GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black

Compatible with PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC. The "gold standard" of gaming audio. With hundreds of thousands of hours of tournament validation, no gaming headset can claim more tournament wins than the A40. Engulf yourself in uncompromised voice and game sound. The A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro includes the competition proven MixAmp Pro, providing console and PC gamers with 7.1 Dolby Surround, EQ modes, and a new Stream Audio Output that's ideal for tournament play, livestreaming, and late-night gaming sessions. So what are you waiting for? The A40 Headset is tuned specifically for gaming with ASTRO Audio delivering the sound exactly as the developers intended.
Average Customer Rating:
8.579
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
0
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
16 out of 1984%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Review 1 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/14
skipper5574
Location: PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this head set I bought and had to return them, the sound and comfort is amazing the mic is tho terrible, doesn't work, I bought this for xbox one, and I have the adapter, but the mic wasn't working so I wanted my money back and I got it back, but I would go with the turtle beach PX51, there incredible, also there was way to many wires, I also looked up the problem on google and it took me to astro's website and I looked at the comments it was filled with the mic not working and there was a astro employ that commented saying we can fix the problem we are sorry that you have to deal with it, go for turtle beach the PX51 have the same sound quality, 7.1 Dolby digital surround sound. add me if you have a XBOX one Deadlykillz5574
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 2 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Astro A40 the beast !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/14
CoolJoker
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Perfectly designed and very solid sound proving with Dolby Digital &.! channels highly recommended compatible with Xbox 360 ,Pc and Playstation 3 , and if you want it for next-gen consoles pick up thw Astro A50 it's the latest to the series !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Amazing! Great Buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
Workinboy
Location: Boone, NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Amazing! Out of all of the gaming headsets i have owned, ( TB x31, Razer Carcharias, Tritton AX Pro's 5.1), these are by far my favorite and then ones i feel are the best with everything from sound quality to mic performance. The headset works flawlessly and took almost no time at all to set up. The optical input works beautifully with the Dolby digital 7.1 surround sound from my computer and the 5.1 surround sound from my Xbox. The mic is crisp and clear while at the same time only picking up my voice and no background noise. You also get what you pay for in the way of build quality and packaging;you can tell that Astro has put some thought and quality work into their product, from the way the box is designed, to be used as a case for transport, all the way to the high quality of the cables they provide.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
drbead
usa
 
Please wait while more information about drbead is loaded.
Additional information about drbead could not be loaded.
wow
Posted 2/13/14
Very good headset and quality sound for headset. I like it. Good microhone with noise canceling. Recommended.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
the best of the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/13
tdb88
Location: ohio
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
these headsets are amazing i've had turtle beaches,trittons & now astros & there's no comparison the comfort is out of this world i can have them on for 6+ hours & they never bother me its like not even having a headset on the sound quality is unbelievable it imerses you immeditally into the game when people say you get what you pay for is spot on before when i heard people say that i thought they were just being cocky a defenite buy & if you're thinking of getting a gaming headset save your money & purchase these astro A40"s you won't regret it
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
batata
 
Please wait while more information about batata is loaded.
Additional information about batata could not be loaded.
Posted 9/28/13
is this headset version 2012 or 2013?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
its good but not perfect
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/14
MrClean
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I used the turtle beach x42 for a year now and it was my first virtual surround sound gaming headset and MAN i had an amazing experience with them for my xbox 360 and xbox one. I always been curious why astro gaming headsets are one of the best gaming headset in the market, so i bought the astro a40 at gamestop for about $218.00 after tax because it was on sale. I was really surprise about the sound quality on the astro a40 because it was so neutral, crisp and has loud BASS but the 5.1 surround sound from the (playstation 4 and xbox one) console was SLIGHTY better than the turtle beach x42 when it comes to hearing footsteps and gunshots in FPS like battlefield or call of duty. The features on astros like listening to music while your gaming and its compatibility with (playstation/xbox/pc) is really great, in my mind i thought having the astro a40 was going to give me a massive advantage than the x42 in FPS and it didnt. The most important thing was the mix amp pro that gave me those feature options and varieties to enjoy having an astro headset. I forgot to mention that the design and comfort on the headset is absolutly amazing. I am now looking towards seeing and hearing about the new turtle beach dts x surround sound headsets. Whats so special now about DTS X 7.1 surround sound headset compare to a 7.1 dolby digital headset?????
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Greatest Gaming Headset Of It's Time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
Fortifier
Location: Buffalo, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset just today and I was satisfied with everything about it. This headset is in fact the newest edition, and there are some major changes (for the good, of course) to the headset and the way it works. The mixamp is brand new, much easier to use, and has a new "EQ Button" that changes the way you listen to your headphones. Whether it's gaming, news, sports or a movie, they have the right setting for that. I'll be releasing a YouTube unboxing/review soon, so I'll tell you when it's ready. Definitely worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Smcroskey
 
Please wait while more information about Smcroskey is loaded.
Additional information about Smcroskey could not be loaded.
Posted 10/20/12
Did you buy this headset online using this page? Or is this still the 2011 edition? The picture shows the 2011 edition and not the 2013 edition so that is why I am asking.
Customer Avatar
MrNastyTime
Pittsburgh
 
Please wait while more information about MrNastyTime is loaded.
Additional information about MrNastyTime could not be loaded.
Headset
Posted 10/20/12
did you buy it from gamestop.com?
and hows the sound for the mic?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 7 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
The new 2013 Edition Astro A40's are awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
NOSVIPER
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First.. I'd like to state that I have both the 2013 Edition (Wired) Astro A40.. & 2011 Edition (Wireless 5.8).. I haven't ran into any notable problems w/ either one thank GOD :) Both are really comfortable & in my opinion.. worth the asking price . Apologize for mentioning both in the review so much.. My purpose for this is to assure those who have never tried an Astro Gaming Headset that the 2013 Edition regardless of any negative feedback written are awesome & unique. Unique because the sound quality while different than the 2011 Astro's.. Is still the best I ever heard period! I've used Turtle Beach X31's.. 41's.. & the PX5 but Astro is in a league of their own when it comes to Console Gaming Headset's .
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
epichalo4fan
 
Please wait while more information about epichalo4fan is loaded.
Additional information about epichalo4fan could not be loaded.
Is the one gamestop is selling the 2013 edition?
Posted 3/25/13
I will not buy the 2011 edition. I have a lot of gift cards and I need to know if this is the 2013 or 2011 edition.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Looking Forward To It
Posted on:9/2/12
Fortifier
The Astro A40's are THE headset to have if you are a hardcore of professional gamer. No other headset can compare to the customization, the quality, and the durability of the A40's. I hated that they were only available online, so if these are available at your local GameStop, I would definitely recommend buying this headset.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Best Headset you can buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/14
Tryhard
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Astro A40 Headset is one of, if not the best headset you will ever own!
Sound Quality: 9.5/10
I bought this headset for mainly First-Person shooters. The A40s allowed me to hear every single footstep and gunshot. There is no complaints about sound quality. It's one of the best you can buy!
Design: 9/10
I personally enjoy taking the Astros out in public. They won't make you feel like "It's sooo ugly!". Trust me, the metal and plastic are both very high quality and I would worry about breaking it if you dropped it a couple of times here and there.
Comfort: 10/10
I had no problem wearing them for hours on end. They are so comfortable you'll forget they are even there. There is nothing wrong with the comfort of the A40s.
Overall: 9.5/10
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
The best headset ever!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
MrChampionship
Location: University Place, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is amazing the sound quality is super and the design is really cool looking. I only have one concern and that's the Xbox live chat cable is connected to the mix amp and has a short cable. It would've been better if the cable would go into the main headset cable like turtle beach but other than that it's amazing. It's worth every penny and dollar!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Best headset on the market
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/14
CBD70
Location: Alabama
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I purchased a pair of these for my Xbox One after being a long time user of Turtle Beaches and these are the best headset that you can get.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
As good as it gets
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/14
Ceiis
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Pros:
Amazed at the quality and the comfort the A40s has. Made great and made of great martial, the A40s are strong and reliable.
If you're a pro-gamer or just like to listen to music, get the A40s. Sound never sounded so good, pun intended. Music is crisp and clear. If you've ever had problems with hearing you're teammates, or with hearing the in-game sounds over your teammates, get the A40s, and you'll never have either problem ever again.
And then there's the customization of the A40s. You can make your own custom tags! You can use pictures of yourself, family, friends, make custom tags for your gaming community, or even make them with just your name on them.
All that said, the firmware update did help increase the overall performance (not that it needed it) if anyone is having any kind of problems.
They are built tough. I mean really tough! I dropped it from 8 feet high (was hanging it on a lamp to clean), it hit the floor, which has carpet, and I gasped in horror. Thankfully, it was completely fine!
Cons:
Mic is not the best, but buy a stand-alone mic if you really want and you'll be fine. The mic is okay if you are just looking for a working mic, and nothing more.
In conclusion, If you can afford A40s, get A40s.
(bought the A40 wired 2013 edition with mix amp)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FarikoCinematic
 
Please wait while more information about FarikoCinematic is loaded.
Additional information about FarikoCinematic could not be loaded.
Worth it.
Posted 7/17/14
I've had Astro a40's and Tritton Warhead's both are worth it but if you wanna use a headset all the pros use get these but in my opinion the Tritton Warhead's are better by far but it's all based on personal preference and how the headset feels to you the a40's are a great buy and I'd definitely recommend them.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Awesome headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
FaZeNappy
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is perfect for any hardcore gamer. I f you have money to blow get this headset it is the best! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Truly One of the Best Headsets
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/14
TDUB95
Location: Burien, WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just got the Astro A40 with the MixAmp Pro about two days ago and I love it. Amazing sound quality, comfortable, and great overall design. This is one of the top of the line headsets out there. I've had Turtle Beaches in the past but none of them were as great as this headset. To me this headset feels like a professional grade headset that is designed for hardcore gamers. The 7.1 surround sound is amazing which many headsets do not have. I went through two Turtle Beach Ear Force XO Sevens and I was so disappointed with them and they only had stereo quality sound which is unacceptable for a $159.99 headset. I will never be getting another Turtle Beach product ever again. I'm always sticking with Astros.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Best gaming headset out there!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/14
Tryhard
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Short and sweet, the Astro A40 are the best gaming headsets you can ever buy! You will never be disappointed about the feel and performance of the headsets. I have had mine for 2 years, and my gaming has gone to a new level because of these. Words can not express how amazing the headsets are. The only concern I think people would have is the price, but you will understand the price once you plug them in and try them out. I dare you!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
not really preview
Posted on:9/14/12
MochaB34R
Location: Ohio
Ive had this headset for about a year now, and they are amazing. They say you get what you pay for and they mean it, worth every penny. plus you can get custom tags !!!
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
best head set out there
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/12
wes454
Location: austin tx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
very good sound and very comfortable way better than turtle beach the price is a little high but for the quality its worth it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
Not worth the money. Buy triton 720+
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
Pit24
Location: San antonio
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I play nothing but call of duty and have had several headsets. I play at least 3 hours a day and I can tell u that these are NOT comfortable for more than two hours of play time. They sound great but not any better than the triton 720+ headset that is a 100.00 less. Now the box it comes in is really cool and when u open it up your like wow these are great but I'm sorry a box isn't worth 100.00. I'm not gonna say they are terrible because they don't buy I have had turtle beach px12, px5 and px400. I've had triton ax720 and the new triton 720+. And the triton headsets have been the best value. Tritons sound great and are comfortable. I've played 10hrs with tritons and never was uncomfortable wearing them. Anybody who has given astro a40 a great review either have owned nothing but astro's or have had turtle beaches which are not very good at all. By the way turtle beach are not a good headset. If u have ever owned a pair of tritons than you know how great they are And couldn't give astro's a great review. They are good just not worth the money. Hope this is helpful. I'm selling my astro's in Craigslist and buying another pair of tritons 720. Oh and GameStop pushes these cause they say that's what MLG uses but that's cause astro sponsors MLG and that's the only reason.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 52 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
TomaHawkSDCS
Anchorage
 
Please wait while more information about TomaHawkSDCS is loaded.
Additional information about TomaHawkSDCS could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 12/18/13
Ok I'm going to be really frank, Ive owned every mainstream head set there is all the way from the Playstation toTurtlebeach to Tritons and Astro and Afterglow. Now for you to say that Astro is not comfortable is a LIE, unless you have a misshapen head or huge ears. I own the A-50 they are the same model just wire less, and they are the most comfortable headset I've ever used and I don't mean just gaming head set I mean from any head set Ive ever worn. So you sir are just hating because there not your Tritons and thats fine if that is what you prefer but for you to denture some one away from this product to an inferior product is just wrong. I also would like to mention that Astro's are the ONLY head set that has not cracked or broken on me ever, Tritons and Turtlebeach both broke on me in less then 3 weeks and the left speaker on both went out in 2 weeks on 2 different sets from both. Now when gamestop recommends Astro because the pro's use them is because they do, and yes Astro does sponsor the MLG but the pro's don't use them because of that reason they use them because they TRULY are the best in the business.
So to any one who reads this mans review please do not trust it with out your own research, I would hate to see some one waist there money on an inferior product because if this mans fanboyism.
Customer Avatar
DieHardPlayStationFan
San Diego, CA
 
Please wait while more information about DieHardPlayStationFan is loaded.
Additional information about DieHardPlayStationFan could not be loaded.
I disagree with experience.
Posted 8/28/13
I also had the tritton 720+. They don't even get close to comparing with the astros. The right earcup never worked, and the headset is VERY tight. Comin from a guy who is hat size 7 1/2. (Before you say I wasn't careful, I've never been more careful with anything before in my life) :P
Customer Avatar
my2cents
 
Please wait while more information about my2cents is loaded.
Additional information about my2cents could not be loaded.
disagree aswell.
Posted 8/3/13
i have tritton AX Pro and the mic stopped within 2 hours of gameplay. Tritton are made by madcatz and if you have been a gamer for more than 4 years then you know madcatz is horrible unless your buying some of their flight sticks for PC, that being said gamestop employees are there to sell products or gamestop wouldnt be in buisness but they are truthful, their red samuri hd stereo headphones sound way better than the beats solo hd at a fraction of the cost. the gamestop i goto must be the best because these guys are very informed about quality. they let me hear the astro a40 and a50's vs most of all their headsets and hands down Astros kick trittons out of the water. the only thing comparable was warhead 7.1 which only worked with xbox 360. you really do get what you pay for. i can attest that some people are going to have bad experiences with any product out their because company employees are not by far perfect but astro does what it can to provide you with great customer service. Trittons= Madcatz play with their controllers one time and you will understand they make cheap stuff that isnt durable at all!
Customer Avatar
Ajearo
 
Please wait while more information about Ajearo is loaded.
Additional information about Ajearo could not be loaded.
I Disagree
Posted 5/11/13
First of all, the actual headset is 150.00, the mixamp is 100 and that is why it is that price, u dont need to mixamp for them to function and all that i have heard is that trittons are uncomfortable and are a cheap version of astros. My friend has had both these and tritton 720+ and says astro is better by far. all in all, it is a matter of what you like.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 19 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
The Best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/13
Zombie56
Location: SC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These by far are the greatest headphones ive ever used/owned. i would recommend these to anyone, The quality of the sound is better than my studio beats, and that says a lot. i love everything about this headset except the wires but they aren't even that bad.The price is pretty high but once you get them, you will more than satisfied with how great these are. WORTH EVERY PENNY. . . .BUY THESE.....its for your own good:)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Astro A40 Headset + MixAmp Pro - Black
great if you know how to use them
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/31/13
MTD7
Location: new jersey
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have owned these for about 6 months and i can say that they are built to last. They are the most durable and one of the best sounding headphones on the market. The mixamp is a little hard to figure out because the sound drops out and you need to get the patch from astro.com. other than that it is worth the $250. Turtle beach is not worth the money. I would know i owned 3 pairs in about 1.5 years. tritons are nice but they are not built to last. if you have the money and you play/use them enough, i would buy these over every headset on the market.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>