GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

AverMedia Game Capture HD

Recording your Xbox 360, PS3 and Wii gaming triumphs is now much easier! If the living room is your war field, all you need is your video game console, TV set and the Game Capture HD. The Game Capture HD is a standalone HD video capture box which allows users to record PS3 or Xbox 360 HD gameplays to an internal or external hard drive without a PC. Installation is easy. Just connect the Game Capture HD to your game console with Component cables, and there you go! With one click, the Game Capture HD can capture and preview live game footage in 1080i resolution. When you're gaming or playing back your recordings, you can also capture the precious moment in an image file freely. You have the right to decide where to save the recordings or screenshots. Besides, all your recordings and screenshots can be moved between the connected hard drives for portability and sharing.
Average Customer Rating:
8.25
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
7 out of 888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Review 1 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Good but some Flaws
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/13
SmithJacobo
Location: Not Saying My Location
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To give you a short summary this product is good but not incredible. For my xbox the recording quality lags a little on 1080p so I had to turn it down to 720p but the quality is still good.
Right when I got this little did I know that only certain flash drives and hard drives will store the footage properly. I had bought a really nice external hard drive (1T) and apparently it is not compatible with the AverMedia Game Capture HD. What happened was I was never able to get the device to stop recording. I could easily get it to start recording, but never to stop. After sending it back to the company twice to get a new one I finally realized that this hard drive was not compatible. And let me tell you the company has poor service and is hard to reach.
I still recommend this product because now that I have it working properly the quality is great.
So be sure you select a good hard drive to be compatible with this device, and you will have great success with this!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
AverMedia Game Capture Quality Test
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Works Very Well!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/11/12
HawaiianPunch2
Location: Bakersfield, Ca
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The AverMedia was easy to set up and it doesn't take up much space. After you set it up you just turn it on, wait about 10 seconds, and then switch to recording mode and its ready to capture with just a push of a button on the little remote it comes with. You can stop and start capturing at any time needed and when you're done recording, just switch the mode again and now you can navigate through the menu to preview you're clips. It's that simple, and when you want to edit your clips just eject your flash drive from the AverMedia and import them to your computer. I would recommend this because the 720p capture quality is great. Oh, and it works with the Xbox 360, the PS3, and even the Wii.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
All these clips were captured with the AverMedia Game Capture HD.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
49 of 57 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
flyinhawaiian
 
Please wait while more information about flyinhawaiian is loaded.
Additional information about flyinhawaiian could not be loaded.
usb
Posted 6/6/13
what usb do you use. I heard a lot don't work
Customer Avatar
PowerUpRewards
TX
 
Please wait while more information about PowerUpRewards is loaded.
Additional information about PowerUpRewards could not be loaded.
Record Your Game Play
Posted 11/13/12
You can do this at home for free.
Just hook your VHS player to the tv and hit record just like recording a tv show.
when done playing stop recording.
over a hundred and twenty nine dollar savings. This can also work on DVD players. just do the same as VHS and your set...dont forget the RW DVD. or VHS.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
If I didn't have it, I'd buy it all over again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
ThisOneGuyHere
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Honestly, for the price of this Capture Card, it is pretty great. It doesn't appear to have any delay while recording, especially not in the "Smooth Gaming" setting that you can switch to. I love not having to hook it up to my laptop to record. All you have to do is stick in a flash drive, and go. The only down side to this, but I am willing to overlook it, is that it uses components rather than an HDMI cord. Other than that, it is great.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Testing big group battles
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Save up and buy another
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/13
KShreZ
Location: Manorville,NY
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This capture card was great at first but then I regretted buying this. while my game was being recorded, all the actions I do in the game were being delayed. I used this capture card for recorded black ops 2 and every time I was playing multiplayer, my game was being delayed for at least 2 seconds. For example, If I was trying to snipe someone and I would press the trigger, it takes at least two seconds for my gun to shoot in the game after I pressed the trigger. The other bad part about this is that it doesn't use hdmi cables. It only uses the component cables which is bad but when playing with hdmi and then going back to component is a really bad in quality. So I returned this item to get my refund and went and bought a HD PVR 2 and it was so much better than this. To be honest, I'm not saying this company is bad, just don't get this game capture card. It is a cheap capture card which explains why it's bad but even though its affordable, just save another $30-$50 and get a better one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Worth the Money and less of a Work!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
Anonymous
Location: New Albany, IN
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This game capture device is by far worth the money. I love it because I can easily record hours of HD gameplay with no stress of space and performance issues. Here are my main pros about the product: 1. I don't have to worry about running multiple cables from the box to my computer. All I have to do is click on the remote for recording, stop it when I'm done, and move it to my computer to where ever I please. 2. The latest firmware allows me to not even notice the frame transition while recording, making it easier for me to game. (I usually play FPS Free Roam, and Role Playing Games) 3. The setup is easier than making a sandwich and I can easily take it wherever I may want to use it. 4. It has standard component in and out sockets, so that pretty much makes it universal FYI: HD PVR and Black Magic Intensity pros is banned from recording movies on Netflix via Xbox, while AverMedia allows you to) 5. Its ease of use and all the controls are on the remote, making it one of the easiest ways to record game plays to this day. However there are things you should know about this product: 1. It works at its finest when you keep it up to date with the latest firmware (which you can find on AverMedia's site). 2. It works at its best with an internal or external hard drive. It can still work with a thumb drive and all (formatted Fat-32) but will not give the best quality as oppose to the hard drives. 3. It can catch 1080p 32-bit frame rate at max, but the lag is quite notable considering it runs via component, not HDMI. (It could also be the model and firmware causing it as well. Ending Note: Despite some of the cons, this device can run very well, even on 1080i and works amazingly well for 720p, which is the overall preferred resolution for Youtube and online videos in general. The performance never disappoints me and allows me to enjoy myself and this game capture device. I would STRONGLY recommend this for anyone wanting to start a Youtube Channel, or tired of the cluttered mess of direct cables to computers. HOWEVER, if you are looking for the best resolution and have no preference of how you record it, I would recommend the HD PVR from Hauppauge. Otherwise, this is the overall better product.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
What about a Mic?
Posted 8/8/13
Could you record your voice? I may have missed it but I'm just wondering.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
BUY THIS ONE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
BALDWINMIDDLESCHOOL
Location: New York
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It is so convienient. By that,YOU DONT NEED A PC TO RECORD. All you need is an internal or external hard drive or even a USB(but most dont work) the clarity is great too.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bojenski
 
Please wait while more information about Bojenski is loaded.
Additional information about Bojenski could not be loaded.
???
Posted 12/25/12
For how long of a period can you record, and will it record Netflix, Hulu, and Amazon Prime?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
Nothing Was Made Perfect, But This Is Close..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/13
SoulReaperHikuru
Location: Portland, OR
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well I ordered this product early March of this year, since I received it I have had a good time recording my favorite games in such high definition, sadly though I wouldn't rely to heavily on the USB portion of it since it will die out at some point. I had to experience this sadly and now I am trying to get a new capture device. Overall this is a good thing to spend money on it's just the USB part that I have the most problems with.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AverMedia Game Capture HD
What you need!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/13
ResidentEvilPRO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well unlike other capture cards this one is really easy to use and install. Quality is good although a good tv with good colors adjustments would make it better. You do need an external or internal hard drive for this otherwise you won't be able to record anything. I suggest an external hard drive which is another $50 box or more depending the space it has. Overall its worth the money!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
darkking
oooooo
 
Please wait while more information about darkking is loaded.
Additional information about darkking could not be loaded.
what!!!
Posted 4/14/14
so i have a question how do u add your voice....? do you just talk with your headset or what???!!!!!! plz help me!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)