GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

3DS XL Screen Protective Filter

Screen filter for the Nintendo 3DS XL. Experience the simple and precise way to place the filter.
Average Customer Rating:
8.111
8.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 978%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Review 1 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
These are great...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/12
DaWei
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First of all, please do not pay attention to previous negative reviews. In one review it was stated that these protectors have a "blue shade" to them, however that is not true. The blue film attached to them protects the actual screen protector and is meant to be peeled off after installation...these are perfectly crystal clear. The installation method is awesome, and the stick-and-peel system it uses is something I haven't seen before. For me it was helpful because I can never install these properly on my own.
What better way to protect your 200 dollar investment?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
installation easy as long as you follow directions
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/13
dikbowlmidz
Location: pittsburgh pa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My ds xl was only 4 days old when i put this on. the newer the device the easier it is to get the screen prepped. The protectors have tape attached to it to help line up everything on the screen. Only con is the piece of cardboard they give you to smooth out the bubbles is too flexible. I had to fold it over one more time to make it firm. Some people say the cardboard tool scratches the protector. To prevent that I wrapped the included cloth around the tool and everything turned out perfect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Comprehensive Review of 3dsXL Screen Protector!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/13
StraightArrow
Location: bedford, tx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Alright, where to begin... I have bought at least 5 of these screen protectors. This is a great screen protector, and it is an absolute must-buy for any 3ds XL owner. You see, Nintendo has this problem with the hardware design of their 3ds system line; there is a bumper, raised about half an inch off the bottom screen that scratches the top screen of both the 3ds and its successor, the XL. Nintendo said they would fix the problem moving into the 3ds XL iteration, but I guess it didn't work, because after a couple weeks I had dots and scratches suspiciously lined up in a square similar to the aforementioned bumper, on my top screen. No amount of scrubbing would remove them. I got a new system from Nintendo, but to cut a long story short, I got the new system and applied this filter to see what would happen. The dots appeared again, but I thought to myself, "maybe when I peel it off, they will go away", and lo-and-behold, they did! It was a world of difference, all the dots and scratches came off leaving me an almost brand new looking screen. The package also comes with a bottom screen protector which gets the job done, no complaints. There are a couple negatives to this product, however. First, it only has one set, which means you better buy at least 2 if it is your first try, just in case one malfunctions (as one of mine did), or you misapply one. You can buy just one, but that leads me to my second negative: this protector is not meant to last for your system's lifetime; it will get scratched, and less adhesive overtime, so I suggest replacing it every 3-4 months. Also, if you do not carefully follow the application instructions, you will misapply it, so do as my father always told me, "two times measure, one time cut!" Last couple of things, don't worry about the comments saying that there is a blue bottom screen protector. Some impatient people took one look at the package, saw a blue protector, and threw it away. You will remove the blue screen and reveal a clear screen during your application process. If you ever want to remove the protector, just get some tape, apply it to the protector, and peel it off. Alrighty, you should be all set! This is a great product, yeah a little annoying at times, but well worth your efforts! Happy Gaming!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
this is a must for your 3ds XL
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/12
superrandomguyofawesome
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The first ds i had was pretty much unplayable after all the scratches i got on the bottom screen due to the styles. since then i have gotten a screen protector for my ds's ( though I only use the bottom one because the top screen shouldn't get scratched unless you are rough with it).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Excellent product
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/13
Chespin
Location: Tampa, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The screen protectors are awesome, and of great quality. And the installation process is a breeze/pretty much idiot proof. My one gripe is the microfiber cloth that is included. It's literally about 1"x2", and after using it on the one screen before installation, it was coated in dust and other residue which made installing the second protector take a while longer. My suggestion would be to (if you don't have one already) invest in a good quality microfiber cloth and toss the one they give you.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Easiest to apply screen filter I've ever used.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/6/14
Anonymous
Location: Satellite Beach, FL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the must have standard of screen filters when it comes to the 3ds xl. When I had a 3ds, I bought the official nintendo filters of a different brand and their was no helpful way of applying the filter-- you just put it on and hoped that you could rub out any bubbles. But this screen filter for the 3ds xl by HORI is literally the simplest screen filter application process I have ever encountered in my life. The way it works so smoothly makes using the little piece of card board almost unnecessary. 10 out of 10.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Great Protector
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/13
Dolmeres
Location: Austin, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the first screen protector(s) that I was able to put on and not get any bubbles or smudges stuck permanently to the screen. They are also the only ones clear enough for it to be almost impossible to tell that they're there. They still take a little effort to get aligned just right, but they're easier than the last ones I put on my previous XL.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
i love my 3ds
Posted on:9/15/12
fartty
i need protivetive screens for my 3ds xl so the sreen does not get scrached up and my ds will be save
4 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DeathsCrowbar
Texarkana, AR
 
Please wait while more information about DeathsCrowbar is loaded.
Additional information about DeathsCrowbar could not be loaded.
Not in stores
Posted 9/28/12
Ok so these have been out over a week but still not available in stores. Gamestop better step up. Lately I have taken my business elsewhere do to the fact they never have what you need and they dont accept older games/consoles
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
too many problems.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
Farg
Location: Florida
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The screen protector was easy to install but the cardboard used to take out air bubbles scratched the screen protector to the point that i had to remove and wasted my money. Also the bottom screen protector is a blue shade and it makes everything appear with a blue tinge, would not recommend and save your money for a game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
CitizenKane
 
Please wait while more information about CitizenKane is loaded.
Additional information about CitizenKane could not be loaded.
Posted 1/27/13
Yes, like the earlier comment mentioned, the blue tint and the scratches are almost certainly from the film you need to remove from the outside after you've applied the screen protector.
Customer Avatar
SamuraiGhost
 
Please wait while more information about SamuraiGhost is loaded.
Additional information about SamuraiGhost could not be loaded.
Posted 10/3/12
The blue tint is from the protective layer on the bottom screen filter. You have to remove that from the bottoms screen before you use it! There is also one of the top, and you have to remove that too, so you probably scratched that up instead of the actual screen protector.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for 3DS XL Screen Protective Filter
Pointless
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/12
Viole
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The product arrived a bit damaged. The set up is confusing and messing up can lead to permanent bubbles being trapped under the protector. Not worth the price. it acts like a regular 3ds screen. Won't be helpful unless you would seriously scratch your screen during a drop. The screen protector can make the screen look uglier or damaged any way. A recommend just taking better car of your screen and cleaning it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 11 found this review helpful.