GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection

Dragon Ball Z® Budokai 1 and Dragon Ball Z® Budokai 3 make their triumphant debut on next-generation consoles in Dragon Ball Z® Budokai HD Collection. Remastered in high-defi nition with full trophy/achievement support, fans can relive these two great games or experience them for the fi rst time in one special collection.
Average Customer Rating:
8.684
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
8
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
17 out of 1989%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Review 1 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Nostalgic game with cool gameplay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/14
Reezy909
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is real nostalgic and is great to play again, it's easy to play for first time players and even for kids just really hope they make a tenkaichi collect too or at least one tenkaichi HD
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
So much action!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/13
KingAwsome
Location: Clarksville,TN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is an epic game and is never ending fun!Ican't believe they brought budokai 1&3 back to us!Thank god!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Insanity
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/3/13
L0ading
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
If you owned the original games I'm sure you know if you'll enjoy this collection, but the HD touch-ups are very nice. If, however, you have never owned these games be warned; you may harm everything and everyone around you. This game can be ridiculously frustrating. There are probably very few, if any, games more ludicrously frustrating than these.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Good but things are missing
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/13
adamska954
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Alright so i have played this when i was a kid and i loved this game and even today i still find DragonBall Z Budokai 1 & 3 the best ones. At the moment i havent played Budokai 3 yet i did play Budokai 1 and the game is exactly the same as i remember expect one important thing the MUSIC that annoyed me for so long it is not the orginal soundtrack they actually used Dragon ball z ultimate tenkaichi's sound track i know this for a fact since i have every dragon ball z fighting game and let me tell you the soundtrack makes a big difference when setting the atmosphere if this is your first run through of the game you wont notice it but anyone who played the original game will realize that something is wrong and its the music why fix whats not broken the soundtrack was amazing anyway this is a great collection since they are hard games to find i suggest picking it up if your a dbz fan its a great game :D as for dbz b3 i havent played it yet so i dont know if theres any changes to the game but i dont think they would make any heres to hoping :D
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 5 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Great Retouch on Iconic DBZ Games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
SanDiegoBoxer
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have to admit, for $40 I feel like I've gotten my money's worth. This game comes with DBZ Budokai and Budokai 3, both of which are very fun games (I personally prefer Budokai 3). After having this game for only a few days, I've already gotten the platinum. The visuals look astonishing for a remake, especially Budokai 3. Some of the combos are hard to pull off (ie. Zanku Fist) but that is only one off the few flaws of this game. The only other problems I have with this remake is that it didn't come with Budokai 2, changed the Budokai soundtrack, and didn't have online. You can't call this a collection, but merely a bundle due to the fact that it doesn't have Budokai 2. I didn't like how they changed the soundtrack for Budokai because the music didn't fit in with the cutscenes. One scene was when Vegeta turned into the giant ape while joyful music was playing in the background. For the online, I know that this is a remake but it would have been nice if they added that in as a new feature. Other than those cons, everything else is amazing. If you are a die hard Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, or Dragon Ball GT fan (Maybe even all!) this is a must have game. Great storyline, great visuals, an amazing bundle worth $40.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
GREAT REMAKE!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
HAZEEN
THIS GAME IS A GREAT REMAKE! I LOVE ANYTHING DBZ! THIS GAME COLLECTION IS ESSENTIAL TO ANY FAN OF THE SERIES! I JUST WISH THEY SHOWED THE BLOOD AND DID NOT TAMPER WITH THE SOUND.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
More than a few DragonBall Z games.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
Jdawg231
Location: New york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This isn't your typical anime fighter.This is a real fighter.The gameplay is perfect and is easy to get used to. There are tons of characters,and multiple ways to unlock them,which adds replay value.The world tournament and the dragon arena are great places to hone your skills or just fight the AI for fun.The mechanics in this series make it a actual fighter,not just a game about a anime.Get this collection even if you never watched the anime,there's a lot more to it than just the story.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
This was well done!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
SilverKamon
Location: Tuckerton, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played the original Budokai and Budokai 3, so I really wanted these for just the nostalgia. I read that in the original versions of these games there was something to do with stealing the music, so they have new music for both games. I was very pleased with the choices of music for Budokai 1, but Budokai 3 I kind of don't like the song choices. they also changed Budokai 3's opening song that everyone likes, which I wasn't pleased with. But getting into the gameplay, it is well done and they were remastered extremely well! I love playing them, and playing them on their hardest difficulty is a sure challenge for the hardcore gamer! Enjoy, because it is well worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Why not all 3 Budokais?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
Keko
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I know budokai 1 and 3 are good but why not 3 i still recomend this but when they have a tenkaichi collection for ps3 i hope they have all 3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
the best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/13
dbzwarrior
Location: nyny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i loved this game but it did not have the same soundtracks from the ps2 versions but other than that great game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
SHOULD HAVE DONE THIS A LONG TIME AGO!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
gokie4
Location: Woodhaven,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Budokai 1 is a classic. Budokai 3 is the best dbz game out of everyone in my opinion. Just wish the music was the same as the ps2 versions. That is the only bad thing out of the collection and its the only reason i gave sound a 6 rating. NEVER MESS WITH THE MUSIC WHEN REMAKING CLASSICS LIKE THESE BECAUSE THE MUSIC IS A BIG PART OF WHY ITS A CLASSIC!!!! But besides that, its about time. Cant wait to get my copy because these games are some of the best games ive ever played in my life!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
It's awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
Remedy500
Location: Glasgow,KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awesome because you can be most of DBZ people and fight Vegita,Goku,Gohan,ect. and it's alot of fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
the real budokai hd collection
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
kid141767
the game is good, play it lot if time with the ps2. they such put in budokai 2 and infinite world to make it a real budokai hd collection 5 classic games. hope they make ultimate tenkaichi 2 better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 14 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
GREAT GAME WITH A HUGE FLAW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
HAZEEN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I CANNOT BELIEVE HOW THEY CUT OUT THE MUSIC AND KEY CUT-SCENES! THEY ALSO CUT OUT THE BLOOD AND OTHER SMALL DETAIL THAT MADE THE ORIGINAL GREAT. THE MUSIC SUCKS! THE GAMEPLAY IS JUST AS I REMEMBER IF NOT BETTER. FOR SOME REASON BUDOKAI 3 LOOKS 1 STEP UNDER BURST LIMIT! THEY DID A GOOD JOB ON THE (HD) PART OF THIS COLLECTION! PLATINUM TROPHY OWNER! :D
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
all i want are all the tenkaichi's
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/12
acergamer
Location: marietta, ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i really like all dragonball z games but the tenkaichi's were the best to me. i wish they had a hd collection for them
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
One of The Best Most God Like Dragon Ball Z EVER!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
rasenhamehax100
Location: clearwater, Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
every since back in the day when dragon ball z budokai came out it was so popular and the game itself was so amazing its god-like!!. not that it came out with a dragon ballz HD COLLECTION on ps3 AND XBOX 360!?!? seriously?! amazing huh?? also insludes blue ray disk for ps3 players i bought it for ps3 and id say 39.99 was soooo ******** worth every freakin penny. plus new dragon ballz movie premiering called dragon ball z battle of gods!!!!! gets better and better!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
This is a great game buy it you won't hate it .
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/12
jassi
Location: bethlehem
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
one hands down one of the best fighter in 2012 it fast action is great and plus remasterd soundtrack and graphics this is a must buy to me if you have time pick it up add me on psn jassi454
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Great Music !!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
HUGELY DISSAPOINTED!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
mpurifi94
Location: Corona, Ny
My girlfriend bought me this game because she KNOWS I LOVE the nostalgic TRUE BUDOKAI games I grew up with. VERY DISSAPPOINTED. THEY CHANGED THE MUSIC ON EVERYTHING , THE TWO SIDE BARS IN CUT SCENES TO KEEP IT AT FULLSCREEN SINCE THEYRE LAZY ARE VERY ANNOYING. LASTLY THERE IS NOOOOO BLOOD THAT MADE THE GAME BADASS IN 2002 BACK IN THE DAY. DEFF NOT THE TRUE BUDOKAI I GREW UP WITH. HIGHLY UPSET IM A TRUE DBZ FAN AND THEY RUINED IT !!! DO NOT BUY IF YOUR TRYING TO LIVE CHILDHOOD MEMORIES!! GAME NOT ENJOYABLE
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
What a great idea
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
Geo152
Location: Umatilla, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved these games when they released for ps2 and I am so glad they redid the series in HD. They did a good job on the graphics. I have had the Metal Gear Solid and Devil May Cry HD collections and they did no look as good as I thought but they did a good job on it. It plays just like the originals and they bring back memories. Too bad they couldn't bring back the joke characters like Gokule and Tiencha. But if you liked them for the ps2 then you would love it even now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DragonBall Z Budokai HD Collection
Best ps2 game remake to date!
Posted on:10/31/12
tickatickatock
Location: Graham,wa
I've played all dragonball z games from Ultimate battle 22 on psOne to today.
Budokai 3: Is and always wil be the best dragonball z game ever, to me that is. It has used great meaning to the 3d display ablilty on ps2 and no doubt will the hd added for this remake. Story mode in the game has an UNBELIEVABLE amount of repliablity. Yeah im talking to you Goku and you large scenario missions. Once you completely beat scenario mode you unlock Dragon Arena.
Budokai: Eh! Its alright
1 2 3 next>>