GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

3DS XL NERF Armor

Protect your Nintendo 3DSXL from accidental bumps and scratches when you're on the go with the oversize NERF Armor case for the 3DSXL. Featuring snap-on fitting brackets, NERF Armor delivers a secure fit for your handheld game system. The unique, colorful design shows off your style during transport, and the soft NERF material offers a comfortable grip while you play. Enjoy full access to controls and ports thanks to the NERF Armor's Protect-and-Play design.
Average Customer Rating:
5
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
2
4 out of 1040%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Review 1 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Works great as protection, not really comfortable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
Pickled
Location: Florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Shortly after getting my 3ds xl system I felt that it needed some extra protection to preserve it in it's new state. Anyways the nerf armor has served well so far as to protecting the system; it fits well around the game and is easy to put on and remove. Although there is a large gap on the right side of the case which makes games uncomfortable to play; it still works fine and everything is accessible. Also the size increases by quite a bit; almost too big for pockets.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
There's a such thing as too big!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/12
3dsxlgamer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This case does the job like it should, except now it is a 3dsXXl. I mean that this case makes it huge, as if the 3ds wasn't big enough alone. You can barely fit it in your pocket, unless you have huge pockets. Still, as I mentioned it gets the job done. You shouldn't listen to the reviews that say it damages your 3ds because if you follow the instructions, there won't be any problems. Also you can grip it fairly easy. So overall this product protects your $200 handheld as it should. I would give it a 10/10 if it wasn't for the bulkiness.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
siirrus65
nc
 
Please wait while more information about siirrus65 is loaded.
Additional information about siirrus65 could not be loaded.
Damage
Posted 5/21/13
I hate to say it but this nerf did damage my 3DSXL :-( I have always used a nerf on all the systems I owned but this one was the worst. Very poorly made, doesn't hold your system well. I have 4 different noticeable scratch marks on my red 3DSXL.
Made me very angry and I plan to not use the XL nerf ever again.
All I can say, use at your own risk :-(
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Perfect, for huge handed people.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
fudgemunkies
Location: Missouri
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The size of the 3dsXL was already big enough, but this this case adds about an extra half inch on both sides. Now while it may be this whale of a hand held after that, it still does protect it very well. I personally have huge hands so it fits me just fine, but anyone else might have a hard time playing games with this. I also recommend it if you have a case of the dropsies, because when you drop your system it pretty much bounces around like a football. Otherwise this case is worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
absolutely awful
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
JMH77
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i got this for my ds because I didn't have a case yet. at first, I thought it would be nice, but it doubles the size of your ds, even though the inside is smooth, it scratched a bunch of paint off of my ds, and I dropped my ds once with the armor on it and the armor just flew off of my ds when it hit the ground. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 5 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Horribly engineered. Not very stable.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/12
Keebz
Location: TX
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This horrible thing scratched my 3DS XL as I was adjusting it to fit properly. Even after following directions, it would not close properly till I forced the plastic clips outwards then inwards to keep the XL inside. Even then, it didn't fit very snug at all. While holding it, it digs into the palms of your hands as well. It's much more comfortable to hold the 3DS itself, the way it was meant to be.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
16 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
good external protection, horrible design
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/13
irishmama
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I bought this for my son. It is good at protecting the console however, it is 2 months old and is falling apart, the plastic inside of the case isn't secure and it scratches the console, not to mention according to Nintendo, the case is a poor design and is quite possibly the big reason that the console cracked near the indicator light. So, $200.00 product, + physical damage, and being an "after market" product (not covered by warranty) = $99.00 repair of console and one aggravated Momma!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
There are better items out there.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/25/13
DeLoki
Location: Louisiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
When one decides to buy expensive tech gadgets for their 7 year old son they also look for industrial strength protection of those objects. Thought we'd found it when we saw this case. Thick foam padding, rigid plastic frame, and it was NERF. But after just a few weeks we noticed that the 3DSXL inside the case was getting scratched and damaged. Then last week (just 6 months from purchase of the game system) he dropped it and it did NOTHING to protect the screen. Top screen is now shattered and cracked and the system is currently in transit to Nintendo for repair which is costing me about $125. For general bumps and jostles this will help, but I think that there are probably better items out there.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 8 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Protective but bad design
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/13
Abbeyjuno
Location: Kansas
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product thinking it will be good and protect it. Well I was wrong it protects it from falling and every thing. But one day I took off the case to clean it I had a difficult time taking it off but when I did get it off the front and the back were COVERD in DEEP scratches. It really made me mad. The 3ds moves around inside the case and scratches it. The inside of the case is completely plastic and I wish that it is more fitting and have something to protect the inside like maby felt or something like that so it won't scratch it. It dose protect it but it scratches it and I don't like that I spent a lot of money on the 3ds xl and I don't like the fact that this case scratched it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Too Big and Scratches the System
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/13
3dsxlgamer
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First, this is too big and will not fit in you're pocket, no matter how hard you try (as if the xl isn't big enough). Not only that, this even scratches you're system. At first you might not notice, but after a little time you will. So this product doesn't even do it's job right. You are better off buying a traveling case, plus the traveling case is cheaper. Trust me, you don't want to buy this, if you do you will hate yourself.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3DS XL NERF Armor
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
FancyDuck0741
Location: Mars
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This case helped me A LOT. I dropped my 3ds XL 3, maybe 4 times.
No cracks in it. I think you should get this if you bought the 3D XL because it will help later on. HAVE FUN!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.