GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal SLYR Headset

Step up your game with the SLYR gaming headset. Designed to deliver Supreme Sound audio for your Xbox 360, PS3, or PC. SLYR combines power, style, and performance for a game changing experience.
Average Customer Rating:
8.424
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
7
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
3
27 out of 3382%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal SLYR Headset
Review 1 for Universal SLYR Headset
Sleek, versatile and worth it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
chaosxfect
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The volume control is a little different, and takes a minute to get used to. The sound is exceptionally well for "stereo" headphones with three levels of sound. 1 is "Bass mode" 2 is "Supreme mode" 3 is "Precision mode" and all work to the description. The hide-a-way/EZ stash boom mic is awesome and works excellent. Really good highs and lows, and the headset is really noise canceling at its finest! Over-all I would recommend this headset for someone looking for a good noise canceling headset, but doesn't want to break the bank!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal SLYR Headset
A Nice Surprise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/12
Throlin
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got these today and knew I was giving myself a huge step forward into either many problems or a divine headset for gamers. Luckily, it turned out alright. Hello Skullcandy! I never knew Skullcandy could pull off such a great headset for only $90! I guess them buying Astro's is helping out a lot. The design is extremely sleek and elegant and the cushions are by far the best in the price range. Soft little clouds surround your ears as you listen to the 3 impressive sound settings provided. There might be quite a few long cables to annoy some but it saves money also to use a wired headset and its nice to know it can do some length. However, like all great things there is a fault. I love the headsets design and its performance but it does feel a little...flimsy. The quality is not bad, no, but the headset is very light and made of plastic which saves weight and price which is nice but it sacrifices its rigidity and seems at points to be able to crack easily. But as I said, the design is better than almost every other headset out there including its great quality at a cool $90 price to compete with the others.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal SLYR Headset
Sexy Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
aerotendo
Location: new mexico
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have to say that I just got these headphones and was amazed at how good the sounds were. I played Mass Effect 3, right away I was noticed sounds that I never noticed or barely noticed before from the game. Speech from others in multiplayer mode were crisp and loud. I noticed the sounds of everything from footsteps to monsters that sounded like they were saying something in human-speak. I also tested some songs on the xbox hard drive and they were vibrant and impressive. The bass mode was very good, and supreme mode seemed to clear up and enhance parts of the song while Precision mode looked like it was the raw, untouched way the music originally was. All three modes worked well to my tastes. It should be interesting to see how durable the headset will be but I doubt that it will break easily given how sturdy the design feels. :) The padding on the top and the ears are very soft and comfortable and even after playing Mass Effect 3 for over an hour, my ears felt fine, and this coming from someone who wears a hearing aid in one ear. That's another thing I'd like to note, the padding was big enough to cover my ears AND my in-ear hearing aid without the usual pressing down to where I'd have to either remove my hearing aid or stop using the headset. With the cheap xbox headset, it didn't press down a lot, but it also didn't sound as good as these Slyr's did for speech and the other downside to the cheap xbox headset was that they tended to muffle the tv sounds a bit so I had to turn them up to hear better. With the Slyr, I had NO issues about hearing anything even on a low volume setting. So far there has been nothing I have regretted about this purchase. I might do a update later after I've had more time with it. So far, I have to say that the only Con for me was that it was the sticker price. lol! The Pros for me were: great sound, lightweight, VERY comfortable even if you are the type to wear a hearing aid or glasses or both.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MasterWayne23
Texarkana
 
Please wait while more information about MasterWayne23 is loaded.
Additional information about MasterWayne23 could not be loaded.
Well worth the price
Posted 5/14/13
I had the X32 set and I just got a new gaming PC. I have a pair of skullcandy ear buds, but I wanted a gaming headset that was universal. The bass setting sounds beautiful when listening to music, and the chat mode has clear and crisp vocals coming through, and the supreme preset is great for just general gaming. I've used turtles, triton and afterglow I pick these in this price range because they sound good on so many different devices.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Universal SLYR Headset
High Quality for low cost
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/12
Anonymous
Location: Idaho Falls,ID
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just got these last night. I have the white ones. I will tell you the pro's and the con's I noticed. Pro's- Very Very comfortable. The design is awesome, you can tell Astro had their hand in this one. I would say they look like the A30's. Super light, great finish they do not feel cheap. The headset detaches off by itself no cords so you can carry it around or stash it away. Cons- When plugging directly into computer with the one 3.5mm jack, you have no inline volume control. You have to turn the sound all the way up on your computer, and hope that it is enough. When connected to the xbox or any gaming console, you have the inline amplifier that you can mess with the sounds. Another complaint is it says that it is universal. Well on pc, it only comes with one 3.5mm jack, and the USB does not come into the equation. I had to go to radio shack and spend $8 on a female 3.5mm that split into 2 males so I can use my mic on the pc as well. The volume control pad is not very user friendly. You will need to read the directions to understand how it works. Another thing to consider is Skull Candy offers a life time warranty! they have the best one out there! they will take care of you!. Turtle Beach has a very limited 90 day warranty, and it does not cover everything. After 90 days it's all on you Overall I would give it a pretty good rating and I would recommend these to a friend
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal SLYR Headset
ITS AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
expertkiller
Location: bushwick NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when i got them the bass was messed up but after ten mins then they fixed i use them for everything ps4 , xbox 360, pc , mp3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NerdGamer916
 
Please wait while more information about NerdGamer916 is loaded.
Additional information about NerdGamer916 could not be loaded.
How do I set up my skullcandy to the ps4?
Posted 3/20/14
Hey but how do I set up my skullcandy slyr to the ps4? Do I just plug it on my controller? Are there anyway I could use my headset with the control box thing?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Universal SLYR Headset
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
ps3ctskater0322
Location: Connecticut
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I decided to get a headset, but i wanted a quality headset, yet somewhat cheap. I have always used Skullcandy ear buds, so when i saw they had headsets i went ahead and bought one, and i am glad i made this decision. Skullcandy is definitely underrated in gaming, like turtle is overrated and other companies like Astro are overpriced. I am now saving up to get the plyr which are the wireless ones and are supposed to be better, and since these are amazing i know the plyrs will be outstanding.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Universal SLYR Headset
WOW!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/2/13
lilgc
Location: hinesville,ga
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
All i can say is wow!!!!!! the sound quality surprised me for a gaming headset and the bass was perfect ...and style 10 out of 10 .......amazing quality of a product for a low price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal SLYR Headset
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/17/13
PSJake456
Location: Fernley, NV
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets are great! The flip out mic works fine and the sound quality is phenominal. These also just plug into your phone or I device and the sound for your music is unbeatable. I have Beats by Dre and these kick their butt. I even just made an account so I could review these because they are so good!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal SLYR Headset
Sexy, great price, but not great sound
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
BigRob64
Location: Bham, AL
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset as an experiment when I was in the market for a new headset for my PS3. The manager at my local Gamestop hadn't heard anything bad about them, so I decided to test them out per the 7 day return policy. When I got them home, I first realized that the package makes it seem like the headset lights up, but was disappointed to find out it was only different colored plastic. Setting it up was more of a hassle than it should have been and required some rewiring to stop the awful interference. once all was done I began to play Modern Warfare 3. The sound was okay but not great and then there was this annoying buzzing in my headphones constantly. It drove me mad so I took it back immediately and grabbed a pair of the Tritton AX720s. Totally worth the extra $30
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal SLYR Headset
Great product! False pricing $90 in stores
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/13
Squirrelz
Location: Spartanburg,SC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1st off I'd like to say so far this headset is better than ANY headset I've had over the years. I've had the stock mic,Red Samurai's,TurtleBeach's, Tritton's none compare to these headphones. Being a Skullcandy fan I had to get these they looked awesome and I knew they'd perform great. I've had them for about a week no problems with it. Only thing I would have to complain about would be the lack of detail in the instructions they do not mention the proper setup for 360 or PC. You have to go through your settings just mess around and you'll get it. Also GameStop what is going on? These are $79.99 on the website. Went to the store and suddenly they are $89.99! GameStop should really check and fix their prices. Order online don't go to the store unless you want to spend $10 extra.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal SLYR Headset
Great headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/14
Marasma
Location: Davenport, IA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
If you're shopping around for a new headset and not wanting to spend $200-$250 I would recommend this. Sound quality is great and everyone on my chat channels says it sounds perfect! Great buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal SLYR Headset
Amazing Quality from Skullcandy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/13
ThatGamerGuy2787
Location: Jackson,TN
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I picked these up last night and got them home and was shocked to find out on alot of reviews online it was stated these would not work with HDMI and would only work with the old component cable and I have the 360 E which doesnt offer the old av port after hooking them up I found that statement to be untrue It does work with HDMI all I had to do was plug the rca's to the back of my tv and boom they were on The sound and design of this headset is amazing and I am very pleased with my purchase can't go wrong with a set of these Highly Recommended!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal SLYR Headset
Doesn't work with HDMI for Xbox
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/13
Fifdog98
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Unless you're willing to jerry-rig some type of a adapter from Amazon with a soldering iron, this only works on Xbox if you use an A/V input, not if you use an HDMI input, I didn't get the adapter so I'm going to return this headset for something that is actually compatible with Xbox. It seems like it would have been a good headset to use with PS3 or maybe for music, but certainly not for Xbox.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Universal SLYR Headset
AWSOME HEADSET
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/13
AWSOME12
Location: denison,tx
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i would definatly recommend it for everyone.
and it has and aaaaaaaaaaaaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwsssssssssooooooooommmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeee desine.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Universal SLYR Headset
AMAZING HEADSEAT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/13
DISTRACTIONNN97
Location: Shreveport, LA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is my third gaming headset I've owned first was turtle beach p11's second was the black ops 2 kilo headset and this was third I loved my p11's hated the kilo's but none of those even compare to these, this headset is the most comfortable headset I've ever worn... And if you love your music like I do it unplugs straight from the mixer and is ready to go as just a normal pair of headphones and have amazing sound quality... There is not one thing i can complain about i can tell you that these are worth there money....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Universal SLYR Headset
ok headset for a starter
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/13
ZOMBIEKILLA321
Location: 10472
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
ummm i think these are overall a good headset for someone who has never had a headset before the sound quality is ok not like turtle beaches but on thing is that the microphone to talk online isnt bendable and so you can break it and another thing THESE DO NOT LIGHT UP it only looks that way on the box so dont get confused and these are wired but also i played with these on black ops 2 and do not use the bass option and have the volume to the max it will hurt your ears i know because it happened to me.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 17 for Universal SLYR Headset
1 word
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/12
jarrettf123
Location: tampa,FL
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
1 word buy this,i've been trying to find a head set for my ps3,an pc,u might have to take a minute to get used to the volume setings but its all worth it it works lovely on ps3 an pc now my videos on on youtube are clean staight cear sounds so to wrap this up is is a of the best for its price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Universal SLYR Headset
terrible headphones DONT BUY THESE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/13
rex2killer
Location: North Dakota
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
bought headphones because i needed new pair. first few hours i was in love with how much better they were than my old 30 doller headphones. Next day when i got on i coudnt talk or hear people through my headphones. no way fix it and my girlfriend got rid recipt so i cant return. absoulte waste of money and garbage headphones DO NOT BUY THESE
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 47 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Akatsuki666
District, MD, VA
 
Please wait while more information about Akatsuki666 is loaded.
Additional information about Akatsuki666 could not be loaded.
SLYR
Posted 1/8/13
If you still have these, you may be able to send them to Skullcandy, who has a lifetime warranty on all of there headphones. I think I heard that these did not have a lifetime warranty, but one long enough where you could still send them back. I love Skullcandy and I'm surprised your headphones were broke, maybe you fixed the problem so I'm sorry if I wasted your time, I dont even know if you will see this.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Universal SLYR Headset
Skullcandy SLYR > Turtle Beach
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/13
edizepic
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
So far this headset is amazing the only bad thing if you moved around a lot with this headset on it can get disconnected but otherwise comfort is amazing, way better than turtle beaches, cool design and possibly better sound than the turtle beaches overall i recommend this headset that's doesn't want to pay a lot money or is not a competitive gamer like me :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Universal SLYR Headset
It's performance could be better.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
phantomgamer
Location: New York, NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
When I got the Skullcandy i was excited but i learned that its microphone came broken. And didn't work when i tried to play with them. Also when i tried to plug it in to the computer it still did not work. The only thing that was good was it was comfy. I regret buying a 80 dollar headset from Skullcandy. You should try the Turtle Beach X12.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
G4M3R1313
where ever i may roam
 
Please wait while more information about G4M3R1313 is loaded.
Additional information about G4M3R1313 could not be loaded.
One of the best headsets ive owned
Posted 5/4/13
Well first off i guess the only downside is the game sound is only through one earwhile the voice is through the other(maybe im just doing something wrong) but i digress, i got this after my trittions died horribly on me, and i didnt have the money to drop 200 on a new pair so i tried these, after reading the reviews it was a toss up, so i got them and best investment ive made. I read how one person said its a pain to set up its not it takes all of 5 mins to do, the best feature is the stored mic i take mine out and wear them like headphones to listen to my music. It has a ridiculously long cable, comfortable on the ears and they look really nice, i would say get these and you wont regret them. Also i wish they had other colors but for 80 bucks you really cant complain !
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 next>>