GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Systems or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set

Now shipping! Wii U is the next great gaming console from Nintendo and it redefines how you will play next. With its innovative new Wii U GamePad controller, it will not only introduce entirely new ways to play games, it will also transform how you connect with friends and enjoy entertainment.
Average Customer Rating:
8.707
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
10 stars
30
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
35 out of 4185%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Review 61 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Very Excited!!
Posted on:9/15/12
RTC05
Location: Carrollton, GA
System looks great pre ordered the basic system today since the deluxe was sold out plus since there letting you add your own external for main memory well ill just buy a external HDD anyway looking forward to ZombiU and Mario
 
My Product Recommendations
 
36 of 45 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
I have never ben more exsited. :) :D ;)
Posted 12/24/12
I am Super Pumped. I am Writing this on Christmas Eve. I am geting a Wii U for Christmas. By the time you reading this I will aready have one so look for my review of it coming soon at least by Jan. 1, 2013. I am so excided. I am a big Nintendo fan always have been. I have nothing against Xbox or playstaion but I love Nintendo. Nintendo Promices HD graphics New franchises and ideas and new ways to game on the Wii U. Its also more open to inday developers on the eShop. It looks like the Best consol ever. Top 5 Wii U games I am looking forward to in 2013... 5# Monster Hunter Tri 3 Ulimant, 4# Lego City Undercover 3# Rayman Legends 2# Yoshi's Land (if its real) Number one. Pikmin 3! It looks great. PS Please look at my pre views and review and comment on them and I promice the look at ur work as well. :) :D ;)
Customer Avatar
thuglove2005
every where
 
Please wait while more information about thuglove2005 is loaded.
Additional information about thuglove2005 could not be loaded.
its the best I love my wiiu better then vita-ps3-x
Posted 11/22/12
Having so much fun loving this system the best so much to do and just so much fun
Customer Avatar
Codfan2000
San diego
 
Please wait while more information about Codfan2000 is loaded.
Additional information about Codfan2000 could not be loaded.
Wii U is awesome
Posted 11/4/12
I'm gong to cancelled my ps vita for Wii U A.S.A.P becuz it's so cool even better then ps vita I want batman arkham city for Wii U that's my reason ps vita doesn't have great games anyone reply
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 62 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Great System/Reasonable Price/Massive Potential
Posted on:9/15/12
domon7411
Location: Silent Hill, OK
I've been excited for the Wii U since 2011's E3, and every bit more I hear about it makes me even more anxious. Despite all the hate and misinformation surrounding this system's release, I think it really has the potential to change how we game much like how the Wii. With a controller that can add a whole new perspective on the game world, stunning graphics, and even all the added features like social networking and a TV Service, I'm hard pressed to find any issue I have with the Wii U.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 63 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Deluxe sold out quick
Posted on:9/15/12
TrancePacifica
Location: Wausau, WI
It only took 72 hours for GameStop to sell out of the Black WiiU. This is the quickest I've seen a Nintendo system sell out. I will now go with the basic white one, even though the deluxe is more for your money. I hope it will still be there by next week, heck, I might even move my preorders just so I'm set for getting one.
Review 64 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
No, Nintendo! Not you too!
Posted on:9/15/12
OcarinaOfAwesome
Play station went downhill when the ps3 came out. I mean, I know a lot of people liked it, but it was just a re-vamped ps2. Now, Nintendo seems to be recycling ideas as well. Nintendo used to be great because they catered to families, but now they are breaking down the barriers that existed between family games and "mature" games. I will not be getting this system.
1 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 65 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Same Place
Posted on:9/15/12
destroyaX
Location: Houston, TX
Ok so it has been said that the Wii u will be more advance then the ps3 and 360, these might also be true but what will happen when the ps4 and Xbox 720 comes out? the Wii u will mostly end up in the same place that the Wii is in right now, I'm not saying that the system is going to be terrible but I'm not sure if I'm going to spend $300 for a system that will have a lot of the same games that i all ready passed on my ps3, or when the system only has 8gb, yes you might be able to get extra memo, but when you are able to get a ps3 with 320 gb and a copy of assassin creed 3, or a Xbox 360 with 250 gb for the same price of a Wii u with 8 gb, i mean is really obvious to go for the current gen systems, if you think that the new super Mario and Zelda is worth it, then you should get it, if not stop waiting and get you're self a ps3 or Xbox =D
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 66 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Finally!!!!!!!!!! :D
Posted on:9/14/12
yomama14
Location: USA
It's about time Nintendo finally revealed a release date and price for the wii u! dang, i'm so hyped, iv'e been waiting ever since it was announced and now i can finally pre-order this! i can start saving up some money now so i can get the basic set! They are gonna have a deluxe set, which includes Nintendo land, 32gb storage, charging cradle, and more. But i would rather get the basic set because the deluxe has a higher price and im honestly more excited for New Super Mario Bros.u than Nintendo land. But the deluxe set is probably gonna attract many buyers and hardcore nintendo fans, so the wii u might as well be a success! and with all the new awesome wii u games coming out like pikmin 3, New super mario bros u, zombiu( which will be a exclusive)nintendo land, rayman legends( another exclusive), the upcoming super smash bros 4, and tons of more 3rd party titles and ports! This is gonna be a great year for Nintendo! :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 67 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Would get one- if it played GC games
Posted on:9/14/12
hi427893
I think that the wii u will really cool, and it will deserve to be considered one of the best, but really Nintendo? You couldn't have even included GameCube support? In my personal opinion, the GameCube had far superior games to most of those of the wii (with the exception of a few). I do like, however, that they are bringing back the regular controllers (I hated having to swing around that remote to play my games). The touchpad/tablet controller is really neat too. I just wouldn't be able to play my GameCube games.
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 68 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
No thank U
Posted on:9/14/12
Afatgreycat
Location: McDonough, GA
No thanks, Nintendo. Listen to me, Kids/Teenagers/Adults..... I too am a owner of the once great Wii. I did enjoy it immensely, and have had a wonderful six years with it. I have within the last two years bought a Playstation 3, and am currently loving it. (Do yourself a favor and go and buy one.) Now, Nintendo is finally coming into the HD race, and good for them! There is only one slight problem..... They are six years too late. Granted, the Wii U has a strong line up of first party, and third party games, however, some are coming out after they have been released for PS3 and 360. (Here's looking at you, Mass Effect 3, Darksiders 2, and Assassin's Creed 3!) Also, There are rumors of the Wii U being less powerful than a 360!!?!??! A device that has been out for Seven years and some change? Come on. Nintendo... This is unacceptable to loyal fans of the old Nintendo. Save your pennies and wait till next year, and buy a Xbox 720, or (preferably) a PS4
6 of 48 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ortiz325
 
Please wait while more information about Ortiz325 is loaded.
Additional information about Ortiz325 could not be loaded.
Wii u is better than ps3 and xbox
Posted 9/17/12
The wii u is way more powerful than the 360 if you haven't seen game videos for it the graphics look the same as the ps3 and xbox and u know the first games always look the crappies so in a few years they will look better I'm not arguing That the ps4 and 720 graphics will be better Thought
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 69 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Can't wait!!!
Posted on:9/14/12
nintendoFTW23
Location: Idaho
i love nintendo and all their systems i cant wait for this system to come out. i want to get this at launch
4 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
deathxthekid11
Denver,CO
 
Please wait while more information about deathxthekid11 is loaded.
Additional information about deathxthekid11 could not be loaded.
hi
Posted 9/16/12
will the wii u still let me use the wii games?
Customer Avatar
ExpletiveDeleted
 
Please wait while more information about ExpletiveDeleted is loaded.
Additional information about ExpletiveDeleted could not be loaded.
EPIC FAIL!
Posted 9/15/12
First and formost I have to say is to little to late for nintendo, with next gen in a bout a year, releasing a console with same stats as curent gen, and offering games that r alredy available or will be available for other consoles. And for this kind of price, thanx but no thanx.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 70 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
First!!! but this is going to be unsucessful
Posted on:9/13/12
PlayingStation3
Location: Belleville, IL
The only reason the wii had so many sales was the motion gaming. It is still fun, but not as good as it used to be. This just looks like another wii with this so called gamepad. It's just a wii with a new look, and a gamepad thing. My advice, get a PS3 and a PS VITA. It may be more expensive, but its worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 99 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Hikuro
Oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Hikuro is loaded.
Additional information about Hikuro could not be loaded.
Original had so much more
Posted 9/16/12
It had a lot more to offer than just motion gaming, but Nintendo really just didn't get into those other factors fast enough to keep it's consumers interested. Not too mention staying "fit" and gaming doesn't seem to go hand in hand.
The Wii was a huge success in it's first 2 years and steadily declined as SONY and Microsoft did their own motion control systems. Now the WiiU goes back a step but offers you a tablet size controler and also the compatiability to use a DSi or 3DS as a controler as well. Some of their game line ups seem interesting, but for me this is a pass till probably the spring or summer after I see how well it does.
Customer Avatar
RTC05
Carrollton, GA
 
Please wait while more information about RTC05 is loaded.
Additional information about RTC05 could not be loaded.
Posted 9/15/12
As much as i like my Vita well i haven't played it because there is no support ATM Maybe one day Sony will actual care about the handheld i personally like it don't get me wrong but i would never recommend one at this point and time
Customer Avatar
seneorjesse
dearborn,michigan
 
Please wait while more information about seneorjesse is loaded.
Additional information about seneorjesse could not be loaded.
sure
Posted 9/15/12
thats why they are already sold out of the wii u deluxe edition in 2 days
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 71 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
Looks Good.
Posted on:9/13/12
logan19
Location: Tecumseh, MI
It looks like Nintendo is taking it to the next level of gaming with another Hi-Tech gaming console. I'm getting exited to find out how it turns out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 72 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
yes!
Posted on:9/13/12
Anoynmous
Location: Wilburton, OK
coolio I want it it looks so cool i hope i can get it for christmas...it will be so good to have an hd nintendo console
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
luannejacob
orlando fla
 
Please wait while more information about luannejacob is loaded.
Additional information about luannejacob could not be loaded.
nintendo wii u
Posted 11/28/12
nintendo wii u is the coolest game ever made
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 73 for Nintendo Wii U 8GB Basic Set
CANT WAIT!!!!! WOOOO!!!!!
Posted on:9/13/12
Godzillafan920
The WiiU fast approaches. so psyched! People can get what they want because its there choice. why do i say that? because i am not getting zombi u. Looks really gruesome. if u guys want it, go ahead be my guest. not saying you shouldnt get it. im just saying not getting it.
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4