GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition

The original Neo Geo home console was released in 1990 in Japan by SNK. It is the only system ever created that would allow a user to play a game at home, get to a level, save the level on a special memory card, then go to the Arcade and carry on playing where you left off. Let me be clear...these kids were COOL. The NEOGEO system was COOL, period. The Arcade to Home system set it apart the competition - there was nothing like it. But there was nothing like the price either. NEOGEO games were not identical to arcade ones, they WERE the Arcade games because the hardware was the same. Of course, all of that that came at a price. The NEOGEO AES was simply too expensive to be popular. But that didn't stop everyone from wanting one.... So do you want to relive your premier arcade past and save thousands of $$$$'s in the process? Welcome the NEOGEO X Gold System! With the Limited Edition Gold System, you get: NEOGEO X Handheld Sytem with NEOGEO X Game Card slot NEOGEO X Docking Station, NEOGEO X Arcade Stick. TV outputs are either via HDMI or RCA (AV).
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1369%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Review 1 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
Searge
Location: Windber,Pa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the worst thing to call it self a console.
I hate it with a passion.
you know i never owned something so bad.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
solid system.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
neosurfer
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As a retro gamer who once had the AES system, this is a great addition to the Neo Geo brand. Even with my 4 slot MVS, the compactness of the X and the ability to hook up to HDMI ports makes it worth it's weight in gold. The joysticks are easily on par with the original AES system. I actually perfer these, as the originals tended to break off at the system connection. Neo Geo X gets a strong recommendation from a gamer who knows.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo Lives On Forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
SengokuWarrior
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love the Neo Geo and have been for the past 20 years. I had to Pre-Buy this one and it did not disappoint. The games play very well. They look great. I just wish there were more games, like my Favorites Sengoku Series. The controllers are just like the Originals and are same weight and are awesome. The Hand Held is great because if you are playing a game on the TV and then have to run out, you take it on the go. Great Thinking Playmore. Wish my PS3 and PS Vita were like that. That was an awesome idea! I love it and would recommend it to anyone!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Poorly made product.....you must read b4 you buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
DDgamer1
Location: Bartlett Illinois
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am a 45 year old gamer, let me start off by saying I purchased the original Neo Geo in the 90's when it first released. This is not that system not even a close second. The base unit is poor quality, the wall adapter has thin wires going to the counsel, wow this definitely will not last long.... The base unit when opened is just plain ridiculous the three pieces that the hand unit plugs into is not sturdy. This was not thought out before released to the public. I have a Mitsubishi 7 year old tv that the system will not play on my tv which is really strange in either hdmi or av cables which were both supplied. The hand held unit when first turned on while displays games well, the initial set up on the software just does not feel right.The entire package needs to be redone and thought out, or maybe contact a Neo Geo enthusiast this was simply not thought out and a complete let down. While the attempt is admirable and the hand held is a decent at best just not the quality anyone has become accustomed to.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Save your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
wolfnigr
Location: SoCal
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There's a good sized market for a device like this. Unfortunately, tommo did a half assed job on the execution of this system. The screen is horrible, the buttons feel cheap and odd and the sound is lacking. The video output from the docking station is horrible and suffers from the cheap components that were used to manufacture the system. Had quality parts been used like with the original snk machines, this might have been great. As it stands, tommo made a low quality system in the hopes of selling it to a nostalgic consumer who doesn't know any better.
Stay away.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Take it from a NeoGeo fan, this sucks!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo's Glorious Return
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
StokedRider
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Neo Geo X Gold is something I never thought would exist. Honestly, I find it downright strange that it does exist, but it's a beautiful thing that it does, and any fan of old school games should give it a go. Starting as a rumor a year or so ago, photos of the Neo Geo X Handheld were leaked onto the internet, which made many people question its authenticity, then much later it was confirmed as a real thing that would release in 2012. Well, the day for its release has finally arrived, and my oh my, it's a pretty sweet device. How sweet is it? Read on.
As part of a larger package, titled the Neo Geo X Gold Limited Edition, you receive quite a lot.
Contents of the Package:
Neo Geo X Handheld System
Neo Geo X AES Docking Station w/ HDMI & AV Output
Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick
20 AES Games Pre-Loaded + 1 Ninja Masters Game Card (Limited Edition only)
Branded Neo Geo X Power Supply
Mini HDMI Cable
AV Composite Cable
Neo Geo X Gold Instruction Manual
Now let's run down the important parts and features of this package.
Firstly, the Neo Geo X Gold Handheld. This is a large and nicely built gaming device. On the front it's glossy black, giving off a high end electronic vibe, while the back is more of a rubbery material with shiny silver SNK branding, making it comfortable to hold for long periods of time. In terms of picture quality and the quality of the screen, I'd honestly say it's better than I expected, as it doesn't feel cheap or anything, because it gives a really nice and crisp image. As far as buttons and features go, the Neo Geo X Handheld sports 4 shoulder bumpers (the left one switches aspect ratio), 2 volume controls, 2 brightness controls, an on/off switch, headphone jack, game card slot (which is where you place the Ninja Masters game card and any future game cards), 4 face buttons, Start/Menu buttons, and a clicky movement stick similar to the one on Neo Geo Pocket. It's a really slick device.
Secondly, the Neo Geo X AES Docking Station. The only purpose of the docking station is to play Neo Geo games with the arcade stick. There's an HDMI input on the Neo Geo X Handheld, which means you could play directly off of it and display it on your TV, but the docking station allows you to play with either AV or HDMI, in addition to allowing you to use the arcade stick, which comes highly recommended, as it offers the full arcade experience. While there have been some complaints about the docking station, I honestly think it's pretty nice and serves its purpose. It's a great replica of the Neo Geo AES, so it looks great in your media center, and the inside is nice, as it has a soft material to place your Neo Geo X Handheld on and protect its backside from wear. However, even though I like it, there are some negatives with the docking station. 1. The latch to open and close the system seems a little cheap, 2. It doesn't output 4:3 when using an HDMI cable, 3. It only charges the system when it's powered on. So yes, it's definitely not perfect, but at a mere $20 (Handheld = $130, Arcade Stick = $50, meaning the Docking Station only runs you $20 more) I think it's worth it. Every game I've tried looks pretty nice outputting with HDMI, though there is a little screen tear in some games.
Thirdly, the Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick. This thing's as close to the real thing as it gets. All of the buttons feel really good and aren't too tight or anything, allowing you to have both quick and precise movements that are important in arcade games. The build quality overall is really nice. This is a definitely a must to enhance the Neo Geo X experience. In addition, the Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick can be hooked up to both the Playstation 3 and PC, which is definitely a nice bonus for those who wanted an arcade stick to use on those platforms.
Now that we've gone over all of the main parts of the package, I'd like to mention that all of the games have run beautifully in my experience with the system so far. While I did notice some slight screen tear when connected to HDMI through the docking station, the game's looked great through HDMI on my TV. It's true that the games are best experienced directly on the Neo Geo X Handheld, as the screen makes everything pop with crisp and lush visuals and colors, but I was happy to find out that the game's looked so good on my HDTV through HDMI, because I really like playing with the arcade stick. I didn't test the docking station with the AV cables, so I have no clue how that looks and runs. While a big part of this package is nostalgia, all of the games I tried were just as fun as when I first got my AES and I was addicted the second I started playing. These games represent a time when it was all about having fun.
Also, before I wrap up this review, I must note that the packaging is exceptional. The box art is similar to that of the Neo Geo AES, and it houses 2 boxes, one mostly for the handheld and docking station, while the other is mostly for the arcade stick. Both of the boxes I just mentioned have neat Neo Geo branded stickers sealing them.
The Neo Geo X Handheld is a must own device for any fan of Neo Geo, SNK, etc., while I think any other fan of gaming will also really enjoy it a whole lot. The Neo Geo AES will typically run you $400-$600 these days depending on where you purchase it, meaning $200 for the ability to play it on your TV like an AES, on the go, and have it include a lot of games, is a pretty good deal, especially given the quality of what's included.
Final Score/Thoughts: 4.5/5 - There are some minor setbacks, however this has definitely surpassed my expectations. While there's always room for improvement through firmware updates (allowing 4:3 through HDMI, etc.), I'm really happy with the quality and enjoyment of this package.
PS: If anyone needs a nice way to protect their Neo Geo X Handheld, I recommend the Club Nintendo Reversible Pouch, which fits the handheld beautifully, and it'll only set you back 250 Club Nintendo coins. I'd love Tommo and SNK to release their own Neo Geo X branded pouch/case one day. They should really open up their own online store and sell game cards, accessories, etc. there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Great Retro Product. Quality inconsistent.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
mtSkybase
Location: Kali, MT
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have never played the Original AES system, however I do collect consoles and have almost every other one. Including the Neo Geo Pocket Color original release. I was very skeptical as to how the quality of this handheld would be. Thus far, it has proven to be very inconsistent. While the unit feels very solid (the X) with a wonderfully rubberized backside, the directional pad is constructed with a simple hard plastic material that doesn't lend itself to really "cradling" my thumb. If I press down a bit while playing it's fine but definitely not for the light fingered. The rest of the portable is pretty solid....the "L" buttons are a bit odd. Feeling loose somewhat, but then requiring a more solid press to actually press them, I sometimes find myself accidentally hitting the brighness buttons on the bottom. Layout of the 4 buttons is awkward as well for some of the games where you must press "B&C" for example. The dock itself feels much lighter and cheaper than I was originally hoping with a weak spring that lifts the shell when opening it. A very tight fit for the portable to dock makes removing it a tad tougher. Short power cord and controller wire make playing while connected to my A/V receiver and big screen TV a bit awkward as well. My biggest gripe, however, is the fact that the portable cannot be played while being charged. The AC Adapter is specific to the docking unit and not able to be passed through and plugged directly into the handheld unit. Thus, if your battery dies/gets low....you're done until you're done charging. Very strange decision IMO. How can they not have the AC adapter compatible with the handheld itself? Also, the ability to have connected a USB cable to the handheld and into controller port 2 would have been very nice to allow for multiplyer access without having to FIND/purchase the second pad right away. It's gonna be hard to find....Overall very happy with the unit. Oh and one more thing, as one person mentioned, I do notice some horrible lag connected via HDMI as well none of my other systems have such lag and it's QUITE noticeable especially when going through the menu to choose a game to play. Shall see beyond that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Great "Handheld," Not So Great Console
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
NiSeDrEeMz
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I would have given this a 9, or 10, out of 10. However, I can't take the "handheld" anywhere, because I have no way of charging it, and no way of storing it for travel. I think the handheld part works excellently, even though there is no way of saving games (There is actually a video with a Tommo employee showing the save feature). I am not going to nitpick about the way you have to plug it in and everything that makes no sense to a modern person, but I am going to complain. The docking station sucks. I have a stereo that I plug everything into before it goes to the television, and my HDMI's are not used for sound at all. There is no way for me to plug in the HDMI and sound cables in at the same time. The only way I can use sound is with the A/V Cable. Also, if I do want to use the HDMI, the picture stretches out and the games don't fit on screen. The quote, unquote, handheld is great. The games are fun and it would be great to charge it on the go. NO, it would make all the sense in the world to be able to charge it on the go! The HDMI looks beautiful, upscaling the games well, and makes no sense as to why they couldn't work out scaling it back to fit on screen. Also, why they couldn't make it so I could have sound and HDMI work without the HDMI cable alone. Fix all of these problems and then give me a free game (if more are ever made) for having a garbage first model. Idea=Great. Execution=Okay. LackOfResponseFromTheCompanyAsOfNow=Bad...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
A true love letter to classic game fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
NeoGeoFan
Location: Saint Louis, Mo
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The NeoGeo-X Gold is without a doubt very exciting. I love the arcade stick, and the handheld! Mine came with Ninja Masters, so they do still have ones that have the pack-in game. I know a previous reviewer said differently, but I ordered mine on Christmas-Eve, and I still got the game. Anyone who hasn't played Metal Slug, King of Fighters, or any of the classic SNK franchises, here's your chance. I hope they continue support for the game cards. If nothing else, it's a great collectors item. Keep in mind, you can get these games for other systems, but this is as close as you can get playing them how they're supposed to be played without owning a NeoGeo AES (which will run you around 600 dollars plus hundreds more for cartridges). I hope everyone enjoys theirs!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Know what you are getting
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Dmike
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This version for sale at Gamestop does NOT include the Ninja Master's card. That was available as pre-order only if you purchased before December 6th. The limited edition gold includes the 20 preloaded games, handheld, docking station, controller, and cables. The extra game is NOT included.
The system is very good except for the video out which is poor. On a CRT the signal is weak, dark and with too much red. Sound is very low. Through HDMI out, there is horrible input lag, to the point where some games (i.e. League Bowling) are unplayable.
I'd recommend waiting for the handheld only version.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NeoGeoFan
Saint Louis, Mo
 
Please wait while more information about NeoGeoFan is loaded.
Additional information about NeoGeoFan could not be loaded.
Posted 12/26/12
That's funny because I ordered one on Christmas Eve, and I got a system with Ninja Masters delivered to my door today.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Finally the KING is BACK!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Sephiroth313
Location: Garden City, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ive been wanting a AES for as long as its been out, but back then it was was way out of my reach. After 20 years of waiting and hopeful wishing, we finally get a Neo Geo that is kind to our pockets and gives us what we gamers always wanted ( Arcade Perfection ). Ive been playing on this Neo Geo X for around four days so far and do not regret buying at all. I did play on a AES before but to tell you the truth... I would rather have this instead. If you buy the Limited Edition, you not only get a awesome handheld but a console all in one package, im sorry you cant beat that for just a price of $199.99. If you been wanting one of these since you were a kid like me then there is no questions needed...JUST GET IT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Fun from open to close
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
Mortal004
Location: Mn
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If your a fan of retro with a spin on new, then u will love this. It has all the marks of quality u would've expect from an SNK product. The seals on the boxes were a wonderful touch. And 21 quality games my new favorite ninja masters is a lot of fun. The handheld unit is well designed and plays well. The console plug in is awesome too I love the original controller. I can't wait to play with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Awsome games
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/12
2dgamer
Location: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I hope that there is a wifi connect to some of the games. The quality of games knows no equal, but there has to be more to a handheld these days. With the ever evolving handhelds the neo geo leaves you wanting more. Only time will tell. SNK dont let us down again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nerdstick
 
Please wait while more information about nerdstick is loaded.
Additional information about nerdstick could not be loaded.
Posted 12/13/12
It's not going to have wifi.
Customer Avatar
douglie007
 
Please wait while more information about douglie007 is loaded.
Additional information about douglie007 could not be loaded.
What Happened
Posted 12/7/12
so why did it move to the 18th from the 6th release.... will I get my pre-order before xmas
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Just Hilarious
Posted on:11/26/12
HaloFreak263
Its hilarious how people are getting hyped over a largely outdated system. Granted, some games were good (Ex:Metal Slug) but do we really need a system that would have been great for the 90's? Good luck to the people who are getting this, have fun with no Xbox live or PSN....
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Galvatronlives
 
Please wait while more information about Galvatronlives is loaded.
Additional information about Galvatronlives could not be loaded.
In Response....
Posted 11/30/12
This machine is for real gamer's who love and respect the NeoGeo line of games from SNK who either couldn't afford the insane price of the original AES Console or would like an updated version of said machine. I own all the current generations of consoles including the Wii U and started back playing during the days Magnavox Odyssey and the Atari 2600 and the fact that you mentioned no XBOX Live or PSN shows your complete ignorance for the history of games. Back then when these titles were released we didn't need constant updates being connected online or play against faceless opponents. We put in a couple quarters and played against someone who was physically right next to you. For all the online smack talkers I guarantee you watched your mouths depending on who you were playing against back then.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Excited!!!!!
Posted on:11/21/12
TopGun43
Location: Colorado
Looking forward to this!!! Bought a Neo Geo Christmas 1990 along with Magician Lord and some others. Have collected the English AES carts since the beginning and have always loved the Neo.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
finally
Posted on:11/4/12
Dusk2600
Location: cemetary in roc, NY
what the retro gaming community needs. i have the 4 slot arcade neo geo in my house and still, games are expensive, not as bad as the home console. now we get the home console and a portable unit. looks great. hope they will release some games for it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Finally, a game system worth paying for.
Posted on:10/28/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
With modern video game consoles that have more fancy features than good games. it's good to finally see one of the old ones coming back. Hopefully, Sega or Nintendo will follow this lead and release their old consoles too. Anyway, this system seems worth buying just for the handheld, not to mention the larger system as well. I plan on buying it.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X
Posted on:10/23/12
TURBOZ32
Location: los angeles
I have been doing some research on this and I cannot wait . aside from getting the handheld system you get an authentic arcade stick replica and a neogeo x station that allows you to play on your tv and also serves as a base to charge your system . plus you get 20 built in games and an extra game ( ninja masters ) game card . from what I have read and seen snk will support this system by releasing more games for it in the future via the sd type game cards . what is unknown is what the additional games will go for and if snk is releasing its entire game library or only select popular games . heres hoping that snk releases all its great games and keeps the price for said games reasonable ($ 10 - $ 15 max ) ..
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
headsup
 
Please wait while more information about headsup is loaded.
Additional information about headsup could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 11/21/12
One word
EMULATOR!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
The legendary Neo-Geo lives on!
Posted on:10/16/12
HardcoreVideoGamer
Location: New Hampshire
First of all, this is NOT the Neo-Geo Pocket handheld that was released 10 years ago. This is the Neo-Geo MVS arcade system scaled down into a handheld system. You're getting the arcade experience when you buy this. When you install the handheld system into the case that comes with the bundle, the Neo-Geo X handheld turns into a full-fledged console system that connects to your television that supports both A/V and HDMI. The case supports up to two joysticks. I pre-ordered my Neo-Geo X Gold bundle on Gamestop.com last night. I can't wait!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nerdstick
 
Please wait while more information about nerdstick is loaded.
Additional information about nerdstick could not be loaded.
Posted 12/13/12
The AES, technically.
Customer Avatar
kevin3456
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about kevin3456 is loaded.
Additional information about kevin3456 could not be loaded.
I'm buying this great system!
Posted 10/29/12
I can't wait until this great old school system that used to be very expensive back at the time when other systems where alot more cheaper, but at least Snk is doing the right thing by giving it's gamers a great system and the games at a much cheaper price. You will always rock the video game business SNK PLAYMORE always.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
The Greatest Arcade At Home Experience Of All Time
Posted on:10/15/12
RunningWild
Location: Upstate NY
Let's face it, when you were a kid with a Nintendo/Super Nintendo/Sega Genesis, playing your favorite arcade games at home was a drag. Scaled down graphics and sound, sometimes even the original gameplay was gimped. It just wasn't the same as the arcade.
The Neo-Geo AES allowed you to have that 100% arcade perfect experience at home, but the price on that system, and the games, were very steep, only truly hardcore (and rich) players would get their hands on it, and in recent years, the Neo-Geo and AES carts are all highly collectable, not to mention very rare. But if you wanted the true arcade experience, Neo-Geo was the way to go.
Even following into the Playstation/Sega Saturn era, alot of console ports of arcade games were less than perfect (Looking at you Playstation).
While in the last decade, emulation on PC's and other platforms have become a popular thing with illegal roms, the Neo Geo X brings the Neo Geo back at a more affordable price, complete with an Neo Geo AES shaped station to output your games to a modern TV/Monitor, along with the original Neo-Geo AES Arcade Stick, something no Neo-Geo fan should be without.
I am definitely gonna grab up one of these, and I am hoping I see the Neo-Geo's beefy library in full released, including my favorites such as Garou:Mark Of The Wolves.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>