GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition

The original Neo Geo home console was released in 1990 in Japan by SNK. It is the only system ever created that would allow a user to play a game at home, get to a level, save the level on a special memory card, then go to the Arcade and carry on playing where you left off. Let me be clear...these kids were COOL. The NEOGEO system was COOL, period. The Arcade to Home system set it apart the competition - there was nothing like it. But there was nothing like the price either. NEOGEO games were not identical to arcade ones, they WERE the Arcade games because the hardware was the same. Of course, all of that that came at a price. The NEOGEO AES was simply too expensive to be popular. But that didn't stop everyone from wanting one.... So do you want to relive your premier arcade past and save thousands of $$$$'s in the process? Welcome the NEOGEO X Gold System! With the Limited Edition Gold System, you get: NEOGEO X Handheld Sytem with NEOGEO X Game Card slot NEOGEO X Docking Station, NEOGEO X Arcade Stick. TV outputs are either via HDMI or RCA (AV).
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1369%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Review 21 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Bring back the Classics
Posted on:10/13/12
Nintendo64classic
Location: East LA
i love the classic games better than these games....call of duty sucks....if you bring the nintendo 64 i will but it....
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 22 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X Cant wait!
Posted on:10/7/12
Igotmine
Location: Orlando
I just pre ordered mine and the joy stick to about $250 total, I hope it sells out!!! and they release many games for it.
You get 21 games for it check ebay these games still go for a high price for the original system and this system is called AES and sells for $200 up on ebay still so how ever you cut it you getting a great deal if you are into retro stuff.. if not buy it any ways Support the cause!!
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 23 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Saw this before... waste...
Posted on:9/29/12
valeron
Location: Edgewood, MD
I remember about 10 years ago a hand held neo geo was released with about 6 games... and thats ALL that was released for it. I'm not getting my hopes up or wasting my money on this system as I was dupped before. The games are great classics... but for $200... i'll wait for the next gen consoles to arrive.
7 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Yeah...
Posted 10/31/12
This is based off of the Neo Geo AES, not the Neo Geo Pocket. Regardless, the Neo Geo Pocket is awesome. The library may be small, but its titles are full of fun and top notch quality.
Customer Avatar
darshie1976
 
Please wait while more information about darshie1976 is loaded.
Additional information about darshie1976 could not be loaded.
it has nothing to do with the NEo Geo Pocket
Posted 10/4/12
This device has nothing to do with the old pocket device made by Neo Geo. The old one was a cheap scaled down console, that would not run the original neo geo games, but very simplified ones. This one seems pretty much the same as the original Neo Geo, so your point is not really standing up....without considering that they stopped making game for the Neo Geo since the mid 90's, so all that you can run on this console are old games. I can admit that spending 200 dollars (or 130 just for the handheld) is a bit too much to play 10 years old games, especially when you can play them on an Xbox or on a pc via emulation, but if you are into strange new gadget and love these old games it may be a collector's item.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 24 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
i was very excited
Posted on:9/29/12
rbelmonte
Location: boston, ma
i was very excited when i heard this news, went to the store and reserved it. now the bonus offer has changed to online orders only come'on guys.
dont change after i order!!!
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
I can't wait
Posted on:9/29/12
Pmike404
Location: California
This is going to be a very cool system. Unfortunately old Neo Geo consoles carry a hefty price tag. A Neo Geo Poket Color will go $65 for a used one. So I stopped into my local GameStop and preordered and paid in full for the Neo Geo X Gold. Unfortunately I didn't see that only the online customers get the ninja masters game, I am disappointed by that because it was a great fighting series. But hopefully other games will be sold on SD cards for the Neo Geo X. Happy 20th birthday SNK Neo Geo AES
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Buddd
 
Please wait while more information about Buddd is loaded.
Additional information about Buddd could not be loaded.
you still get the game
Posted 10/13/12
Bonus!
More details
Pre-Order the Neo Geo X Gold and receive Ninja Masters Free!
Online Customers: Game will ship with your console.
Store Customers: Game will be available at time of pick up.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 26 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
FREAKING SWEET!
Posted on:9/29/12
knickabob
Location: Huntsville, Al
Finally, a way for everyone else to enjoy Neo Geo awesomeness! I've had my AES and MVS systems for a long time now, and I can't say enough about the quality of the games on the systems. Out of my 40 different systems in my collection, my Neo Geo systems definitely rank WAY higher than any of my current gen home consoles. I'm probably going to do what I've been doing for years now... buy 2 systems, one to use, one to keep sealed. I see this kind of thing going super rare, because, unfortunately, in this world, if it's not Call of Doody or some other recycled garbage FPS, it doesn't sell, and truly awesome things just don't sell anymore. MAD props to SNK for churning this out for us TRUE gamers!
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 27 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Can't Wait
Posted on:9/26/12
awaiken
Location: New York, NY
Been wanting one of these badboys since the early 90s. Neo Geo consoles and games are notoriously expensive especially in the used market, so being able to get the Neo Geo home experience at an affordable pricepoint is an easy sale for me. You're getting the home console & a portable in one, so this is a great deal. My only hope is that they somehow figure out a way to add games? Hope I am not stuck with 20 games. There are so many great Neo Geo games, playing them on a modern console doesn't compare.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
not bad
Posted on:9/25/12
Shadow240sx
Location: arkansas
these are arcade classics. neo geo has always been expensive and just because its 20 yrs old doesn't means it sucks i have all the new systems but i still fire up my nes super nes, sega,dreamcast and others there no less fun then the new games. lets see you not only get a home system you also get a handheld system which by itself is $129 plus a joystick which is $49 by itself so its more like your paying $100 for the handheld and $100 for the home system and a free stick plus a free game if you preorder that's 21 free games in total .seem like a good deal to me esp if you like arcade classics, and ok granted the home system is just a docking station but still i think the price is fine the system my be old but the new tech thats going into it is well worth the price
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KH4ever
 
Please wait while more information about KH4ever is loaded.
Additional information about KH4ever could not be loaded.
maybe interested.
Posted 10/24/12
i read an article that Gamestop was looking into the vintage video game market. which could be... interesting. this kind of raises my hopes that they will do it. I might get it. thing is i have a neo-geo so i favor the real deal over the remakes
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 29 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo X Gold - A Classic Coming Back to Life
Posted on:9/19/12
StokedRider
As someone who has long been a fan of Neo Geo because of their arcade classics, I've cherished my AES console for many years and it has never disappointed me. Now, the memories are coming back. First and foremost, who's this thing targeted at? Well, if you're complaining about spending $199.99 on something with Neo Geo on it, it's not for you. The Neo Geo branding has always brought with it a higher price tag. Commissioned by SNK Playmore, Blaze and affiliates set out to create something of high build quality, suitable for Neo Geo fans who expect just that from the branding. Want something cheaper? You'd get cheaper build quality. Blaze has released many cheaper emulator machines in mass consumption stores, but the build quality matched their cheaper price. Now with the Neo Geo X Gold, they're making something of higher build quality that'll last, hence the higher price. But still, if you piece it out, even with the higher quality, $199.99 doesn't seem bad for the slick handheld, a home console AES docking unit with 1080p HDMI output, and an arcade stick. In addition, yes, you could merely play ROMs on a different handheld, but then you're not that much of a fan of the Neo Geo branding, so it's not really catering to you. The Neo Geo X Gold comes with games on it but, as the pre-order listing shows, it'll also have little Neo Geo branded game cards, which caters to the collector looking for something physical and not a mere ROM. This is an item for the truly hardcore Neo Geo fans. Everyone else, it's your choice, but please, let's not compare it to the Wii U or whatever. This is a completely different beast.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Element115
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Element115 is loaded.
Additional information about Element115 could not be loaded.
Biggest Question
Posted 9/21/12
My biggest question is if it will play the original carts. If you can I will definitly buy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 30 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Gamestops first step towards vintage games.
Posted on:9/16/12
Element115
Location: Michigan
Originals are quite expensive. Can't wait to play some neo-geo games. Can't wait to hear more news on it.
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
JustinS
The Lone Star State
 
Please wait while more information about JustinS is loaded.
Additional information about JustinS could not be loaded.
Pre-ordered my on Amazon prices up already
Posted 11/26/12
I pre-ordered my on November 2 on Amazon now Amazon doesn't sell it, but my pre-order still stands. The prices others are selling it on Amazon are up to $400 now. At the time of order I was a prime member so once it ships I will get it in one or two days.
Hope more game cards will be release for the system. Like to see the pre-order and sales figures for this unit too.
Customer Avatar
mrkevon
Chicago,IL
 
Please wait while more information about mrkevon is loaded.
Additional information about mrkevon could not be loaded.
Finally the System I have wanted
Posted 11/24/12
I have ben waiting for Neo Geo system for years. This system is going to be great. I pre-ordered it last month and now I am counting down until Dec 6th....
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 31 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Epic fail again for Neo Geo
Posted on:9/16/12
BamaGoatt
Location: Alabama
Really $199.99 for a 20 year old system and games that can be bought elsewhere for under $9 each I will pass. What next we going to get a revamped 3DO or CGI with fake Zelda again lol..
16 of 71 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Bablo
 
Please wait while more information about Bablo is loaded.
Additional information about Bablo could not be loaded.
Since when is telling the truth trolling?
Posted 10/21/12
There's neogeo emulators out that you can play every neo geo game ever made, and all games on it's variant consoles on a pc with a decent cpu and a midrange graphics card or less ...this is a gimmick or if not that, it's simply a means for some rich kids or adults to add an old expensive system to their collection because they have money to blow which to me is fruitless, maybe the Neo Geo X console will be worth something 150 years from now, but who will care then when gaming graphics will have evolved to reach the realism of reality.
Customer Avatar
vhanley
Washington, DC
 
Please wait while more information about vhanley is loaded.
Additional information about vhanley could not be loaded.
Sorry, wrong.
Posted 9/26/12
You're both wrong. You can actually play them all for free. These have all been available on MAME or numerous emulators for years. $200 is a waste of money. It's a gimmick system. Don't get me wrong, they're all great games from a nostalgic point of view, but not $200 great.
Customer Avatar
otakujtg
 
Please wait while more information about otakujtg is loaded.
Additional information about otakujtg could not be loaded.
epic fail
Posted 9/21/12
it was the CDI not CGI
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Untrue
Posted 9/19/12
This review is blatantly untrue and misleading. A Neo Geo AES console will cost you around $250-$300. In addition, games can cost you anywhere from $50-$400 a piece, depending on the game and its rarity. With the Neo Geo X, you get a console that you can play on the go, at home with the AES docking station, etc. If offers you more ways to play at a much more affordable price. $199.99 is a great price for the handheld, the home console docking station, and the arcade stick. If you want it cheaper, you'd be getting hardware with inferior build quality. I'd rather pay the $199.99 and get something that'll last.
Customer Avatar
Element115
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Element115 is loaded.
Additional information about Element115 could not be loaded.
Really...
Posted 9/17/12
$9 each really... it's around $200 for just the original console. This comes with a handheld too. Troll elsewhere.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 32 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
YES!!! BRING BACK THE CLASSICS!
Posted on:9/15/12
VatoLoko1985
Location: Anaheim,CA
I remember when I was a kid I would always play the Neo Geo Arcade machine (Metal Slug) at the laundromat and I always wanted a Neo Geo AES but the price was way to high.Im so excited for the very first time im going to own a NEO GEO, YES!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X
Posted on:9/15/12
neowill
Location: metamora il
I cant wait I have a neo geo aes and some of the games are crazy metal slug 2k or ninja master for aes $800 or mvs the arcade cart $200 OR MORE this system will come with over 4k in aes games and over $1800 in mvs so if you are a hard core NEO GEO fan this is the system for you or you can be like me and have neo geo game mass that is worth more than your house ps. my home system the aes is a us with unibios and is worth $1200 With no game the NEO GEO X is the only system were you get more than you pay for
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo-Geo X SDCard
Posted on:9/12/12
SpooNManX
Location: NY
Hopefully we will get some details on the "Free game" bonus.
Is this just a visual representation of a card with a download code to get the rom, an SDCard with the Ninja Masters logo on it, or?
Will additional Neo-Geo games be sold in this fashion? It seems highly
unlikely that Playmore will sell 1 small rom per SDCard. They would have to sell them at $20 or so to make a profit and that's way too much for a 20 year old rom IMO.
Hopefully we can get more details soon.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Yeah...
Posted 9/19/12
I don't think you two are quite the target audience. You're missing the point.
Customer Avatar
undertonez
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about undertonez is loaded.
Additional information about undertonez could not be loaded.
No disrespect
Posted 9/16/12
Why would anyone care about this now? Extra hundred and you can get a Wii U. Not to mention the countless emul@tors that work brilliantly already. Under or about a hundred and maybe more peeps would care.
Customer Avatar
Kaicer
Ponce,PR
 
Please wait while more information about Kaicer is loaded.
Additional information about Kaicer could not be loaded.
Not worth it.
Posted 9/15/12
I have a Neo Geo AES and an MVS consolize and is the real hardware for the same price. This is just an emulation device with a docking station. Also is not clear if you can add more game or is it compatible. I cannot pay for games that are 20 years old and you can have them on the ps3 o vita in the neo geo station.
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
My Two Cents
Posted 9/14/12
"For use only with the Neo Geo X Handheld Console" on the game's packaging makes it seem like more of a physical item than a downloadable item. Considering physical Neo Geo AES games released for $200+, I'd be more than willing to pay $10-$20 for each cart. But do understand, I'm a fan of physical goods, especially for something with the Neo Geo name. If you just wanted downloadable ROMS, there are plenty of other handhelds on the market that can do that for less.
Comments (4)
Comments (4)
<<prev 1 2