GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

12th Annual Interactive Achievement Awards Winner: Outstanding Achievement in Original Music CompositionMetal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots is the final chapter in the saga of Solid Snake which sends him around the world in pursuit of his arch nemesis, Liquid Ocelot. Armed with new gadgets and abilities, Solid Snake must shift the tides of war into his favor, using the chaos of the battlefield to infiltrate deep into enemy territory. In his globetrotting final mission, Snake must sneak deep into enemy locations in the Middle East, South America, and other corners of the Earth to foil Liquid Ocelot's plans for total world domination.
Average Customer Rating:
4.721
4.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (421 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
312
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
13
325 out of 35592%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Review 1 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Another masterpiece by Kojima
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
CyborgNinjaFTW
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
What a way to have the last chapter of the greatest series ever. It makes me sad that there will be no more that have events that take place after this one. The graphics are still the best i've seen on the ps3 to this day. The characters seem so real and it incorporates to stealth gamers or as I call them COD style gamers in terms of how you can play through the game. i have played through this game so many times I can't even count. A must have and play experience.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
READ THIS!THEN BUY THE GAME!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/11
Agmw210
Location: New Hampshire,NH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome the reason why because if you played all the mgs games this game will be a OMFG game even if this is your first mgs game you will still be like OMFG this game i got for x-mas and ever since it has been my number one game. online is awesome.story awesome.graphics awesome.gameplay awesome.and if your bothered by the cutscenes they are really not that long but i mean their trying to wrap the whole game franchies in to one game so it did not bother me and accually at the end it made me cry just because im a HUGE mgs fan im sooooo glad i live in this generation of gameing mgs series best games EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
my mgs parody
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
The 3rd BEST GAME I EVR PLAYD
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/11
drunkbitch12322
Location: Los Angeles,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story mode was great and it lived up to its potental but i think it was the best metal gear
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
The PREFECT Ending
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/12
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Brilliant story, great fun, beautiful, nostalgic, well voiced, an epic journey, and an emotional ending that is unforgettable. If you were to ask for all of this from a game, even from a widely loved franchise that's twenty years old, it would be bound to stumble somewhere. However, Metal Gear Solid 4 did all of this and more. After seeing this story all the way through, I realized that this series of video games has a story that could rival some of the best tales ever told in history. And seeing it all wrapped up in Metal Gear Solid 4, I realized that this title gave me the best experience I've ever played. Everything was balanced, ingeniously thought out, and emotionally beautiful. I've never cried watching a movie, reading a book, or while playing a video game, but boy did I come close while playing Metal Gear Solid 4. It eludes me to think of one bad thing about this game, I just can't find anything even remotely bad, I've really tried to find even something to nit-pick at and I can't do it. Maybe I am overselling it, but for me it just doesn't get any better than Metal Gear Solid. Bravo Kojima, Bravo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Best Videogame Ever
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/08
cheesy_borito_ 356365
Metal Gear Solid 4 Guns of the Patriots is possibly the best video game EVER. The graphics are probably the best up to date. The environments come to life as you roam around them, the fire and blood are incredible, the guns and tanks and people amazing, and overall just lifelike. The sound is amazing. The voice acting is incredible, the sound of guns and roaring explosions is very realistic and everything sounds as it would be had that actually been going on. The controls are smooth, length good, difficulty adjustable to your level of skill, and the storyline (although you have to download the database or play the rest of the Metal Gear Solid games to fully understand) is breathtakingly good. Although no game is perfect, this game is the closest thing to it. From incredibly great (and ridiculously LONG) cutscenes, to unbelievable graphics and sound told through an amazing storyline, this game is an unbelievable experience that is so good it is worthy of being the only game on your PS3.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
FAIL of an EPIC game series.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
Nicknamehere
Location: Birdsboro, PA
I always loved MGS for the stealth and skill required to be stealthy in. I mean how hard is it to be stealthy in a suit that changes to your surroundings. In MGS2 it was just you have yourself and Snake's signature box to sneak around with. In MGS3 you have to apply a different camo for every situation you're in. I was so excited when I got foxhound rank for the first and only time, because I like to kill people and it was hard to resist the urge for one time through. I will not say anything bad about the graphics, because it's PS3 and most PS3 game have really good graphics. The fact is it has really awful gameplay I would go as far as to give it a 1, because it is MGS4 and it doesn't live up to any of it "3" predecesors. Yeah I know there are technically more, but I'm just talking about Playstation Games that are not just the previous games with bonus features thrown into it. The whole idea is if it doesn't live up to the glory of the past I don't see why it should share the glory with the past.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty
4.7 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Fantastic.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
MilitaryDuck
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's a very beautiful game. It's very emotional, the story is top notch. The soundtrack is great, gameplay can be a tad confusing at time, but once you get used to it, it's fine. There one problem with this game, however. People are fast to call this a masterpiece - the story sure is. But the game itself - well, there isn't enough actual gameplay for me to give it a solid 10/10. The Big Boss emblem is proof of that - it tells you that actual gameplay on it's hardest difficulty is roughly somewhere below five hours. Most of the game is cutscene, and the ending is about two hours long... and it's all cutscene. I will admit this game is one of the greatest games I have ever played - but if it were released now, I would think it would get harsher reviews and how short the gameplay actually is. Also, I'm very sad they took down Metal Gear Online - I got this game after the servers were shut down. Hopefully they start another one next-gen, or else I'll never be able to experience it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
believe me
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/24/08
ish123
Metal Gear Solid 4 is the best game made by man. I got this game in New York and played it right when i got back home. i have to say that if a PS3 owner does not have this game right now, go get it! The story is sick, the bosses are challenging but in the puzzle kind of way which is good and easier, the graphics are the best i've ever seen on ps3 or 360. Don't believe others when they say that this game is short. When i beat the game, it said that i played it for 34 hours total! Plus, i skipped some of the mission briefings. Watch every video that comes up or u will not like the game cause u won't understand. I always didn't really play the metal gear solid games because it was too hard to me. This is the perfect difficulty. Now online. The online is some of the best i've ever seen. There's never been a glitch and u can create ur own character the way u would want to. Chatting is fun while ur killing people. It's just the best game anyone could ever get. This was the best game of 2008 period.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Amazing game but...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
adventure
Location: Northfield NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game there is everything you can imagine and more you can purchase modify and choose which weapons you want for battle and collect from fallen soldiers there is single and online play lets talk about the single play it is amazing the best campaign i have ever done and it is a very long game to play and a lot of dialogue it feels like a movie that you play in and amazing graphics now for the online i liked it but it took 1/2 an hour to download then 15 min to install then you need to get two accounts to play the game after that one for buying things and one for the game which you only have to sign into once if you choose that in the settings then it will instruct you what to do you can either search for players your rank that want to lay or join an already existing game which can be any level of player range if you do the search it will take you about 5min if you do pre-existing it will take you about 20 seconds so overall it is a great game and HIGHLY recommend that you get it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
BOOORRRINNNGGG!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/28/08
GamerHC
This game was boring, the AI was dumb. They would look at you for like 3 seconds before actually shooting at you, and I was playing at hardest difficulty. It is easier to kill everyone than to sneak your way past them. The sneaking too is boring and unrealistic. I have guys walking practically right over me and not notice my gray pale face (referring to snake). I played for hours upon hours, and sorry I did not get into it at all! I take that back I am not sorry, the game sucked! The only main fun thing was the little robot things I got to control and bug the soldiers with! The graphics though are really nice and so is the sounds. The story made no sense and bored the hell outta me. Most of the game is cut scenes to which made it more unbearable. Your eggs suck and you cant cook little girl, that is what one of the cut scenes is like. SEE! Rent this so you don't waste your money. Get something good like Fallout 3 or Grid. There actually aren't many good games out right now...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 11 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
metal gear awesome!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/28/10
Hughes22
I have always been a huge fan of MGS games and have played almost all of them. This game was just great with the graphics and the challenge was pretty good too. And like all of the metal gears the storyline is great! I gave the length a 9 only because it seemed....not as long as i had hoped, but it still took me a good...im gonna take a guess at 10 hours in all to beat. But just keep in mind that i have MAD SKILLZ!!! no im jk, i just play a game until i beat it, like nonstop almost, and thats why it takes me not long to beat a game. The sound and voice correspondence is really well timed and the controls are just like all of the modern shooters these days(an over the shoulder view) and really easy to pick up. This was a great game and i reccommend this game to anybody that likes shooters, stealthy games, and just people that like alot of action all together. For this price, if you dont have this game, go get it as soon as you make your next trip into town because these game are gonna be legendary! and remember to GET YA GAME ON! ;) CYA
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
My First Game for PS3, Epic.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/08
Kuro-Omoi Ichi
When I put the game into my PlayStation 3 I was completely awestruck. The beauty of MGS4 was incredibly captivating. The graphics were the best graphics that I've ever seen in a 7th generation console. The sound of the game was hypnotizingly amazing. The voice-acting of the game made it seem as if it was a very large budget film. The fighting sequences were perfectly choreographed, so that it felt natural. The fact that it was my first PS3 game intensified all of those feelings, but did not dilute them. A very good feature to the Metal Gear Solid game is Metal Gear Online. The first problem with this game, really, is that it didn't really incorporate the abilities of the SIXAXIS much. The final, and worst problem, is that the game ends... a bit too soon if I may add. To make up for the lack of time, an excellent feature is that the game awards Emblems, thus adding a great deal of replayability. Overall, Metal Gear Solid 4 is one of the best game that I have EVER owned.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
The end of an era
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/08
Get Geek
Finally a legend is put to rest. MGS4 takes up were every other MGS title left off leaving no detail behind. Once agin you play as Solid Snake, but instead of sneaking through building corridors your thrust into the middle of a war zone changing the style of play dramatically. The in game CG cutscenes are once again mind blowing as you are thrown into gameplay and wont even realize it. The music is extraordinary yet again and every sound sends shivers down you spine as you wonder what's waiting for you. Of course the game felt easier this time around in the beginning, but that was such a miniscule set back It didn't even cross my mind until I thought of it. This title isn't for everyone as there is more story then gameplay and could confuse newer players of the series into thinking its some dumb game movie which it isn't like I said earlier this title was created to end the series and answer all questions left by the previous titles. So if you're not a fan of the series I would stay away from this one.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Legendary send off for a legendary hero!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/10
RyunuskeAngelz
Metal Gear Solid is another favorite series of mine, it combines awesome action and graphics with stealth and story. The bad: the cutscenes were so darn long, i think all of them put together was 3 hours of footage and i could set down my controller, go eat a snack, go and catch the last minutes of the baseball game and comeback just as the scene is ending. also the codec calls are as annoying as ever and now extremely long as well. Otocon just doesn't know when to shut up! the good: the graphics are amazing, the change from cut scene to game play is seemless and beautiful. the cut scenes, though long, are beautiful as well. the game play is great, especially the shooting because of the new over the shoulder aiming. this is both easy and efficient. the controls for other things like hand to hand takedowns are good, being easy on your brain and pretty forgiving. the story is over i believe its like 12-13 hours long which is good and also shorter than Final Fantasy 13.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Nice Game!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/08
Gun_Rover
Me and Gun_Rose_Blaze would recommend this game to anybody who loves shooters, tactical and stealthy games. This was my first ever Metal Gear game ever and when Gun got me interested in it I took a likeing to the game almost instantly. Me and Gun are like our own army of two when we play any shooter game because we are very good at having what the other needs like if Gun needs cover I'm there is what I'm trying to say. So if you want to play this game online try to make as many friends as possible who will work with you and help you out when you need the help. This game also has a very good offline as well as an online. You don't need to have skill to play it on the lowest two difficulties but from normal and up, you might want to put some thought into what you are going to do before you do it. Anyway I highly recommend it to a lot of you gamers out there so keep on playing and reach out to me and Gun if you see us, we love to have fun on games so watch out for us.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Great game, but cutscenes are too long!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/08
kingmahmah
This game is great in all areas(graphics, gameplay, control, sound, storyline, etc...) but be prepared to sit through long cutscenes that will leave you waiting to play for 30 minutes! Now you do have the option to skip them, but that is really not an option in your first play through if you want to know whats going on. Now that being said, inbetween these movie clips when you're actually playing it is just amazing! From the controls to the graphics to the sounds and enemy AI this game shines in every area. You will be rewarded greatly if you can sit through the long drawn out cutscenes. I am loving this game and have not even touched the online part of it yet. When i do I will give another review. Please don't try to compare this to cod4, it is a completely different kind of game that requires stealth and strategic planning. Bottom line= I love this game and suggest if you have a ps3 to go buy it. NOW! P.S. You can run and gun too if you choose, but I do not reccomend this. Better to plan out your attack.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Best MGS game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/10
bk_rause
Metal Gear Solid 4 is pretty close to the best video-game I have ever played. Most games you can play once or twice and you're done, you're tired of the story or of the game play. When playing MGS4 you don't get tired of either, in fact you enjoy each more with every play-through. In fact I had no knowledge Metal Gear Solid even existed until I bought this game, now I have every game in the series and know the story inside from out. If you are a fan of the series you will remember the experimental survival viewer from MGS3, well in MGS4 it combines elements from each game. It also has a new system where you can buy secret weapons, and if that doesn't interest you the fact that you can buy stealth camo and the infinite bandana certainly should. What is that you say, yes you heard me right, you no longer need to unlock stealth and the bandana after one play-through they are available for purchase. As a PS3 owner I say this is a must-buy for anyone that enjoys fun.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 18 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Best Metal Gear yet!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/08
MetalGearREX
This game is absolutely amazing. The controls, the story, the length, the weapons, the cutscenes, they are all fantastic. One thing that bothers me is that a lot of little kids that are about 10-years old have this game. I would not recommend this game to people like children because they probably haven't played the games before and the story would make no sense at all. So if you wanna get this game, play the others in order so you can have more fun while you're playing it. It's very fun having to be so stealthy all the time. The unlockables (especially the Big Boss mask) are fun using. There are FaceCamos, Body Camos, and weapons to unlock. They're absolutely amazing. And sometimes Hideo Kojima (creator) has some very funny (but crude) humor to make you have some unexpected laughs. This game is great and has an absolutely fantastic ending and some emotional and in-depth cutscenes. Definitely recommended to people that have played the first 3 Metal Gear Solids.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Almost a 10/10
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/14
dnlcod3
Location: Not important
This should have been the best Metal Gear game. Sadly it isn't.
I won't go in-depth, put here are a few things that people fail to point out in this game.
1. There are so many cutscenes that are entirely pointless, or could be speed up to save time. Nothing would be lost if these cutscenes were removed. In fact, there are 3 relationships in this game that take up at least 1 hour, of the 8.5 hours of cutscenes ,that should have been removed as they add nothing to the story. The story should have been refined more.
2. There are a few forced or nonsensical moments. While few in quantity, these moments could have easily been changed.
3. Something that is never addressed is the blizzard effects. This might qualify as the best effect in video game history! Developers generally think as rain, snow, fog, ect... as an auxiliary to the game. If the blizzard effects were not in MGS4, the game would be much less impressive. The snow gradually collects on stationary objects. The high winds can push snow off, or carry more onto an object. Taking cover will make the snow gradually fall off in an impressive manner. The blizzard obscures Snake's vision, sometimes inhibiting his line of sight to a meter in front of him; conversely the storm may lighten up to allow Snake to see 15 meters in front off him. taking cover behind an object were the wind isn't blowing will cause the snow to fall off. What needs to be understood is that the blizzard effect was not an afterthought. It is a very graphically impressive feature ahead of its time.
4. The music and voice acting some of the best in gaming history, even for today.
5. The world building is great. The game provides visuals and information that establish the Metal Gear world well.
MGS4 has a great main plot, some very evocative moments, and is extremely graphically impressive. This review doesn't cover much, but the 5 points are rarely covered and need to be known. This game should be a 10/10, but too many idiotic additions to the story prevent it from being so.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots
Top 5
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
Boz90
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ok, I got this game when it came out so this review is a bit late. First off, in my top five games of all time. Next, the graphics are flawless. Ok, to the gameplay. The story is absolutely amazing, though there are very, very, very, long cut scenes. I'm talking about up to an hour. If you haven't played the other MGS games, do not get this game. You will be more confused than an elementary school kid in college. It's that in-depth. However, there is a lot of gameplay in the game. It is pretty realistic stuff, other than the fictional machines and whatnot, but I'm talking about guards hearing you and things like that. You roll too much in the barrel, you're going to throw up. That's just how it is. This game creates an intense stealth-like game. And, even though you are supposed to not be seen by any guards throughout the game and it gives you more points, listening to the sea-breeze song on the i-pod and sniping everyone down from one point and killing them is always something you can't resist. Overall, great game and can't wait for MGS Rising to come.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 21 next>>