GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset

Compatible with PlayStation 3, Xbox 360, and PC. The wireless A50 Headset is ready to invade the living room. Experience Dolby 7.1 Surround Sound with clarity and performance powered by KleerNet's strongest 5.8Ghz solution available. Hear the difference that professionally tuned audiophile-grade sound makes. Whatever your audio needs are, the A50 Headset comes with 3 different EQ modes for movies, hardcore gaming, and competitive shooters. When finished, simply charge your headset from your transmitter and the included display stand. Take over your gaming and home entertainment with the wireless A50 Headset.
Average Customer Rating:
8.405
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
12
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
5
36 out of 4286%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Review 1 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Best EVER!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/14
Baseballer54243459982
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset was a way better deal then my last ones and they work better. My old ones cost 750 so this was a total steal. When I saw that these were only 300 dollars I knew I had to buy them. Another good feature is that if they break you can just buy new ones because they are so cheap.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Worth every penny
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/14
meatydojo
Location: Victor NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I already owned the Astro A40's which are excellent. I just wanted to go wireless. I was initially skeptical that the wireless set could provide the stellar sound I have become accustomed to with my A40's. After a few days with them I can confidently say that they provide the exact same stellar sound as the wired sibling. They are quite expensive,so it's not a purchase to be taken lightly. I believe they are well worth the money for a few reasons.
1. Quality. If you have never listened to an Astro 7.1 set you should try them. Unbeatable sound! And the build quality is also amazing.
2. Versatility. At present these are hooked up to my xbox 360. But they work with every platform. Even movies are amazing with these.
3. If you demand only the best...here it is. Top of the heap!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
a wireless headset that works for pc
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/14
KeandreCrash
Location: reno nv
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i never found a gaming headset for the PC that is wireless this one is that's awesome strait away 10 out of 10!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
GREATEST HEADSET I HAVE OWNED!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/14
NOBODYpostTHIS
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This has been one of the best headsets i have owned goes great with shooting games as well as with the new consoles... Playstation 4!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
One and Done.....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/14
GL21
Location: New Mexico
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have bought many headsets from Sony Stereo Headset, Pulse Elite, P21 and PX21 and the Astro A50's are better in build quality and performance. The A50's produce a great surround sound environment and it reminds me of my sound whor**g days of COD4 and MW2. The price was a bit high, but I managed to buy them in store for $225 when they were on sale (lucky me). They feel a bit heavy compared to other headsets I've owned but it feels like a quality/comfortable abuild and not a brick on your head. The settings are easy to use because you only have 3 preset equalizer settings and you ddon't have to be a DJ to fine tune your settings like some Turtle Beach models with the equalizer. The mix amp is built in and on the ear cup so its easily accessible. The last and best thing about the A50's is there is no umbilical cord from your headset to the PS4 controller. It is completely wireless. I would buy these all over again if I had to. No buyers remorse here.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Amazing Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/7/14
IAmTheLoneWanderer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is simply put, the best gaming headset one can buy. After doing the same old song and dance over the years, buying one headset after another, being impressed for all of 4-6 months then moving on to the next. I've had Tritons, and Turtle Beaches. Turtle Beach seems to be the only "real" competition these Astros have and they are not even in the same league. Now I understand why the MLG used Astros as their go to brand the past few years. Yes yes Turtle Beach now has the MLG gaming headsets and they are good, very good in fact but these Astros are a much better buy for a similar price tag.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
best of all headsets
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/14
dauntlessEPOD
Location: goodlettsville,tn
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I owned 3 headsets and this is the best. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1!! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! ! !
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Awesome Audio Experience
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/14
Uberfiend
Location: Corona, CA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
TLDR; These are the gold-standard for gaming headsets. Sure, they're expensive, but they are worth every penny.
This is probably the best wireless headset for gaming that money can buy right now (2013). The audio is crisp and clear, and while the surround does not beat a real surround setup, it's detailed enough to pinpoint in-game sound origins in games where the sound is that detailed and important. (Especially FPS games.)
The ability to select one of three pre-set EQ profiles is handy, but only two of them are useful. One boosts the high end to help you identify gunfire and footsteps, while the normal mid-level setting is perfect for playing campaign or games that do not use sound cues to help you identify enemies, etc. The bass-boosted "media" setting is just plain awful though. It would be nice if you could easily roll your own sound profile and assign it.
In-game chat or party chat works really well and the headset makes it easy to adjust the balance between in-game sound and chat without having to look away or fiddle with anything. It just works and becomes second nature.
Need to mute your mic to yell at your dog / wife / kids / annoying brother? No problem. Just swing the boom up and your mic is muted. Swing it down, and it's on again. The only complaint I have, and it's minor, is that the boom is not very flexible so you can't really adjust the mic location, though I'm not sure that would make much difference at all.
How do they feel? Awesome. They are heavier than many similar headsets, but the nicely padded ear-cups and headband support the headset so well you hardly know they are there. I've worn these for hours at a time without any kind of fatigue. If you need to rest, the ear cups swivel so you can rest the headset around your neck with the cups resting on your shoulders.
They look ok, if black and red are your thing, but they won't win any awards either. That said, they probably look as good or better than anything else in this market segment. And as I note below, the wireless base station is the most elegantly designed base station of any maker. By comparison, everyone else's stuff is just plain ugly.
I have tested these with PS3, PS4 and Xbox 360. They work flawlessly on all of the systems. With the Xbox, Microsoft requires you to use a thin cable between the controller and headset for chat audio, so your experience will not be entirely wireless. But that is a Microsoft issue and not a manufacturer problem. You do not need the chat cable for PS3 or PS4 compatibility—chat will work normally without any wires at all.
Setup is a breeze. Connect the headset to your PC and install/update the firmware. Sync the headset to the small and elegant looking base-station.(It is not as clunky or ugly as its competitors.) Connect the base station to your system's optic audio port and a USB port using the provided cables. That's it. (I switch between my Xbox and PS4 regularly—it's annoying, but definitely a first-world problem.)
It comes with a base to hang the headphones and base station, but I leave that on my desk to charge. You can realistically expect to get 6-8 hours on a charge.
MAC USERS: The only issue I have is that Astro Gaming used to support Mac OS X with its firmware updater, but the summer 2013 firmware update nixed that. You will need Windows to update the firmware for now, but it will work if you're dual-booting your Mac. I haven't tried it, but I suspect it will also work with Parallels.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
The best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
Solarshenron
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned quite a few turtle beach headsets and they have all broke. They also had horrible sound quality. These headphones are the nest I've ever owned. How anyone could ever say turtle beach or triton makes a higher quality headset doesn't know what they're talking about. If you buy these you won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Worth the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/13
Gamersince82
Location: ATX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Audio quality is ridiculous... better than my Beats DJ headset. only drawback is updating the firmware. If you got a mac (i have 3 macs and no PC's), you're out of luck. Astro website only offers firmware updates for PC. Other than that, great overall product and investment
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Auzziie
 
Please wait while more information about Auzziie is loaded.
Additional information about Auzziie could not be loaded.
Best Headset I've Had
Posted 2/1/14
I've had this headset for about 1 month and it's more than what I expected. I highly recommend this headset, it may be pricy but it's worth it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Best Headset on the Market
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/13
ConsolePS4Review
Location: Spring Grove, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I did some research on all the major brands of headsets. In the past I have used turtle beach but, they tend to break often. Tritton dosen't break as easily as turtle beach but dosen't have the same sound quality. Also Trittion headsets are badly rated. Astro, in my opinion, is the best console/pc headset out there. Yes it may be pricey but what you pay for is what you get in astro. So if your looking for a quality headset that dosen't break as easy and top of the line sound quality, Astro is the way to go.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Great headset but not cheap
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/13
Rapido
Location: Louisiana
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great headset with fantastic quality. They work great on the PS4 with full function. Just need to update the firmware. If you want to spend the money these are the ones to get. I am a very picky person and will return something if they do not perform. I have been using these for several months and love them.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Not just for gaming!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/13
SinMoo
Location: NJ
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was a little hesitant to spend this much money on a headset from a brand I wasn't as familiar with, but it has turned out absolutely fantastic! The music I listen to is at least as important to me as the games that I play, and this headset is amazing on both fronts. There was SO much happening in my music that I had no idea was there previous to this headset, and the 7.1 for gaming is almost cheating!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
great headphones
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
vhman22
Location: phoenix az
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
all i can say is these headphone are worth haveing ive had the tritton 720+ n these are way better i have no issue with them i can hear stuff ive never heard. fit great on head. ears still sweat from wearing them but not like the others ive used. great battery life . down fall is like eveyone has said is the charging cable is way to short but its not that expenive to get the ext usb cable i paid 5 buck on amazon for one. love these headphones so if you have the money well worth it to pick up. the range on them seem to be good i can go anywhere in my house n hear.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 15 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
great product
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/18/13
msweeten13
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
great product for the price i was skeptical at first but will never buy another cheap headset. great headset!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/13
SheepishEmu
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have been a Bose surround sound guy to the death. I have the latest Bose surround sound system for my television, Bose noise canceling head phones for work, and all the way down to a Bose portable sound bar for my iPod. Bose was created by a genius sound wave engineer to deliver amazing sound. Well guess what kids, I have now been converted. The sound from these headsets will blow your mind. I strive for the best audio experience on the market and now the bar has been reset. This sound experience is amazing, from playing COD to YouTube, this is the most amazing sound experience I have ever had. So in summary if Astro puts their name on the market for anything else besides gaming headset's, go ahead and count me as an automatic buy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
killerMammoth
 
Please wait while more information about killerMammoth is loaded.
Additional information about killerMammoth could not be loaded.
same story
Posted 1/23/14
funny I saw the same exact same post on amazon.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Best Headset!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/13
AeonicFire
Location: Kingston, MA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is amazing. The sound quality is superb it is as simple as that, It is extremely convenient since I am using these to play PC games on my big screen television across the room and I do not have to be wired in.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Great Headset Overall
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/13
EBCM1022
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Minor problems in the beginning like most wireless headsets have but they got fixed. Great performance for the cost. Couldn't ask for better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
The Best of the Best!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
BALISTIKBADGER
Location: ALBANY, OR
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
from having the COD: black ops edition triton headset and moving to the Astro A50 headset, the comparison is night and day. i can literally hear a tick f4rt with these headphones. with downloadable firmware, the headset just keeps sounding better and better. if you are planning to buy a new high end headset, save yourself the time and get these, yeah they are a pretty penny, but worth overy penny you spend on them
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Universal Astro A50 Wireless Headset
Astro A50
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
Jhonson
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There the best headset on market for Xbox 360 and their used at 4MLG events around the USA and I would recommend them to every body
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>