GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect Trilogy

Experience all three award winning Mass Effect titles at an amazing value with the Mass Effect Trilogy.
Average Customer Rating:
8.429
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect Trilogy
Review 1 for Mass Effect Trilogy
Best Journey of my Life
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/14
Seasona
Location: Chandler, Arizona
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this game for my birthday, and sure, I expected it to be decent, considering how much my friends loved it, as well as the fact that I never played a shooter before, so I figured it would simply be an "Okay" game. Never have I been so wrong.
This series is my favorite series of all time now. I LOVE it and have put so much money and so many hours into it.
The Gameplay gets better as you go through the series, improvements were clearly made and it does WONDERS for the Gameplay. Alongside this, the different abilities you obtain make it a new experience with each playthrough. As stated earlier, this was my first shooter so I can easily say that the gameplay is fun even for those new to this genre.
The story...is simply amazing. Sure, I admit, it starts a little slow, especially in the first game, but then it picks up. And once it picks up, it never stops. Never have I played a more impactful game, not have I played a more stressful game. In the best way, of course. A good portion of the story is portrayed through your choices, which REALLY make a difference. That minor choice you made in one game could impact another GREATLY and it really makes you, as the player, feel responsible. The voice acting is also great, though a few characters could have been better. The best part, in my opinion, is the characters. All of them are unique, and you bond with them through the course of the series, seeing all the development the majority of them have. The DLC characters are the only ones whom don't really change, which is a little upsetting, but they are DLC.
Overall, I'd say the only thing to look out for is the glitches. Most are harmless, though I personally have had my games freeze up on me during loading, sometimes forcing me to restart a mission. This is on the PS3 version, and I'm afraid I cannot speak for any other consoles. Alongside this, the series does take a LONG time to finish--I put in about 20 hours for the first game, and 35 each for the final two my first run. I wouldn't suggest it for the casual gamer, although I recommend it if you want a great story, with really good gameplay. The game is not perfect, it begins slow, and has some missions and parts I really dislike, but overall, it's an amazing experience that I would suggest to nearly anyone. Don't let the genre turn you off, for it's not a typical RPG, nor is it a typical shooter. It's simply a journey to be experienced.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mass Effect Trilogy
Can't play the second ME
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/14
wolfshielder
Location: OKC, OK
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I only gave this game 3s in each category, because how can I give a positive rating for this, when 1/3 of it doesn't work? It is probably a fault of the Origin client you'll have to download for this game (if you don't have it already), but Gamestop sells it, so this is where I'm rating it. Sure, I could go online and spend a few hours troubleshooting this problem (PhysX problem, widely discussed on community forums, but, coincidentally, not addressed on the common problems EA forum), but honestly, why would I want to spend that time editing files and downloading patches, when I could be playing the game? ME1 and ME3 are good plays, but since I bought this as a TRILOGY, it significantly lowers my opinion of this buy, and worse, my opinion of EA games. A game should not be sold that requires manual troubleshooting by the customer upon installation.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mass Effect Trilogy
Awesome Game Series
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/14
neo0501
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This whole series is was awesome; the first one had much more to do and explore than the other two. The relationship options are awesome as well but seemed to focus on a select few giving them more scenes and such. Didn't like the fact the third one didn't have more of a fight sequence with the head reaper or the star-child hologram. But Ended pretty much.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
octoast
 
Please wait while more information about octoast is loaded.
Additional information about octoast could not be loaded.
I really want to get these!!!
Posted 7/20/14
I've been looking all over to get some mass effect games because i've never played any of them, but i keep running into the same problem: they don't run on Mac computers, which is all I have. Would this run on my Mac by any chance?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mass Effect Trilogy
the #1 sci-fi experince
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/13
brokennanochip7
Location: chillicothe,ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
the mass effect triology is good for any gamer seeking a rewardiing experince or sci-fi junkie looking for one of the greatest stories ever told admitledly the game has some hipcups such as #1's gunplay and #3's ending but these flaws are overlooked becuase of the great story,i strongly recommend you buy this triology if you don't your missing out on one of gameing's most immersive experience's in the history of the media.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mass Effect Trilogy
If you like any SciFi fantasy you will love this.
Posted on:10/4/12
FatBat
Location: STL MO
IF you want to be your own hero or villain, get this game. If you want to travel the Milky way, get this game. If you like guns, and armor and to face a uncertain future this game is for you. IF you want to move your collection to a different platform, you should get this game set. Have I made point yet!
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mass Effect Trilogy
The definitive action sci-fi drama masterpice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/14
Robojeeves
Location: Tyler, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Mass Effect Trilogy represents all of my favorite things about modern gaming: Great action gameplay combined fantastic writing, voice acting and cinematic storytelling. The gameplay in the first game is a little shoddy, and the graphics are not mind-blowing, but as a whole the Mass Effect Trilogy is a very replayable and personalized gaming experience that no gamer should pass up.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mass Effect Trilogy
Terrific
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/13
419Recon
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The whole series is a bundle of incredible, awesomeness xD.
The game really is great, your choices carry through the games (letting someone die in the first one, it will be mentioned in the second and third, and can affect your likeliness.)
The only downside was the ending, but I honestly thing it makes for a good cliffhanger :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mass Effect Trilogy
Great game series
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/12
Astro
Location: Phila, Pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Enjoyed this - all 3 - game except for the poor end. It could of done a lot better from the gitco. The. Bad part for the PC edition is still no in game GamePad Support. Since gamepad worked great on the consoles there is no real reason/excuse for not finally including an update to fix this and include gamepad use. There are other programs that will allow you add gamepad support but they tend slow reaction time down and don't work well in multiplayer. So for PC game it was a let down for those payed back big screen gamers...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Astro
Phila, Pa
 
Please wait while more information about Astro is loaded.
Additional information about Astro could not be loaded.
Mass effect trilogy no improvement
Posted 1/22/13
First - there is no Game Pad Support so you will have to build your own with say pinnacle. Game Pad works great and even better than the 50 year old typewriter keyboard and mouse tech. I did talk the techs there at Bio and they fearful of a gamepad as beyond them.
Anyway, this was a great linear trilogy that does end! This tri-pack does have problems with Mass Effect 1 working on newer 64 bit systems. But 2, 3 work fine in win 7. Other than loading speed, the picture quality is similar to that on the xbox360 at 1080P. My There are no manuals but you can dwnld a PDF from Origin.
My advice is to first make sure they work on your PC before buying any DLC's. The best part was when Origi techs said to reformat my new PC HD and re-install win 7 to see if that was the problem why ME 1 will not run. I don't think so. It runs Skyrim Maxed out with all their mods and no problems as well dozens of others so the problem is Origin. Read others online who have same problem if you don't believe me. So Its just same game with newer box cover! No improvements.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)