GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset

Utilizing Dolby's proprietary Surround 7.1 technology, TRITTON's AX 720 Headset replicates the immersive feeling of high-end home theater setups. Your favorite videogames spring to life as you're enveloped in a 3D sound field.
Average Customer Rating:
5.522
5.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
10 out of 2343%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Review 1 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Sucks
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/14
Figureitout
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these headsets for my ps4 when i opened them they looked really nice. But when I tried it out the sound was terribe it sucked at bass and had tons of trebble. The headsets were ery uncomfortabble to wear dont buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
GREATNESS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/22/14
llama4life
Location: san jose,CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Really good headsets hours and hours of game and wont feel tired. CoD with these are really god because hearing foots steps is really easy!! :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Looks great…but major issue in all of them.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/14
Sirbrucekey
Location: midwest
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Not sure if it's the ps4 or these but when game volume turned up you can't hear people. no happy med
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
What I was looking for
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/13
Ekozs
Location: Illinois
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I see a lot of good/bad reviews on this one and wanted to just put my opinion in on this one. To start you they come in a really big box. Once I got home and opened and took them out I hooked everything up to my pc and then downloaded the new drivers, after that had finished it took a few minutes for them to we'll stay start up. After putting them on I noticed that they will A LOT more heavy duty then the ones that I had before(ax180's). The ear pieces really hug my ears and the sound on these are really nice. However I didn't really like the leather like ear covers that they come with, would have rather had a cloth like material for them. The sound on these really didn't get as loud as I would think that it would. Over all I really do like them mostly because of the heavy dutyness. If you are looking for something that you can basically beat on (not saying to at all) I would go with these and the sound quality as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Good Quality
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/13
Idonthave1
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
people are saying that their headsets dont work and i have not had that happen to me, nor the people i know whove had these. These headsets offer great surround sound and work great with 1st person shooters such as halo and call of duty. Plus they are not that heavy, just lighter than astro a40s. Overall the design is good but the headset is a bit blocky and they fit great over my head. I would definitely recommend this product to someone who wants to get a good surround sound headset for a good price that isnt cheap quality such as the turtlebeaches that break easily.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Stick with astros.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/13
DieHardPlayStationFan
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset was supposed to be an early gift for my 16th birthday. I, being an audiophile, eagerly opened up my headset to preview the sound. The box was neatly laid out. I plugged in these Trittons, and ATTEMPTED to play some bo2. There was no sound coming out of the right earcup! Huge disappointment... Stick with astro a40s. I will be getting those instead.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Definitely not for me...
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/23/13
ChickenBender
Location: St.Joseph, MO
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had a set of Turtle Beach px21's for 3 years. They fell apart (like everyone says), then the left channel quit. I had rigged these with tape, superglue and solder resin over the years so I decided to purchase a new pair. I tried these Tritton's, didn't care for a wireless set at the time, took them home, and then took them back 2 days later. The best thing about these is they are constructed very well. The other good thing about these are the rocker switches (no surprise by accidentally rolling the volume up like on the PX21's). The con's: my ears were sweating after 20 minutes, the mic volume doesn't have an adjustment, the surround sound was nice, but the overall sound made it seem like I was playing the game in a tin can (..or metal building, HARSH). I exchanged these for the Turtle Beach PX5's....I have had the PX5's for a few days and the sound is much better and the comfort (for me) is superb.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Quality headphones
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/13
Ilovemytrittons
Location: nj
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I went through x12's xp400's, px5's, and a pair of 7.1 warheads until i realized that i can't use a wireless mic. so i went out and picked up a pair of tritton 720+ (the + are the newly enhanced model of the 720's) and i can't complain. they sound the same as a turtle beach if not better, the wire is as thick as a computer charger would be for less tangles. i really enjoy these, but for the price i'd rather go wireless. regardless picking up a pair of these on amazon or when gamestop has one of its many sales they drop down to $100-120. Quality headset
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Not impressed
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/13
WesWorld
Location: Huntsville al
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After reading a million reviews I thought this was the perfect head set but I am extremely unimpressed with the sound quality,the complete absence of bass and they are very tight and heavy around my head. Will be returning for turtle beaches . The only plus about them is that they seem extremely durable and MADE with quality but I would not recommend them to my worst enemy
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Terrible sound
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/13
CallOfDutyLlama
Location: Florida
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this 7.1 because I thought it would have good sound on games. The sound on games was awful, and extremely tight and uncomfortable on my head. My turtle beach x11's are better than these, and over $100 cheaper. However, the sound on movies and whatnot was phenomenal. If you want a gaming headset look elsewhere, if you want a movie/music headset, this is the one you have been looking for.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
After a few months buzzing started
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/13
Anonymous
Location: Albany, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
so i got it in December and now its May i have constant buzzing in my ear and too my friends they say its really annoying i would recommend this for someone that wants a mic for 5 months, just unreal how poorly made these products are and how much money they make u pay for a headset that only lasts u a few months DONT BUY IT U WILL REGRET IT.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
The buzz that only got worse
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
JZ24
Location: PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is terrible. I plugged in the 1st set I got home and had to take them back because they just plain didn't work. I returned home with the 2nd set and they worked but they had a buzz so I did what Tritton recommended and moved the usb plug for power to different ports, and also to an alternate power source, but it only got worse. Now don't get me wrong the game sound was muffling the buzz when i was playing. Then for no apparent reason the buzzing started to get louder and louder until i couldn't stand it anymore so i unplugged them and put them back in the box and they aren't ever coming back out as long as i own them. Don't waste the money on these unless you wanna drive yourself nuts by listening to an annoying buzz.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Quality with minor Hiccups
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/13
Defectionate
Location: Dayton, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I have been primarily a Turtle Beach user, but after my 4th pair had broken, I decided to try out Tritton. I picked these up just because of the Surround sound. Granted its simulated, it still blew me away how crisp and clear they were. I put a side to side with my X32s and they crushed them in sound and quality. My only gripe, is the boom mic is supposed to have a sound cancelling tech in them, and late at night, it felt like I was talking louder than normally would with my Beaches. Overall, I am very pleased with my purchase, and I recommend them to anyone looking to get a nice headset spending less than $200.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
no way is this 7.1 worthy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/13
xodus33
Location: arizona
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The heavy tritton 720+ sounds like a stereo headset even with the decoder box.I put it up against the sibiera v2 with the turttle beach dss 7.1 just to see how it compares.The siberia v2 combined with the tb dss 7.1 blew the trittons 720+ away.The tritton 720+ where not what I expected as far as sound .I was going to send the sibriea v2 back, I'm glad I had a chance to compare them and see for my self just how bad these trittons 720+ are aginst others headsets.In my opinion the tritton 720+ looks good the sound is not 7.1 worthy".
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
not worthy of 7.1
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/13
xodus33
Location: arizona
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
heavy,sounds like a stereo headset buzzing,and not as loud as i thought .i put it up against the siberia v2 and turtle beach dss, it was no match.the siberia v2 had better bass and where clean as far as sound and lighter. i was going to give the v2 back ,glad i checked. i dont like turttle beach headset they brake but the dss7.1 from tb is very nice.also dont listen to any reviews not even this one. check it out for your self.thats what i did listen, to others reviews about trittons 7.1 + (mistake). if you can put it up against other headset with 7.1 amp,that have 50mm or even 40mm drivers and see how it pairs up.you'll see what i mean.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Not a good headset
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
DrxFluffeeee
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this headset for myself , when i got them and plugged everything in, my friends couldnt hear me and i could barely hear them, so i figured they were defective, so i returned them and got new ones, which had the exact same issue. dont waste your money on these, just get turtle beaches or astros insead
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NickK123
 
Please wait while more information about NickK123 is loaded.
Additional information about NickK123 could not be loaded.
Sounds like users error
Posted 6/23/13
Sounds like users error
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Great headset, no problems. excellent quality!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/12
tj9008
Location: Schofield Barracks
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Being my first headset, I cant really compare these to much. But as far as headphones in general, ive owned 2 high end pairs of bose over the ear headphones and these blow them out of the water even while listening to music! As far as gaming, they are phenomenal. Call of duty, battlefield and forza are pretty much all I play and these have exceeded my expectations in all the games! Since most people always worry about hearing footsteps and what not in call of duty, I will let you kno that you can hear them well and from which direction they are coming from! even though these arent true surround sound, the decoder box does an excellent job on depicting where the sounds are coming from and sending it to the speakers. and all you need to listen to them with an ipod or any other 3.5mm jack input is a headphone splitter which you can buy for about 6$ just about anywhere. or you can buy the adapter off of trittoins website. setup was a breeze it took no longer then 10 minutes and I was already playing. all in all, the sound quality is superb. I would recommend these to everyone. I couldn't justify spending the extra 100-ish for the Astros, they are simply not worth it, to me atleast. I couldn't be happier with my purchase.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Great sounding headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/12
Jeff44
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked up this headset for playing Call of Duty, and I love these things. The 7.1 sounds incredible, and the microphone makes your speech perfectly audible. There's a lot of cords to deal with for this wired set, but the one going from the receiver box to the headset is plenty long enough (be sure to use the clip to eliminate the effect of the weight of the cord). I've used it successfully with PS3 and XBox 360, plugs in USB for PS3 and with a 3.5mm into the controller for xbox (not actually sure how to connect audio, only used as a microphone on xbox). It's followed me to three different houses, and has yet to break after well over a year. They are a bit stiffer and feel a little heavier than the comparable turtlebeach set, but I'd recommend the Tritton's to anyone in the market for a premium headset (buddy of mine broke his turtlebeach headset within six months).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Keith19
 
Please wait while more information about Keith19 is loaded.
Additional information about Keith19 could not be loaded.
hdmi
Posted 3/11/13
I was wondering if these headphones work for a hdmi output?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
BETTER THAN I IMAGINED
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/6/12
trizok
Location: california
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Oustanding quality, great physical appearance, awesome for hours of gaming. THE PRICE IS UNDOUBTABLY SHOCKING for this amazing headset. If a part of the headset is lost or broken/damaged they WILL send another part and or headset ABSOLUTELY FREE. BEST headset in the $100-$250 range EASY.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wingaudiumleviosaaaaaaaa
 
Please wait while more information about Wingaudiumleviosaaaaaaaa is loaded.
Additional information about Wingaudiumleviosaaaaaaaa could not be loaded.
Worth every cent!
Posted 1/2/14
This is an incredible headset! It's comfortability is unsurpassed and it's audio quality is jaw dropping to say the least . Trust me ignore the negative comments about this product it's truly the best headset I've ever owned. One thing I will bring to all you knowledge is that this product suffers from a lack of quality of the optical cord it's sold with, it's not horrible but it's your run of the mill gold coated fiber optic cord. I'm not saying that gold plating is bad is actually quite nice but the cord itsself is the one con and causes the buzzing that a lot of people mentioned and which I've noticed only in quiet places. This is a common problem with audio is buzzing caused by a poor connection to the device in contact with which I should the problem. So i recommend investing a reasonable amount of money like $20 - $80 in a platinum coated, top of the line fiber optics cable and this will cease the buzzing trust me I did so and it no longer buzzes at all even at max volume. This is a beast of audio quality I highly recommend. 10/10.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Universal Tritton AX 720+ 7.1 Surround Headset
Great Sound Quality, Not Best Comfort
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
Tenaci0usZebra
Location: New York, NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great headset for any kind of gamer, here's why: It has great sound quality (better than my friends MW3 Alpha turtle beaches which are $300!!!), it looks very nice, it works on xbox, ps3, and pc, it DOES'NT BREAK (Although the wire which connects from the headset to the controller may make a little echo when you're in a party with your friends sometimes but you can just twist it a little bit or unplug it and then plug it back in and that should do the trick). The only reason i want a different headset is because of course turtle beach seems to have copyrighted the circle idea and tritton is left with these squares but that's not too bad. It's overall a great headset and it's pretty comfortable for long sessions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>