GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition

The original Neo Geo home console was released in 1990 in Japan by SNK. It is the only system ever created that would allow a user to play a game at home, get to a level, save the level on a special memory card, then go to the Arcade and carry on playing where you left off. Let me be clear...these kids were COOL. The NEOGEO system was COOL, period. The Arcade to Home system set it apart the competition - there was nothing like it. But there was nothing like the price either. NEOGEO games were not identical to arcade ones, they WERE the Arcade games because the hardware was the same. Of course, all of that that came at a price. The NEOGEO AES was simply too expensive to be popular. But that didn't stop everyone from wanting one.... So do you want to relive your premier arcade past and save thousands of $$$$'s in the process? Welcome the NEOGEO X Gold System! With the Limited Edition Gold System, you get: NEOGEO X Handheld Sytem with NEOGEO X Game Card slot NEOGEO X Docking Station, NEOGEO X Arcade Stick. TV outputs are either via HDMI or RCA (AV).
Average Customer Rating:
7
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 1369%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Review 21 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Epic fail again for Neo Geo
Posted on:9/16/12
BamaGoatt
Location: Alabama
Really $199.99 for a 20 year old system and games that can be bought elsewhere for under $9 each I will pass. What next we going to get a revamped 3DO or CGI with fake Zelda again lol..
16 of 71 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Bablo
 
Please wait while more information about Bablo is loaded.
Additional information about Bablo could not be loaded.
Since when is telling the truth trolling?
Posted 10/21/12
There's neogeo emulators out that you can play every neo geo game ever made, and all games on it's variant consoles on a pc with a decent cpu and a midrange graphics card or less ...this is a gimmick or if not that, it's simply a means for some rich kids or adults to add an old expensive system to their collection because they have money to blow which to me is fruitless, maybe the Neo Geo X console will be worth something 150 years from now, but who will care then when gaming graphics will have evolved to reach the realism of reality.
Customer Avatar
vhanley
Washington, DC
 
Please wait while more information about vhanley is loaded.
Additional information about vhanley could not be loaded.
Sorry, wrong.
Posted 9/26/12
You're both wrong. You can actually play them all for free. These have all been available on MAME or numerous emulators for years. $200 is a waste of money. It's a gimmick system. Don't get me wrong, they're all great games from a nostalgic point of view, but not $200 great.
Customer Avatar
otakujtg
 
Please wait while more information about otakujtg is loaded.
Additional information about otakujtg could not be loaded.
epic fail
Posted 9/21/12
it was the CDI not CGI
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Untrue
Posted 9/19/12
This review is blatantly untrue and misleading. A Neo Geo AES console will cost you around $250-$300. In addition, games can cost you anywhere from $50-$400 a piece, depending on the game and its rarity. With the Neo Geo X, you get a console that you can play on the go, at home with the AES docking station, etc. If offers you more ways to play at a much more affordable price. $199.99 is a great price for the handheld, the home console docking station, and the arcade stick. If you want it cheaper, you'd be getting hardware with inferior build quality. I'd rather pay the $199.99 and get something that'll last.
Customer Avatar
Element115
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Element115 is loaded.
Additional information about Element115 could not be loaded.
Really...
Posted 9/17/12
$9 each really... it's around $200 for just the original console. This comes with a handheld too. Troll elsewhere.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 22 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Saw this before... waste...
Posted on:9/29/12
valeron
Location: Edgewood, MD
I remember about 10 years ago a hand held neo geo was released with about 6 games... and thats ALL that was released for it. I'm not getting my hopes up or wasting my money on this system as I was dupped before. The games are great classics... but for $200... i'll wait for the next gen consoles to arrive.
7 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
StokedRider
 
Please wait while more information about StokedRider is loaded.
Additional information about StokedRider could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
Yeah...
Posted 10/31/12
This is based off of the Neo Geo AES, not the Neo Geo Pocket. Regardless, the Neo Geo Pocket is awesome. The library may be small, but its titles are full of fun and top notch quality.
Customer Avatar
darshie1976
 
Please wait while more information about darshie1976 is loaded.
Additional information about darshie1976 could not be loaded.
it has nothing to do with the NEo Geo Pocket
Posted 10/4/12
This device has nothing to do with the old pocket device made by Neo Geo. The old one was a cheap scaled down console, that would not run the original neo geo games, but very simplified ones. This one seems pretty much the same as the original Neo Geo, so your point is not really standing up....without considering that they stopped making game for the Neo Geo since the mid 90's, so all that you can run on this console are old games. I can admit that spending 200 dollars (or 130 just for the handheld) is a bit too much to play 10 years old games, especially when you can play them on an Xbox or on a pc via emulation, but if you are into strange new gadget and love these old games it may be a collector's item.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 23 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Excited!!!!!
Posted on:11/21/12
TopGun43
Location: Colorado
Looking forward to this!!! Bought a Neo Geo Christmas 1990 along with Magician Lord and some others. Have collected the English AES carts since the beginning and have always loved the Neo.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 24 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Great "Handheld," Not So Great Console
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
NiSeDrEeMz
Location: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I would have given this a 9, or 10, out of 10. However, I can't take the "handheld" anywhere, because I have no way of charging it, and no way of storing it for travel. I think the handheld part works excellently, even though there is no way of saving games (There is actually a video with a Tommo employee showing the save feature). I am not going to nitpick about the way you have to plug it in and everything that makes no sense to a modern person, but I am going to complain. The docking station sucks. I have a stereo that I plug everything into before it goes to the television, and my HDMI's are not used for sound at all. There is no way for me to plug in the HDMI and sound cables in at the same time. The only way I can use sound is with the A/V Cable. Also, if I do want to use the HDMI, the picture stretches out and the games don't fit on screen. The quote, unquote, handheld is great. The games are fun and it would be great to charge it on the go. NO, it would make all the sense in the world to be able to charge it on the go! The HDMI looks beautiful, upscaling the games well, and makes no sense as to why they couldn't work out scaling it back to fit on screen. Also, why they couldn't make it so I could have sound and HDMI work without the HDMI cable alone. Fix all of these problems and then give me a free game (if more are ever made) for having a garbage first model. Idea=Great. Execution=Okay. LackOfResponseFromTheCompanyAsOfNow=Bad...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 25 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/13
Searge
Location: Windber,Pa
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the worst thing to call it self a console.
I hate it with a passion.
you know i never owned something so bad.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Functionality: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 26 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
solid system.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/13
neosurfer
Location: Texas
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
As a retro gamer who once had the AES system, this is a great addition to the Neo Geo brand. Even with my 4 slot MVS, the compactness of the X and the ability to hook up to HDMI ports makes it worth it's weight in gold. The joysticks are easily on par with the original AES system. I actually perfer these, as the originals tended to break off at the system connection. Neo Geo X gets a strong recommendation from a gamer who knows.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 27 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Fun from open to close
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
Mortal004
Location: Mn
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If your a fan of retro with a spin on new, then u will love this. It has all the marks of quality u would've expect from an SNK product. The seals on the boxes were a wonderful touch. And 21 quality games my new favorite ninja masters is a lot of fun. The handheld unit is well designed and plays well. The console plug in is awesome too I love the original controller. I can't wait to play with a friend.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Functionality: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 28 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
i was very excited
Posted on:9/29/12
rbelmonte
Location: boston, ma
i was very excited when i heard this news, went to the store and reserved it. now the bonus offer has changed to online orders only come'on guys.
dont change after i order!!!
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 29 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
NEO GEO X Cant wait!
Posted on:10/7/12
Igotmine
Location: Orlando
I just pre ordered mine and the joy stick to about $250 total, I hope it sells out!!! and they release many games for it.
You get 21 games for it check ebay these games still go for a high price for the original system and this system is called AES and sells for $200 up on ebay still so how ever you cut it you getting a great deal if you are into retro stuff.. if not buy it any ways Support the cause!!
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 30 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Just Hilarious
Posted on:11/26/12
HaloFreak263
Its hilarious how people are getting hyped over a largely outdated system. Granted, some games were good (Ex:Metal Slug) but do we really need a system that would have been great for the 90's? Good luck to the people who are getting this, have fun with no Xbox live or PSN....
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Galvatronlives
 
Please wait while more information about Galvatronlives is loaded.
Additional information about Galvatronlives could not be loaded.
In Response....
Posted 11/30/12
This machine is for real gamer's who love and respect the NeoGeo line of games from SNK who either couldn't afford the insane price of the original AES Console or would like an updated version of said machine. I own all the current generations of consoles including the Wii U and started back playing during the days Magnavox Odyssey and the Atari 2600 and the fact that you mentioned no XBOX Live or PSN shows your complete ignorance for the history of games. Back then when these titles were released we didn't need constant updates being connected online or play against faceless opponents. We put in a couple quarters and played against someone who was physically right next to you. For all the online smack talkers I guarantee you watched your mouths depending on who you were playing against back then.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 31 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Awsome games
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/12
2dgamer
Location: Chicago
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I hope that there is a wifi connect to some of the games. The quality of games knows no equal, but there has to be more to a handheld these days. With the ever evolving handhelds the neo geo leaves you wanting more. Only time will tell. SNK dont let us down again.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
nerdstick
 
Please wait while more information about nerdstick is loaded.
Additional information about nerdstick could not be loaded.
Posted 12/13/12
It's not going to have wifi.
Customer Avatar
douglie007
 
Please wait while more information about douglie007 is loaded.
Additional information about douglie007 could not be loaded.
What Happened
Posted 12/7/12
so why did it move to the 18th from the 6th release.... will I get my pre-order before xmas
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 32 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Neo Geo's Glorious Return
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
StokedRider
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Neo Geo X Gold is something I never thought would exist. Honestly, I find it downright strange that it does exist, but it's a beautiful thing that it does, and any fan of old school games should give it a go. Starting as a rumor a year or so ago, photos of the Neo Geo X Handheld were leaked onto the internet, which made many people question its authenticity, then much later it was confirmed as a real thing that would release in 2012. Well, the day for its release has finally arrived, and my oh my, it's a pretty sweet device. How sweet is it? Read on.
As part of a larger package, titled the Neo Geo X Gold Limited Edition, you receive quite a lot.
Contents of the Package:
Neo Geo X Handheld System
Neo Geo X AES Docking Station w/ HDMI & AV Output
Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick
20 AES Games Pre-Loaded + 1 Ninja Masters Game Card (Limited Edition only)
Branded Neo Geo X Power Supply
Mini HDMI Cable
AV Composite Cable
Neo Geo X Gold Instruction Manual
Now let's run down the important parts and features of this package.
Firstly, the Neo Geo X Gold Handheld. This is a large and nicely built gaming device. On the front it's glossy black, giving off a high end electronic vibe, while the back is more of a rubbery material with shiny silver SNK branding, making it comfortable to hold for long periods of time. In terms of picture quality and the quality of the screen, I'd honestly say it's better than I expected, as it doesn't feel cheap or anything, because it gives a really nice and crisp image. As far as buttons and features go, the Neo Geo X Handheld sports 4 shoulder bumpers (the left one switches aspect ratio), 2 volume controls, 2 brightness controls, an on/off switch, headphone jack, game card slot (which is where you place the Ninja Masters game card and any future game cards), 4 face buttons, Start/Menu buttons, and a clicky movement stick similar to the one on Neo Geo Pocket. It's a really slick device.
Secondly, the Neo Geo X AES Docking Station. The only purpose of the docking station is to play Neo Geo games with the arcade stick. There's an HDMI input on the Neo Geo X Handheld, which means you could play directly off of it and display it on your TV, but the docking station allows you to play with either AV or HDMI, in addition to allowing you to use the arcade stick, which comes highly recommended, as it offers the full arcade experience. While there have been some complaints about the docking station, I honestly think it's pretty nice and serves its purpose. It's a great replica of the Neo Geo AES, so it looks great in your media center, and the inside is nice, as it has a soft material to place your Neo Geo X Handheld on and protect its backside from wear. However, even though I like it, there are some negatives with the docking station. 1. The latch to open and close the system seems a little cheap, 2. It doesn't output 4:3 when using an HDMI cable, 3. It only charges the system when it's powered on. So yes, it's definitely not perfect, but at a mere $20 (Handheld = $130, Arcade Stick = $50, meaning the Docking Station only runs you $20 more) I think it's worth it. Every game I've tried looks pretty nice outputting with HDMI, though there is a little screen tear in some games.
Thirdly, the Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick. This thing's as close to the real thing as it gets. All of the buttons feel really good and aren't too tight or anything, allowing you to have both quick and precise movements that are important in arcade games. The build quality overall is really nice. This is a definitely a must to enhance the Neo Geo X experience. In addition, the Neo Geo X AES Arcade Stick can be hooked up to both the Playstation 3 and PC, which is definitely a nice bonus for those who wanted an arcade stick to use on those platforms.
Now that we've gone over all of the main parts of the package, I'd like to mention that all of the games have run beautifully in my experience with the system so far. While I did notice some slight screen tear when connected to HDMI through the docking station, the game's looked great through HDMI on my TV. It's true that the games are best experienced directly on the Neo Geo X Handheld, as the screen makes everything pop with crisp and lush visuals and colors, but I was happy to find out that the game's looked so good on my HDTV through HDMI, because I really like playing with the arcade stick. I didn't test the docking station with the AV cables, so I have no clue how that looks and runs. While a big part of this package is nostalgia, all of the games I tried were just as fun as when I first got my AES and I was addicted the second I started playing. These games represent a time when it was all about having fun.
Also, before I wrap up this review, I must note that the packaging is exceptional. The box art is similar to that of the Neo Geo AES, and it houses 2 boxes, one mostly for the handheld and docking station, while the other is mostly for the arcade stick. Both of the boxes I just mentioned have neat Neo Geo branded stickers sealing them.
The Neo Geo X Handheld is a must own device for any fan of Neo Geo, SNK, etc., while I think any other fan of gaming will also really enjoy it a whole lot. The Neo Geo AES will typically run you $400-$600 these days depending on where you purchase it, meaning $200 for the ability to play it on your TV like an AES, on the go, and have it include a lot of games, is a pretty good deal, especially given the quality of what's included.
Final Score/Thoughts: 4.5/5 - There are some minor setbacks, however this has definitely surpassed my expectations. While there's always room for improvement through firmware updates (allowing 4:3 through HDMI, etc.), I'm really happy with the quality and enjoyment of this package.
PS: If anyone needs a nice way to protect their Neo Geo X Handheld, I recommend the Club Nintendo Reversible Pouch, which fits the handheld beautifully, and it'll only set you back 250 Club Nintendo coins. I'd love Tommo and SNK to release their own Neo Geo X branded pouch/case one day. They should really open up their own online store and sell game cards, accessories, etc. there.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Functionality: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 33 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Bring back the Classics
Posted on:10/13/12
Nintendo64classic
Location: East LA
i love the classic games better than these games....call of duty sucks....if you bring the nintendo 64 i will but it....
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 34 for NEOGEO X Gold Limited Edition
Great Retro Product. Quality inconsistent.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
mtSkybase
Location: Kali, MT
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have never played the Original AES system, however I do collect consoles and have almost every other one. Including the Neo Geo Pocket Color original release. I was very skeptical as to how the quality of this handheld would be. Thus far, it has proven to be very inconsistent. While the unit feels very solid (the X) with a wonderfully rubberized backside, the directional pad is constructed with a simple hard plastic material that doesn't lend itself to really "cradling" my thumb. If I press down a bit while playing it's fine but definitely not for the light fingered. The rest of the portable is pretty solid....the "L" buttons are a bit odd. Feeling loose somewhat, but then requiring a more solid press to actually press them, I sometimes find myself accidentally hitting the brighness buttons on the bottom. Layout of the 4 buttons is awkward as well for some of the games where you must press "B&C" for example. The dock itself feels much lighter and cheaper than I was originally hoping with a weak spring that lifts the shell when opening it. A very tight fit for the portable to dock makes removing it a tad tougher. Short power cord and controller wire make playing while connected to my A/V receiver and big screen TV a bit awkward as well. My biggest gripe, however, is the fact that the portable cannot be played while being charged. The AC Adapter is specific to the docking unit and not able to be passed through and plugged directly into the handheld unit. Thus, if your battery dies/gets low....you're done until you're done charging. Very strange decision IMO. How can they not have the AC adapter compatible with the handheld itself? Also, the ability to have connected a USB cable to the handheld and into controller port 2 would have been very nice to allow for multiplyer access without having to FIND/purchase the second pad right away. It's gonna be hard to find....Overall very happy with the unit. Oh and one more thing, as one person mentioned, I do notice some horrible lag connected via HDMI as well none of my other systems have such lag and it's QUITE noticeable especially when going through the menu to choose a game to play. Shall see beyond that.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Functionality: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2