GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition

The original Neo Geo home console was released in 1990 in Japan by SNK. It is the only system ever created that would allow a user to play a game at home, get to a level, save the level on a special memory card, then go to the Arcade and carry on playing where you left off. Let me be clear...these kids were COOL. The NEOGEO system was COOL, period. The Arcade to Home system set it apart the competition - there was nothing like it. But there was nothing like the price either. NEOGEO games were not identical to arcade ones, they WERE the Arcade games because the hardware was the same. Of course, all of that that came at a price. The NEOGEO AES was simply too expensive to be popular. But that didn't stop everyone from wanting one.... So do you want to relive your premier arcade past and save thousands of $$$$'s in the process? Welcome the NEOGEO X Gold System! With the Limited Edition Gold System, you get: NEOGEO X Handheld Sytem with NEOGEO X Game Card slot NEOGEO X Docking Station, NEOGEO X Arcade Stick. TV outputs are either via HDMI or RCA (AV).
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1369%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Review 1 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Save your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/12
wolfnigr
Location: SoCal
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
There's a good sized market for a device like this. Unfortunately, tommo did a half assed job on the execution of this system. The screen is horrible, the buttons feel cheap and odd and the sound is lacking. The video output from the docking station is horrible and suffers from the cheap components that were used to manufacture the system. Had quality parts been used like with the original snk machines, this might have been great. As it stands, tommo made a low quality system in the hopes of selling it to a nostalgic consumer who doesn't know any better.
Stay away.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Take it from a NeoGeo fan, this sucks!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Poorly made product.....you must read b4 you buy
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
DDgamer1
Location: Bartlett Illinois
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am a 45 year old gamer, let me start off by saying I purchased the original Neo Geo in the 90's when it first released. This is not that system not even a close second. The base unit is poor quality, the wall adapter has thin wires going to the counsel, wow this definitely will not last long.... The base unit when opened is just plain ridiculous the three pieces that the hand unit plugs into is not sturdy. This was not thought out before released to the public. I have a Mitsubishi 7 year old tv that the system will not play on my tv which is really strange in either hdmi or av cables which were both supplied. The hand held unit when first turned on while displays games well, the initial set up on the software just does not feel right.The entire package needs to be redone and thought out, or maybe contact a Neo Geo enthusiast this was simply not thought out and a complete let down. While the attempt is admirable and the hand held is a decent at best just not the quality anyone has become accustomed to.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
The legendary Neo-Geo lives on!
Posted on:10/16/12
HardcoreVideoGamer
Location: New Hampshire
First of all, this is NOT the Neo-Geo Pocket handheld that was released 10 years ago. This is the Neo-Geo MVS arcade system scaled down into a handheld system. You're getting the arcade experience when you buy this. When you install the handheld system into the case that comes with the bundle, the Neo-Geo X handheld turns into a full-fledged console system that connects to your television that supports both A/V and HDMI. The case supports up to two joysticks. I pre-ordered my Neo-Geo X Gold bundle on Gamestop.com last night. I can't wait!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nerdstick
 
Please wait while more information about nerdstick is loaded.
Additional information about nerdstick could not be loaded.
Posted 12/13/12
The AES, technically.
Customer Avatar
kevin3456
New York, NY
 
Please wait while more information about kevin3456 is loaded.
Additional information about kevin3456 could not be loaded.
I'm buying this great system!
Posted 10/29/12
I can't wait until this great old school system that used to be very expensive back at the time when other systems where alot more cheaper, but at least Snk is doing the right thing by giving it's gamers a great system and the games at a much cheaper price. You will always rock the video game business SNK PLAYMORE always.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Know what you are getting
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Dmike
Location: New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This version for sale at Gamestop does NOT include the Ninja Master's card. That was available as pre-order only if you purchased before December 6th. The limited edition gold includes the 20 preloaded games, handheld, docking station, controller, and cables. The extra game is NOT included.
The system is very good except for the video out which is poor. On a CRT the signal is weak, dark and with too much red. Sound is very low. Through HDMI out, there is horrible input lag, to the point where some games (i.e. League Bowling) are unplayable.
I'd recommend waiting for the handheld only version.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NeoGeoFan
Saint Louis, Mo
 
Please wait while more information about NeoGeoFan is loaded.
Additional information about NeoGeoFan could not be loaded.
Posted 12/26/12
That's funny because I ordered one on Christmas Eve, and I got a system with Ninja Masters delivered to my door today.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Gamestops first step towards vintage games.
Posted on:9/16/12
Element115
Location: Michigan
Originals are quite expensive. Can't wait to play some neo-geo games. Can't wait to hear more news on it.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JustinS
The Lone Star State
 
Please wait while more information about JustinS is loaded.
Additional information about JustinS could not be loaded.
Pre-ordered my on Amazon prices up already
Posted 11/26/12
I pre-ordered my on November 2 on Amazon now Amazon doesn't sell it, but my pre-order still stands. The prices others are selling it on Amazon are up to $400 now. At the time of order I was a prime member so once it ships I will get it in one or two days.
Hope more game cards will be release for the system. Like to see the pre-order and sales figures for this unit too.
Customer Avatar
mrkevon
Chicago,IL
 
Please wait while more information about mrkevon is loaded.
Additional information about mrkevon could not be loaded.
Finally the System I have wanted
Posted 11/24/12
I have ben waiting for Neo Geo system for years. This system is going to be great. I pre-ordered it last month and now I am counting down until Dec 6th....
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo-Geo X SDCard
Posted on:9/12/12
SpooNManX
Location: NY
Hopefully we will get some details on the "Free game" bonus.
Is this just a visual representation of a card with a download code to get the rom, an SDCard with the Ninja Masters logo on it, or?
Will additional Neo-Geo games be sold in this fashion? It seems highly
unlikely that Playmore will sell 1 small rom per SDCard. They would have to sell them at $20 or so to make a profit and that's way too much for a 20 year old rom IMO.
Hopefully we can get more details soon.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Yeah...
Posted 9/19/12
I don't think you two are quite the target audience. You're missing the point.
Customer Avatar
undertonez
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about undertonez is loaded.
Additional information about undertonez could not be loaded.
No disrespect
Posted 9/16/12
Why would anyone care about this now? Extra hundred and you can get a Wii U. Not to mention the countless emul@tors that work brilliantly already. Under or about a hundred and maybe more peeps would care.
Customer Avatar
Kaicer
Ponce,PR
 
Please wait while more information about Kaicer is loaded.
Additional information about Kaicer could not be loaded.
Not worth it.
Posted 9/15/12
I have a Neo Geo AES and an MVS consolize and is the real hardware for the same price. This is just an emulation device with a docking station. Also is not clear if you can add more game or is it compatible. I cannot pay for games that are 20 years old and you can have them on the ps3 o vita in the neo geo station.
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
My Two Cents
Posted 9/14/12
"For use only with the Neo Geo X Handheld Console" on the game's packaging makes it seem like more of a physical item than a downloadable item. Considering physical Neo Geo AES games released for $200+, I'd be more than willing to pay $10-$20 for each cart. But do understand, I'm a fan of physical goods, especially for something with the Neo Geo name. If you just wanted downloadable ROMS, there are plenty of other handhelds on the market that can do that for less.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Review 7 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo X Gold - A Classic Coming Back to Life
Posted on:9/19/12
StokedRider
As someone who has long been a fan of Neo Geo because of their arcade classics, I've cherished my AES console for many years and it has never disappointed me. Now, the memories are coming back. First and foremost, who's this thing targeted at? Well, if you're complaining about spending $199.99 on something with Neo Geo on it, it's not for you. The Neo Geo branding has always brought with it a higher price tag. Commissioned by SNK Playmore, Blaze and affiliates set out to create something of high build quality, suitable for Neo Geo fans who expect just that from the branding. Want something cheaper? You'd get cheaper build quality. Blaze has released many cheaper emulator machines in mass consumption stores, but the build quality matched their cheaper price. Now with the Neo Geo X Gold, they're making something of higher build quality that'll last, hence the higher price. But still, if you piece it out, even with the higher quality, $199.99 doesn't seem bad for the slick handheld, a home console AES docking unit with 1080p HDMI output, and an arcade stick. In addition, yes, you could merely play ROMs on a different handheld, but then you're not that much of a fan of the Neo Geo branding, so it's not really catering to you. The Neo Geo X Gold comes with games on it but, as the pre-order listing shows, it'll also have little Neo Geo branded game cards, which caters to the collector looking for something physical and not a mere ROM. This is an item for the truly hardcore Neo Geo fans. Everyone else, it's your choice, but please, let's not compare it to the Wii U or whatever. This is a completely different beast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Element115
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Element115 is loaded.
Additional information about Element115 could not be loaded.
Biggest Question
Posted 9/21/12
My biggest question is if it will play the original carts. If you can I will definitly buy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo Lives On Forever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
SengokuWarrior
Location: Florida
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I love the Neo Geo and have been for the past 20 years. I had to Pre-Buy this one and it did not disappoint. The games play very well. They look great. I just wish there were more games, like my Favorites Sengoku Series. The controllers are just like the Originals and are same weight and are awesome. The Hand Held is great because if you are playing a game on the TV and then have to run out, you take it on the go. Great Thinking Playmore. Wish my PS3 and PS Vita were like that. That was an awesome idea! I love it and would recommend it to anyone!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
FREAKING SWEET!
Posted on:9/29/12
knickabob
Location: Huntsville, Al
Finally, a way for everyone else to enjoy Neo Geo awesomeness! I've had my AES and MVS systems for a long time now, and I can't say enough about the quality of the games on the systems. Out of my 40 different systems in my collection, my Neo Geo systems definitely rank WAY higher than any of my current gen home consoles. I'm probably going to do what I've been doing for years now... buy 2 systems, one to use, one to keep sealed. I see this kind of thing going super rare, because, unfortunately, in this world, if it's not Call of Doody or some other recycled garbage FPS, it doesn't sell, and truly awesome things just don't sell anymore. MAD props to SNK for churning this out for us TRUE gamers!
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X
Posted on:10/23/12
TURBOZ32
Location: los angeles
I have been doing some research on this and I cannot wait . aside from getting the handheld system you get an authentic arcade stick replica and a neogeo x station that allows you to play on your tv and also serves as a base to charge your system . plus you get 20 built in games and an extra game ( ninja masters ) game card . from what I have read and seen snk will support this system by releasing more games for it in the future via the sd type game cards . what is unknown is what the additional games will go for and if snk is releasing its entire game library or only select popular games . heres hoping that snk releases all its great games and keeps the price for said games reasonable ($ 10 - $ 15 max ) ..
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
headsup
 
Please wait while more information about headsup is loaded.
Additional information about headsup could not be loaded.
Really?
Posted 11/21/12
One word
EMULATOR!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Finally, a game system worth paying for.
Posted on:10/28/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
With modern video game consoles that have more fancy features than good games. it's good to finally see one of the old ones coming back. Hopefully, Sega or Nintendo will follow this lead and release their old consoles too. Anyway, this system seems worth buying just for the handheld, not to mention the larger system as well. I plan on buying it.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
not bad
Posted on:9/25/12
Shadow240sx
Location: arkansas
these are arcade classics. neo geo has always been expensive and just because its 20 yrs old doesn't means it sucks i have all the new systems but i still fire up my nes super nes, sega,dreamcast and others there no less fun then the new games. lets see you not only get a home system you also get a handheld system which by itself is $129 plus a joystick which is $49 by itself so its more like your paying $100 for the handheld and $100 for the home system and a free stick plus a free game if you preorder that's 21 free games in total .seem like a good deal to me esp if you like arcade classics, and ok granted the home system is just a docking station but still i think the price is fine the system my be old but the new tech thats going into it is well worth the price
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KH4ever
 
Please wait while more information about KH4ever is loaded.
Additional information about KH4ever could not be loaded.
maybe interested.
Posted 10/24/12
i read an article that Gamestop was looking into the vintage video game market. which could be... interesting. this kind of raises my hopes that they will do it. I might get it. thing is i have a neo-geo so i favor the real deal over the remakes
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X
Posted on:9/15/12
neowill
Location: metamora il
I cant wait I have a neo geo aes and some of the games are crazy metal slug 2k or ninja master for aes $800 or mvs the arcade cart $200 OR MORE this system will come with over 4k in aes games and over $1800 in mvs so if you are a hard core NEO GEO fan this is the system for you or you can be like me and have neo geo game mass that is worth more than your house ps. my home system the aes is a us with unibios and is worth $1200 With no game the NEO GEO X is the only system were you get more than you pay for
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/26/12
awaiken
Location: New York, NY
Been wanting one of these badboys since the early 90s. Neo Geo consoles and games are notoriously expensive especially in the used market, so being able to get the Neo Geo home experience at an affordable pricepoint is an easy sale for me. You're getting the home console & a portable in one, so this is a great deal. My only hope is that they somehow figure out a way to add games? Hope I am not stuck with 20 games. There are so many great Neo Geo games, playing them on a modern console doesn't compare.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
The Greatest Arcade At Home Experience Of All Time
Posted on:10/15/12
RunningWild
Location: Upstate NY
Let's face it, when you were a kid with a Nintendo/Super Nintendo/Sega Genesis, playing your favorite arcade games at home was a drag. Scaled down graphics and sound, sometimes even the original gameplay was gimped. It just wasn't the same as the arcade.
The Neo-Geo AES allowed you to have that 100% arcade perfect experience at home, but the price on that system, and the games, were very steep, only truly hardcore (and rich) players would get their hands on it, and in recent years, the Neo-Geo and AES carts are all highly collectable, not to mention very rare. But if you wanted the true arcade experience, Neo-Geo was the way to go.
Even following into the Playstation/Sega Saturn era, alot of console ports of arcade games were less than perfect (Looking at you Playstation).
While in the last decade, emulation on PC's and other platforms have become a popular thing with illegal roms, the Neo Geo X brings the Neo Geo back at a more affordable price, complete with an Neo Geo AES shaped station to output your games to a modern TV/Monitor, along with the original Neo-Geo AES Arcade Stick, something no Neo-Geo fan should be without.
I am definitely gonna grab up one of these, and I am hoping I see the Neo-Geo's beefy library in full released, including my favorites such as Garou:Mark Of The Wolves.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
finally
Posted on:11/4/12
Dusk2600
Location: cemetary in roc, NY
what the retro gaming community needs. i have the 4 slot arcade neo geo in my house and still, games are expensive, not as bad as the home console. now we get the home console and a portable unit. looks great. hope they will release some games for it
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
YES!!! BRING BACK THE CLASSICS!
Posted on:9/15/12
VatoLoko1985
Location: Anaheim,CA
I remember when I was a kid I would always play the Neo Geo Arcade machine (Metal Slug) at the laundromat and I always wanted a Neo Geo AES but the price was way to high.Im so excited for the very first time im going to own a NEO GEO, YES!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
A true love letter to classic game fans
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/12
NeoGeoFan
Location: Saint Louis, Mo
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The NeoGeo-X Gold is without a doubt very exciting. I love the arcade stick, and the handheld! Mine came with Ninja Masters, so they do still have ones that have the pack-in game. I know a previous reviewer said differently, but I ordered mine on Christmas-Eve, and I still got the game. Anyone who hasn't played Metal Slug, King of Fighters, or any of the classic SNK franchises, here's your chance. I hope they continue support for the game cards. If nothing else, it's a great collectors item. Keep in mind, you can get these games for other systems, but this is as close as you can get playing them how they're supposed to be played without owning a NeoGeo AES (which will run you around 600 dollars plus hundreds more for cartridges). I hope everyone enjoys theirs!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
Searge
Location: Windber,Pa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the worst thing to call it self a console.
I hate it with a passion.
you know i never owned something so bad.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Finally the KING is BACK!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Sephiroth313
Location: Garden City, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ive been wanting a AES for as long as its been out, but back then it was was way out of my reach. After 20 years of waiting and hopeful wishing, we finally get a Neo Geo that is kind to our pockets and gives us what we gamers always wanted ( Arcade Perfection ). Ive been playing on this Neo Geo X for around four days so far and do not regret buying at all. I did play on a AES before but to tell you the truth... I would rather have this instead. If you buy the Limited Edition, you not only get a awesome handheld but a console all in one package, im sorry you cant beat that for just a price of $199.99. If you been wanting one of these since you were a kid like me then there is no questions needed...JUST GET IT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>