tho sometimes its a pain). Didnt like the motion controls with the wii so I'm glad they didnt include them in the Wii U version.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Madden NFL 13
VERY GOOD GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/14
KrisRuleZ
Location: Boise, ID
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Defiantly get this game, one of the best games in the madden series. very good graphics, and realistic catch rate.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Madden NFL 13
Nintendo brings back exciting sports gameplay
Posted on:11/1/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
I didn't get a single sports game for the Wii mainly because it was all motion control and there really wasn't any kind of online play; not to mention the graphics were out dated. Now with the wii U I will be getting sports titles once again from Nintendo. The graphics will be enhanced above other systems and gameplay will play similar to core gamers liking. It does NOT have the new physics engine that is included with the ps3 and xbox 360 titles but that really doesn't matter to me. What I'm looking forward to most is drawing out my receivers routes. The is going to be a game i'm going to look forward to having.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Madden NFL 13
Looks great on the U but needed a little more...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
SHTBLOCK
Location: ROC, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is my game-review of Madden 13 for the WiiU:
Before I go into this review I really need to truly stress all the differences from the Wii to the WiiU in Madden 13. The first thing I have to say about Madden on the Wii is that it doesn’t really even compare in the least to the Madden 13 on the U visually. I really liked the Wii’s Madden’s (except for Madden 13 on the Wii) but we really were still playing with GameCube/N64 versions graphically speaking. Madden on the U looks amazing in HD and then add in the fact that we have the whole game, with full playbooks, and all the other bells and whistles. It’s another game that we can check off the limited red-headed step-child version list from the Wii to the U’s version, and that’s a BIG plus.
Now Madden 13 on the U isn’t perfect and it could use some updates to help fix some of the issues for sure. The main issues I have about this game are;
1) My main issue with Madden 13 on the U is that they took out all Motion-Controls. Yes you can still play with the Wii-mote/Chuk but you have no motion use at all with it. You just press buttons for every function. I really liked the Motion-controls on the Wii’s Madden’s. I have said and still believe it forced you to be more involved in the game by using more of your body while gaming, which can and has caused more mistakes through gamer-error because of needing to use your body while in-game. You can get fatigued and you needed to have more finesse while passing and timing on the Wii’s versions. Having no Motion-Controls really makes me mad and I do feel cheated in a way. I have played exclusively that way on every Madden on the Wii. I do feel they’re pushing us into only playing with Game-pad and/or New Pro Controller, and I do feel you need to play the game with them to get the full version of the game with them. I will have to keep playing with them instead of the Wii-mote/Chuk which I am not that happy about but I have played with controllers for years before the Wii.
2) EA couldn’t bring the highly acclaimed brand new physics engine called the “Infinity Engine” to the U’s version of Madden 13. I have played this game on Xbox and that new engine really does make and has way improved game-play, and it s*cks we don’t have it. I still think EA is a little B*TT-HURT about Nintendo not letting them take control over Nintendo’s on-line on the U. I hope we can get the best or the same versions of all EA games in the future and that this doesn’t continue.
3) They took out Franchise mode and replaced it with something called Career mode. Career mode takes elements from franchise and also Super-star modes from past Madden’s, but it’s not the same. I didn’t really like Super-star mode and would/have always played Franchise mode over the years. I am not the only one that wants this back and they took it out of every version of Madden 13 on each console. That being said Career mode is the closest to Franchise so I will try playing it out over this year BUT from what I have played of it, it is not my cup of tea and would like Franchise mode back ASAP.
They also took out the Mini-games which was always fun to try to do against other players at your house BUT for me ever since they took out the extras (like Madden cards) for doing them it really took out the incentive to do them every year for nothing in my opinion.
4) The game has several glitches that need to be fixed probably through some updates or maybe by the next year’s version like. One is while using the Conventional play-calling from the Game-pad if you or the other team scores are automatically switches to Game-flow play-calling. Then you have to switch it back which takes time away from setting up you play.
Playing with the Game-pad is a great and new experience. You can use the Game-pad in new and great ways like setting your defense up differently or you can change your receiver routes on the fly by using the touch-screen. You can also see your plays on it and scroll through them and pick your plays this way. Sometimes you need to tap it again to pick what you want, and sometimes while scrolling up or down it might pick a play that you didn’t want to. This is the first attempt at this on the U with this new tech and I do feel they will get this better in the next game or through updates.
On the modes and options we have everything and then some. We have On-line Multi-player back on the U’s version which they took out on the Wii’s version this year. That is just awesome, and on-line has always been great for me and my friends that live in different parts of the country, or just fun to play others. They also have a Fantasy League and on-line Gaming Leagues which are really great additions. Also you get all the teams scores, player stats, and wins/loses loaded up every week. They also have a mode where you can go in for an extra challenge (almost like DLC every week) if there was a close game from that past Sunday, you can go in that last drive and try getting that win or stop them from winning, which I think it is a great mode that is really cool to try and do.
Madden 13 on the U might not be as smooth as it has been over the years on PS360 versions BUT overall it is leaps and bounds over the Madden’s on the Wii. The game looks so pretty, the HD graphics and sound are awesome, and the game-play is faster, smoother over the Wii’s versions. The learning curve is a lot higher overall in the U’s version, plus trying to learn your team’s full play-books will take some getting used to for sure (easily 150 more plays over the Wii’s play-book size). With all the options to play this game with the controls and trying the Game-pad is really fun way to play and is a plus BUT adding back the Motion-Controls would be great EA so please do so. I think if you like Madden and you have a U you should rent or buy Madden 13 on it because it might not be perfect but it’s worth it. I give Madden 13 on the U a 3½ out of 5 and a 4 out of 5 if they add back the Motion-Controls and the Franchise-mode.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Frehley
Garfield Heights,Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Frehley is loaded.
Additional information about Frehley could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
wii mote is trash
Posted 8/14/13
While I don't have a ww U yet (still playing the wii I got last fall) I'm glad to hear the wii mote motion controller is gone I can't stand it specially for Tiger Woods it sucks and has it's issues with glitches on certain games like Tiger Woods.The wii motion controller is a piece of junk and the worst thing Nintendo ever came up with.They also on all games for it had the option of using a regular controller like the classic controller pro instead of buying guns for a F.P.S. game or zelda you have to use the motion controller on zelda and it sucks hate it.Wii motion belongs in the trash period!Otherwise wii is good and I like it I will be upgrading soon to wii U as well as xbox360.I also own a DS lite for games that are unplayable(motion controller ect )on wii.
Customer Avatar
Wiishootemup
Coruscant
 
Please wait while more information about Wiishootemup is loaded.
Additional information about Wiishootemup could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
3.5/5 = 7/10
Posted 12/26/12
You do know that if you gave this game a 3.5 out of 5 you should have given it a 7 out of 10, right?
Customer Avatar
SUPERMAN1982
TAMPA FL
 
Please wait while more information about SUPERMAN1982 is loaded.
Additional information about SUPERMAN1982 could not be loaded.
COACH IS FRANCHISE MODE
Posted 12/13/12
Picking to be a coach in the connected career mode is franchise mode they just switched it up to say its something new
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 7 for Madden NFL 13
do not get Madden 13 for wii u.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
Taivian
Location: Washington
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
it not great at all, it should stay with ps3 and xbox. the gameplay is laggy and slow and some of the game modes are missing.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Madden NFL 13
Pretty Good
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/13
Pickles
Location: Connecticut
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well, I'd say for a Nintendo launch game that is a football game as well, it pulls out pretty well.
For the purpose of this review I will be talking specifically about how the Wii U version stands up, not game features in general.
First, the game play of the game is very solid. It is definitely on par with current gen consoles, in fact, I would say it looks better overral. The play is smooth and fluid, is the same style as the 360 and PS3 have been on for a few years that gives an NBA 2k5 feel. So don't expect a knockoff of the Wii version before it went cartoon in 09, which was itself a knockoff of a Gamecube port. Graphically as well, this stands up to the 7th gen consoles extremely well, which is the other audience that was there when it launched. Doesn't stand up to next gen visuals, but it's a step in the right direction for Nintendo. it stinks that they didn't get a Madden 25 version.
Player models, fields, and textures are as good as ever on the Wii U, and it definitely does not resemble a Wii title. It focuses on realism, which is nice, and tries to give you the same experience. Besides the lack of the infinity engine, it's great. And the fact that there was no infinity engine isn't that bad in itself. there are tons of new animations anyway, and it's rare I get the pulled shoulder animation 20 times like its Madden 2002. Actually that's never happened on the Wii U.
As far as online goes, it's nice, but very incomplete. Ultimate team isn't there, which is step down for sure, but also, I'm not sure the community would be big enough to make that exciting anyway. however it's definitely still a gripe. Otherwise, online is very nice. It's just games with a leader board, but it's nice to see your opponents strategies just like any other football game. And the community isn't that small. When football seasons tarted this year and I got back into Madden. I went online, and still find a match in under 10 seconds unless it's the middle of the night. The game can lag a little bit online, but not to that noticeable of an extent unless you were judging for a review.
All the other game modes are there, from Franchise to Superstar (I know it's connected but whatever) to live moments.
Also, it's nice to be able to play on the game pad with this game. not even because the TV is being watched by someone else, but I find it nice to multitask with. Like an over-sized GBA.
If you only have a Wii U, and love football, it's worth it, with no other version to fall back on like a PC port. For now, I'm moving to PS4 because of teh community, but the Wii U is still up there, even with a sports game.
I give Madden 13 for Wii U and 7/10. I might be closer to an 8, but I'm just not there completely. Either way, it holds up to it's 7th gen counterparts completely, unless you are very big on Ultimate Team.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Madden NFL 13
This Game is Okay....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
Gilkinator
Location: Houston,TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game is Okay Because I've beaten Several teams so far as Houston. I've won my First Superbowl Match against Washington: And Overall, When I had my Madden NFL Football game for my 3DS XL, It was more fun than Madden NFL 13 Wii U. But On and All, This is an
Okay Game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Madden NFL 13
down grade from previous years
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
kevinb2343
The lack of franchise mode is really a minus to this game. You can only play as a coach or a one player. You can not play as the coach and then play the game as players like in franchise. because of this, this is not worth the purchase
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SUPERMAN1982
TAMPA FL
 
Please wait while more information about SUPERMAN1982 is loaded.
Additional information about SUPERMAN1982 could not be loaded.
you got it all wrong
Posted 12/13/12
When playing in the connected career mode pick COACH to play frachise mode you have control over the entire team as you did in all other frachise modes is a lot better to picking PLAYER puts it in superstar mode.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Madden NFL 13
Great Game and Awesome HD game for WII U.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/13
RABIDSQUIRREL
Location: TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great Game and Awesome HD game for Wii U. Only problem was when the came was played only on the gamepad, Canton Team froze the system up and had to unplug power. Worked fine with all the other teams. I would still recommend this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Madden NFL 13
RUSHED GAME
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/12
AJRMARTIZ
This game is okay. the game play is great but the framerate is bad. the announcers sometimes repeat themselves and they could have done better with the graphics. Also a few game modes are missing. Only get it if its a good price or wait for a new one!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 13 for Madden NFL 13
Good, not great
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/13
Wiishootemup
Location: Coruscant
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a solid launch title for Wii U but nothing better. There are a couple of bugs, and some things could be better, like the field goal kicking mechanism. It is good, but it could be better.
 
My Product Recommendations
Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
8.7 out of 10(73)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Madden NFL 13
WiiU is a must-have console
Posted on:10/18/12
UltimateJK
Location: Birmingham, AL
Nintendo has really stepped up with the WiiU. Being a Madden NFL fan, I'd rather have this game on WiiU than PS3 and Xbox360. Looking forward to future games!
0 of 1 found this review helpful.