GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal SLYR Headset

Step up your game with the SLYR gaming headset. Designed to deliver Supreme Sound audio for your Xbox 360, PS3, or PC. SLYR combines power, style, and performance for a game changing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.424
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 out of 3382%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal SLYR Headset
Review 1 for Universal SLYR Headset
ITS AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
expertkiller
Location: bushwick NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i got them the bass was messed up but after ten mins then they fixed i use them for everything ps4 , xbox 360, pc , mp3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NerdGamer916
 
Please wait while more information about NerdGamer916 is loaded.
Additional information about NerdGamer916 could not be loaded.
How do I set up my skullcandy to the ps4?
Posted 3/20/14
Hey but how do I set up my skullcandy slyr to the ps4? Do I just plug it on my controller? Are there anyway I could use my headset with the control box thing?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Universal SLYR Headset
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
ps3ctskater0322
Location: Connecticut
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I decided to get a headset, but i wanted a quality headset, yet somewhat cheap. I have always used Skullcandy ear buds, so when i saw they had headsets i went ahead and bought one, and i am glad i made this decision. Skullcandy is definitely underrated in gaming, like turtle is overrated and other companies like Astro are overpriced. I am now saving up to get the plyr which are the wireless ones and are supposed to be better, and since these are amazing i know the plyrs will be outstanding.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal SLYR Headset
Great headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
Marasma
Location: Davenport, IA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're shopping around for a new headset and not wanting to spend $200-$250 I would recommend this. Sound quality is great and everyone on my chat channels says it sounds perfect! Great buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Universal SLYR Headset
AWSOME HEADSET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/13
AWSOME12
Location: denison,tx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i would definatly recommend it for everyone.
and it has and aaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwsssssssssooooooooommmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeee desine.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal SLYR Headset
Doesn't work with HDMI for Xbox
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/13
Fifdog98
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Unless you're willing to jerry-rig some type of a adapter from Amazon with a soldering iron, this only works on Xbox if you use an A/V input, not if you use an HDMI input, I didn't get the adapter so I'm going to return this headset for something that is actually compatible with Xbox. It seems like it would have been a good headset to use with PS3 or maybe for music, but certainly not for Xbox.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal SLYR Headset
WOW!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
lilgc
Location: hinesville,ga
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
All i can say is wow!!!!!! the sound quality surprised me for a gaming headset and the bass was perfect ...and style 10 out of 10 .......amazing quality of a product for a low price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal SLYR Headset
Amazing Quality from Skullcandy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/13
ThatGamerGuy2787
Location: Jackson,TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked these up last night and got them home and was shocked to find out on alot of reviews online it was stated these would not work with HDMI and would only work with the old component cable and I have the 360 E which doesnt offer the old av port after hooking them up I found that statement to be untrue It does work with HDMI all I had to do was plug the rca's to the back of my tv and boom they were on The sound and design of this headset is amazing and I am very pleased with my purchase can't go wrong with a set of these Highly Recommended!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal SLYR Headset
I'd give it a 9/10
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/13
BlackHawkBigBoss
Location: Chicago IL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It worked great i could hear people clearly and i can it had some great audio.This got my PC gaming to a whole new level.Now i can respond back clearly to my friends when i'm gaming.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Universal SLYR Headset
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
PSJake456
Location: Fernley, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are great! The flip out mic works fine and the sound quality is phenominal. These also just plug into your phone or I device and the sound for your music is unbeatable. I have Beats by Dre and these kick their butt. I even just made an account so I could review these because they are so good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal SLYR Headset
Great headset for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/13
cdtrain
Location: ny ny
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
awesome headphones like turtle beaches but one flaw is when you are not playing a game you hear a loud buzzing sound but goes away when you start it up
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal SLYR Headset
Sexy, great price, but not great sound
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
BigRob64
Location: Bham, AL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset as an experiment when I was in the market for a new headset for my PS3. The manager at my local Gamestop hadn't heard anything bad about them, so I decided to test them out per the 7 day return policy. When I got them home, I first realized that the package makes it seem like the headset lights up, but was disappointed to find out it was only different colored plastic. Setting it up was more of a hassle than it should have been and required some rewiring to stop the awful interference. once all was done I began to play Modern Warfare 3. The sound was okay but not great and then there was this annoying buzzing in my headphones constantly. It drove me mad so I took it back immediately and grabbed a pair of the Tritton AX720s. Totally worth the extra $30
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal SLYR Headset
Skullcandy SLYR > Turtle Beach
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
edizepic
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So far this headset is amazing the only bad thing if you moved around a lot with this headset on it can get disconnected but otherwise comfort is amazing, way better than turtle beaches, cool design and possibly better sound than the turtle beaches overall i recommend this headset that's doesn't want to pay a lot money or is not a competitive gamer like me :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal SLYR Headset
BEST ONE IVE HAD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/13
G4M3R1313
Location: where ever i may roam
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ITS EASY TO SET UP LONG CABLE GOOD SOUND, SIMPLE AND THE STOWAWAY MIC IS GREAT SO YOU CAN TAKE IT TO THE GYM OR WHERE EVER
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Universal SLYR Headset
Everything I expected from Skullcandy.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
Phillyz08
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Being an owner of Skullcandy headphones, I had to have these for gaming. Though I was reluctant to spend $80 on something I had not tried, I decided to give it a shot. I have to say I am not disappointed in the sound and quality of this headset. Definitely enhances the gaming experience, especially when playing shooters. Will never play another game without using these.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Universal SLYR Headset
hard to set up WOULD NOT RECOMMEND!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/28/13
tman317
Location: hawaii
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The design is cool if a little flimsy, but the set up is a pain. I ended up just returning it for a wireless head set.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Universal SLYR Headset
Great product! False pricing $90 in stores
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
Squirrelz
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1st off I'd like to say so far this headset is better than ANY headset I've had over the years. I've had the stock mic,Red Samurai's,TurtleBeach's, Tritton's none compare to these headphones. Being a Skullcandy fan I had to get these they looked awesome and I knew they'd perform great. I've had them for about a week no problems with it. Only thing I would have to complain about would be the lack of detail in the instructions they do not mention the proper setup for 360 or PC. You have to go through your settings just mess around and you'll get it. Also GameStop what is going on? These are $79.99 on the website. Went to the store and suddenly they are $89.99! GameStop should really check and fix their prices. Order online don't go to the store unless you want to spend $10 extra.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Universal SLYR Headset
ok headset for a starter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
ZOMBIEKILLA321
Location: 10472
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ummm i think these are overall a good headset for someone who has never had a headset before the sound quality is ok not like turtle beaches but on thing is that the microphone to talk online isnt bendable and so you can break it and another thing THESE DO NOT LIGHT UP it only looks that way on the box so dont get confused and these are wired but also i played with these on black ops 2 and do not use the bass option and have the volume to the max it will hurt your ears i know because it happened to me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Universal SLYR Headset
AMAZING HEADSEAT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
DISTRACTIONNN97
Location: Shreveport, LA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my third gaming headset I've owned first was turtle beach p11's second was the black ops 2 kilo headset and this was third I loved my p11's hated the kilo's but none of those even compare to these, this headset is the most comfortable headset I've ever worn... And if you love your music like I do it unplugs straight from the mixer and is ready to go as just a normal pair of headphones and have amazing sound quality... There is not one thing i can complain about i can tell you that these are worth there money....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Universal SLYR Headset
Awesome Cans for the Price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/17/13
FyrePhox
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
TL;DR First: Phenomenal performance, crazy comfort, and all for $80. If you're on a budget, you can't do much better. Won't take much abuse, though. These have been compared to Turtle Beach x12, but the SLYR is in a much higher league for a very similar price.
I mainly play PC games, so when my Trittons committed suicide I took some time and did research on my next headset. I ended up seeing only a few professional/informed reviews of the SLYRs, but all of them were pretty shocked at how well they performed for their price range. I decided to step away from Trittons for once and take a chance on these. I've very glad I did. These are insanely comfortable, even though I wear glasses; the foam doesn't put a lot pressure on your head and breathes, so you don't get really hot wearing them. They do leak a bit of sound though, just a warning. The headband is super-well padded as well.
As for the performance, they do extremely well for a sub-100 price point. The bass isn't super deep, but punchy and definitely noticeable. Midranges are wonderful and not overpowering. Highs are crisp and not tinny. The Skullcandy version of the Mixamp is pretty rudimentary, but does well enough. It's 3 different settings are broad enough to cover most needs, but you're not going to get super specialized. The microphone works pretty well, but its not stellar.
As for complaints, I have been told that my voice cuts out at random intervals, but I'm not quite ready to pin that on the headset, because my Ventrilo server has given me audio problems before. It's just something to be aware of.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Universal SLYR Headset
Junk
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/13
44redhawk
Location: Tampa,Fl.
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Speakers started crackling ten minutes after plugging it in,nuff said. Super comfortable but the quality just is not there.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>